reviews for: listing #104079 - Tucson, Arizona House rental

Tucson Vacation House in a Wildlife Sanctuary
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,350 - $1,550 /wk
    $3,950 - $4,950 /mth

sort by:

Paradise in the Desert

Review submitted: April 4, 2009   Date of arrival: February 8, 2009

What a beautiful place, a great location, a home full of amenities and a very gracious, interesting and informative host. The home was convient to Tucson and a wonderful home base for travels all around the area. We had our own wildlife show daily - one morning spotting a bobcat, seeing coyotes on a couple of occasions and daily visits from the Gambel quails which you could always hear before seeing. Sunrises and moonrises were outstanding and on our last day, we watched a hot air ballon over the city. Our stay took place over one of the weeks during the Gem Show for 2009 - totally unplanned. Our host directed us to the best location for viewing some amazing archaelogical finds and gems from around the world. He also offered us excellent recommendations for dinner at a nearby local restaurant. We were in heaven and found our visit extremely relaxing - it was hard to leave and come back to the "real" world. We hope to get back again in the summer when the storm season arrives to enjoy the landscape in a different setting. The home itself was spotless and had everything we could need for our stay. We would definitely recommend this home to anyone needing to get away but also needing the convenience of easy access to main roads, highways and lots of great food and attractions. While in Tucson, we visited Mt. Lemmon (beautiful beyond compare and snowy), Sabino Canyon (ride the tram to the top and walk back - easy trek with amazing scenery), the Desert Museum (definitely a highlight of the trip), Pima Air Base/the Boneyard (get there early, lots to see), the ASARCO Mineral Museum (different and very cool), Titan Missile Base (don't miss doing a Directors Tour), took a day trip down to Tombstone and on to Bisbee for the Queen Mine Tour (great fun). Everywhere we went the scenery was breathtaking. As you can tell, we had a full visit but still made it back home every evening to relax in front of the fireplace and fall asleep listening to the desert wind down its day. We can't wait to get back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

A Wonderful Retreat in the Sonoran Desert

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

The house is an amazing retreat in the foothills of Tucson. Though only 10 minutes from shopping and suburbia it is totally isolated and surrounded by the untouched desert.
Tom is an attentive and helpful and most interesting host. He is an avid professional photographer and has a wealth of knowledge of the Southwest. He was easy to deal with online and gave us a thorough introduction to the gorgeous southwest style house.
The house had every amenity we needed, including separate bathrooms and showers. The kitchen had everything needed and a BBQ was great on warm evenings. We were there during a hot October when temperatures reached the high 80s but the evaporative cooler kept the house comfortable and humidified. The king size bed was extremely comfortable and the open windows at night allowed the fresh breeze to keep us cool. Also, the master bedroom had a wonderful deck overlooking the lights of Tucson.
We marvelled at the quiet and the wonderful moods of the desert and the Tucson Mts as we enjoyed wine and cheese on the patio. We were visited by several deer, some quail and lots of other birds. Great hiking is just a short walk away in the Sweetwater Preserve. We got up early to avoid the midday heat and experienced amazing sunrises among the cacti.
There is not a better place than this home to experience the Sonoran Desert in the Tucson region. Unreservedly recommend.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Desert Serenity

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

We never knew how serene the desert could be but sitting out on the deck in the evening, seeing the lights of Tucson in a cut between the mountains - in silence - was magical. During our two-week stay, our wildlife sightings were restricted to a herd of six deer, Harris' Antelope Squirrels and several desert cottontails. Nothing very exotic, and for the birders - we did have Cactus Wrens, Gila Woodpeckers, Northern Flickers, House Finches, Gambel's Quail, Curved-billed Thrashers, Pyrrhuloxia,White-crowned Sparrows and Mourning Doves coming to the suet feeder we brought with us. They also made use of the trays of fresh water we set out each day. Our host, Tom, was very accomodating and we were proud of his new prize-winning documentary on the Sonoran Desert. The house is extremely convenient to special places like the Desert Museum, Saguaro National Park, Tohona Chul Park, the International Wildlife Museum, Sweetwater Wetlands (for birders) and all the cultural attractions of Tucson. Superb location, charming house, and the two decks were magnificent.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A wonderful Sonoran Desert haven

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 8, 2012

A stay in this wonderful property and location will provide experiences and memories galore to those who love nature. Yet at the same time the property is within easy driving distance of downtown Tucson and its many local attractions.

