reviews for: listing #103717 - Idyllwild, California House rental

Quietly Awakens The Soul!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $225 /nt
    $900 - $1,200 /wk
    $2,800 - $3,400 /mth

sort by:

Midweek family break

Review submitted: March 23, 2014   Date of arrival: March 18, 2014

We found this fantastic cabin at the last minute for a short midweek family break. The property is very comfortably furnished and equipped, well maintained and serviced. The location is a perfect balance between being quiet and isolated while being close enough to the village for shops and restaurants. The fireplace is a fantastic feature and made an already comfortable stay even more cosy. We ready enjoyed the peace and quiet and views from the panoramic living room windows. We would definitely book again and think we found the perfect Idyllwild cabin.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family getaway

Review submitted: February 22, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2014

I went there with my family (self, husband, and two young kids) along with my best friend and her family of similar makeup. We had such a great time. The cabin was fully equipped, including bunk beds for our young sons. The deck outside was wonderful and had a gorgeous view. There were plenty of places to hike around the cabin, and we saw a lot of wildlife. I would definitely recommend this cabin!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful cabin

Review submitted: October 10, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

My wife and I, along with my son and his girlfriend, spent last weekend at this amazing cabin in Idyllwild. We had picked this out because of the views from the deck, and we were pleased to find it even better than expected. Maureen, the owner, had been wonderful in getting information to us, so it should not have been surprising to find the cabin clean and well-decorated. Although we enjoyed the town and our hikes, we were reluctant to leave the cabin - we were content to sit on the deck and take in the mountain views, with a fire at night to enhance the mood. Anyone who chooses this cabin for a weekend away will find it better than described, and you will find yourself planning tour next trip back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Repeat Visitor

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 27, 2013

One year prior to this visit I stayed here with a group of girlfriends to write. At that time we wanted a clean, quiet, no hassle retreat to spend our days and nights writing. This property delivered, so when my husband needed to write I immediately booked this cabin again. He was VERY pleased. The kitchen was well stocked with things needed to cook meals, everything was clean and in order and the view was amazing. My children and I joined him after three days and they also enjoyed themselves tremendously! We are planning a return trip as I type this review. I hope it's available ;-).

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just what we needed.

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a place to relax and enjoy the scenery. This place delivered. It had everything we needed, and we were entertained by deer and beautiful birds. The view from the deck is wonderful, and the cozy home has many windows to enjoy the view from inside as well. We hope to visit again some day.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great View, Peaceful Escape from the City !

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

We enjoyed the cabin very much and spent most of our time out on the deck watching wildlife (deers, squirrels, birds) and being lazy. The view is phenomenal. The place is just lovely and immaculate. Owner takes special care of this cabin. Everything we needed was there. We love the fireplace and the kitchen is very functional. Town is not far away but we prefer staying in and enjoying the tranquility! Thank you.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pictures Don't Do It Justice

Review submitted: February 27, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

What an amazing view!! The home was absolutely immaculate, but also felt like your own home in the same instance. There were 6 of us (4 adults, 2 kids) and there was more than enough room. A great kitchen to make some wonderful meals, comfy bedrooms and the great stone fireplace where we spent most of our time. Great amenities including a flat screen tv, dvd player and bose stereo. Really great lighting fixtures throughout the house that added to the woodsy feel. The kids loved the treehouse and being able to run around on the deck. It was way more than we imagined and was the perfect place to spend a long, lazy weekend! Highly recommended!

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing!!

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2013

You will love this cabin. There are so many windows that you will feel like you are outdoors even when you are sitting on the couch. We arrived on a Friday and were scheduled to depart on Sunday. We had such a great time that we contacted Maureen to see if we could extend our stay an extra night. Nobody wanted to leave!! It is perfect for two couples or a family. The kitchen is great for whipping up a meal or, if you prefer, it is less than a five minute drive into town. There is a nice TV in the family room....great for watching a movie or catching that football game. Beds are very comfy and the two bathrooms are nicely decorated. There is even a small washer/dryer. We will return!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Marvelous Retreat

Review submitted: November 16, 2012   Date of arrival: November 13, 2012

My husband and I spent three wonderful days at this terrific mountain home. Sweeping across mountains, then down to a valley, and then out again to mountains as far as the eye can see, the views from the living room, dining area, wrap around deck, and bedroom are breathtaking. We felt as if we were living on top of the world. And the stars at night were amazingly bright. The quiet was most welcome. We totally unwound. The house is comfortable, tastefully furnished, and well-equipped. The town and hiking trails are just a five minute drive away. We will definitely stay here again and again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Views lots of room and Quiet

Review submitted: November 1, 2012   Date of arrival: October 28, 2012

We had a great time, The tree house was a hit with our 3 year old. Such a quiet place, great fireplace, nice well equiped kitchen and a fantastic deck with a great view. . About a mile and a half from town, very convenient would stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing view, peaceful retreat, kids loved it too!

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 24, 2012

I just wanted to thank you for the experience of staying at your beautiful cabin in the forest. Your deck is amazing. My kids and I also enjoyed the "Wild Animal Park" show in the morning of the rabbits, bluejays, squirrels, chipmunks and quail feeding as we had breakfast. Mostly, I enjoyed the peace.

