reviews for: listing #104182 - Gatlinburg, Tennessee Cabin rental

From$69Night/HotTub/Whirlpool/Wifi/MtnView/Games
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Sky Harbor
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $89 - $159 /nt

sort by:

Please please don't waste money!!

Review submitted: July 7, 2014   Date of arrival: December 20, 2013

It was a dump!! Beyond small! There was a hot tub but nothing hot about it. It was not fixed until .9 pm on our last night. When we called the repair people they acted like we were bothering them. This place was a joke!!!!!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice cabin, good location

Review submitted: May 27, 2014   Date of arrival: May 19, 2014

Nicely situated between PF and Gatlinburg. A little further off the main road than I would prefer(3-4miles) but that's minor. Comfortable clean cabin. You have neighbors but not too close. Hot tub is great to relax in after a long day. Pool table is in kind poor condition but we didn't really care. Still playable. My only real gripe - the tv remotes didn't fully work. One of them the channel up didn't work and the other the volume. Again this is minor. We were so busy TV was on just to fall asleep to. Overall a great cabin and would stay there again. Booking and check-in couldn't possibly be any easier. Thanks for a great experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jason, we are Happy you enjoyed your stay and found everything you needed, we will check on the TV remotes, Hope you visit with us in the future

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cozy Cabin

Review submitted: May 23, 2014   Date of arrival: May 14, 2014

The cabin was lovely, definitely a cozy place to stay. There just a few minor things that could have been improved. The downstairs TV has an issue with the volume, you couldn't adjust it properly. The air hockey table didn't seem to work, the puck doesn't go into the holes so we had to play by saying we get a point when we hear a metal click. That got sort of annoying so we stopped playing. The pool table was placed in an inconvenient location and is also at a slant, so if you put a ball on the table it starts to go in one direction, which also isn't very fair. Aside from those minor issues the cabin was cozy and very welcoming, they provide a lot of kitchen supplies if you're planning on cooking in the cabin like we did. The view was beautiful, just wish there wasn't a pile of trash on the ground when you look down from the balcony. Don't know how that got there. Overall I give this cabin a positive review and definitely recommend a stay here if you're planning on staying in Tennessee.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

You get what you pay for!

Review submitted: May 14, 2014   Date of arrival: May 7, 2014

The location was great. Other than that, it could have been much cleaner. There were charcoal ashes in the trash can with empty cigarette packs, dishes in the dishwasher. The dishes that were in the cabinet smelled. The pool table was so u level that you couldn't take the rack off the pool balls. The air hockey table was obviouslying from a garage sale or something. The puck wouldn't go into the table to score. The shower upstairs was extremely small and uncomfortable. The trash cans were left out in the open for nature's delight. The hot tub was in a lousy location. So lousy that it didn't have a swing bar for the top. You had to turn the top all the way around to take it off. Otherwise it would fly off the balcony. Making it much more of a pain to put the top back on. The jacuzzi was nice but I questioned the cleanliness of it. The beds were horrible as was the living room furniture. The couch was the worst couch I ever sat on. Couldn't hardly get up off the couch. The remotes were all messed up for the tv's. You couldn't even watch a DVD in the downstairs bedroom. I plugged the alarm clock in and set the time. Two days later it was over 2 hours behind. The only good thing about our stay is that we were only there long enough each day to sit in the hot tub for an hour and sleep.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Owners response: We regret this guest did not enjoy this cabin. We have worked on the remotes, we also level the pool table after nearly every guest but due to guests moving it around it can become un level. We do not install bars for hot tub covers as they can be dangerous and if small children mess with them could close the hot tub back on them. We value all of our renters and strive to have guest satisfaction.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

may 2014

Review submitted: May 14, 2014   Date of arrival: May 1, 2014

The cabin location was wonderful. However we were a little disappointed with he condition of the cabin. The cleaning could be a lot better! The jets on the whirlpool tub worked sometimes, not always. The upstairs is very crowded with a queen bed, air hockey table, pool table and whirlpool tub all in one room. We killed numerous yellow jackets. And the master bed swayed in the middle. The hot tub jets came on in the middle of the night by itself. We could not use the fireplace even though the temps the first 2 nights were in the 40's. It is a pet friendly cabin but I could suggest taking up the carpet. It could a nice cabin with some good maintenance and TLC. on a positive note, the location was wonderful and very quiet. We plan another trip next year but we will look closer at all cabins offered in this area.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Owners response: First we want to thank you for picking Bear Mountain. We have had a new cleaner come in who addressed the majority of the cleaning issues. We wish we could leave the fireplace on after Winter however insurance requires it be shut down at end of February!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Terrible Customer Service, Nice Cabin

