reviews for: listing #103792 - Pasadena, California Cabin rental

Luxurious Retreat, 5 miles to Rose Bowl!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $175 - $265 /nt
    $1,220 - $2,350 /wk
    $3,950 - $4,295 /mth

sort by:

casa aralia

Review submitted: July 20, 2014   Date of arrival: June 25, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
home was pleasant and well stocked with items needed in vacation home. neighbors seemed friendly when we were out walking the dogs. host checked in with us to make sure everything was okay. home was generally clean except that dishes had been put away dirty (probably by previous tenant). notebook on house and area very complete and very helpful. a very nice experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Very Cute Place to Stay!

Review submitted: June 27, 2014   Date of arrival: June 5, 2014

This is a very cute, well-equipped condo rental! It's tucked away up in the hills, but overall was pretty convenient for us since we were out and about most of the day. We loved how well stocked this house was - they thought of everything! My husband had a strained neck during the trip and there was even an ice pack in the freezer. They have a beautiful patio outside complete with BBQ, table and chair. The condo is also very well decorated - very cute!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

LA visit

Review submitted: March 15, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

Very nice place. It was very clean, well equipped and quiet. It was close to everything I wanted to visit. The owner was helpful and answered promptly. Her advise book was accurate. The photos were accurate. The laundry facilities were top notch. Having them is very important to a traveler. The gift basket was very thoughtful. I would recommend this place to friends and relatives alike.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Rose Bowl Location

Review submitted: January 11, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

Our family traveled here from Florida for the National Championship Game. GO Seminoles! It is a perfect location for the games and for sightseeing. We traveled to Hollywood, Beverly Hills and Santa Monica with NO traffic. Very short drive to Old pasadena shopping area, my personal favorite.
Upon arrival we were charmed to see this beautifully renovated home with fireplace, two flat screen TV s. The house is fully equipped and well stocked for any occasion. The beds are comfortable, the linens are nice. We felt right at home. Not to mention the great gift box of snacks awaiting us. Coffee on the completely private patio looking up at the Mountains was a delight very morning. The home was spotlessly clean and filled with all the little touches and all the little things you always forget to bring with you

Whether traveling for a game or just a relaxing stay in beautiful Pasadena I highly recommend this home. This will always be my first choice in Pasadena. The Granatos

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Becky! We were so happy to have you and your family stay with us. Thanks for being such terrific guests. We hope to see you back again soon!
Helena & Kathleen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great for sleeping!

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

The 3 of us loved the beds! They were so comfy!!!
The fireplace was really nice & added a nice touch on chilly evenings!
The kitchen was very well equipped!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great place to relax & enjoy the peace & quiet of the foothills

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

After all the hustle and bustle of the 750,000 people attending the Rose Bowl Parade & game on New Years Day, it was just wonderful to get back to our bungalow & enjoy the peace & quiet of our vacation home. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything you need for a take-out prepared dinner, or heating up leftovers or cooking it yourself! We had some great breakfasts in the morning before we took off for all the pre & post parade activities! Loved the outdoor patio - very private with wonderful table & chairs & sitting area too! Big sliding glass door from the living room opens up onto the patio.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casa aralia

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

Outstanding. Accurate representation. Modern, clean, very comfortable and excellently equipped. Quiet. Wonderful comfortable patio, great beds, charming contact persons. Located further from Pasadena than anticipated but everything else perfect. Comfortable couch for sleeping. Would definitely recommend to family, friends etc.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Stay at Casa Aralia - Feb-Mar 2013

Review submitted: March 8, 2013   Date of arrival: February 24, 2013

My stay was most enjoyable and although in Pasadena on buisness, it was lovely to get home to a comfortable and well equiped house, in a quiet location, but still very close to town.
I found everything I needed and was only a little puzzled but the way the heating-airconditioning worked and the instructions could be made a little easier to follow.
The patio is wonderful and I very much enjoyed just sitting out watching the stars and airplanes in the distance!
Thank you for a lovely stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Property