The house has been thoughtfully located to nestle in its surroundings and provides fascinating desert and mountain views from all sides. A wide range of desert wildlife and plants can be seen nearby. We saw mule deer, coyotes, bobcat, Gambel's quail, hummingbirds etc. on the property during our stay. The diversity of cacti and desert flora is astonishing and hiking in the nearby Sweetwater Preserve will show you the Sonoran Desert at its best.

The house itself is very well furnished and equipped - including a good internet connection. It has a comfortable & cosy atmosphere both when inside and when lazing on the outside terraces.

The owner, Tom Wiewandt, lives nearby and is a charming and efficient host. He is a desert enthusiast, wildlife photographer and author so has a great knowledge of the locality and the best places to visit.

In summary - a very special experience. Highly recommended.

Keith & Maralyn, Suffolk, England.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

So relaxing....

Review submitted: March 21, 2012   Date of arrival: March 5, 2012

The stay at this location is a lifetime memory. The setting was so peaceful and provided a great connection to the desert environment. The listing and pictures, while very clearly and accurately describe the rental and show the setting, do not fully convey the tranquility and wonderful experience a stay will provide.

The property was clean, the owner extremely gracious and helpful with local information. The proximity to Tucson and the National Park provided ample opportunity to enjoy the area. Day trip excursions are easy with the close proximity to a major interstate. A wonderful nature preserve with trails is walking distance away to provide an opportunity to get out into the desert

I especially enjoyed my morning cup(s) of coffee on the patio. The bird activity was a unique performance each day, Gambel's Quail were the main performance daily. They would be heard before seen, delightful to watch. Looking at the landscape provided a calming and wonderful way to start the day.

Definitely a place to relax and get close to the desert.

Owners response: Our guests all come here to enjoy this spectacular and private location, rich in wildlife and hiking opportunities. As a wildlife photographer, my favorite months are February - April and July - August. Surprisingly, most Tucson visitors overlook July and August. This is our summer monsoon season, the time when you'll experience dramatic sunsets, rainbows, lightning shows, cactus flowers and wildlife not seen in other months of the year. Days may be hot, but tempered by afternoon relief from clouds and wonderfully pleasant, balmy evenings and refreshing mornings. Daytime temperatures commonly drop 20-30 degrees F from day to night. Our house has central AC and remains comfortable round the clock. Give summer a try -- you won't be disappointed! ~ Thomas Wiewandt, Your Host

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect in every way

Review submitted: January 23, 2011   Date of arrival: January 8, 2011

This is the perfect rental property - roomy, immaculate, comfortable, and accommodating in every way. It has everything you could possibly need or want in a home: washer/dryer, desktop computer and wi fi, satellite TV, a superb kitchen, bedrooms on opposite sides of the house, 2 great decks, gas fireplace, a 15-minute walk to a nature preserve, etc. etc. etc. Plus, virtually total privacy inside and out. You would really have to work hard to spot or be seen from another house. Most importantly, at least for us, it is in the Sonoran desert with spectacular views in all directions. This means sunrises, sunsets, saguaro cacti, coyotes, humming birds, quail, and no people or vehicles in sight. Great nature viewing and photography right from the deck. Located near and with easy access to all the attractions on the west side of Tucson - the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum, Gates Pass, Saguaro National Park West. Central and downtown Tucson and museums and restaurants a very easy 20-minute drive. Very good shopping nearby (10-15 minute drive). Also easy access to Sabino, Mt. Lemmon, San Xavier Del Bac, Saguaro East, and even Kartchner Caverns. Tom is the perfect host and only a phone call or a 6 minute walk away. All in all, a simply magical desert experience. Recommended without reservation (but be sure to make one).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Do go!

Review submitted: October 22, 2008   Date of arrival: October 10, 2008

A lovely, comfortable house; a delightful, peaceful, calm place; a very special setting, beautiful views.

