reviews for: listing #1036 - Key Largo, Florida Condo rental

**A Penthouse **Condo at Kawama Yacht Club, Sunset Key Largo
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Kawama Yacht Club
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $165 - $395 /nt
    $895 - $1,995 /wk
    $3,800 - $6,000 /mth

sort by:

A little bit of Heaven!

Review submitted: January 26, 2010   Date of arrival: December 4, 2009

We spent a week in this condo December 4-11, 2009 and it was fabulous. It was extremely clean and all so beautifully decorated. It is so much nicer than what the pictures portray. The Kawama complex is great and in close proximity to all nearby attractions and restaurants. My husband and I really enjoyed all its amenities and great ocean views from the balcony. We especially enjoyed watching the sunsets every day. What the owner’s claim of having great sunsets is so true. The unit is very well equipped with all you need for your vacation and your home away from home. From linens to towels, kitchen utensils, it was all there. The owners are a delight to work with. Jose made it very easy to reserve the condo. I don’t know how Jose managed but our deposit was refunded and arrived 1 day after our arrival back home. I would highly recommend this condo to anyone visiting Key Largo and the Florida Keys. We will definitely come back again and this time bring the grandkids.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Denise, Look forward to seeing you and Gary again along with the Grandkids.

Jose

Helpful votes: 10 / 14

 

Excellent customer service, wonderful condo with spectacular ocean view

Review submitted: April 21, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

We just returned from a week in Key Largo and stayed at Kawama Tower. I contacted Jose about renting his unit for our vacation but it was already booked. Jose offered another similar unit on the top floor that was managed by the HOA. I had many questions and sent several emails. Jose answered them all promptly and also sent me a link to the available unit along with photos. The Tower is currently under renovation to install new hurricane windows and improve the exterior stucco. Even though this was going on during our stay, we were not bothered at all by the workers. We had a beautiful view of the sunset over the ocean every morning. We used the pool a few times and also the small area of "beachfront" to practice snorkeling. The sunset view from the point was spectacular. Kawama is a gated community and private which was nice as well. Everyone working at the guard tower greeted us with a smile coming and going. The whole experience of renting through VRBO from start to finish was as much or better than we expected and I highly recommend staying at Kawama Tower. We will most definitely return someday soon. Thank you for a wonderful place to spend our vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Teal:
Glad to see all made it back home safely. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Kawama. Our renovation is moving now at a steady pace and sure will look nice once it is finished with the new building paint within the next couple of months.
Best Regards,

Jose & Estela

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Place to Stay with the Family

Review submitted: March 31, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

When we first arrived at the condo, we were greeted by Estela who gave us a wonderful welcome and gave us some tips for things to do/places to eat around the area. She very accommodating and really made us feel at home! The condo was beautiful and well-maintained. There are lots of things to do at Kawama, including swimming in the ocean, lake or pool; snorkeling and fishing, and is a great location to other local attractions. I'd highly recommend this place for families or anyone looking for a fun and/or relaxing vacation getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aaron, Cherie and Kids:

Thank you for taking such good care of our home. We are glad to see all made it back home safely. Look forward to host all of you back in Key Largo.

Best regards,

Jose and Estela

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location! Lots of room.

Review submitted: March 3, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

We liked the way Estella met us personally and gave us a tour even though it was fairly late Saturday . We liked that there were noodles for the pool or lagoon and even a fishing pole!
The nearby Pilothouse and Snooks were great restaurants close by.
We snorkeled in the lagoon as well as out front in the ocean before we went by boat to alligator reef and it was great to have practiced a bit!
What a great large unit that held a fresh fish dinner with friends and it faces the sunset!
Estella then met us early Saturday morning to return our security deposit! Great time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Steve and Marcia:

Thanks for taking care of our home. Glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Key largo. Do come back and visit us again.

