reviews for: listing #103990 - Lucerne, Switzerland House rental

Lakeside home in the Alps
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (CHF) 7 - 140 /nt
    1,250 - 1,750 /wk

sort by:

The Perfect House in the Alps

Review submitted: May 11, 2014   Date of arrival: April 28, 2014

The house is perfect in terms of location, scenery, equipment and friendly owners. My friends and I stayed for a week and even though the weather was not as good as expected we had wonderful time staying even indoors because the place is really cozy and perfectly equipped. Lungern is typical Swiss village in the Alps where you can feel the spirit of the local people and their everyday life. At the same time you are only 30 min away from Interlaken and less than an hour away from Luzern.
The house is even more beautiful than the photos. You will find everything you need in it. The kitchen is perfectly equipped and there is a grill place in the garden. The view of the lake from one of the bedrooms and the living room is breathtaking. There is a fire place which made the house even cozier.
The owners are very nice and the communication was perfect.
I highly recommend it, it really felt like home which made it very special.

Owners response: Thank you for staying with us. We love to share our hide away in the Swiss Alps and are delighed to read that you enjoyed your stay.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

This place is perfect!

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

This property is equipped with every amenity, in addition to an idyllic location lakeside. There is a modern, well-equipped kitchen, comfortable beds, plenty of bathrooms, a variety of books to read and movies to watch. This is a home where you can stay indoors for a week and be well entertained, or you can spend the week out in the yard or walking and hiking around the lake and up the surrounding mountains. The train station is a 15 min walk from the house, allowing you public transportation for your daily outings. There are even adapter plugs for every type of electrical plug. Everything about this home and this town conveys hospitality; it would be a wonderful vacation spot in every season of the year.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A Dream House in a Dream Village

Review submitted: May 8, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

This home in a delightful, picture postcard village was just perfect for us. The house was lovelier than the pictures, spotless, and with every amenity imaginable. We have stayed in VRBO rentals before and this was our best experience to date. The owners were busineslike, efficient, and friendly. Upon arrival, we were welcomed by Isabel, who showed us how to operate the many modern appliances, answered our questions, and provided suggestions about the Lungern area. She also brought bread, wine and cheese which we enjoyed. Imagine looking out one window and seeing water cascading off the side of a mountain, and looking out another to see a lake, cathedral and village--all within walking distance. We made this spot our home base for a week of travels in Switzerland. Due to Lungern's central location, we were able to enjoy both beautiful cities and awesome nature on easy day trips. If we have an opportunity to return to Switzerland, here is where we will want to stay.

Owners response: Thank you for staying with us. Lungern is a greate gateway to visit the Lucerne area and the Bernese Oberland.
Thank you also for taking good care of the house. Welcome back any time!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Very comfortable house for a family

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

Our family really enjoyed our stay in Lungern. The house exceptionally clean and well equipped. The kitchen is great for cooking and has everything you need. My kids loved the bunk beds, and we loved the great quality down duvets. There are tons of books for both adults and children, which is a nice touch. The TV is a little old (no HDMI plug if you're bring iPad, etc) but worked well and my kids enjoyed all the movies they had available. The house truly feels like a home and not just a rental house, and the owners were very helpful during our stay. Having a garage with an electronic door opener was a really nice surprise, especially in snowy winter time! The drive was even shoveled for us after a snow. We loved being able to walk over to the Schoenbul lift to go sledding on the 3km trails. Warning- they are steep and fast!!! And the views from the top are worth it alone- truly the most stunning view we have ever seen in our entire lives. We also enjoyed skiing in nearby Halisberg. It's an easy 20 minute drive, and there are many stations to choose from with great pistes. My kids loved the ski school and activities at Bidmi. The people of Lungern seem very nice, and we even had car trouble and repairs done at the local garage. They were kind enough to lend us a car so we could continue to enjoy our vacation while the car was being repaired. The little grocery is small, but well stocked with good quality foods. We can see how amazing it would be in the summer, and really wish to return.

