reviews for: listing #103716 - Idyllwild, California House rental

Mountain Moments to Remember
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $250 - $475 /nt
    $1,500 - $2,830 /wk
    $4,200 - $6,300 /mth

sort by:

Excellent

Review submitted: April 8, 2014   Date of arrival: April 4, 2014

When I consider the overall package (cabin & grounds), it's the best I've rented. Really enjoyed indoors and out with the family and just hanging out by the BBQ or playing outside with the kids was awesome. Views are spectacular and feels like you're secluded from the world around you. Will difinitely be coming back.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

An inspiring get away that has it all

Review submitted: September 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 10, 2013

What a lovely home -- And this one really feels like 'home'. It has a fully equipped kitchen, cozy living spaces and all the DVDs and CDs you can use. It really feels like you are staying in a friend's home rather than renting a 'sterile' house. The grounds and view are spectacular. You can even soak in the Jacuzzi after creating aches and pains on the trampoline. Dog and kid friendly too. I will be returning year after year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great family cabin

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 9, 2013

My family and I stayed here for a 3 day weekend. The cabin was wonderful and the views were spectacular. Would definitely stay here again. Perfect for large groups.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Weekend Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

This lodge is great. We saw a gorgeous full moon, wildlife, and had some wonderful family time. Lodge is perfect for a weekend away with your family. Each of us had our own bedroom, and shared meals. Grandsons had a great time as well. I would recommend this Lodge to anyone. We hope to come back next year.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place for a large group.

Review submitted: December 7, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving vacation in your breath-taking, beautiful homes. We experienced such peace and joy in this perfect “piece of heaven.” Actually saw a deer cross the driveway, great grey squirrels, bright blue jays in abundance, the Christmas tree-lighting and Mr. and Mrs. Santa Claus! Just such a wonderful time!

It has become a tradition of our family to spend Thanksgiving in Idyllwild. We have stayed in many different cabins over the years and this was by far our best experiences. We have a large family and it can be a little hectic all being under one roof. So we elected to rent Charles Place just a short walk down the road. Both had beautiful views and tons of wildlife. We used Charles place as a quiet retreat and place for kids with early bed times while the rest of the family stayed at Keifer Lodge. It made for a very pleasent experience with such a large group.

We hope to return to these lovely places each time we visit Idyllwild. Thanks so much for sharing your beautiful homes with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Back to Nature

Review submitted: November 15, 2012   Date of arrival: November 12, 2012

Wow, spectacular views from sunrise to sunset, then a magical world of little lights coming on in the valley below and countless stars coming out in the heavens above. Great accommodations. Great for walks, hikes. Great for relaxing and getting work done in peace and quiet. Loved it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best play to stay in Idylwild!

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

This home is spectacular! It's fully stocked with everything you need and it has a breathtaking view!
Very large and roomy so it can accommodate a family reunion if need be. We loved sitting in the Lizard Lounge and out on the deck taking in the beautiful scenery. Idylwild is a very quanit little town too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

An amazing getaway for birthday weekend!

Review submitted: March 13, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

Where to begin??? We had the pleasure of staying in this beautiful lodge for a birthday weekend in February. A group of 10 adults, there was more than enough room to accommodate all of us. The privacy of the location was awesome - we felt away from it all. The beds were comfortable and warm -- although we were completely spoiled with the stellar daytime weather -- it was nearly 80. As soon as the sun was down, it cooled off substantially and we were able to fully enjoy the fireplace. We brought our own firewood (because normally you have to - it's never provided), but in this case, there was a huge stack of wood for our use. We simply just added ours to the pile!

The kitchen was MORE than stocked!! I've never rented a property that was as well appointed as this one! From pots, pans, wine openers (important!), cheese graters, griddles, waffle maker, blender....enough glasses/mugs for an army. Paper goods provided were more than ample. Bathrooms were clean and perfectly situated for our large group.

A beautiful lodge both inside and out -- lots of beautiful artwork. Outside - a huge lot - with plenty of seating areas - the most fabulous canopied lounge! So cool that my husband has talked about nothing else but how he's going to build one for our yard! A jacuzzi, outdoor stove/oven, ping pong, and most importantly -- a trampoline. You'd think that 10, 40-somethings wouldn't be interested - but you're wrong! We had a blast on that thing!

The property manager was great. I never even talked with her. Just emailed back and forth. She was very accommodating and pleasant. Her instructions were clear and easy to follow.

We visited the town each day. Shopped, ate, drank. The only disappointment to all of us was dinner out on Saturday night. We went to the Creek House. Would not recommend. The food was just okay - the service was less than accommodating for our party. We spent a huge amount of money and weren't remotely impressed. This was unfortunate as it came highly recommended. I'm only including this information to enlighten future renters!