Best Regards,

Estela

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Serene Stay Jan 13-19

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: January 13, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Jose & Estela's condo from January 13-18, 2014. From day one, I have nothing but good things to say. Communication was expedient and clear with Jose getting back to me regarding my inquiry about his condo's vacancy on the day that I emailed him. Got to Key Largo and found the condo to be exactly as described: very clean and nicely decorated. The condo's furniture was in pristine condition with all the amenities/utensils that you might have at home: dishware, flatware, linens, towels, hair blow dryer, etc. Nice cold centralized air conditioning and washer/dryer in the unit is a plus. Nice view off of the living room balcony of the boat dock/marina -- amazing sunrise and sunset view!! The yacht club's grounds is also beautiful and serene with a lovely lagoon and pools. It is convenient to the main highway in the keys (A1A?) and is close to many restaurants nearby (Pilot House, Mrs. Mac's, Denny's, etc.). Friend and I had a lovely stay here and I have no qualms about reserving this condo again in the future. Jose and his wife Estela were fantastic and were easy to communicate with and reach when there were any questions. I, like another reviewer here, received my damage deposit back via mail 1 day after arriving back home. Without a doubt, I would recommend this condo to anyone looking for a peaceful, quiet, clean retreat in Key Largo. Thanks again Jose & Estela! From: Mary Y.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Mary, Glad to see you made it back home safely. Do come and visit us again.

Regards,

Jose & Estela

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spacious, cozy and clean unit with very friendly owners

Review submitted: December 2, 2013   Date of arrival: November 9, 2013

If you are looking for comfortable condo during your stay in The Keys - Kawana is a very good choice. Spacious, cozy and clean unit, very friendly and flexible owners, proximity of John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. We stayed there on our way to Key West.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Owners response: Anna:

Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in our home and glad you all made it back home safely.
Regards,

Jose & Estela

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Keys vacation rental

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

My husband, twelve year old son, sixteen year old daughter, and I spent a week at this wonderful condo. Everything was just as described - and then some. The condo is comfortable, spotlessly clean, and beautifully decorated and has everything from towels to beach pails. We were warmly greeted by Estela, who is a lovely person and a pleasure to speak with, and given plenty of information on local attractions. There is a great deal to do in the immediate area - I would particularly recommend snorkeling at John Pennekamp State Park, but you could also enjoy yourself thoroughly without even leaving the property. My son would have been happy just staying at the lagoon, which is stocked with tropical fish. The pool was great, and the sunsets from the balcony and point were incredible. Estela had our deposit for us on the day we left and wanted to know if there was anything she could improve on. Honestly, I could think of nothing, My entire family had a wonderful vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Cindy, glad to hear you all had a great time in Key Largo. Glad to see all made it back home safely.

Regards,
Jose

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Wonderful experience

Review submitted: June 29, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

Very nice and clean condo. The owners are extremely nice and very helpful. The view off the balcony was beautiful. We had our 6 year old grandson with us, so we spent most of our time in the pool. I think that was the best part! It was clean, warm and not crowded.
We had a wonderful time and would highly recommend this condo

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: June 2, 2013

My wife and I needed a “get away” for several reasons….A Dive / Rest and Relaxation vacation was the solution. The location and accommodations provided by this unit certainly filled the bill. The provisions of this unit and surrounding attractions were superb. The Owners made coordination of the rental easy, user friendly, and were available for area recommendations and any issues should they arise. This property is well maintained as displayed in the pictures with all the accommodations any small group, whether family or friends, would need for a getaway. The area provides plenty of entertainment and good food allowing a very affordable vacation. I will certainly take advantage of this location again in the future. I am in the military and have already provided information about the experience to my co workers and other soldiers. Just what the Dr. ordered!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: MAJ. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope all is well with the Son overseas. Look forward to your next visit. Hopefully I will be able to meet you next time around. Thanks for the beer and wine they were put to great use!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great Place to Stay!!!

Review submitted: June 3, 2013   Date of arrival: May 26, 2013

We just spent a week at this condo and we were so pleased. It was even nicer than the pictures made it look. And the condo was spotless and very well stocked! We didn't need to bring a thing!

The information the owners provided in the unit helped a lot with knowing about places to go. And the owners were great, very nice and very helpful!!

We really enjoyed some of the local restaurants, the Glass Bottom Boat ride at John Pennekamp Park, and Rented a boat for a day at Robbie's Marina which was only about 20 minutes away. We also went to Duck Key for Snorkel and Snuba and spent a day at Key West.

The condo was a great central location for all of our activities. I will definitely recommend it all of my friends and will go there again if we get a chance to go back.