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 31, 2014

We rented this cabin and had 4 adults and 2 children staying in it for the weekend. We emailed the rental company a couple weeks ahead of time to inquire about price and had an immediate response. When we arrived, the roads leading to the cabin we all paved and clear of any snow/ice. The neighborhood was very well maintained. We arrived late in the evening and unloaded our vehicle. A few minutes after arrival, our car slid down the driveway and struck a tree. Apparently under the snow in the driveway was a layer of ice. We called the maintenance number and a very nice gentleman said he would come out the next morning to pull our car back up the driveway. He arrived the next day around noon, he had car trouble that morning and apologized for getting there later than he had hoped, and pulled our car back up and cleared off the driveway. He informed us he had cleared off all the driveways around this cabin the day before but for whatever reason this cabin was not put on his list of driveways to clear for arriving guest. This upset us because it should not have occurred to begin with had someone with the rental company done their job and ensured all rented cabins were on the list of driveways to be cleared. The weather was perfect the weekend we were there so the snow/ice in the driveway when we arrived was from a previous weather event. After getting a quote to repair the vehicle when we got home I emailed the company to see if they would be willing to help pay for the damage since it occurred because of a failure on their part. They did not respond until I emailed a second time. They responded immediately stating they would get back to me in 7-14 days. After 15 days I emailed again. No response. I emailed again on the 20th day (25 days from first email) and still no response. I understand it says in the contract they are not liable for damage to vehicles but this damage occurred because someone did not do their job and the cabin was not ready for renters when we arrived.
The cabin itself was nice. The beds could use new mattresses, the kitchen stove only has 2 working burners and the oven burns things quickly but for a short stay it is worth the money. The view is very nice and I like that it is in a community where the roads are maintained. It's a short drive to Pigeon Forge. The hot tub was very nice, the pool table is not worth bothering with as it's slanted. I would've stayed again but not after their no response to an issue.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Accomdating Cabin & Owners!

Review submitted: January 26, 2014   Date of arrival: February 11, 2013

We stayed for a short but fun filled stay at Bear Mountain. We actually spent most of our time at the cabin so it gave us A chance to get to know the cabin very well. It is spacious, clean, and we cooked nearly every meal. Upon arrival we found hot tub temp to not be very hot HOWEVER we called the 24/7 line and they answered in seconds, GOOD NEWS they drain the hot tub and clean it very detailed prior to each guest checking in so it takes the water a few hours to get super hot but this is so worth it, most cabin places don't do this, and we were so impressed with the fact they take 2 hours just to clean a hot tub that well! We would book again and have already referred 2 family members to this rental both of whom enjoyed!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Vacation To US

Review submitted: January 22, 2014   Date of arrival: February 4, 2013

We traveled for 6 months thru the US from England! We took a brief but very enjoyable stay at Bear Mountain in the Gatlinburg Region of the state of TN. We liked the accomdations and found the owner to be more than gracious. The cabin was in spotless condition and we would have loved to stay longer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

jan 1 thur 5 2014 stay

Review submitted: January 21, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2014

It was perfect everything was great we even got snow while we were there and it was good and cold just like we wanted . I was wonderIng we was thinking about making reservations for this year up there again for December 26 thur 31 2014 for 5 nights and could you give us the same rate or what would it be.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Barry, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and found the cabin to be in great shape, look forward to hearing from you again

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Daniel hibbett

Review submitted: December 19, 2013   Date of arrival: December 7, 2013

Hot tub did not work crammed a Jacuzzi pool table foosball table Bed dresser TV all into one room in the loft too small cranks in the wall you could see outside carpet stain stained beside the refrigerator and cabinets on the floor called to complain never received a call back gave them a chance never stay again

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Shabby Disappointment

Review submitted: December 2, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

Very disappointed by this cabin and the apathy of the owners. For the same price we stayed in a much nicer cabin on our previous visit to the area. Unfortunately, it was already booked. Here is he text of the emails I sent the owner, it pretty much sums it up. The cabin was the one black mark on our stay in the Smokies.

