reviews for: listing #10413 - Old Orchard Beach, Maine Condo rental

Ocean Front Condo-Old Orchard Beach-End Unit
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Casablanca Condos
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $700 - $1,600 /wk

sort by:

Ideal beachfront

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: September 14, 2013

To me this must be close to the best rental property in OOB. Things I liked:

-Located only about 300 yards from the pier, and the fun activities. You can easily get by without a car. Many restaurants nearby.
-Located with a direct frontage to the beach, on 2nd floor for a fantastic view
-A spacious deck (about 10 by 10 feet) overlooking the ocean with sun in the am hours in September (it faces east).
- Lovely, well equipped, relatively new one bedroom apartment. No noise problems from people or activities.
-Uses a keypad for entry, a very convenient feature.
-Two parking spaces are allocated with ample maneuvering room
-Price is less than you would think for a property this nice
-Owner was very diligent and responsive. The rental and occupancy process was very smooth

Things I did not like: The only nit I have is that the sofa stands low and is rather soft making it difficult to get back up for old timers like myself

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Great First Family Getaway

Review submitted: June 3, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

We stayed in this unit for two weeks with our 3 year old daughter; and although the weather wasn't always co-operative; she ran on that beach almost everyday. She absolutely loved it; and rightfully so. It's a beautiful place, amazing views, quiet atmosphere (not a row of hotel rooms), the neighbors were friendly. There is plenty to do and see in Old Orchard Beach and on rainy days we travelled south to New Hampshire and Boston; and North to Portland and Freeport. Will definitely go again, maybe mid-late summer next time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad your family enjoyed your stay. The weather pattern for the month of May this year was not as traditional or typical for the entire New England region. The beauty and location of OOB provides many options for families when weather doesn't co-operate or a break from the beach is needed.

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Almost Perfect!

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

We chose this condo after reading reviews and the pictures posted on the website. The owner was very easy to work with, and answered all our questions which is always a plus. He was also very approachable - never hesitating to answer a question for you!!
The location of this condo is perfect! Close enough for a nice walk to the pier and all of the shops, but far enough away to enjoy peace and quiet on the deck listening to the waves while sipping a glass of wine!!
Upon arriving, it was very warm in the condo even with an ocean breeze; but, we were on vacation...in the summer! The condo was clean and modern! I want to emphasize clean!! After reading another review, we brought along fans, but honestly only needed them for that one day/night. The rest of the week was warm, but the air circulated well! Plus - we were on the beach most of the day!!
Another reviewer mentioned the lack of pots and pans. If your that concerned, you may want to bring a few pans of your own. When we arrived and settled a bit, we looked at what we had for pots and pans and shopped accordingly. What we needed most were serving bowls, but we survived the week without them. We mostly ate in since we all loved sitting on the deck eating our dinner. We brought home cooked lobsters and sea food from the Clam Bake one evening which was so delicious!
Another small issue was one of the washing machines decided not to work AFTER we put our coins in! Somewhat frustrating, but again, we were on vacation and vacation is not a time to get worked up over losing $2.00.
As far as things to do in and around Old Orchard - its endless! We played mini golf, went deep sea fishing, visited the outlets in Kittery, drove to Cape Elizabeth which is beautiful and ate at the Lobster Shack while there. Took walks on the beach every morning which was a delight in itself! My boys threw a football around while in the water which was exceptionally warm, we played paddle ball, frisbee and people watched which is always entertaining! Sitting on the beach taking in the sun was mostly what I wanted to do and the weather was perfect the entire week!
I may have forgotten to mention this, but literally you walk out the door, take a few steps and you're on the beach! What is better than that?
I / We would certainly recommend this condo and truly believe you won't be disappointed.
If we decide on Old Orchard next year, we'll definately want to stay there again!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: This summer, like the summer of 2011 has been exceptionally warm. There are a few days where an AC function may be desired. Most units on the "direct" ocean front do not have them. None of the units in this entire asociation have them inclusive of owners units who live there year round. Nevertheless, I am exploring an AC capability for this rental unit as there is always 1 or 2 days a summer whereby they would be desired. Almost 99% of my renters have informed me that AC is not necessary 99% of the time but I have had 2 customers now that happened to stay on those exceptionally hot days of summer as indicated. With AC I will almost certainly have to adjust my rental rates to be competitively equal with other rentals that offer that same function.