Thanks Jose and Estella for a great vacation!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Beth:

Thanks for babysitting our home. It always gives me great pleasure to hear our guests enjoying our home as much as we do.
Do come back and visit us again.

Best regards,

Jose & Estela

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Amazing vacation

Review submitted: February 20, 2013   Date of arrival: February 10, 2013

My husband and I were impressed by the condo unit and all the amenities it had to offer. The unit was very clean and spacious. We lacked for nothing. The heated pool was an extra and we met some lovely people who were also getting away from the cold. Jose and his wife were very accomodating and easy to work with on the arrangements. I would stay here again. Please go to the Ernest Hemingway house for a tour in Key West.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Great place to experience Key Largo

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

What a wonderful stay we had this past week (December 30, 2012 -January 6, 2013) at Jose and Estella's Condo at Kawama Yacht Club in Key Largo! The condo was so spacious, and EXTREMELY clean, which we very much appreciated! Jose and Estella were so very kind and helpful in getting us organized on the front end with all my questions, and then giving us suggestions for what to do when we arrived. I really have to say how very nice these folks are: I truly felt they hoped our stay at their place would be a wonderful experience, and they did all kinds of things to help make that happen. I highly recommend this property as an excellent place for families. We enjoyed the tennis courts, the ocean, the pool, and all the other local activities. So much to do - and then the wonderful home to come back to to unwind and enjoy. Thank you Jose and Estella!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Kawama Condo, unit 503

Review submitted: November 26, 2012   Date of arrival: November 15, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at this property. Upon our arrival the owner was very helpful in informing us of all aspects of the property. The unit was breathtaking and the pictures and amenities listed were true. We did not need anything but a few groceries. We would highly recommend this unit to vacation in.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

what a blessing

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

let me start off by saying the owners of this place were a joy to meet and talk with upon our arrival, the home was far above our ideals, the photos show a beautiful place, but when you get there the beauty of the setting all around just takes your breath away. The owners took care of our needs quickly and w the same care as if we were family. I would recommend this property to all I know as this was a vacation to remember. Thanks again

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jeff & Christina:

Glad to see you enjoyed our home and all Kawama has to offer. We look forward to seeing you both again on your next visit.

Best regards,
Jose & Estela

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Escape from the North

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: October 31, 2011

The stay was Great! We thank the owners for use of their fine home and heartily recommend it to any who wish to experience a quiet and pleasurable escape from the chilly north. The units condition, amenities and the locale all were most enjoyable and can be recommended with out any reservation. I look forward to visiting again!

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Come for the Location, Return for the Owners’ Hospitality!

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

We chose Kawama Yacht Club (KYC) because of all the features available in the complex but we want to return because in addition to the great location, Jose & Estela, the owners, genuinely care that their guests have a good time during their stay. You can't find a better value for the price either.

The unit had everything we needed so we could pack light. Because each bedroom had a bathroom attached, it was like having two separate mini-suites for privacy purposes. My mother was able to use her walker in the unit & there were 2 elevators available. Each morning we spent on the balcony with coffee enjoying the view overlooking the marina, ocean and wildlife preserve. It felt like we had the entire complex to ourselves.

The complex has nearly every imaginable activity – ocean, beach, pools, marina, tennis courts, fishing pier, snorkeling in the lagoon, playscape for kids. The shady lagoon was an especially beautiful place to stroll around. Gorgeous, big parrot fish came up to the dock to feed and we even found a tarpon while snorkeling.

There are no restaurants or bars on the property but there were plenty within a short driving distance. If you enjoy cooking your own seafood without having to catch it, Key Largo Fisheries is a fresh seafood market three short blocks from the entrance to KYC. All the local restaurants get their fish from the fishermen’s catches that come in here each morning. Pennekamp State Park, Dolphins Plus, Theatre of the Sea, dive boat operators and other attractions are all within close driving distance. Key West made an excellent day trip.

Whether you use KYC as a home base for seeing the rest of The Keys or decide to stay on the property your entire stay, you will be pleased you chose to stay with the Penabads!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Kirsten:

We look forward to seeing you again. Glad the family chosed our home for the long deserved vacation together.