Email2:

Donna,
Getting ready to leave Bear Mountain Cabin and in addition to all the issues I spoke of in my previous email, I wanted to also make you aware that the can opener does not work, the downstairs tv remote needs batteries and the hot tub was never hot. It was 92 on Thursday and now is at 87 and looks like it is losing water.

Issues I emailed her about on day 2 of our stay:

1. Overall cleanliness:

The cabin appeared to be vacuumed and wiped down and the bathrooms were clean. As I was playing on the floor with my infant I noticed a buildup of bits of trash, leaves, etc... Under the recliner and sofa. I used the hose on the vacuum and reached as much as I could to ensure my little one wouldn't be putting any of it in her mouth. Also, upstairs under the bed there is the a similar situation. A quick vacuum underneath would have left a much better impression of your cabin.

It appears that the interior of the windows get washed as infrequently as the exteriors. This was disappointing since the selling point for us in renting this cabin was the view.

About half the dishes and pots and pans we used were visibly dirty and had to be washed prior to use.


2. Misfit and Shabby Items:

The toaster only toasts on one side. Most of the mini-blinds are not the right size so when you try to open them they fall out. Several of them are broken in places.

Electrical outlet in upstairs is broken.

Remote control upstairs had the batteries scotch taped in.

Curtains upstairs are torn.

Self leveling Pool table feet appear to have removed and now all of the balls go in one corner rendering it useless.

Air hockey table does not register a goal on either side, again making it pointless to try to play.

These issues of items that are broken add to the negative impression when accompanied by the very worn out carpet that is covered in stains and holes.

3. Maintenance Issues:

Upon arrival the steps were covered in ice. A bucket of salt would be very helpful this time of year.

Weatherstripping on back door is allowing a lot of cold air in.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

3rd Time Renters

Review submitted: December 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 3, 2013

This was our 3rd time to stay at Bear Mountain. We always have found it to be nice and clean, the cabin is all in good shape, enjoy the size its larger than most, the view is amazing, hot tub super hot and enjoyable, nice having WIFI, tv & more! Owners have been a blessing to our family and we look forward to our 4th trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nice, but in need of upgrades!

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: November 14, 2013

Overall, cabin was nice; however, with the price you pay you would think the owners could at least make minor repairs & upgrades. Although we had a few disappointments on our initial stay, I would stay again if a few adjustments were made. If you are just looking for nice views & a clean place to stay, this is the place.

- You are charged a cleaning fee but are told you have to clean everything yourself except washing the laundry.
-Hot tub was wonderful & views are beautiful from the back porch!
-The area itself was clean, only one couch & a recliner so not much room if you have more than 3 guests.
-Fireplace was nice for looks & no clean up, but was not good for heat unless you sat directly on the hearth. Also, there is a 1/4 inch crack in the boards by the back door, so cold air gets blown in.
-The big screen tv has a terrible picture, it gave us all a headache. Also, the package stated there was On Demand viewing, but there is not, you only get a few basic cable channels & half of them are Gatlinburg advertising stations. WiFi was great though!
-The only things that seemed to work in the kitchen were the microwave & stove. Toaster half worked, can opener was so messed up we had to buy one ourselves, knives were extremely dull, not many dishes to cook with, no pot holder, blender top didn't cover completely so it made a big mess! We didn't use the coffee pot, so maybe it actually works!
-The beds were decent & clean, but would recommend bringing your own pillows as the ones provided are very flat.
-Downstairs bathroom was also decent & clean.
-Upstairs bathroom was fine, but the shower is extremely small, leaked onto the floor whether the curtain was closed or open, & the shower head was broken & was pulled away from the wall so it made the useable room in the shower stall even smaller.
-My friends & I were excited about the cabin having a pool table & air hockey table, but to our great disappointment they are mostly for looks because neither are functional. The air hockey table works, but the pucks are too large to fit in the slots so they bounce right out, & there isn't enough room on one side for an adult to play without standing on their knees because of the vaulted ceiling. There is only one pool stick for the pool table, & once you unrack the balls, they all roll right into the corner pocket. Also, not enough room around the table to fully shoot with the stick. I recommend removing gaming tables to save disappointment.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi, I want to first thank this guest for not only renting but taking the time to review this cabin. The majority of guests have left positive very good feedback so I am concerned with this review. We have taken some steps to correct some items this guest brought to our attention. We do agree the game area is tight but we tried to offer it VS having no games. We encourage potential renters to read all reviews and we strive for guest satisfaction!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Awesome View!