Owners response: We would be delighted to see you back, why not for a summer vacation?

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Vacation in the snow

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

The house is situated in a beautiful location surrounded by mountains. The moment we walked in we just felt at home. Personally I loved the skylight in our bedroom but we sadly were only able to use it the first day as it got snowed in. And every room had a very nice view either of the village on the other side of the lake, or the mountains and waterfall.

The village is quite charming and the "lungerers" were very friendly. There were a few shops with basic products but we were surprised to find that they close at lunch time. We did actually drive down to Sarnen a 20 minute dive to do some more extensive shopping and found supermarkets there.

One of the nicest activities was walking around the lake it took us 2 hours but was worth it. An interesting thing was that the lake was Lowe, the first day it looked a bit like a crater and we went down walking in it witch was very muddy but then it snowed and looked more like the moon.

Lungern is a small village but we there were a few different restaurants one of witch was very close to the house. We were also surprised to Learn that there was a shooting range in the village, and that was a very impressive experience ! Personally it was the first time that I shot , we got an instructor and all really enjoyed shooting even though I was quite skeptical about it at the beginning. The kids loved shooting in the "shooting theater" and so did we though lazar guns where not as interesting as the real thing.

Oh and Isabel who showed us the house and how everything worked was very helpful.

The house felt open but also very private witch was nice as we were three different parties. The only thing missing was maybe a jaccusy on the balcony so that we could enjoy the snow in our bathing suits !

Best Regards,

Lea

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Lungern vacation

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

This was the best vacation my family has ever taken!! My husband and I plus our two boys ages 9 &11 spent 2 weeks in the house in Lungern; the last week of May and first week of June. Alice and Pat were there to meet us when we got in. They are the nicest people in the universe and took the time to make sure we had supplies and knew how things worked in the house. Alice took me into town and showed me how to shop. The house itself is great. It is clean, spacious and has all the amenities one could need.

Lungern itself is a great little town. It was wonderful to have the experience of living in a different culture. The shop keepers don't speek English but were very patient with me. The house is centrally located so most of Switerland is an easy train ride or drive away. Plus Lungern is a nice little town to hang out in itself. Our favorite thing was walking up to the "milk machine" every day. You put change in and out comes fresh milk.

I can not speak high enough of this house and the family who own it. If you are going to Switzerland, especially if you are going with a family, you should stay here.
My family is already asking when we can go back.

Owners response: Well, we join the boys in looking forward to your return! The place gets nicer with every family that enjoys it.
Alice and Pat

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Home in an authentic Swiss village

Review submitted: September 29, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

This was the perfect place for our family vacation. We came to trace family roots and we were treated like family by the owners and the community alike. The atmosphere is refreshing and just what you would expect Switzerland to be (including cows with bells). We had a lot on our itinerary for the short week we spent, but we found we enjoyed spending time in Lungern. We were able the reach Interlaken, Luzern, and Bern rather easily by train. We had beautiful weather for our stay and we enjoyed the lake and ping pong on the patio. The house comfortably slept the six adults in my group. The kitchen is very well equipped and we found everything we needed in the house. There are many books and movies as well. However, with so many things to do in Lungern and the nearby villages, a week was definitely not enough time. I highly recommend a two week stay minimum. If you are an outdoor enthusiast, there are hiking trails everywhere. We meant to go back up Schoenbuel and ride the monster trottis, but we didn't get around to doing it. Maybe next time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was a great pleasure to see you all enjoy not only the lake-side house but also the local attractions.
Only few guest dare to go for a "cool" swim in September.
Welcome back any time.
Patrick & Alice and of course Isabel

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fabulous Lake Home

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 21, 2012

My family had the greatest time staying at this beautiful lake home. It was even roomier than I imagined for the 5 of us (myself, my wife and daughters ages 13, 16 and 18). From the kitchen, you look out on a beautiful waterfall and from the back you look out on the incredibly scenic lake. The house is fully outfitted with everything that a family needs of a very comfortable vacation.

