reviews for: listing #104511 - Austin, Texas House rental

Walk to Lightrail, be at Convention Center 18 minutes!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Brentwood
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $99 - $179 /nt
    $699 - $899 /wk
    $2,499 - $2,999 /mth

sort by:

Good Find in Central Austin

Review submitted: March 10, 2014   Date of arrival: January 30, 2014

I recently stayed at this delightful house for the month of February. Of all the houses/condos I have rented over the years, I have never had a rental with a kitchen more completely furnished. All of the pots and pans were of excellent quality and there were many extras like spices, oil sugar, etc. This charming house, tucked behind another house, is quiet and safe with a very private back yard. A large grocery store is quite close and another smaller grocery store is within walking distance. On Burnet there are interesting second-hand shops. In the other direction, on the corner of Koenig and Lamar, a large bookstore called Half-Price Books has everything you need for reading, and right behind that store is a unique bike shop that only sells recumbent bikes and trikes. Want some good Texas barbeque. There is an excellent barbeque restaurant right down the street. Because the house is in Central Austin, it is quite close to everything. I was very impressed with how quickly the landlords responded to even the slightest request.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect little hideaway

Review submitted: January 24, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

House was very comfortable and quaint. A great place to chill. Located close to everything.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay. Clean, comfortable, and safe!

Review submitted: December 22, 2013   Date of arrival: December 3, 2013

The central location in Austin made going anywhere easy! The neighborhood felt safe, and the house felt like home. Everything we needed (except food, of course) was provided. We loved the house and wouldn't hesitate staying again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house is very nice

Review submitted: November 16, 2013   Date of arrival: October 24, 2013

The house is very nice.

The house conditions are perfect, it's very clean and well maintained, also it's very equiped with all the indispensable things. I haven't had any problem or inconvenience, I enjoyed my stay there. The neighborhood is too secure and perfect to have privacy.

Undoubtedly I will recommend this place to all my friends for future reservations.

Thanks for all the amenities and recommendations I felt like in home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

comfortable

Review submitted: November 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 31, 2013

Stayed here a while our contractor was putting new flooring and remodeling a bathroom in our home in Allandale. I actuallly don't like to put our baby on the floor to crawl around but your home was really clean. The house wasn't baby-proofed but there wasn't really anything for him to get into. Not many knick knacks laying around which was good. We were very comfortable staying here with him. Thank you again for letting us extend our stay at the last minute. I should have know our contractor wouldn't be done on time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

will be back

Review submitted: November 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 15, 2013

Enjoyed our stay, loved the house, will be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

SO close to UT

Review submitted: November 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 10, 2013

We came to Austin to see our daughter at UT. This was a perfect place to stay since it was SO close to campus but not in the middle of student housing! The home was very quiet - no partying students nearby which was nice. Our daughter took the bus to see us from the UT campus - the bus stop was a block away and it didn't take long at all for her to get here. It made everything so much easier to be so close to her.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exactly as promised--wonderful

Review submitted: November 7, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

I rented this house over the weekend of my wedding for a nice place to get ready before the Big Day. It was conveniently located to everything I needed in terms of food and errands. The house was in great condition--I wanted to live there! Allendale Rentals were totally responsive and courteous during the booking process. I would absolutely stay at this cottage again on a future trip to Austin.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

nice house, nice neighborhood

Review submitted: November 6, 2013   Date of arrival: October 26, 2013

It's a great place to stay. Nice house, nice neighborhood. Hope to come back some day, maybe to another ironman. I'm very thankful - just want to give you some coffe as a gift.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

reaonsable prices for ACL

Review submitted: November 6, 2013   Date of arrival: October 3, 2013

I don't know why anyone would ever stay in a hotel when a house like this is available! Beautiful and very clean. Being able to come back and relax after a long day out at ACL definitely contributed to our great experience! Also appreciated that you don't try to take advantage of the special event. Your prices were very reasonable for such an awesome house!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

loved staying here

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

What a cute house! We loved staying here. We enjoyed showing our kids the sights in Austin. My husbad and I lived in Austin back in 90-91. It was great coming back here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

LOVE the sunporch - perfect for a good book

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 12, 2013

Visiting friends in Austin has never been more comfortable. A perfect retreat and a relaxing getaway. Great location with comfort abound. LOVE the sunporch - perfect place for a good book. See you again! :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

great pad

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: April 21, 2013

Good times, great pad. MotoGP 2013. See you next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

extremely comfortable

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: April 14, 2013

Traveling together in the hill country. Found this well appointed house extremely comfortable and well located. Sight seeing in Austin was a delight. Today we move to Fredericksburg!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

cozy home

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 3, 2013

Thank you for allowing us to stay the week to prepare for our son's wedding. It was wonderful to have a place to prepare all of the things we needed for the rehearsal dinner and wedding. We only regret that we can't stay to really relax and enjoy your cozy home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

very clean and well-appointed

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 10, 2013

We are in Austin for a baby shower for a family member and have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Your small house was conveniently located, very clean and well-appointed, and cozy for the three of us. It has been fun to eat Tex-Mex food. We hope to return to Austin soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

loved Austin

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 3, 2013

We are from East Minster. We have loved Austin. Thank you for having us. Austin is a beautiful city. I wish to live here if I were to live in the states!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

very warm and comfortable

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

Great place - very warm and comfortable. A perfect location to see our son and wife who live just down Grover. Sorry they are moving!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

most comfortable accommodation I've had

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 14, 2013

I normally stay in a hotel when I'm in town on business. This trip I had a business partner traveling with me. Instead of renting 2 rooms, we decided to try a house. This was easily the most comfortable accommodation I've had in a long time. This is something we will do again. You have a fantasitc home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Really clean