Review submitted: November 17, 2013   Date of arrival: November 10, 2013

The views were awesome! Cabin was clean and nice. Really enjoyed the hot tub.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Owners response: You are 100% right the view is amazing from this great cabin, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you can come back, sit relax and enjoy that view again very soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location and beautiful view!

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: October 9, 2013

My stay at this cabin was wonderful! The cabin is located in a cabin community but is very private with all the trees and folliage. The view from the back deck is spectacular! Not too far out of gatlinburg either. Cabin had evenything we needed!

If wanting a more comfortable stay, Definitely bring your own pillows, towels and Bedding. The mattresses are comfortable but the bedding (although clean) was a bit shabby. The carpet also needs replaced but that wasnt a big deal. I wouldn't really plan on watching TV on the big screen. The picture is terrible. Wifi worked great! Hot tub was great too!

Overall a very nice experience. With a few updates this cabin would be definitely 5 stars! Great cabin for people with disabilities. First floor master was perfect for my friend with bum knees :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Lena, Thank you for taking the time to review Bear Mountain! We are honored anytime someone takes the time to leave a nice review! We will look into some of those items you mentioned that could make the stay a 10 star stay :)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sweet Retreat

Review submitted: October 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

Wow!.... Next time, I'll spend more than just three nights, so I can better relax, cook, and play some games upstairs. Thank you so much for a great place to stay.

Joseph

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Joseph, your review is what its all about! We are so thrilled you enjoyed Bear Mountain and cant wait to have you back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

cabin

Review submitted: September 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

Nice cabin in a quiet location. Thanks Donna.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: David, we are so happy you enjoyed Bear Mountain, hope you can come back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Winter Honeymoon!

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: January 12, 2013

We were so glad to spend our Honeymoon at Bear Mountain. The view is so nice, relaxing! Cabin was clean and owners responded within seconds to any emails/calls! When in the area make sure you check out Ober Gatlinburg, we loved the ice skating rink, also The Old Mill is a must for dinner!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our stay at bear mountain

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 26, 2013

We had a great time. Our grand daughter had her own room in the loft. We even cooked somemores on the charcoal grill. We had to buy a spatula because there wasn't one to make pancakes. We had a slight panick when we got there because I couldn't find the code to open the key box. But we eventually found it in our literature. Also you have to push the pins down hard to enter the code then pull very hard to open the key holder enclosure.
The view from the porch is spectacular. Especially sitting in the hot tub! Hope to come back.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Owners response: Gene & Marge, thank you SO much for visiting Bear Mountain, I am so happy it worked well for your vacation! We have upgraded the lock system to a much more user friendly model!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Views for a Great Family Vacation!

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: January 27, 2013

Great views were only the first thing nice we found with this cabin! It was clean, smelled crisp, and we enjoyed how spacious this cabin is. Most 2 bed cabins are so tiny and small but this one we had plenty of room to get out of each others way! We enjoyed the gas fireplace at night and the owners were so easy to work with!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Weekend get away

Review submitted: August 17, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

Let me start off by saying I manage 40 rental properties on the beach in Florida so I may be a bit more critical than others. The cabin itself is very comfortable and cutely decorated. The view was amazing. The cabin needs some TLC however and a little more consideration to the comforts of the guest. When we got to the cabin late in the evening we found we were provided one towel per person, the towels reminded me of the pool towels you receive at hotels. The downstaris bath did not drain properly, a little disappointing after a 12 hour drive to have to unstop the shower to use it. The upstairs shower was small as mentioned by others to the point that all four of us ended up using the downstairs shower.