I hope to be able to rent it again some time in the future. Thanks again!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful writing retreat

Review submitted: April 1, 2012   Date of arrival: March 29, 2012

Five of us spent 4 days and 3 nights in this lovely, comfortable cabin for our writing retreat. The view is breathtaking and is enjoyed from many places in the house since the living room is mostly surrounded in beautiful windows. Surprisingly, the house is comfortably warm even in cold weather. Furnishings were also very comfortable and we had pretty much everything we needed. Highly recommended and very reasonably priced. We'll be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enjoyable Stay in a Great Idyllwild Cabin

Review submitted: February 22, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

We spent several evenings search vrbo to find a special place to stay in Idyllwild. We looked at a ton of rentals and read countless reviews. We settled on this cabin based on the pictures and the feedback. We arrived at the cabin and found that the view, location and setting to be spectacular. Very much like was was shown in the pictures. The view from the cabin may have been more impressive in person than in the pictures. We entered cabin and found that the inside of the cabin was actually a little more impressive in person than what was shown in the pictures. The cabin was furnished with everything you would need to enjoy your stay. Videos, music, pots n pans, magazines, Idyllwild periodicals and so on.

We had our two young daughters with us (age two and six months). The cabin was very kid friendly and that helped put us at ease. With that said the cabin would be perfect for just the wife and I too! We enjoyed the sunrises, sunsets and the snow in the area. Saw a ton of birds, too many squirrels to count and had the pleasure of catching a long look at a bobcat right from the cabin! We come up to Idyllwild at least once a year and have stayed at a half dozen cabins over the years. This cabin was our favorite by far. We'll be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

A Magical Weekend

Review submitted: December 23, 2011   Date of arrival: December 2, 2011

My husband and some friends and I were lucky enough to rent this beautiful cabin recently. Everything is very clean! On top of that, it truly felt like our own home! There were all sorts of touches that truly let you enjoy nature. My favorite was the bird seed left in the kitchen. We were able to fill and bird feeder by the windows and watch all the local wildlife: woodpeckers, finches, blue birds, mountain jays, quail, squirrels and chipmunks. The pictures from the deck don't do it justice- truly breathtaking views! We plan on returning soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good to be back in Idyllwild!

Review submitted: November 22, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

Not a typical rental . . . more like staying in someone's home! Cozy, comfortable! What we expected from the pictures and more! Everything in fine working order. We enjoyed the wildlife, views, and quiet privacy. All the "thoughtful" extras made our stay more convenient! Have already recommended to friends and family. A trip to the "Nature Center" off hwy 243 was delightful!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding

Review submitted: October 17, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

It's amazing to think that just 2 hours way there is so much beauty. There was never a need to turn on the TV...we enjoyed "Nature’s Big Screen" right off the spacious deck. Between Mother Nature and all God's creatures we never had a dull moment. We saw many birds, squirrels, rabbits, chipmunks and our morning visit from Bambi. It was great.
The center of town is not far and the restaurants we ate at were all great, The Red Kettle, Arriba’s Mexican and Gastrognome, Or better yet just stay put and enjoy this beautiful home.
The beds were very comfortable and all the amenities you need are right there. The panoramic view from inside or outside is outstanding. Little did we know that the valley below turned out to be the horse trail we took from a Sundown Horse ride from The Little Yellow Rose Ranch.
I can’t say enough about this beautiful home.
The only disappointment you’ll have, is when it’s time to pack up and go home.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WONDERFUL WEEKEND RETREAT

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

This cabin is just what we needed to unwind and relax. The views from the deck and living areas made us feel like we were outside. The location is close to town and yet feels like you are far from everything. The kitchen is well stocked, beds comfortable and all in all, just a wonderful place to visit. We will be back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Could not have been more cozy yet open

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 21, 2010

Turn key is the best words to describe this fabulous cabin. Great location, GREAT views, and all the amenities one would need when holing up for a few days of R&R in the mountains. Thanks for everything and we look forward to a return trip one day!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

mountains plus a view

Review submitted: November 27, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

We stayed in the property over a holiday. I made the mistake of taking all my own pots and pans. Unnecessary. The cabin, is perfectly appointed. I was amazed by the full 180 degree view from the living room and the deck. The living room blinds opened to a panoramic view unmatched in Idyllwild. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the hosts very hospitable. We absolutely loved our stay and hope to book the cabin again soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing View, Wildlife Galore, Great Location

Review submitted: September 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 14, 2010

We stayed in this spacious Idyllwild mountain home for a much-needed weekend getaway in May of 2010. We were fortunate enough to find last minute availability here. One of our requirements when searching for accommodations was a place with a view. Also, we were looking for peacefulness, away from the hussle & bussle of town. We certainly found it here!!! The center of town, with quaint shops, lots of dining locations, grocery store, etc., is a very short drive from the house. Hiking is available all over Idyllwild and Pine Cove and so that was very conveniently located as well. The squirrels & birds were extraordinarily brave, visiting us on the large deck frequently during our stay. Even though there were only 2 of us staying here the home looks like it can easily and comfortably accommodate our family, (we have 4 adult children), and then some. Lots of room, very clean, comfortable and with an amazing view! The kitchen is large, as are all the rooms really. The view is not one you will find too often in Idyllwild. After this stay we returned for another get-away the end of July and this house was already previously booked so we stayed at a different vacation rental in town. That one did not come even close to comparing with Bob & Maureen's house. We are so thankful for the wonderful getaway we had at this lovely home and would definitely recommend it to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Mountain Heaven

Review submitted: September 4, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2010

We just spent a month and did not want to leave. Incredible location with panoramic vistas from the house and deck. Very quiet neighborhood of hints of being the only ones on the mountain! The house is very comfortable with everything you need. This house is a real find!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review