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

We had a great stay and found the unit to be in good shape, clean and functional. There is a gas fireplace in the living room that we enjoyed at night when it got chilly and the outdoor patio is really nice as well. Helena was great to work with and the two times we needed to get in touch with her she answered the phone the first time we called and had our requests taken care of the same day.
The unit does have a shared wall with the bungalow next to it (I'm not sure I realized that before we arrived) but it wasn't at all an issue as it was extremely quiet the entire time, even during the day when my son was napping. The neighborhood in general was super quiet, the only thing we heard during our two week stay was the garbage trucks. If you are looking for something in the Altadena/Pasadena area this is a great choice for a peaceful and comfortable location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Single visitor to LA

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

Casa Arelia was a great place to base a vacation to Pasadena and Los Angeles in general. I took day trips up to Mount Wilson and to the Huntington and Norton Simon Galleries a few miles away. It's on a quiet street with easy parking. The place was very comfortable with a nice back patio to enjoy the view of the Angeles mountains.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: September 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

This is our second VRBO experience and like the first, it was a great experience!!!! Our trip from Alabama to California was very last minute. We needed to stay near the South Pasadena area and Casa Aralia was the perfect location! The description and pictures are just as it is:) the reviews helped me in deciding and they were all true. The home was clean, comfortable, decorated nicely, had a relaxing patio ...... And trails in the hills, right around the corner:) Neighbors were friendly as well:) With daughters in South Pasadena and Hollywood, we were able to easily travel both areas from our home away from home. Enjoyed our stay very much!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Visit To Pasadena (Casa Aralia)

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 13, 2012

We spent 10 days at Casa Aralia. We were visiting Pasadena for my son's wedding. We were very impressed with the accommodation. It was clean and well equipped.
We felt the listing was very accurate. My husband loves to cook and he was impressed with the cooking facilities. I was very impressed with the laundry facilities. It is in a quiet and pretty location. As the main purpose of our visit was the wedding we didn't have much time for sightseeing!We did visit the Huntingdon and were very impressed with the gardens. We also loved our open topped bus tour of Hollywood!
I was pleased to discover a hairdressing salon open on Sunday(day of the wedding) They did a fabulous job on my hair for 35 dollars. It is called the blo out lounge on Raymond Avenue.
We would definitely book this accommodation again. Rose Calderwood

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous retreat in the Foothillls

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

We stayed 4 weeks at Casa Aralia, so we got to know the location pretty well. First, the property itself is great - exact as described. Firm beds, lots of pillows, granite countertops, appliances work fine, travertine floors throughout (clean and cool underfoot), lots of windows (sunny), huge patio area (very usable), reliable internet, big TV, really good washer/dryer. All good quality & working perfectly, no worries. The place has central A/C that works well, but we found that we used it less than we expected, even in the middle of summer, because it gets cool at night and there is a great cross breeze. So if you are looking for 2br, 1ba, it's hard to imagine a better setup. The description is accurate, the owner was very helpful and the whole rental process was professional and straightforward. No problems or surprises at all. The truly unexpected bonus was the neighborhood. It's in the foothills of the mountains. There is a single access road, so it's like a little oasis. It has lots of tall, shady trees. It's the kind of place where people wave and say hello to everyone who passes by. People stop and chat. Lots of people have dogs, and they walk them in the middle of the street (there is only local traffic, and because it's a small neighborhood, there's not much). So it is not a "city" feeling at all, even though you are just a few minutes from the 210 freeway. It is a short drive up the hill to get there, but it's worth it. I went for a walk in the mountains almost every day (5-7 min up the street and you are on a network of trails in the San Gabriel mtns, with views of downtown LA. ). Also, I need to mention the SuperKing supermarket, just down the hill in Altadena. Forget Whole Foods and Bristol Farms and Trader Joes -- seriously -- SuperKing rules! A lot of vacation rentals in LA are beach properties. To me, beach = noisy, congested, sirens, bars on the windows, and alienated city people... This is the total opposite in every way. I miss it already!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent hotel alternative

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 18, 2012

My family stayed here for the CalTech graduation. The location is great - close to downtown Pasadena, but also out of the way to escape at the end of the day. This was a much better option than a hotel for a family with a small child; we really appreciated having a kitchen and a separate bedroom. Thanks for the great stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Casa Aralia is a charming home away from home!