The kitchen is in need of some more and/or replaced items. The toaster only worked on one side so you had to turn the bread over and toast the other side once the first side was done. We were provided with one dishtowel and one dishrag. The kitchen did not have a pot holder, the can opener was so dull we ended up having to purchase one, there were only two serving bowls and unfortunately I only found one clean pot that I would use for cooking. It seemed someone before our arrival did not clean the pots carefully and the cleaning staff had not checked to make sure everything was clean. The cookie sheet was so rusted you could only use it with tin foil.

When my children and husband went to play pool the pool table was still unlevel and my husband won the game on the break as all the balls ran to one corner. The air hockey table was disappointing as the pucks would not actually drop into the holder on a goal.

We tried to use the hot tub but unfortunately could not get it to heat up. It was however our choice not to call the maintenance man to figure out why it wasn't heating. Part of the manager in me I guess, I felt proper instructions and troubleshooting should have been provided as others seem to have had the same problem.

Again in a whole the cabin was very cute and the view was spectacular and with a little more TLC it will be a wonderful get away.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great View

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

Overall this cabin was nice, only a few complaints. The upstairs shower is extremely small, so much so that upon turning around in the shower my elbow turned off the water...just a bit tight! It also leaked in to the bathroom downstairs. The soap container in the dishwasher was broken, and the washing machine leaked as well, so a lot of time was spent cleaning up water during the weekend. Other than that though, it was a nice area, the hot tub was lovely and the view off the back porch was amazing. We had a wonderful time here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Shannon, thank you so much for picking Bear Mountain, you are right that view is amazing! Thanks for alerting us to the washer issue and we have gotten that fixed! Thanks again and come back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice cabin

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

This cabin was very nice for our weekend getaway. The hotub was great once I called the maintenance person and he advised me how to get back it into a mode where it would heat up. My wife was less than satisfied with the kitchen amenities, she said the stove didn't work very well and the silverware was not very nice.The pool table is very unlevel, causing the balls to roll around on one end. Overall I would rate this cabin as nice for a weekend stay

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi, we really appreciate & value your rental & feedback. We regret the hot tub was in rest mode upon your arrival but are so glad our 24/7 maintenance was able to help. We have also re-leveled pool table and placed some new items in kitchen! We would love to have you as a guest again

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

GREAT SMALL CABIN WITH BEAUTIFUL VIEWS

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

This was a nice small cabin with great views. There were only two things we needed to purchase during our stay. The amenities listed a new grill. We assumed it was a gas grill, but it was not. Had we known that, we would have brought charcoal. We had to purchase that when we arrived. We also thought a nice addition to the kitchen drawer would have been a wine opener! We bought several bottles of wine from local shops, and returned to the cabin to enjoy them, but couldn't get them open! Borrowed one from the neighbors. Other than those two small things, our stay was great! Loved having our own washer and dryer. The hot tub was great.
We'll definitely return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Amber, thank you again for renting our cabin! Great suggestion on those kitchen items we have made sure to add them! We hope to have you back soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Bear Mountain Cabin

Review submitted: April 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

We would recommend this cabin to anyone with children!..my kid had a great time. This cabin has a beautiful view. It was very clean and had everything that you would need for a great time! The cabin was close to all of the local attraction....would love to stay again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Choice - Relax & Enjoy!!!

Review submitted: February 25, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2012

As a Floridian it was wonderful to be in a colder area and enjoy soaking in the hot tub! . The cabin was clean. The hot tub water was clean.This cabin was the cleanest I had rented. The location is perfect. Easy travel access to Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. We enjoyed all the amenities and the view of the mountains.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Might stay again

Review submitted: February 14, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

The cabin was a little further in the woods than I would have liked. It was very clean and quite. The upstairs shower was very small. The pool table was not level and is placed in a spot that makes it impossible to play. All the TVs are out dated and need to be replaced. The hot tub was awesome and felt good on a cool night. All in all a good stay. If the downstairs tv was replaced I would stay again. Watching a projection screen gave me a headache.