Regards,

Jose & Estela

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Awesome Trip

Review submitted: July 16, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

Thank you, Estella and Jose, for sharing your home with us. You made us feel truly at home. We were very comfortable as a family with three teens. The grounds were so intriguing we barely had to leave. We definitely plan on returning. Thank you for going above and beyond!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Ruth:

Look forward to seeing you folks again.

Jose & Estela

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Wonderful stay in Key Largo

Review submitted: June 14, 2010   Date of arrival: May 23, 2010

My husband, 2 boys and I stayed at this unit at the end of May. We really enjoyed the close proximity to all the places we wanted to visit. We traveled to many of the other Keys as well as Key West during our stay, and we were really glad that we chose to stay in Key Largo. We enjoyed the views from the balcony, the pool, and the washer/dryer were a definite plus! Jose met us the night we arrived, even though it was 10:30 p.m., and gave us some great pointers for food and fun in the area. Our deposit was returned quickly, within a few days of returning home. Overall we had a wonderful experience at Jose's condo and in Key Largo. We want to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Pamela. We look forward to having you back again.
Best regards,

Jose

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Review submitted: May 25, 2010   Date of arrival: May 25, 2010

We stay in Penabad’s unit April 26 – May 7. It was our 3rd stay in Unit 503 at Kawama Yacht Club. Since 3 years we spend there 2-3 weeks every year when we are in Key Largo with our disabled child. Unit 503 is very good place to stay. Kawama Tower is very calm and quiet place. The unit is on the top floor (there is an elevator of course). Condo is very comfortable (2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, living room and full equipment kitchen, balcony and laundry). Unit is extremely clean, very well equipped, very well furnished with all you need for your vacation and it has a beautiful view of ocean, marina and sunset. We feel there like at our home.We enjoyed all amenities and swimming pool area, Kawama Beach with Tiki and of course child’s playground.There are a lot of attractions, shops and restaurants just a few minutes away from Kawama Yacht Club.Jose and Estela (the owners) they are very special people, so friendly and helpful. They greeted us so warmly and made us feel very special indeed!We would highly recommend this condo to anyone. We will definitely come back again if we can.Jose and Estela we want say THANK YOU SO MUCH! for your help this year.Michal, Hania and Emilia from Poznan (Poland)

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: April 14, 2010   Date of arrival: April 14, 2010

We stayed in your fantastic penthouse suite during Easter week and had a thoroughly enjoyable experience-the gated complex gave us a feeling of total security,the location was fantastic-excellent local restaurants,near to Theatre of the Seas-where my daughter swam with dolphins and with an abundance of boating and diving activities to keep us busy.Jose was really helpful with advice on boat rental and the apartment contained a folder full of local attractions.The apartment itself was very clean,comfortable and homely-nothing more pleasant at the end of the day than a bottle of wine watching a stunning sunset with a totally relaxed,contented feeling.My daughter and husband fished every night catching a wide range of fish and we made good use of the tower swimming pool which was very clean and a real sun trap.To conclude thank you for friendly,efficient help-including very prompt return of our deposit.We have never used internet booking for a holiday before but you have given us confidence to do this.Thank you for a wonderful holiday we would love to come back to your apartment again,it was perfect.

Owners response: Thank you Debbie. We look forward to seeing you again. Best regards,

Jose

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Transfered review from tripadvisor . com

Review submitted: March 24, 2010   Date of arrival: December 3, 2009

Guest Review from anzaka@hotmail . com - Jan 31, 2010
"Key Largo Paradise"
My family and I stayed in Kawama in the tower unit 503 and had an absloute awesome time. Everything we needed was there. It was a beautifully furnished 2/2 condo with a fully equipped kitchen, laundry facility and spacious living/dining room. The view from the balcony was great and relaxing. We were able to easily get our jetskis in and out of the water with the on site marina. There was even a beach area we could use when we just wanted to sit and relax. There were many restaurants, grocery/shopping, and specialty stores close by for any items we wanted to buy. I would definitely recommend to others and would love to rent there again!



Review ResponseSubmit Response

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

transfered reviews from Homeawayconnect . com

Review submitted: March 24, 2010   Date of arrival: March 10, 2010

My husband and I spent a week in Unit 503 at Kawama Yacht Club beginning January 23, 2010. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The unit was very spacious, well stocked (better than most others), very clean and had a lovely view of the sunset as promised. More importantly, the owner - Estela - greeted us so warmly and made us feel very special indeed! We would definitely recommend this property to our friends.

