reviews for: listing #104629 - Gatlinburg, Tennessee Cabin rental

Black Bear's Hideaway/5 min to Downtown/Best Mountain Resort
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Black Bear Falls
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $165 - $225 /nt
    $990 - $1,450 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful Stay! Great place for small children!

Review submitted: April 1, 2014   Date of arrival: March 26, 2014

This is a beautiful cabin that is literally a 2 minute EASY drive to the Aquarium. The cabin is in a cabin community but is very wooded and private/peaceful. There is a nice grocery store nearby along with several restaurants that you can go to without even getting on the Parkway.
The cabin itself was very clean and well-equipped for our family. Our 5 year old slept on the twin sleeper next to us and our 8 month old slept in the pack-n-play that the owner leaves for guests to use. The owner also had a highchair and toybox there that we took advantage of.
We adults thoroughly enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub on the deck as well as playing games on the pool table downstairs!
When we got back home, our 5 year old told everyone how much she loved her vacation home:) We would definitely stay at this cabin again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Home

Review submitted: March 15, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

We choose this house for a ladies weekend and we truly enjoyed it. The house was beautiful, cozy, and clean. I would definitely stay there again. The only thing I would say is to make sure you bring rags and soap to wash dishes as there aren't any rags and not a lot of soap provided, but there is a dishwasher. We also ran out of toilet tissue the last day we were there. But the beds were comfortable and there was plenty of towels. Loved this cabin. Oh and there was not a lot of space for parking cars (we had 4 cars).

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for the 5 star review and compliments. The cabin is definitely cozy:) I agree that more dish towels would be helpful. I will make sure we provide more for our guests.
As for the kitchen items, we do provide "starter" supplies as it states in the cabin information. Yes, parking for 4 cars is definitely not recommended. The driveway for most of the cabins only fit about 2-3 vehicles. (FYI..to all future guests, you will find all of this information on our site and in our rental agreement. It's a lot to read, but it helps your preparations:)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Jesse, Angel, Mary, Greg, Tammy and Roger

Review submitted: February 19, 2014   Date of arrival: February 13, 2014

We had the best weekend. We were close to town. The road was steep. It snowed while we were there and if we had not had 4-wheel drive whe would not have made it up the hill to the cabin. We saw 4 different cars have this problem. The cabin was awesome and Whitney was very helpful. Very Clean.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the 5 star review. We're so pleased that you all enjoyed your time. The roads to the cabin are fairly level and there is one hill to the cabin. There aren't any steep roads, but in an ice storm level roads can be dangerous. This winter broke many records for us all. Thanks again for staying!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great weekend stay!!!

Review submitted: January 29, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

We stayed two nights in this cabin an we have been renting cabins for years in the area an must say this one was the best so far! Very clean, nicely decorated an so much room. We will be staying at this one again an will refer family an friends!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for referring us to your friends and family. We also thank you for your review. We take great pride when our guests say our cabin is the best. Thank you!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great cabin, awesome location, close to everything!

Review submitted: January 21, 2014   Date of arrival: January 6, 2014

Absolutely loved the cabin!! The cabin had exactly everything that was on the website... it exceeded our expectations The cabin is in a great area, close to attractions, supermarket and gas stations. Very clean and comfortable and with plenty of room to relax. The kitchen has everything needed. Loved the rocking chairs and views!! We will definitely go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I agree with you 100%; the rocking chairs are relaxing! Thank you for the kind words:) You're welcome back any time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Black Bear Hideway

Review submitted: December 29, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

From the moment the front door was opened to the last time out - this cabin is a dream. The kitchen is well equipped with items from a sugar shell to casserole dishes. Beds in the cabin are truly like the beds at home and very comfortable, with plenty of linens for both baths and beds. The living room furnishings were so great that son -in-law claimed recliner and no one else could get close. The Christmas Tree, decorations and a dusting of snow made for a great time with family. Lower level was great for the teenage grandchildren, Will definitely rent from Whitney again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

cabin/black bear hideaway

Review submitted: December 18, 2013   Date of arrival: December 12, 2013

cabin was awesome. it was what it was shown to be in all the pics. Whitney Long was very easy and great to work with. we will definitely stay there again. great time!!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: Thank you very much, and you're more than welcome to stay again:)

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Fantastic Cabin!

Review submitted: December 5, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2013

I can not say enough good stuff about this cabin. From the minute we entered and saw the Christmas decorations to the most wonderful beds we slept in, everything was fantastic. WE feel in love with the living room sofa!
The Keurig coffee system was wonderful. We rent a cabin every year over Thanksgiving to have our family stay and this was the best by far. Thank you Whitney for all your help and the rental of your cabin.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for the 5 star review an outstanding comments. I agree that the couch is the BEST:) and the Keurig. Those are my personal favorites!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Fantastic Cabin!

Review submitted: December 5, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2013

We rented this cabin from November 26 to December 1st and had the most wonderful trip ever! Our family always stays in Gatlinburg or Pigeon Forge over Thanksgiving and your home is the nicest one we have ever rented. The pictures do not do it justice! I am a Christmas fantantic and arriving to find the house decorated for Christmas was so sweet! We can not tell you enough how comfortable your furniture is. My husband and I feel in love with the living room sofa. My parents loved the bed on the main floor. My husband and I are usually never completely happy in a bed not our own but the bed we slept in on top floor was more than comfortable. We found it hard to leave. The keurig was a nice addition for sure. We got lucky and had snow this year. What a pleasure it was to NOT get stuck because of a steep hill or narrow roads. The neighborhood is heavenly and makes you feel you are much higher up the mountain than you are which is nice when wanting to get out in snow. The roads were easy to navigate and the close location to downtown was great. Thank you again for all your help and the use of your lovely home. We hope to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Can't wait to Stay again! Amazing!