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Couldnt have picked a nicer cabin!

Review submitted: February 11, 2013   Date of arrival: November 24, 2012

We couldn't have found a nicer cabin! This one had everything we needed! We were more than happy with this cabin!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Best Cabin in the Smoky Mountains!

Review submitted: February 10, 2013   Date of arrival: November 12, 2012

Myself and my two kids and my husband found this cabin to be one of the finest cabins in the Smoky Mountains. We have rented always thru a rental agency and this was the first time renting from an owner. They were great to work with, the cleaning crew did a great job, and the view is amazing from this cabin! Thank you for sharing your 2nd home with our family! God Bless!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Class Act Cabin That is Well Maint,, Clean & Easy to Rent!

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 14, 2012

This cabin was a beautiful property. Very quite and easily accesible and close to all that Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg have to offer. Clean cabin and check in was super easy! Hot tub was great, beds good and view A+!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very affordable!

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: January 28, 2013

It was dusk when we arrived at the cabin. The motion detector lights were quite helpful, although a house number would have been appreciated. The outside setting is beautiful, but we were a little disappointed as we stepped inside and could see that the kitchen floor was not very clean. Also the carpet is a bit shabby and the couch has outlived its lifetime. Everything else was pretty much as it should be. We very much enjoyed the hottub and the views from the wraparound deck. One day was stormy and rainy, so we watched a lot of tv which has a nice large screen, but not a clear picture. Overall we enjoyed our stay and felt that this cabin is a great value.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Weekend!

Review submitted: January 28, 2013   Date of arrival: January 17, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Bear Mountain cabin and had a great time. The cabin was in great condition and the view is spectacular. There was an ice storm the night we arrived and we woke up to a view of the Smokeys covered in ice. It was beautiful. The kids played air hockey, we all went in the hot tub every night and we enjoyed some board games in front of fireplace. We hit Pigeon Forge, Gatlinburg and spent a day hiking in the Great Smokey Mtn. National Park. The owner was helpful and even called to give us a heads up on the weather. I would definitely recommend this cabin. It fit six of us (five and an infant) perfectly. Thanks for a great weekend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Good experience / Good value

Review submitted: January 22, 2013   Date of arrival: November 16, 2012

This was our first experience renting directly from the owner of a vacation rental, and it was above my expectations. We found the property easily with the directions supplied by the owner. The key was obtained easily from the lockbox. The cabin was clean. As with many things, it is a bit smaller than it appears in the photos, but there was PLENTY of space for our party of two. There were cabins on either side of us, but the privacy factor was acceptable. We had no issues with the hot tub and we used it frequently over our three day stay. The view was wonderful. My biggest disappointment was that the pool table (not pictured), which was a big factor in our choice of properties, was smaller than I expected in height and one side was pushed against the loft wall upstairs to conserve space. In my opinion it was not usable, based on these factors. The amenities listed a "stereo system" which I didn't find. We did feel it necessary to empty out the charcoal grill before cooking our steaks and we left it in better condition that we found it. Overall, I wouldn't mind renting this property again or from this owner again! On a humorous note, be sure to bring a keyring to use for the single house key provided. We had a very close call where I dropped the key as I was handing it to my husband and it actually fell between the cracks on the porch so I had to crawl underneath and dig through many dried leaves for a couple (panic stricken) minutes to find it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Charming Real Mountain Winter Get Away!

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: December 19, 2012

A great time was had by all in our group! It was such a nice cabin w/plenty of space, lots of times the cabins you rent are just super small, this one wasn't at all w.plenty of room! We are both 60+ and had the grand kids so we loved all the flat parking and only 1 or 2 steps to get inside! We really encourage others to rent this nice cabin!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome View - Great Owners!!!