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in your lovely home. Really clean and we would stay again. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

location was ideal

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

Our stay was wonderful, thank you! It was perfect for our family of four. The location of your property was ideal! Dominos were a bonus! Lovely finish out. Thank you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Look forward to coming back!

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: December 10, 2012

Thank you so much for allowing us to stay here. It was such a cozy place to stay and made out time in Austin very enjoyable. We look forward to coming back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Adorable home!

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: December 20, 2012

What a treat to stay here! It's an adorable home and I'm so glad you "saved" it and with a very handsome decor! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Property, Great Price!

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 24, 2013

The house was perfect! It is quite charming and was perfect for my husband, myself and our two young children. The renovations were lovely and the kitchen was gorgeous. We like to spend a lot of time outside and the backyard was perfect for that! There was something missing from the unit that we needed and Amanda was SOOO quick to respond and we had the item in our hands in literally ten minutes! It was great service! We will definitely stay again!

Also, it is a back house and I know sometimes that can feel not very private- that is not the case with this house. You have your own front porch and fenced in back yard- it feels very much like a stand alone house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house, great location!!

Review submitted: September 26, 2013   Date of arrival: September 8, 2013

We were really impressed with how nice the house was. Impressive remodel throughout. Everything was nice and clean. Great location, nice and quiet, beds were very comfortable. Owners were very friendly and quick to respond when we had an Internet/tv glitch. We definitely plan to return to this rental in the future. We could not have been happier with our stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming Bungalow

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

This house was delightful. Nicely decorated. Cozy. Comfortable. GREAT location. Worked perfectly for a family of four with two young children. Would definitely stay there again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean, cozy inside and out!

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

This house was perfect for my trip. It was clean, decor was very modern and everything was up to date. I'm usually very selective but this rental exceeded my expectations. I would definitely rent again and highly recommend to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great little cottage!

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 22, 2013

We stayed here while visiting our daughter and absolutely loved it. The cottage was immaculate and it was nice that we could use a lock box with a code to get in and out instead of a key. Austin is a fun place for the outdoor and indoor type people. I would give this house an A+ rating as I've been renting from Home Away for years now and this one's on top of my list.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Love the location

Review submitted: May 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 14, 2013

We stayed here as part of our search for where to buy a home in Austin. We really love the area and this is one of our top contenders! It's a residential area but close to downtown, so the houses are older but this one has been redone beautifully. I love that you see everyone taking walks in the morning and evening!

We hoped on the light rail to grab dinner next to the convention center. Super easy and tons of fun!

The house itself is gorgeous. The owners were finishing up some landscaping work when we arrived (beautiful plants by the way!) and they shared with us the very interesting history about the house. To make a long story short, it's a 80 year old home they saved from demolition and renovated from top to bottom. It looks like a brand new home, but there are little touches here and there that show the original charm that you just don't see in houses these days.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A perfect place to stay!

Review submitted: March 31, 2013   Date of arrival: March 17, 2013

the house was great, so clean, modern and nicely decorated. the owners were helpful and communicative! it was perfect for what we needed!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful house and amenities!

Review submitted: February 20, 2013   Date of arrival: February 14, 2013

The home was easy to find, the owners were wonderfully responsive to questions and the home was beautiful. We will stay there again when we travel in Austin!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Cottage

Review submitted: February 13, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

We enjoyed our two days at this beautifully renovated home. The attention to detail was perfect. We hope to come back for another stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so happy you loved your stay! We work very hard to make each of our rental homes perfect for all our guests so I'm so happy you appreciated our attention to detail. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 30, 2013

Great place - very warm and comfortable. A perfect location to see our son & wife who live nearby.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Business trip

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 13, 2013

I normally stay in a hotel when I'm in town on business. This trip I had a business partner traveling with me. Instead of renting 2 rooms, we decided to try a house. This was easily the most comfortable accomodations I've had in a long time. This is something we will do again. You have a fantasitc home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely home

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in your lovely home. Really clean and we would stay again. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our stay was wonderful, thank you!

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

Our stay was wonderful, thank you! It was perfect for our family or four. The location of your property was ideal! Dominos were a bnous! Lovely finish out. Thank you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a treat to stay here!