I don't think any of my reviews mentioned anything about lack of pots and pans and to be honest I have never received a complaint or indication otherwise. When I do recieve such information I respond immediately. I haven't cooked myself at this unit and do have a couple(from Florida) who stays there for one full month each summer for the last 6 years and they have never indicated a lack of any cookware, pots/pans, dishes,etc and I ask them each year if the unit needs anything since they would know. It may well be that the unit now needs more bowls but at one time it was fully equipped(inclusive of a lobster pot). I will have the kitchenware re-inventoried at the end of this season and replenish the stock.

Sometimes what happens is a guest will rent with another family multiple units at this asociation and when I am missing things I find out later that they are now at another unit.

The laundry facility belongs to the entire Association and is not specific to my unit and therefore I cannot guarantee its operational state although I will inform the association that a unit may require services.

Despite the exceptions I'm glad my guests still enjoyed themselves and I do value the feedback for improving their experiences.

Helpful votes: 78 / 78

 

Baker Family

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

The condo was clean, as described, and location was excellent. Right on the beach as promised, near the pier, and within walking distance to many shops, restaurants, and other amenities. Our family, which includes a teenager and one almost teen, all had a wonderful time. The owner was very easy to work with, respnded to emails very promptly, prior to our vacation, and the rental pacaket that we received included everything we needed to know about the condo and our stay. I highly recommend this rental property and would love to stay here again in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: I'm glad to hear when my guests enjoyed their vacation, the property, and its location. I guarantee all that I advertise. I do not advertise the weather but when the weather is great as it has been these past few summers the stay is even greater and more enjoyable. OOB( all 7 miles of it) is one of the most beautiful, sandiest, and cleanest beaches in the entire North East.

Helpful votes: 69 / 69

 

great location

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

The location of the condo was great right on the ocean with a huge deck. Pans, utencils in the kitchen left a lot to be desired. Really could use a ceiling fan in the living room and bedroom. Temperatures were over 100 a couple days and it was unbearable to sleep in the bedroom. Would be nice to have a larger, flat screen TV in the living room instead of a 20 inch portable one. Otherwise clean, cute and best location on the each with best views of the ocean!

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: There are rare but occasional heat wave events as experienced a few days this summer(for the entire country) whereby the ocean breeze certainly isn't enough to cool down. Most renters do bring their own portable fan to handle those situations. I don't supply portable fans due to potential liability issue.

I am exploring Air conditioning for the unit (most of the oceanfronts don't have them as they are rarely needed) but that may lead to an increase in my weekly rental rates as the electric rates and costs would soar(assume that the AC will always be on with windows open, etc). I haven't raised my competitive Ocean front rental rates in over five years and so far all of my consistent return customers inform me that AC, although desired during those rare stagnant heat events is rarely needed on the oceanfront.

Helpful votes: 78 / 79

 

Great location, Great Deal

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

My husband and I rented this condo in October 2010. We have been vacationing in Maine for almost 25 years but this was our first time staying in Old Orchard Beach. The condo was clean, very well maintained and surpisingly quiet. The building is right on the beach and offered amazing views of the sun rising. The owner was very easy to work with and offered one of the best deals in Maine (we had several options we looked at but his was the best price for the location). We would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 42 / 43

 

Okay but wouldn't go back...

Review submitted: August 18, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

The owner of this property was very easy to work with. He was responsive and answered our questions in a timely fashion. The property was located right on the beach, which was great. The views were gorgeous and it was nice to sit outside on the deck and take it all in. The property itself wasn't the cleanest. I am a neat-freak and like things immaculate and it didn't quite live up to my standards.