A five minute walk takes you to a gondola that that takes you to skiing in the winter and some of the most scenic hiking that I've ever experienced in the summer. A two minute walk takes you to the best restaurant in town and a beautiful 20 minute walk around the lake takes you to the quaint town of Lungern for groceries, restaurants and the train station. The lake itself is drinking water quality and although it is a bit brisk, I found the swimming to be really refreshing and enjoyable. I loved swimming back and forth across it in the mornings or afternoons.

My family looks forward to returning to this wonderful home.

Owners response: We enjoy sharing our hide-away and it is great to read that you and your family appreciated what the place and its surroundings have to offer.
Thank you for staying with us.
Alice and Patrick

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

perfect place for a perfect vacation

Review submitted: October 22, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

perfect place for a perfect vacation

we arrived at Longern after three days at Gruyeres. we found our way easily following the specific details we received from prior to the arrival from the owner.
It was like meeting an old friend again-we found a pleasant, clean, well equipped house. we couldn't accept nicer wormer and pleasant welcome.
The house is comfortable and well located and can easily served a large family or tow. The wonderful view, the lake access and the nature surrounding the place is ideal for romantic vacation, family vacation or friends gathering.
We spend a week with our two daughters who enjoyed the place very much-inside and outside the house, as well as we appreciated the comfortable facilities, comfortable kitchen, spacious rooms, lovely fir place, and the lake view.
In addition to the pleasant accommodation, scenery fulfillment of everything you can ask for!
Lungern is well located with good access to many attractions.
Service provided by the owner was lovely and helpful and we surely will be glad to visit again.
We definitely recommend visiting and sating at the
The place fulfillment all our expectations and more. We had wonderful vacation and a perfect stay!

Noga and Haim

Owners response: Dear Noga and Haim,
welcome back any time!

Helpful votes: 7 / 9

 

Wow, what a tremendous home!

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: September 5, 2011

My husband and I and our two small children just finished staying at this vacation home. It was a superb vacation and the house itself was wonderful. I agree with the former testimonials and rate this holiday home as a top 5 out of 5. The house was exceptionally clean, accommodated our small family with more rooms that we knew what to do with, and provided our desires of private lake access! Our little girl delighted in playing in the lake, the toys on the property, the large and spacious garden and the playgrounds nearby. My husband and I were grateful for all the abundant walking, ease of accessing groceries and the local bakeries as well as the mountain views and hiking. Patrick - our host - was ever so kind and provided more than enough information for us via email and made completing the required arrangements for our stay so easy. As we travelled from Canada, it was reassuring that we had people who were concerned about how we arrived at the house. The owner's sister was so kind and picked us up at the train station and showed us where the local grocery store was - a convenient and beautiful 5 minute walk from the house. Thank you so much. We truly appreciated this generosity!
This property is one we have already recommended to our friends and relatives! With Switzerland's train access, it is an easy destination to get to, and the sites, towns, villages, and abundant tourist attractions make this an exciting spot to come and visit. The luxury of being in this home, is that a day spent not going anywhere is just as exciting as a day out sight-seeing! Had the weather been anything less than wonderful, there were more than enough books, DVDs and children's movies to keep one occupied.
The lake itself was wonderful and I managed to swim several days. Personally, I delighted in the typical sights and sounds of the area and woke to charming church bells, cow bells and the view of the sun cresting over the mountain tops.
Having been to Switzerland many times and having stayed all over the country, this home is one we look forward to visiting again!
Thank you Patrick and Alice!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love staying in our Lungern home on our own vacations and weekends, and having guests enjoy it as much as we do only adds to the satisfaction it gives us. In Switzerland there is a lot of discussion about "cold beds" (this describes all the economic and environmental and even social problems caused by people having property that is only occupied a couple of weeks a year when they come for vacation). Reading reviews like this of people from around the world who enjoy the things we love (even the early morning bells...the only pleasure pointed out that is somewhat controversial) makes it clear how the concept of "warm beds" is about more than the economy and environment. Thanks for keeping our beds warm!
Alice

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Highly recommended

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

This is not just a rental property it is a home.