For us northern Europeans it was a remarkable opportunity to be immersed in this stunning desert landscape and simply wonderful.

We enjoyed every second.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 9, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

It is a place that I would recommend with no reservations. The gracious owner lives nearby if you have questions. The rental home itself will almost assuredly be beyond your expections. A unique opportunity to enjoy and learn about the desert literally right on your doorstep,and within easy driving distance of many things you might want to do around Tucson. We loved it, and felt as many other guests have felt in their comments. cb

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 17, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

The Tuscon Retreat without question is the jewel in the crown of our first attempt at life as 'Canadian Snow Birds'! We experienced the most comfortable winter temperatures the Sonoran Desert has to offer and greedily soaked-up the sunny rays that warmed each and every day of our 17 day stay here!
Tom's gracious presence added the perfect human touch and the love, knowledge and respect he holds for not only this part of the world but for the all the wonders of this earth are deeply inspiring.
This retreat is as good as it gets, hands down!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 12, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

The Tucson Retreat vacation home is a superb
vacation spot. It is the only accommodation we
have ever rented that surpassed our expectations.
Location of this house places you in a
"wilderness" area -- yet parks, art galleries, scenic
attractions, native craft centers, museums,
observatories, restaurants, shopping centers --
whatever interests you-- are easily accessible (even
with the closure of the I-10 Highway).
The house is very comfortable and outfitted not
only with kitchen necessities (including many food
items), but wonderful books, music CDs, videos,
and games.
The owner is a gracious and friendly host. And
Tucson itself is a great place to visit. There seems
to be an endless list of interesting things to do,
along with friendly people to help you.
We hope we will be able to return to Tucson and
the Tucson Retreat soon.
Our visit was in October 2007.

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 20, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Imagine having a beautiful spotted cat with a gorgeous white face seamingly painted with black stripes quizzically looking at you; roadrunners perching on the top of your deck and a group of javelina's taking shelter from the heat of the afternoon sun underneath.
These are a few of the animals that graced us with their presence while we enjoyed a two week stay on Sweetwater during some of the hottest days of July. The Desert Museum was in our backyard.
Fantastic scenery afforded us with not only great views but also hiking trails right outside our doostep. The panoramas of the city of Tucson especially when the summer storms were rising were unbelievable.
The house was considered a home as soon as we entered, the kitchen was well equipped and all ammenities were there for our use - computer, TV etc.
We would highly recommend this home for anyone wanting to experience a taste of Tucson- close enough to all the local areas of attraction but far enough away for an up front, close and very personal encouter with the other half of nature and I might add one might very well come away with a new found love of the beautiful lizards who "guard" the walls of this home.
P.S. It was also a plus that Tom was a wealth of information about the area and his love of the Southwest was very contagious.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 20, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

The Tucson Retreat was wonderful. The house was perfect, comfortable with everything you could possibly need. We saw all kinds of wildlife! Great to watch!! Seemed very secluded but we really were close to everything we wanted to see. We were there for the 1st 100 degree day of the season. House was always comfortable! Tom was great!
We were there in the middle of May 2007.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 24, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

This is by far the most superb rental I have stayed at. The home is meticulously maintained. The amenities provided in the home (TV, computer, and kitchen accessories) are superb. The Lazy Boy Recliner with back massage is to die for! The surroundings are so private, peaceful, romantic, and relaxing. Neither words, nor pictures can describe what a wonderful retreat this really is. The Master Bedroom deck, the back porch and front porch all call to you to sit and enjoy the outdoors, the hard decision is which one to enjoy at the moment. The views are all breathtaking whether you are enjoying the sunrise, watching the sunset, stargazing, or being mesmerized by the city lights in the distance after the sun has set! You are so close to the city, yet so remote, the quietness is wonderful. You can’t go wrong with this rental!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 8, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

This rental is a winner! Even though we were there at one of the hottest times of the year (late July), the house was cool and comfortable. The location is absolutely awesome, surrounded by the famous saguaro cacti and other unique plants and animals to the area. It is a nature lover's paradise, with a view of Tucson in the distance. Despite the seclusion, it is amazingly close to all shopping, museums, etc. The quiet and privacy were unmatched by any vacation rental we have experienced. Thomas Wiewandt is a most gracious and helpful host, and highly knowledgeable of the region.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 7, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

I don't consider myself a writer so please understand that I can not express how wonderful our stay was at the Tucson Retreat! It was perfection. I have a lot of health problems including chronic allergies. I am still missing Mr. Wiewandt's wonderful place now that we are back home in Michigan.