Old Orchard Beach is the type of place you go once and probably don't need to go back. The restaurants that are within walking distance were average - lots of fried food. Everytime we tried to order "fresh" lobster or steamers, the places were out of them. Which was very disappointing. We did enjoy the fireworks on the beach. It was nice to walk outside and watch them from the beach. Jimmy the Greaks is a great Italian/Pizza place - about a 5-7 minute drive away, we highly recommend.

We also recommend driving to Portland to catch a Seadogs baseball game - about 20 minutes away. "Old Port" has a lot of fun shops and restaurants - def a great place to hit up while you are there. We also spent a day in Kennebunk and Kennebunkport - again, lots of cute little shops, great restaurants, and a nice New England atmosphere.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: OOB maintains a honky tonk nostalgic environment at its vibrant center and those are the restaurant environments you may experience from year to year. The 4th of July happens to be the busiest week of the season for OOB and other beach towns for that matter so it doesn't surpise me that the local restaurants ran out of sea food on that weekend as the influx of people is unpredictible and I'm sure the seasonal local businessses are not masters at predicting supplies for that weekend. People don't go to OOB for their restaurants. Portland(20 minutes North) does provide much better restaurant environments, choices, experience, and I'm sure they won't run outr of seafood.

I guarantee my condo unit to be the cleanest in the associaiton and within the vicinity and do offer compensatory discounts should I ever receive a legitimate "timely" complaint which I honestly never have in the eight years I have rented this unit out. I do not expect or even pretend to 100% satisfy the entire worlds critique of cleanliness but should I recieve a complaint I take it seriously and investigate it immediately with my contractor. As it so happens this client did not report an issue such as this until 7-10 days after they had already departed. Even still, I followed up with the contractor. The unit is delivered clean and if a customer finds it otherwise then they are instructed in their rental kit to call me immediately upon their arrival and report any such issue so I can rectify it immediately. There is absolutely nothing I can do when receiving such a report a week after they had vacated. I followed up immediateley with my next few clients(even letting them know that I had received a complaint)to ensure they were happy with the unit cleaning and they all assured me the unit was immaculate.

I have never received a single complaint regarding the unit in 7 years and do have numerous sophisticated repeat customers who stay there year to year that can provide their own opinion regarding the cleanliness of this unit. All customers are also encouraged to visit the unit whenever I'm available to show it and are welcome to review it personally before reserving it.

I personally have traveled around the world(25 plus countries) and USA(46 states) and have experienced both the worst and the best hotels/motels/resorts and do understand quality standards. I offer a high quality unit and that is why 90% of my customers repeat year to year.

Helpful votes: 71 / 75

 

Condo Rental

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

My wife and I have rented this condo for the past five years. We enjoy it so much that we now rent for three weeks! The location cannot be any better. It is right on the beach, a very short walk to the pier, and just far enough from the downtown area to be very quiet ! The condo itself is very comfortable. The bedroom is large and roomy with a walkin closet large enough to store everything we have to pack for a three week visit! The kitchen has been recently remodeled adding all new cabinets, sink, and counter tops. The new appliances ( refrigerator, stove, microwave ) make cooking there a pleasure. Many evenings, we prefer to prepare a meal and sit on the deck with it to enjoy the view while we eat rather than go to a restaurant. The living room is cozy with a good view of the ocean while watching TV. The owner is also very approachable and will address any issue quickly and satisfactorily ! We will continue to rent this property as long as the current owner allows. It is WELL worth the weekly rate ! I believe anyone renting this property will become repeat clients. We are already looking forward to our weeks this coming summer !!! Bill C.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our goal is to allow for our customers to enjoy the Oceanfront within the same capacity and environemnt thatour own famly does.

Helpful votes: 96 / 122

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review