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: November 6, 2012

This cabin has an amazing view better than we even could tell from pictures! The owners were very accomdating and always available to help us, booking process was super easy! Would rent again from this owner, so nice!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Christmas Cabin Rental

Review submitted: December 26, 2012   Date of arrival: December 20, 2012

The cabin was situated beautifully on a mountain top, secluded within the mountains with just a few other cabins within view. Beautiful wood beams offered that Smoky Mountain feel we were looking for! Rock fireplace is lovely and cozy and for the money, this was a good cabin for 4, however, the furniture is not substantial or comfortable for staying more than a few days as the sofa is "sunken in" and has no support, making it uncomfortable to sit on and hard to get up. Only other chair was a recliner which was hard to manage with no side handle. Kitchen is very adequate with plenty of counter space but only basic cooking utensils....bring your own pot holder if you plan to use the oven and bring dish cloths as only one was provided for a 3 day stay. Some problems with hot tub not working properly so we only used once, however, it is beautifully situated on the back porch overlooking the mountains. Very private. Very quiet area.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exceeded Our Expectations

Review submitted: December 17, 2012   Date of arrival: December 13, 2012

This cabin could not have been any cleaner or in better condition. It was absolutely beautiful and we really enjoyed our stay. The view from the deck was breath taking. We really enjoyed the location. It was easy to get to Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge, but far enough out to be peaceful and quiet. The owners were friendly, helpful and wonderful to work with and you just can't beat the price. We were very happy with every aspect of our stay in Bear Mountain. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent Choice

Review submitted: November 6, 2012   Date of arrival: October 28, 2012

We are so happy we picked this cabin! It is in immacalute condition and has a great view! We enjoyed soaking in the hot tub and cuddling up by the gas fireplace!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful view and relaxing

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: September 5, 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful vacation. The cabin was inviting. Our kids loved the loft bedroom and There was more than enough space for us and the location of the cabin was great. We will be visiting the area again and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Hard time finding the cabin

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

There are no house numbers on the cabin or even the cabin name displayed outside the cabin. The only way we knew we had the right cabin was to unlock the lockbox and try the key. Since we arrived after dark and there were no lights on outside the cabin we just happened to get lucky finding the cabin.

The bed downstairs is very uncomfortable and squeeks with every turn you make.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: HI Leslie, thank you again for renting our cabin. Upon your feedback we have installed Motion Detector flood lights on front porch for the safety of our guests and also a new bed downstairs. We thank you again for choosing our cabin.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great Owners!

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: September 3, 2012

First time to ever rent from owner and it was so easy and we highly recommend these owners, they are on top of everything! The cabin was perfect, we had a few questions and they answered on first call! We will never pay those high rental company prices again, Thanks Donna & Asa you have a guest for life!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice Girls Get Away - Loved Cabin!

Review submitted: October 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 16, 2012

Me and three of my girlfriends from college rented this cabin for a girls get away! Everything was just perfect for us! Loved the location, the view is understated in desc its amazing, I have a had back so the hot tub was a great extra!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

One Night Stay Very Much Enjoyed!

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: October 4, 2012

We only had the chance to stay in this cabin for one night but it was excellent. We were on a road trip and this was the perfect place to sit in front of the gas fireplace enjoy the mountain air and take a nice sunset dip in the hot tub!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bear Mtn Vacation Rated 5 Stars Excellent!

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 27, 2012

Excellent cabin - great view, cabin was super clean! Frankly I dont think you could find a nicer cabin for the price. The owners were very prompt and the full time folks that were for them in the area were so nice and kind! We will rent again from this owner.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

very satisfied!

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

We had a very good time living in the cabin for the past 3 days. This nice cabin is located on top of a mountain, which gives it a very good view from the back balcony-- I got up at 7am to see the sunrise on the balcony and it's very beautiful! It's nice and clean with all facilities you need. The only con is that it the minor bedroom is not private, i.e., it is located in the same room with the play room on the second floor and I don't feel it like a room because people can go upstairs and watch you sleeping... The sound insulation is also not prefect, we hear people talking in the other bedroom. But anyway, it's cheap and located great, and most importantly, we had really a very good time staying in the cabin!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Already Booked Another Trip!