The description given in the listing did not do justice to the quality of the property. We have, in the last seven or so years, rented properties in five countries ( about twenty properties in total) and this is the best of them all. The property was well stocked with books, videos, games (including Fussball and Table Tennis), spices, etc. There were five of us and we had no trouble fitting us all in.

The hosts were great. The location was lovely. For those, like us, who do not have access to a car the gorcery store is but a short ten minute walk and the excellent Swiss train service only about twenty nimutes of easy walking.

I have alread recommended this property to my Sister-in-law.

If you are looking for adventure try paragliding out of Interlaken. The walk to the waterfall, while not that adventurous, is well worth your time. If it has been raining the falls will be in full flow and the track muddy.

I could go on and on but I think you get the idea that we loved this property.

One more thing, do not miss a visit to the bakery wagon in the morning for fresh pasteries and bread. It is parked down by the resturant about 100m from your front door.

Paul and family,
Perth and Mississauga, Ontario

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Paul and family,
you are spot on we share our home. It is great feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. We would love to welcome your sister-in-law!
Patrick & Alice

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Little Piece of Heaven

Review submitted: July 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

We stayed here for a week with my three teenagers and two other adults, total of 6 of us in the house. The house is roomy and comfortable, with space to be together or alone. Nice to have full kitchen, laundry facilities, and a computer! The setting is spectacular--right on the lake, surrounded by beautiful mountains, and a charming town. Loved the church bells! We swam, boated, biked, walked, took the cable car up the mountain and rode "monster scooters" down. One could just stay right here and be perfectly happy, although we also spent quite a bit of time in Interlaken/Berner Oberland area and drove to Luzern and Bern for day trips. I have spent a lot of time in Switzerland and can say this was the ideal home and location to experience the "real thing" for my children's and friends' first visit. Would go back in a heartbeat! Alice and Patrick were so helpful and gracious...thank you for sharing your house!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Barbara,
thank you, welcome back any time!
Yes the church bells, can't change the tune:-), they are part of the local culture.
Patrick

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Awesome home with Outstanding Scenery and activities

Review submitted: July 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

We arrived in the evening and the owner's sister was available to show us around. The house's three bedrooms easily sleeps 7 comfortably. We actually gave the master bedroom to my parents who joined us. My wife and I took the front guest room and had a beautiful view of the mountains and waterfall. Our two children (6 and 7) claimed the bunkbeds. The house has everything you could need: laundry, internet, loaded kitchen, fireplace, garage with firewood, barbeque grill, bikes, and shelves of books and DVDs for all ages. The back garden is quite large and my boys and I kicked the football around almost every day.

As the owner mentioned in an earlier review, the lake is a little low through the end of May. It was for us, but due to some rain during the week, it filled up quite quickly. Unfortunately, we couldn't use the boat, but we didn't mind.

We enjoyed fishing, hiking, and the gondola ride near the house. The scenery is breathtaking and sadly, pictures don't quite capture the "wow" factor, but we have wonderful memories. We visited the Cailler chocolate factory in Broc... an hour or so away, but the drive through the Jaun Pass was definitely worth it. We also went to the glass factory in Hergiswil where our children got to blow their own glass ball ornaments and explore the glass labyrinth. We also enjoyed visiting Lucerne where we saw the Wounded Lion monument, the wooden bridge, and rented a boat on the lake. Brienz is a very cute town nearby I recommend.