The house is situated in a beautiful location, the views are wonderful both day and night. We are thinking of moving to Arizona and wanted to visit the state at the "worst" time of the year during the peak of the Summer heat. Wow! I can't imagine how much better it could get. It was quite hot but with the low humidity, it was not that bad. I felt so much better while I was there. The air is so much better and we especially liked the very low humidity. But the house was by far the best. I had to stay "in" for many of the days while we were there and it made my recovery time much less because the house and the area were so allergen-free.

All of our family enjoyed watching the many different forms of wildlife that inhabit the area. You only need to look out the beautiful windows or walk out on the decks to see and hear all the different critters. It was such a joy to watch so many different forms of animals and birds. I think I liked the quail and the hummingbirds the best.

Tom made us feel right at home from the beginning. I knew that if I had any questions, he was close at hand to help. The house is fully stocked with pretty much everything you could want other than the regular food we ate each day.

Even though I don't weave, a quick tour of the weaving studio made me wish that I did! It is so colorful - just ready for someone with weaving talent to make a special creation. Maybe by our next visit, I will have learned enough about weaving so that I will use the great weaving studio available right inside the house.

Others have mentioned about all the great features of staying at the Tucson Retreat. I agree with each of them and only wish I could express how peaceful and whole I felt while staying there.

Bob, Marian and Jeanine Ecker

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 25, 2006   Date of arrival: May 1, 2006

We have been lookin for a place like
this to spend some time when the weather is not so good at home. We just spent 16 days and fell in love with the solitude and beautiful surroundings. We spent hrs. just setting on the deck and watching all the animals and birds. We are booked for 3 mos. this coming winter and have already asked for another 3 next year..

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 11, 2006   Date of arrival: May 1, 2006

We enjoyed our week long visit to this amazing property the last week of April 2006. The prior comments in the guest book are absolutely correct. This is a wonderful house and location. Our only disappointment was that we didn't stay longer.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 9, 2006   Date of arrival: February 9, 2006

If you seek peace, quiet and solitude, seek no further. We spent one month at Tucson Retreat (December 15, 2005 - January 15, 2006)
listening to breezes in the palo verde trees, to curve-billed thrashers, to cactus wrens, and to yipping coyotes.

We could not have found a better winter rental to satisfy our needs. From the east-facing covered porch and the surrounding property we completed our share of the Tucson Christmas Bird Count. During our month's stay we tallied 23 bird species in the surrounding area which included Sweetwater Nature Preserve, a marvelous new county park, initiated by Tom Wiewandt and his friends. We explored the Preserve (within easy walking distance) nearly every day.

Entertaining in the retreat was very pleasant. We were able to prepare fine holiday meals from the fully equipped kitchen, which led to great conversations with family and friends around the large dining table.

Tom is a very hospitable, thoughtful host. We learned much from him and made a new friend.

Without reservation, we recommend a stay at Tucson Retreat.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 4, 2006   Date of arrival: February 1, 2006

We enjoyed our stay at this property completely.
Wonderful spacious solidly comfortable home with
every amenity we required coupled with
breathtaking views from every side of the house.
The home is a destination in its own right. We
enjoyed sitting on the various patios enjoying the
wonderful quiet and privacy. Saw much wildlife and
couldn't get enough of the verdant surroundings.
We've rented many places from Cyberrentals, but
this is one of the best we have experienced.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 4, 2005   Date of arrival: December 1, 2005

What a dream! The views are fantastic, the serenity exquisite, and the home is comfortable and relaxing. Tom's hospitality is perfectly wonderful and so thoughtful. We truly enjoyed stay. The property setting allows you to feel like you're "way out there" yet it's remarkably close to Tucson. There is so much to experience and the setting and wildlife so enjoyable. Thanks again for providing such a wonderful place to stay!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 21, 2005   Date of arrival: November 1, 2005