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 9, 2012

We have already booked another trip at this excellent cabin! Owner was AWESOME to work with, responded within minutes! We loved sitting back and relaxing in the huge oversized whirlpool and our kids enjoyed playing pool & air hockey!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Good View - Clean Cabin!

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 28, 2012

We highly recommend this cabin to others searching for the perfect vacation spot! View is excellent, cabin is clean, and spacious!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice cabin but had repair issues and problems that adversely affected our stay. New hot tub needed!

Review submitted: October 14, 2012   Date of arrival: September 30, 2012

We are fortunate to stay in the Smokies every fall and enjoy a different cabin each time. This was our first experience to not go with a cabin rental company and instead tried a rental by owner, as we have had success doing that with our summer beaach stays. We have two teenagers who love to stay in cabins as well due to the ammenities. This cabin has desired features such as a nice mountain view and pool table, with additional boasted ammenities of a jacuzzi, gas fireplace and hot tub. Unfortunatley, the hot tub (my favorite part of staying at a cabin) had to be worked on several times before working, so we were only able to use it the last night out of four nights. In addition, the "gas fireplace" had not yet been converted to gas, so it was unusable as such-though maintencance did bring forewood so we could use it that way if desired (we never got to uee it that way- too much trouble). Our second night there after being frustrated by a continuingly unusuable hot tub, we decided to try the jacuzzi (no small feat as it isnt private!) and that wasnt working either. I would suggest that once the fireplace is actually converted to gas and this ancient hot tub replaced, and jacuzzi is working, this could be an ebjoyable place to stay for a reasonable price. We just had a lot of disappointments and frustrations and had to contact maintenance way too many times! On that note, maintenance did fix what they could but it took three days for the hot tub to be usable. This hot tub jst clearly needs to be replaced, it appears much older than the cabin. Also, cabin is quite a drive up the mountain, so count on a 15- 20 min drive to Gatlinburg. If you have kids staying upstairs, it is difficult to use the jacuzzi as it is attached to their loft bedroom and is part of the game room, so difficult as far as privacy. With a working hot tub, you prob wouldnt even have to use the jacuzzi though. After staying here with the breakdowns, the repairs, etc, we wouldnt stay with this owner again and will return to a using a cabin rental company, as we have never experienced these kind of problems before using a company. It was also disappointing that depsite my sending a message to the owners regarding my concerns the second night we were there, I wasn never contacted by the owners, even if just to offer an apology for our trouble. I had hoped for better.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: To let future guests know the gas fireplace is up and going(it was delayed due to the gas company), the hot tub is up and running great, and the whirlpool is working(it was out due to a breaker flipping due to curling iron left on.) This is the first we have heard from this guest and wish we would have been informed so we could help them. Sadly sometimes hot tubs do break and it happened w/this guest. WE ENCOURAGE POTENTIAL GUESTS TO READ ALL OUR REVIEWS - we have an excellent property with great reviews & if you take the time to check not just this listing but all our VRBO listings you will find our reputation is A+ and our cabins are well kept.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Lovely weekend

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

My family of 3 stayed here with another family of 3. There were 2 small children. We found this cabin to be quite comfortable for our needs. It was a great deal for the price.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing View & Nice Clean Large Cabin

Review submitted: September 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 22, 2012

The view from this cabin is amazing! We found it to be super clean and probably one of the larger 2 bed cabins we have ever stayed in, plenty of room to spread out! The pool table & air hockey were nice as was having a whirlpool AND hot tub, what more could you want? We will deff book again! OWNERS WERE SUPER NICE to deal with so kind!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Staying on top of the world

Review submitted: September 13, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

This was a last minute deal that turned out better than expected. The cabin is at the very top of a mountain, you will pass dozens of other cabins as you climb and climb. My girlfriend and I grilled out the entire time so we didn't commute to town which would have been a pain. The cabin is located with several other cabins nearby yet it was very private on the back deck. The view is incredible and the hot tub also private if you take a late night dip. The cabin was perfect for two people although it could easily house four or five. The shower had lots of pressure and the kitchen nicely equipped. Overall it was a great deal and we hope to return in a few months.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review