There wasn't anything that we didn't like about the home. We definitely recommend this vacation home and would love to come back someday. The owners were very welcoming, kind and helpful when we asked for local information.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We are more than happy for our guest to use the bikes.
They are not part of the rental (we do not advertise) , because the bikes are old and from a different time...the yellow one I rode to school with some 45 years ago
Enjoy a ride around the lake or to the bakery anyway
Patrick

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

holiday home in lungern

Review submitted: June 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 5, 2011

The house is lovely and meets our expectation, we had a very nice time in lungern. The 3 bedrooms fitted all our family members, we are a family of 5 n have 3 extra bed to spare. The house has everything we needed and more, the fireplace, the kitchen, the tv room, a row boat, bicycles etcs. Lungern is also a lovely village, we did several hikes, we took the cable car to the mountain n walk/scootered down, hike around lungern lake, took the train to one of the train station just out side lungern and hike down and lungern is within 0.5 to 1 hr by car to other main towns such as luzern, interlaken.

All in all we had a lovely time n the house helps us. The homeowner was also very helpfull, we wish we could have stayed longer

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Dear Husni, welcome back any time.
We had not much snow this past winter and not much rain in spring, therefore the lake tool longer than usual to fill up, that is why the motor was not yet on the rowing boat:-)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Holiday Home in Lungern

Review submitted: May 6, 2011   Date of arrival: April 10, 2011

We are a family of 2 adults and 5 children and stayed in April 2011. We were very impressed by the owner's generosity and hospitality with their welcome and provisions to make sure we had a wonderful stay. The house was very clean and comfortable and by far the best equipped house we stayed in, on our trip throughout Europe. The garden was a lovely area for the children to play and we had beautiful warm weather.The house was in a good location for day trips around Switzerland. I would highly recommend this house to families. Our favourite attractions were the Cailler Chocolate factory in Broc and the trip to the Jungfrau. We would love to return one day- perhaps in Winter to see a snowy Switzerland.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Charming home with fantastic views.

Review submitted: April 14, 2011   Date of arrival: April 3, 2011

My husband and I were very pleased with this spacious, clean, 3 story home in Lungern. We will never forget the wonderful Alpine views we enjoyed from every window. We cooked all our meals in the well stocked kitchen, which made our vacation quite affordable. The beds were very comfortable, and the bathrooms were clean and very modern.

The house is centrally located between Interlaken and Lucerne (Luzern), but any direction we drove, led us to a wonderful village or town. We found the Home Away add for this property is very accurate, and we would highly recommend it to anyone.

The lake wasn't full in April, but we were treated to a sensational waterfall viewed from the kitchen window and upper bedroom, that was doing its best to get the lake up to capacity. Even though we were between the winter skiing season and the summer boating season, the location was fantastic.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The lake is not a man made lake but we are at the shallow end from January to May because the water is used to produce hydro power. The snow melting away in Spring fills the lake each year by beginning of June.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nice place to stay

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

We are a family with 3 young kids. It's already our 6th time we rented the house in winter season. We love skiing. You have a skipist almost next door. There are also 2 big ski area's in the area. Not to busy. After a exhausting day of skiing, you can relax in a very quiet and comfortable house. You have everything you need for a relax and pleasant stay. Children have enough place to play. Surely we go back next year

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: More than happy to welcome you back next year.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place in central Switzerland

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

A family of five (three teenagers) have throughly enjoyed their stay at Lungern, skiing the local slopes and nearby Hasliberg. Weather was not great, but the property was a comfortable and relaxing place to stay when heavy snow fell, with plenty to occupy us and very well kitted out. The integral garage was a big bonus and the scenery breath-taking.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lungern

Review submitted: September 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

We loved our stay at the Lungern lake house. We were 2 families of 4 and there was plenty of room for all of us. The kids ranged in age from 10 to 15. There were a lot of outdoor activities to keep everyone entertained. The lake was wonderful, the town conviently located for day trips. The property was clean, offered everything we needed and was listed accurately. The owner Patrick met us, showed us around explaining how everything worked in the house. He even was kind enough to drive us around the town stopping at places where we could get money and groceries. Patrick also took the time to point out places of interest including hikes we might want to take. I would highly recommend this house and we are hoping to return soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Beyond the expectations