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: December 19, 2012

What a treat to stay here! It's an adorable home and I'm glad you "saved" it and with a very handsome decor. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My Review

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: January 24, 2013

Excellent location for us because of proximity to our family. Very cute house set back on owner's property. Everything you need is there - well thought out. Great to have washer/dryer, back porch and outside sitting area, bedroom ceiling fans, even magazines and movies to watch. If you are looking for a quiet neighborhood rental, you can't go wrong with this one but you will need a car to get around.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: I'm so happy you enjoyed our home! We always try to have everything in the home that you might need during your stay, so I'm happy you found everything you wanted.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Good location

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2012

Very nice home, had everything we needed. Close in enough that we were able to get around town well, and could walk to the lightrail to go to the Convention Center. It was an easy walk to Threadgills and Stile Switch BarBQue - both had good food.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sunroom was perfect!

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: October 9, 2012

I absolutely loved your home! The sunroom was by far the most peaceful and cozy place I have ever stayed. It rained one night and I spent most of my evening in the sunroom just reading and watching the rain. It was perfect - thank you!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great kitchen

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2012

I loved this home since it had everything we needed to stay home and cook each evening. The appliances all looked new and really made cooking smoother. We did walk to The Little Deli one day for lunch since the weather was so nice. It was pretty good for salads and sandwiches. We also noticed there was a grocery store next door to it that we could have gone to if needed. Overall, we enjoyed the home!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Good location

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 17, 2012

I stayed here last month and was very happy with the home, so of course I called Amanda when I needed to come back to Austin. The home is a old with so much personality but at the same time very modern, clean, and updated. It's close to several highways and I was able to get to my meetings quickly. I would recommend this home to anyone traveling to Austin for business or otherwise.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cozy and Charming

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: January 3, 2013

We stayed here recently so when we traveled back we definitely wanted to stay here again. The home is perfect - cozy and charming. It is so comfortable and my wife loves the sunroom. It was a cozy getaway for her. Thank you as always Amanda!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Renovation!

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2012

Thank you Amanda for letting us stay in your rental. It was a beautiful renovated! The home had everything my wife and I needed, even spices in the kitchen. The rental we stayed in previously didn't even have a wine opener, so your home was a welcomed surprise. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We look forward to coming back!

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: December 11, 2012

Thank you for letting us stay here. It was such a nice place to stay and made our time in Austin very comfortable. We look forward to coming back.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Will definitely rent this home for future stays!

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: December 1, 2012

Thank you so much for allowing us to rent your home. The home has been beautifully renovated and felt cozy and comfortable to stay in. We had perfect weather while we were here (an added benefit) and will definitely rent this home again for future stays!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for the gracious hospitality

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: November 22, 2012

Weather here this time of here is definitely better than in NH. We like the Austin area a lot, and your home was a perfect spot for us to stay. You did a great job renovating it. It's very comfortable. Will be recommending it to other member of family who'll be visiting Austin in the future. Thanks for the gracious hospitality!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Super comfortable, nicest place we stayed

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 25, 2012

Traveled here with my wife and two kids as our final rest stop on a long sightseeing road trip. It's a two bedroom home but the boys had fun sharing a room. Location was great, everything was a quick drive away and the neighborhood is a fantastic one full of families. We lost track of how many families we saw out walking their dogs in the evenings. This was the nicest accommodations we stayed in all trip!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Delightful and Relaxing

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: November 12, 2012

This delightful and cozy home is wonderful for any stay.
It has plenty of room to move around and relax without feeling closed in.
Plenty of restaurants on Lamar to eat and if you decide to cook in, there is a central market close by.
House is very clean and well kept.
I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone wanting to enjoy a great time in Austin.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: November 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 27, 2012

Had such a wonderful stay and have recommended to family who will be visiting next year. Wonderful hosts who were warm and friendly and even came out to see us play a show! Can't wait for our next visit!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great Place

Review submitted: November 5, 2012   Date of arrival: October 28, 2012

What a cute, cozy place to stay with a family of 4. Plenty of room with a great kitchen. Everything was clean and worked great and so much nicer than staying in a sterile hotel. The sun porch was very cute and a great extra room. We were visitng UT and Lakeway and this was a great location as it was centrally located.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

PERFECT Home

Review submitted: November 3, 2012   Date of arrival: October 24, 2012

This is a wonderful newly remodeled home that you will appreciate on any trip.
I come to town on business, staying in hotels become stale and uncomfortable so I decided to rent a house. The location was accessible to restaurants and coffee houses and if you wanted to take an early morning run in the neighborhood, you would be joining other runners around the area. So peaceful, so cozy and so delightful to be this home.
Amanda is a delightful person as well, she went over and beyond my request for exceptional service.
I would recommend this property for vacations, weekends, romantic get a ways and of course for business travelers.
DONT miss out on this special opportunity, you may not get another chance!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

email to owner from guest

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

Just wanted to send an email thanking you for having us in your beautiful place. It was exactly what we all needed after having stayed at a pretty sketchy house we booked on another site. We were so grateful that you made everything so simple for us and we will be telling all our friends to stay with you if they're ever in town! Wishing we didn't have to leave but hope to see you again in the future.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved our stay!

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 13, 2012

We enjoyed staying in such a nice house while we were in Austin! We were one of the first guests so we got a really good deal. For the price, we just didn't expect such a beautiful home. It had everything we needed and we loved the sun porch. It was very relaxing each morning. The neighborhood was quiet and close to downtown. We even took the light rail downtown one night!

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review