Karen Otstott

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Transfered from reviews at Homeawayconnect . com

Review submitted: March 24, 2010   Date of arrival: February 10, 2010

We rented the Penabad's tower condo January 31 - February 7, 2010. Jose and Estela were easy to work with. The condo was immaculate. The oceanview and sunsets were great. The complex location was great for all the local attractions. The other owners/renters were friendly. We would highly recommend renting at the Kawama Tower Condos.

-Bob & Karen, Holden, Massachusetts

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review transfered from Homeawayconnect . com

Review submitted: March 24, 2010   Date of arrival: January 26, 2010

We spent a week in this condo December 4-11, 2009 and it was fabulous. It was extremely clean and all so beautifully decorated. It is so much nicer than what the pictures portray. The Kawama complex is great and in close proximity to all nearby attractions and restaurants. My husband and I really enjoyed all its amenities and great ocean views from the balcony. We especially enjoyed watching the sunsets every day. What the owner’s claim of having great sunsets is so true. The unit is very well equipped with all you need for your vacation and your home away from home. From linens to towels, kitchen utensils, it was all there. The owners are a delight to work with. Jose made it very easy to reserve the condo. I don’t know how Jose managed but our deposit was refunded and arrived 1 day after our arrival back home. I would highly recommend this condo to anyone visiting Key Largo and the Florida Keys. We will definitely come back again and this time bring the grandkids.


Denise

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

transfered review from Homeawayconnect . com

Review submitted: March 24, 2010   Date of arrival: December 26, 2009

A fantastic place! Jose and his family were so friendly and helpful through out the whole booking and arriving and leaving. We got loads of info about where was good to go and wow they knew the places to go! The condo was fantastic, felt really secure and happy to leave the hire car, the balcony had a great veiw over the sea and the mangroves depending on which way you looked. A really fantastic place, really excellently situated to get anywhere you needed (we went all over south Florida) and can't wait to get the holiday booked for next time!

-Sheelagh Conlan, Newcastle, UK

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Transfered from Homeawayconnect

Review submitted: March 24, 2010   Date of arrival: December 1, 2009

We absolutely love this condo. My wife, her friend and myself stayed for 10 days and enjoyed every moment. The condo is on the top floor with an amazing view of the mangroves and marina. The sunsets are spectacular. This is a fantastic place to relax in after an entire day of visiting all the wonderful places that Florida has to offer. And most of all, it was a pleasure meeting the hosts of this idealic spot in paradise.

-Walter, Ontario

Homeowner Response:

Thanks Walter. The cosmo receipe will be put to use this Saturday!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 10, 2010   Date of arrival: March 10, 2010

My husband and I spent a week in Unit 503 at Kawama Yacht Club beginning January 23, 2010. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The unit was very spacious, well stocked (better than most others), very clean and had a lovely view of the sunset as promised. More importantly, the owner - Estela - greeted us so warmly and made us feel very special indeed! We would definitely recommend this property to our friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: February 10, 2010

We rented the Penabad's tower condo January 31 - February 7, 2010. Jose and Estela were easy to work with. The condo was immaculate. The oceanview and sunsets were great. The complex location was great for all the local attractions. The other owners/renters were friendly. We would highly recommend renting at the Kawama Tower Condos.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 26, 2010   Date of arrival: January 26, 2010

We spent a week in this condo December 4-11, 2009 and it was fabulous. It was extremely clean and all so beautifully decorated. It is so much nicer than what the pictures portray. The Kawama complex is great and in close proximity to all nearby attractions and restaurants. My husband and I really enjoyed all its amenities and great ocean views from the balcony. We especially enjoyed watching the sunsets every day. What the owner’s claim of having great sunsets is so true. The unit is very well equipped with all you need for your vacation and your home away from home. From linens to towels, kitchen utensils, it was all there. The owners are a delight to work with. Jose made it very easy to reserve the condo. I don’t know how Jose managed but our deposit was refunded and arrived 1 day after our arrival back home. I would highly recommend this condo to anyone visiting Key Largo and the Florida Keys. We will definitely come back again and this time bring the grandkids.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: December 26, 2009   Date of arrival: December 26, 2009