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

We just came back from a very relaxing, comfortable stay at Casa Aralia. Due to an illness in the family, we had to travel to SoCal on very short notice. I called the number provided on VRBO and got a response right away, and we checked in the very next evening. Casa Aralia is located in a quiet neighborhood tucked away in the mountains, about a 10 minutes' drive from Pasadena (terrific restaurants and shops). The house is small, cozy, very clean, and charming. It was really pleasant to walk in and see a welcome basket full of snacks - nice touch and very appreciated! The place is elegantly decorated in a mid-century style, with a cool, updated kitchen -- beautiful countertop/backsplash tiles. The kitchen is well-stocked with equipment and utensils for every cooking need you might have. The back patio is large and really beautiful with potted plants everywhere. Great for lounging with a glass of wine! The house is also stocked with plenty of extra towels and bedding for the 2 airbeds. If we needed something, the owner was always reachable and quick to respond. Given the highly stressful circumstances behind our family's visit, it was helpful to come home to such a pleasant environment to decompress each day. We highly recommend Casa Aralia and hope to be back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous retreat in the foothillls

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

We stayed 4 weeks at Casa Aralia, so we got to know the location pretty well. First, the property itself is great - exact as described. Firm beds, lots of pillows, granite countertops, appliances work fine, travertine floors throughout (clean and cool underfoot), lots of windows (sunny), huge patio area (very usable), reliable internet, big TV, really good washer/dryer. All good quality & working perfectly, no worries. The place has central A/C that works well, but we found that we used it less than we expected, even in the middle of summer, because it gets cool at night and there is a great cross breeze. So if you are looking for 2br, 1ba, it's hard to imagine a better setup. The description is accurate, the owner was very helpful and the whole rental process was professional and straightforward. No problems or surprises at all.

The truly unexpected bonus was the neighborhood. It's in the foothills of the mountains. There is a single access road, so it's like a little oasis. It has lots of tall, shady trees. It's the kind of place where people wave and say hello to everyone who passes by. People stop and chat. Lots of people have dogs, and they walk them in the middle of the street (there is only local traffic, and because it's a small neighborhood, there's not much). So it is not a "city" feeling at all, even though you are just a few minutes from the 210 freeway. It is a short drive up the hill to get there, but it's worth it. I went for a walk in the mountains almost every day (5-7 min up the street and you are on a network of trails in the San Gabriel mtns, with views of downtown LA. ). Also, I need to mention the SuperKing supermarket, just down the hill in Altadena. Forget Whole Foods and Bristol Farms and Trader Joes -- seriously -- SuperKing rules!

A lot of vacation rentals in LA are beach properties. To me, beach = noisy, congested, sirens, bars on the windows, and alienated city people... This is the total opposite in every way. I miss it already!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Casa Aralia is a charming home away from home!

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

We just came back from a very relaxing, comfortable stay at Casa Aralia. Due to an illness in the family, we had to travel to SoCal on very short notice. I called the number provided on VRBO and got a response right away, and we checked in the very next evening. Casa Aralia is located in a quiet neighborhood tucked away in the mountains, about a 10 minutes' drive from Pasadena (terrific restaurants and shops). The house is small, cozy, very clean, and charming. It was really pleasant to walk in and see a welcome basket full of snacks - nice touch and very appreciated! The place is elegantly decorated in a mid-century style, with a cool, updated kitchen -- beautiful countertop/backsplash tiles. The kitchen is well-stocked with equipment and utensils for every cooking need you might have. The back patio is large and really beautiful with potted plants everywhere. Great for lounging with a glass of wine! The house is also stocked with plenty of extra towels and bedding for the 2 airbeds. If we needed something, the owner was always reachable and quick to respond.