Review submitted: February 15, 2010   Date of arrival: January 30, 2010

This was the third (and the best) time we visited Switzerland. Very beautiful and high quality country. And the best instance of the country life, Lungern.
Mountains, lake, forest, snow and a pictureseque village. Yes, here is Lungern, not a Christmas postcard.
And our home in Lungern. Very simple and pretty architecture but very well equiped inside. Stress terminator fireplace.
We were 4 adults,2 teenages and a child. We lived so comfortably that nobody hesitated to say that they would prefer the house to a 5 star all-inclusive hotel.
This holiday is one of the top 5 unforgettables.
And our honest, hospitable but invisible hosts. We thank you for all and hope to come back again.
Here I write my feelings not knowledge because what you read at the advertise is the exact information.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

It's always high season in Lungern

Review submitted: October 5, 2009   Date of arrival: December 20, 2007

As someone who has stayed in this house in winter and summer, I can say with complete confidence that there is no down season for visiting this house and the town of Lungern.

The winter offers great skiing (via a lift only steps from the house), spectacular scenery at nearby Rosenlaui, and, most importantly, a chance to curl up by a roaring fire at the house after adventures are done (firewood provided). In summer, the lake is great for boating and swimming, and the same lift carries you to a beautiful meadow that echoes with the sound of cowbells. The house has plenty of large windows and a sunny balcony and patio for enjoying the fresh alpine air.

The kitchen is well equipped, and the cook will appreciate the peaceful sound of a nearby waterfall visible from the window. When the food is ready, there is a large dining-room table that is perfect for family dinners. The three upstairs bedrooms are well-appointed, particularly the master bedroom, which features a skylight, access to the balcony, and its own luxurious private bathroom.

The town of Lungern is perfectly situated for exploring Switzerland. After getting a taste of small-town life, the traveler can head to the larger cities of Lucerne and Interlaken with a short ride on one of the world's most spectacular train routes, the Golden Pass panoramic. Lungern's small train station is a pleasant walk from the house, although it is advisable to take a taxi if you have lots of luggage.

In short, this house offers the perfect Swiss experience. Its combination of rural charm and modern convenience will give you a taste of everyday Swiss life and leave you feeling relaxed — and ready for a return trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Paradise on Earth

Review submitted: October 3, 2009   Date of arrival: December 19, 2008

Wonderful place to stay! We were able to pratice all the sports we usualy do: ski, jogging, hiking,..... So quiet and clean , it is really perfect place to stay. We will bweback!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A little slice of Paradise

Review submitted: August 28, 2009   Date of arrival: June 13, 2009

The house is even better than it appears on the website! My husband and I return again and again. The house is clean and comfortable, and the views are lovely. Can't say enough good things, really. There are so many basic supplies in the house, and a little food store is a five minute walk away, so you could get away with just staying in and doing nothing for days---we have done this, enjoying the interesting books and videos, and looking at the surrounding beauty when we didn't feel like adventuring. It's a great place to unwind! The double garage, with a remote, yet, is another bonus.

The kitchen is great. I am a serious cook, and I have found everything I needed to cook some pretty fine meals there. If you are not in the mood to cook, though, there is a nice family restaurant just steps away, and others nearby, including several inside an interesting nearby mountain with shooting ranges of every sort. (No, you can't hear them in the restaurants or outside the mountain!)

We have enjoyed the comfortable and adjustable beds--at least in the second bedroom, you can raise the top ends of them.

After enduring iffy internet connections in other houses/apartments we have rented, it is always great to have a good, high speed wifi at this one AND a printer.

The owners, who speak English, German, French, and more, are delightful people to deal with, and they' make every effort to ensure that you have a wonderful stay, which is why they have so many "regulars" who return year after year. No hidden charges or ugly surprises here. Unless you want the boat, the price is all-inclusive.

I have recommended this house to many friends. It is a great getaway for anyone except handicapped people who can't navigate relatively shallow steps with handrails.

Every time we leave, we feel like we haven't been there long enough, and we can't wait to get back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review