A fantastic place! Jose and his family were so friendly and helpful through out the whole booking and arriving and leaving. We got loads of info about where was good to go and wow they knew the places to go! The condo was fantastic, felt really secure and happy to leave the hire car, the balcony had a great veiw over the sea and the mangroves depending on which way you looked. A really fantastic place, really excellently situated to get anywhere you needed (we went all over south Florida) and can't wait to get the holiday booked for next time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 12, 2009   Date of arrival: December 12, 2009

Great condo, great vacation!
PatriciaB Florence, Italy
Review Submitted: October 5, 2009 Date of Stay: September 2009
My family and I just returned from a wonderful and relaxing vacation in Key Largo. Choosing the right place to stay was of utmost importance to me as I was traveling with my 7 month old baby, my parents and husband, and I must say that this condo was the right place! The condo unit had everything we needed from the baby's crib to every type of kitchen utensil that my husband needed for cooking (he is the chef in our family!). The condo and all its amenities were very well maintained.

The location of the condo was beautiful. As we drove into the private community we were very impressed by all the greenery. The condo also offered amazing views of the water and breathtaking sunsets.

Having a security guard at the gate was also a plus. Knowing that only authorized people were allowed on the property offered peace of mind.

Parking was never a problem. There was plenty of parking during the day and at night.

There were plenty of activities for the whole family to engage in. My husband and I went snorkeling in John Pennekamp's coral reef a few times. It was magnificent! He then went deep sea fishing with a private charter. My parents and the baby enjoyed swimming in a beautiful tropical beach just a few miles away called Founder's Park. All these activities were just minutes away! The building also has a couple of lovely and well-maintained pools.

Shopping, activities, food, car rentals and more are within minutes from this terrific condo! I manage a conference center in Florence, Italy and for several years also managed a small B&B in Florence, and I give this condo unit 5 stars. Not only is the unit and location terrific but so is the owner! From my first inquiry to the booking to check-in to departure, the owner made every step super easy. He was very helpful, offered a lot of advice about the area and was very friendly and professional. I hope we have a chance to return to his home in Key Largo in the future.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: December 1, 2009   Date of arrival: December 1, 2009

We absolutely love this condo. My wife, her friend and myself stayed for 10 days and enjoyed every moment. The condo is on the top floor with an amazing view of the mangroves and marina. The sunsets are spectacular. This is a fantastic place to relax in after an entire day of visiting all the wonderful places that Florida has to offer. And most of all, it was a pleasure meeting the hosts of this idealic spot in paradise.

Owners response: Thanks Walter. The cosmo receipe will be put to use this Saturday!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great condo, great vacation!

Review submitted: October 5, 2009   Date of arrival: September 18, 2009

My family and I just returned from a wonderful and relaxing vacation in Key Largo. Choosing the right place to stay was of utmost importance to me as I was traveling with my 7 month old baby, my parents and husband, and I must say that this condo was the right place! The condo unit had everything we needed from the baby's crib to every type of kitchen utensil that my husband needed for cooking (he is the chef in our family!). The condo and all its amenities were very well maintained.

The location of the condo was beautiful. As we drove into the private community we were very impressed by all the greenery. The condo also offered amazing views of the water and breathtaking sunsets.

Having a security guard at the gate was also a plus. Knowing that only authorized people were allowed on the property offered peace of mind.

Parking was never a problem. There was plenty of parking during the day and at night.

There were plenty of activities for the whole family to engage in. My husband and I went snorkeling in John Pennekamp's coral reef a few times. It was magnificent! He then went deep sea fishing with a private charter. My parents and the baby enjoyed swimming in a beautiful tropical beach just a few miles away called Founder's Park. All these activities were just minutes away! The building also has a couple of lovely and well-maintained pools.