I almost hate to write that my husband and I totally fell in love with Tucson Retreat. We'd like to keep it for ourselves! It's a wonderfully comfortable home, close to nature, the city, and anywhere that you'd want to drive to. Although it is close to the city area, all you have to do is go for a short hike to realize how rugged the area is. The wildlife is fantastic; coyotes, deer, road runners, and even bobcats can be seen on a near daily basis. Tom is a great host, he will help you with anything that you may need. After staying in this lovely home, I'm going to find it difficult to stay in a hotel again. Go cyberrentals!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 4, 2005   Date of arrival: May 1, 2005

This is a magical place. The peace, the privacy, the natural beauty
everywhere you look, I couldn't ask for anything more. But there is more!
The house itself is beautiful, with everything very thoughtfully supplied
for a restful, relaxing stay. My husband and I found ourselves up at dawn so
we wouldn't miss the most beautiful sunrises we've ever seen. The home is
comfortable, open and inviting. But for me, the best feature was being able
to sit on the patio or the deck and watch the desert show unfold. Birds,
animals and dozens of kinds of cactus. I couldn't tear myself away until it
got too dark to see. Ah, but then is when the Elf Owls and Poorwills started
calling!
Being a birder, I found the setting very special. In addition to the
above birds, there were also Gila Woodpeckers, Gilded Flickers, Cactus
Wrens, Ash-throated Flycatchers, Gambel's Quail, Rufous Hummingbirds,
Curve-billed Thrashers and Black-throated Sparrows. Quite a treat to a girl
from the coast!
I have told all my friends about this wonderful place, and we will
definitely be back.

Christy and Jerry, Bellevue, WA

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2005   Date of arrival: April 30, 2005

"My husband and I enjoyed multiple visits to the estate and each time was more enjoyable than the last. We relished having coffee on the deck while watching the sunrise and listening to the birds sing their morning welcome. The wildlife became more engaging with each visit, we enjoyed walking the property and were frequently visited by deer as well as a number of other wonderful creatures.

The house was absolutely enjoyable with beautiful tile work and comfortable furnishings. The peace and seclusion was a wonderful welcome in our busy lives, close enough to the city for convenience and far enough for peace and privacy. We highly recommend an extended stay for retreat, inspiration and rejuvenation."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2005   Date of arrival: April 30, 2005

"We are a couple of older citizens and have traveled extensively throughout the United States since our retirement. We can say without equivocation that our time spent at this Tucson Vacation Retreat was one of the most outstanding experiences in all our years of traveling.The physical facilities at the Retreat are excellent and leave nothing to be desired in the way of comfort. We drove from our home and brought nothing but the clothes we wore. All other necessities are on site and of highest quality. Among other things, this includes dishes, bedding, and many unusual spices to be used in cooking. For our entertainment there was an abundance of choices in music and movies. We loved sitting on the south patio, enjoying the warmth and were especially enthralled by a family of deer as they walked leisurely through our south desert "yard." A pair of coyotes slinked through on another occasion and in the evening they would serenade us with their social yipping.From the spacious deck off the Master Bedroom on the east we enjoyed a 180-degree vista of the many varieties of cactus that grow in the desert. From the same deck after dark we were treated to one of the most stupendous views anywhere. Looking down through a gap in the mountains we could see the lights of Tucson strung out for many miles stretching from south to north like a string of jewels. It is a breathtaking view.We enjoyed the solitude of the rural setting and yet were only four miles from a bustling shopping center where a spacious grocery store provided for our every need. I bought and read a paper when I wanted to…Otherwise, we ignored the world events we have no control over. City center is only eight miles away and Tucson is a metropolitan area competing with the best.We enjoyed the nearby attractions we were able to drive to in one day. We made a trip to Kitt Peak Observatory, toured the famous Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum twice, and visited the quaint town of Tubac not far from the Mexican border at Nogales. We attended Indian dances, gem & mineral displays, and a craft show at the Indian Casino. If I seem to wax over-enthusiastically, it’s only because we enjoyed our total experience so very much and while I doubt we’ll get to return, it was a Five Star experience for us."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review