Given the highly stressful circumstances behind our family's visit, it was helpful to come home to such a pleasant environment to decompress each day. We highly recommend Casa Aralia and hope to be back soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent hotel alternative

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 13, 2012

My family stayed here for the CalTech graduation. The location is great - close to downtown Pasadena, but also out of the way to escape at the end of the day. This was a much better option than a hotel for a family with a small child; we really appreciated having a kitchen and a separate bedroom. Thanks for the great stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Lovely and Peaceful Stay

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

My wife and I had a great stay at Casa Aralia. The location was superb for us. It's in a quiet and secluded neighborhood, but still only ten minutes to central Pasadena, and less than an hour to almost anywhere we wanted to be in the LA area (Disneyland, Hollywood, Beaches, Mountains, etc.).

The house was neat, clean, and nicely furnished.... just as described on the website. The owner was very helpful, making our travel arrangements easy.

The was a great place to relax after a full days activity. We highly recommend Casa Aralia, and we're looking forward to our next visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Casa Aralia

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 8, 2012

I really enjoyed the "artfully" decorated "bungalo". Beautifull location and close to many areas. The owner was very helpfull. I would love to come again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Casa Aralia, Altadena, California

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

Caa Aralia is a beautiful, quiet bungalow in the Altadena hills. It is perfectly appointed . The living room is so very attractive, comfortable, and relaxing. The bedrooms are not only beautiful, they are so comfortable, the sheets and Duvets of excellent quality. The kitchen has new, excellent appliances and the counter space is wonderful to use with more than adequate cabinets. The bathroom is lovely with beautiful, quality racks for towels, and the towels are quality and plush. The dining area is lovely and so easy to use with the pass-through counter from the kitchen. The washer/driers are new and, again, of the best quality. I spent so much of my time on the very private and beautiful patio - only found in southern California. If you are going to be in Pasadena/Altadena, this is the house you want to be in! Everything has been thought of for your comfort!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Casa Aralia

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

My husband and I had a delightful stay at Casa Aralia. The drive to the house was a treat in itself, winding through the foothills. The house was immaculately clean, the yard and patio beautifully landscaped, and the decor was in perfect keeping with the style and time period that the house was built. The beds were oh-so-comfy with luxurious linens. The kitchen was well stocked, and anything we needed was at our fingertips. There was a notebook with everything from how to operate the remote to the owner's favorite restaurants and places to visit. The owner has been very thoughtful in providing for her guests' comfort and enjoyment. We will definitely book Casa Aralia on our next return to the Pasadena area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

excellent stay

Review submitted: May 28, 2011   Date of arrival: May 18, 2011

From the moment we arrive to our departure this place make our stay memorable the area where is located is so serene and is so close to Pasadena only 5 minutes and LA is about 20 minutes away.We stay 5 nigths love the details of the place excellent living area and the bedrooms are real nice,wonderfull patio area were you can spent the day observing the birds and during the nigth the moon with a glass of wine and cheese that the wonderfull owner have left us in a detail basket for our enyoingment we love it.We be back next years hope this review help others choose wise .We rate this place 110% Renne and jesse couple traveling from France.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a secret gem!

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: May 24, 2011

I so enjoyed my stay in your private bungalow. It was a real slice of luxury, like a 5-star oasis, without any of the hassles of a hotel stay. It was so nice to wake up in the morning, in the luxurious bedding, to a view of palm trees against the blue sky. I liked that this bungalow is tucked away in a private neighborhood -- no traffic, no noise, just tranquility.. I loved having dinner on the outdoor patio, then watching the big screen TV with a cozy fire. Mmmmm. This home was the perfect home base during my business trip. Can't wait to come back again!!
With many thanks,
-- Nancy W., Philadelphia, PA

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 26, 2011   Date of arrival: December 29, 2010

What a great place! Our family thoroughly enjoyed our visit to see family. It was great when we arrived to have such a thoughtful basket of goodies to enjoy! We especially liked the furnishings and the very nice linens. Thank you so much for allowing our family to enjoy your beautiful home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 26, 2011   Date of arrival: October 17, 2010

“This home is a great place to stay. My husband and I enjoyed being able to walk to a great hiking trail and we liked how comfortable and nicely furnished the home was. We will definitely be back!”

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review