Shopping, activities, food, car rentals and more are within minutes from this terrific condo! I manage a conference center in Florence, Italy and for several years also managed a small B&B in Florence, and I give this condo unit 5 stars. Not only is the unit and location terrific but so is the owner! From my first inquiry to the booking to check-in to departure, the owner made every step super easy. He was very helpful, offered a lot of advice about the area and was very friendly and professional. I hope we have a chance to return to his home in Key Largo in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Patricia. We look forward to serve as your host again in the near future.
Jose

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Condo in Key Largo

Review submitted: September 9, 2009   Date of arrival: September 4, 2009

I would very much recommend this condo unit to anyone visiting Key Largo. The condo unit and the complex had everything anyone would need to just relax and unwind (from tennis courts, to swimming pools, to a marina). It is a great value for the money.

The unit itself has two private bedrooms with separate baths for each, which provides for good privacy. It is spacious, clean and well maintained. The owners are super easy to work with and more than accommodating.

We will definitely rent this unit when we are back in Key Largo. Excellent value for the money.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Billie, Look forward to serve as your host again on your next dive trip in Key Largo.

Best regards,

Jose

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

another wonderful keys vacation

Review submitted: June 30, 2009   Date of arrival: June 19, 2009

When we arrived Estella met us with open arms and smiles.A genuine concern for our needs from linens to information about places to eat.I recomend this condo for anyone wanting a worry free stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dean:

Thanks for taking care of our home. Glad to hear the family had a great time. Your children were so nice and well mannered.

Estela

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: April 7, 2009   Date of arrival: January 3, 2009

I would highly recommend this condo at Kawama Yacht Club Tower to anyone vacationing in the Florida Keys. The unit is immaculately cleaned and tropically decorated to set you off the in mood to enjoy and relax on your vacation.

This condo offers all the comforts of home. It is well equipped with all kitchen utensils, linens, towels etc. The owners have gone so far to even include board games, cards and children’s movies for those that just want to stay in the unit and enjoy its fantastic view of the Ocean and its great Sunsets.

Renting in the Tower gives you the privilege to the new pool built at the base of the Condos. My whole family really enjoyed the pool area. I also understand the new pool is heated for use all year round. The new pool is exclusive use for the owners and renters of the tower complex only. In the complex you also have access to the lagoon which is in the center of the complex. It is salt water and rises with the tide. The association maintains the lagoon with aerators and stocks it with tropical fishes. An added attraction in your back yard. The beach area was well maintained and a great spot to soak up some sun and enjoy a little reading. If you are lucky enough to be in Kawama with a full moon, be sure to sit by the beach at night and enjoy the moon’s reflection of the water, feel the cool ocean breeze, an absolute must do!!

We brought our boat with us and the condo owner assisted us with the rental of a slip. It was great not having to tow the boat and ramp it for the week. Well worth the extra few dollars. The marina is kept very nice and clean. The dock master is there Wed-Sun and has bait and ice for sale. From Kawama you have direct ocean access and minutes to your favorite fishing, snorkeling and scuba diving spots.

This vacation rental was an excellent value for our family. The pictures can not begin to show all it has to offer or how great it was. Our family will visit Kawama again as we enjoyed and relax so much in the short time we were there.


Fefi

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, Fefi:

Looking forward to host your family again in the summer. Promise the fishing will be better.

Jose

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Tropical Paradise in Key Largo

Review submitted: March 29, 2009   Date of arrival: August 2, 2008

The condo at Kawama Yacht Club in Key Largo, FL was the perfect getaway we needed. The condo was in a great location (close to restaurants and shopping) and had everything you could ask for. The unit was fully equipped with all the kitchen items we needed to make our stay easy and comfortable. The bedrooms, bathrooms and living area of the condo were beautifully decorated and the kids loved having their own space with their own bathroom. We especially loved having the boat ramp right on site for our waverunners. The grounds were kept very clean and the pool was a great place to relax and enjoy the tropical atmosphere. For a fun day trip, Key West is within a few hours driving and full of sightseeing locations. I would definitely recommend this place to my friends and family anytime. The owners were easy to work with and very friendly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, Karen,
Tell the kids they can come back any time and catch another Barracuda!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Great Place!!!