Thanks so much for sharing this amazing place! I'm hoping to put together another trip in the fall. We'll definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

We will be back...again

Review submitted: February 20, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

This was our second visit to the Lookout Lodge and it will not be our last. The home is perfect, and the location is second to none. The home is in a very private neighborhood, and the town is a short drive away. This views are spectacular from the deck, and the rest of the property is well maintained.

Maureen is very accomodating and makes renting this place a seamless transaction. She is responsive to all of your neds and requests.

If you are looking for the idea place to stay in Idyllwild, look no further, you found it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 25, 2011

The house is large, spacious, bright, comfortable, clean, cozy, and tasteful - - in other words, perfect. It had everything I needed or wanted and more. Best of all is the absolutely fabulous view from the house's ample balconies. The trampoline was its own revelation. The grounds and its gemlike siting on the crown of a hill on the edge of a valley and sprawling mountains are so superlative that the only worry is making sure to soak it all in in the time you got and choose which aspect of the house and garden to enjoy first.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Favorite rental in Idyllwild

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

We've been coming to Idyllwild since 1999 and stayed in many rental houses. This one is our favorite. It's a lovely home with every amenity. The views are incredible. The house is very quiet and very cool, even on hot days. The beds are very comfortable. My daughter has loved having a trampoline to jump on. The house and property are very well maintained and clean. We have enjoyed sitting on the balcony and watching the wildlife.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Idyllic weekend (re)treat!

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

Beautiful moutaintop location, spectacular views, quiet seclusion, yet still conveniently close to local restaurants and small town attractions. The house is huge and very well appointed with original art. Space for BBQ, mutiple decks for wine and conversation, and a hidden hot tub for whatever comes after. Comfortable beds too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

concerns quickly addressed

Review submitted: February 16, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

We stayed in this beautiful home over Christmas, 2010 and have been assured by the owner and property manager that all of our previous concerns regarding the kitchen supplies, hot water and refrigerator were corrected.

We look forward to visiting the Keifer Lodge again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Breath Taking

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: January 7, 2011

A few of my friends and family just stayed here over the weekend, and none of us wanted to leave!. The cabin was by far the biggest and nicest i have ever stayed at. Maureen, the property manager was very kind and understanding to my family's situation and worked with us. The cabin is huge and has beautiful views from the patio. Very spacious to do pretty much anything. Peaceful, quite and relaxing. This place is a cant miss!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great Location!

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

We just spent Christmas at the Keifer Lodge. It is a great house for a large family gathering and we all had a wonderful time. The property manager is very helpful and prompt returning phone calls. There is beautifull scenery and great hiking close by. However, I would advise anyone to bring ALL of your own pots, pans, silverware, glasses, etc. as the kitchen is VERY sparcely stocked. The refrigerator is in major need of upgrading. The icemaker doesn't work at all. One of the showers NEVER had hot water, so we all showered in one bathroom.
This is a great house with stunning views, but needs some TLC.

Another issue is the fact you must haul off ALL of your own garbage. There is no trash pickup.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The Davitt Family

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

We had a large family get together for the Thanksgiving holiday at this cabin. I cannot say enough good things about this whole experience. The pictures on this site are beautiful, but they don't even compare to how beautiful everything is when you see it in person. I can't imagine there are better views in all of Idyllwild. The sunsets/sunrises were spectacular, and being able to view them from the decks and just about everywhere in the house was amazing. Not only that, but the artwork inside the cabin is incredible. I wish I could buy every piece! The amenities were first rate, and the kitchen had everything needed for our Thanksgiving dinner. The entertainment room is beyond compare with the endless selections of wonderful movies, books and games. For the first time in a rental experience, I have absolutely nothing negative to say about this place! Thank you to Maureen for the great communication and helping us set this all up. We truly couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay in a more beautiful mountain setting. :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: November 15, 2010   Date of arrival: November 11, 2010

We just returned home from three wonderful nights at the Keifer Lookout Lodge. Breathtaking is the best way to describe this home. The home has first class amenities and the views are amazing. We spent each morning on the deck watching the sun come up over the mountains. The property itself was well kept, with a wonderful yard and more than enough wood for the fireplace.

This home offers solitude but yet is close enough to town and the many fine restaurants that are located in Idyllwild. The property looks even more amazing when you see it in person.

The rental experience was flawless. Maureen was very easy accommodating and we look forward to returning. We are already looking at our calanders.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect get-away

Review submitted: August 28, 2010   Date of arrival: August 27, 2010

Very lovely home, perfect for a mountain get-away. Maureen, the property manager, is extremely responsive, professional and easy to work with in booking your stay. Staying in this home surrounded by the amazing works of art painted by the owners was magical; everywhere you look, their one-of-a-kind art is decorated throughout the home and creates a very warm feel. Stepping out on the deck, you see views of the San Jacintos that are just breathtaking - from sunrise to the starry nights. The trampoline and landscaped yard (waterfall!) are an added bonus! Unforgettable experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review