Review submitted: March 26, 2009   Date of arrival: March 14, 2009

We loved our stay at this condo. The place was spacious and very clean. It was so nice to have all the amenities of home with a full kitchen and washer/dryer. There was plenty of sleeping space and was great to have 2 full baths. The grounds were very lovely and the unit had a very nice view of the Atlantic to one side and I what I believe to be the Everglades on the other. Regardless of what it was it was a pretty view. The location was secluded enough to be private and quiet; yet still close to shopping (only about 3 miles to a grocery store). It was also nice to be greeted by one of the owners who helped get us checked in with the gate guard and show us the location of the unit. She walked us through getting into the building and the pool area (which both require special keys to access). She also gave some good suggestions on places to dine. We loved the pool area which was only for Residents (guests) in the tower and heated to the perfect temp. Very nice bonus. The owner also called us on our last day to see if we enjoyed our stay and what we needed to do upon exiting the condo & our security deposit. Our security deposit was even promptly returned to us (mailed the same day we left)! All in all it was a great time and the great condo added to us really enjoying our stay. If we return to the Keys we will definitely rent the exact same place!

If you stay in Key Largo I also highly recommend Parasailing (Caribbean Waters at the Hilton in Key Largo was nice & reasonable); Eating at Tower Pizza in Key Largo and the Dolphin Research Center in Grassey Key.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Sarah:
It was a pleasure sharing our home with you and your family. We look forward to serve as your host again.
Jose

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 29, 2009   Date of arrival: January 29, 2009

5/5 Kawama Yacht Club
Pepe Lopez Traverse City, Michigan.
Date Submitted: January 29, 2009 Date of Stay: December 2008
I would definitely recommend this property to a friend. It was clean, well-maintained, well-furnished, and and well-stocked with games, magazines, and just about every kitchen utensil you could ever think of. The balcony looks out over the tennis courts and has a lovely view of the sunset each evening. The tower is located just a short walk from the beach, the swimming pools, the lake, and the playground, so there is always plenty to do.
Recommended for: Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 4, 2008   Date of arrival: August 4, 2008

Kawama Tower, Key Largo Florida
Joe and Marie Catonsville, Maryland.
Date Submitted: August 04, 2008 Date of Stay: January 2008
We have vacationed for most of the past three winters in Key Largo, Florida in the Kawama Tower units at the Kawama Yacht Club, located on the ocean side of Key Largo. The Tower building is located adjacent to the Marina with the ocean beyond. This gated community also features Town Homes and Villas. We prefer the Tower condo units with elevator access and everything on one floor. For the last 2 years we have stayed in a unit on the the fifth floor, which is the top floor in the building. Our stays in this unit have been very pleasant. We feel this unit was a very nice upgrade from our first year in a third floor unit. It is spacious, quiet, and finely decorated in an aquatic theme. We appreciate the comfortable living room, master bedroom bed, and the tile floors throughout. Most balconies on the fifth floor offer an unobstructed panoramic view of the Atlantic Ocean. This unit's balcony faces southwest and provides morning shade and beautiful sunsets in the evening along with a view of the Marina and the ocean beyond. The sunset may also be enjoyed from the living room , sometimes while listening to the excellent stereo system.

The private pool, large lake, beach and peninsula which is surrounded by ocean waters have all added to our enjoyment.

We have thoroughly enjoyed the warm winters that Key Largo has offered us the past three years.

There are many fine restaurants nearby.

Our reservations are in for 2009 and hopefully we will be allowed to vacation in this winter paradise for many years to come.


Joe and Marie

Catonsville, Maryland
Recommended for: People with Disabilities, Families with Young Children, Age 55+

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 31, 2008   Date of arrival: March 31, 2008

Unit 503 -- a great family condo and friendly experience”Kawama Yacht Club Jasper55 BostonMar 31, 2008 We're always a bit reluctant to book vacation condos directly from individual unit owners when we haven't visited the place before. But the owner of Kawama Unit 503 put us at ease from our initial email contact and throughout our stay. He was a friendly, helpful host who was an absolute delight to rent from. The unit was casual, comfortable and spacious for the three of us (2 adults and 1 child) and could easily accomodate a bit larger family. The unit was well-equipped with everything we needed for the week. We especially liked the washer and dryer -- no need to pack lots of clothing and beach towels. The pool is new, beautiful and clean. The complex is in a great location -- minutes away from wonderful restaurants (Fish House, Buzzard's Roost to name a few) and recreation. When in Key Largo, I wouldn't hesitate to rent Kawama Unit 503 again.This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review