Review submitted: November 12, 2013   Date of arrival: November 6, 2013

We rented the cabin for a girls getaway weekend. There were six of us and the three bedrooms all with their own bathrooms worked perfectly. Upon arrival the cabin was easy to access and was immaculately cleaned. Everything was there as promised. Plenty of towels, toiletries, kitchen supplies, etc. The hot tub was very enjoyable and the decks were very nice. We used the gas fireplace on the main level and the lower level game room a couple of times and made the place very cozy. The beds were comfortable. The furnishings were great and their was plenty of seating for everyone. The two big screen TV's in the main level living area and game room were very nice. The pool table was very well kept. I would highly recommend this cabin.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for recommending A Black Bear's Hideaway to others. We appreciate your thoughtful words!

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Fall Break

Review submitted: October 28, 2013   Date of arrival: October 12, 2013

The cabin is awesome!! We have stayed in Black Bear Falls several times and this cabin is by far the cleanest, most comfortable cabin in the community. We are a family of five and there's plenty of room to relax. We had a refrigerator problem upon arrival and Whitney had a new one installed pronto! Great rental from people who know what's needed for an unforgettable week! Will definitely return. Fall colors in Gatlinburg are unbeatable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for the compliments. We appreciate the kind words, and we hope you do return.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved our vacation!

Review submitted: October 20, 2013   Date of arrival: September 25, 2013

"The cabin was perfect! Clean and everything it said it was in the listing. Loved our stay there. Nice location, close to all the local attractions."

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Granny's Getaway

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 29, 2013

We are a group of grandmothers who wanted a peaceful getaway!!! We loved the cabin and chose to cook in a few times, we could not believe the fully stocked kitchen and even a Keurig Coffee maker!!! We were thrilled. Also we loved the comfortable beds, in fact, had to flip coins as to who was going to sleep in the King on the upper floor. Everything was spotless and we certainly enjoyed the hot tub and rocking chairs on the porch!!! Thanks for making our stay a great one!!! We will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Coffee and comfort definitely makes for a wonderful getaway! Our family loves the convenience of a Keurig, but we also have a regular coffee maker for those guests that like to brew a whole pot instead of single cups. We're glad you all enjoyed your time! Thanks!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Family getaway

Review submitted: September 27, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

Great place. Stairs are a little steep if you have people with mobility issues. Loved the hot tub and porches. Upstairs bedroom could use a new mattress. Nice for each bedroom to have its own bathroom. Bathrooms were clean and the one we used had wonderful water pressure.

Owners response: Thank you very much for the 5 star rating, and yes we agree A Black Bear's Hideaway is a great place!
I agree that any guest with mobility issues should avoid steps in any home/property. This is where the main level bedroom would be most suitable. I would have to say the steps are like regular steps in any home because the builder had to follow strict building code in regards to the dimensions.
In regards to the upstairs mattress, it is only a couple of years old, so it's probably more of a personal preference. Most of our guests prefer soft, and we added a memory foam mattress topper to the pillow top mattress. If you prefer a firm mattress, the main level bed would best fit that preference.
We're glad you had a great time with your family, and feel free to return any time!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

It was 6 adults that stayed in the cabin for 4 days and 3 nights and it was plenty of space. The cabin was extra clean and spacious. From the moment I spoke with Whitney she was very nice and professional. She described the cabin just as it was upon arrival. It had exactly everything that was on the websit...it exceeded our expectations. Whitney was very friendly and when it came time to handly one very minor issue she was on top of it and returned my phone call. The cabin was very centrally located to everything. We can't wait to come back to the cabin and rent again...I will also recommend the cabin to my friends. We had a blast...thanks for letting us enjoy a very relaxing stay there. :-)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You're very welcome, and thank you for your wonderful compliments. We definitely try our very best to help all of our guests feel comfortable , taken care of and appreciated. We expect the same treatment when we vacation at vrbo properties. You're welcome back any time!

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Five mins downtown yet feels so secluded

Review submitted: September 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

Our group for this week vacation included 5 adults, 2 teenagers, a 6 mo old and 2- 4 legged babies. I don't know who enjoyed the home best! We could all gather in the living room and watch a movie together or the teens could go to the basement, play pool, watch tv or listen to music and get away from the adults for awhile. We ate in a few nights and the kitchen is so well stocked. I usually am disappointed with the collection of pots and pans in most rentals, but not here! We actually did not mind cooking in this kitchen. We had more trash than families that do not cook or grill, but as soon as I texted and inquired where we could haul it off to, the owner quickly sent someone to pick up the trash for us. We all enjoyed rocking on the wide porches and hot tub. My 6 mo old grandson had his 1st "swim" in tbe community pool. It was clean with plenty of chairs for sun bathing. The cabin is off a main road and about 5 mins from the center of Gatlinburg, yet the community is so quite and secluded.. If there was a negative, it was the position of the house. I walk my yorkie-poo twice a day, and when you go out the front door you have 2 choices, to go up a pretty steep hill, or go down a steep hill. Either way, you have a good hike up and down the hill. This is not recommended for anyone with bad knees or bad back, unless you don't have a pet that has to be walked! I still consider this beautiful cabin to be a 5 star! Thanks for sharing your home with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you very much for the kind words, and we're so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. The hills around our home aren't easy for any "walkers" who may have bad knees. We don't want anyone to feel the term "steep" is meant towards unsafe drop offs. That is definitely not the case in this well designed resort. If you're an avid walker/runner, you'll enjoy the challenge:)

Helpful votes: 3 / 6

 

Wedding in the Mountains.

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

We had a wonderful time ......just to short. The cabin was just as the owner told us it would be. She explained two or three very minor problems (ie. broken dresser drawer, button on key pad missing, etc.)which had absolutely no effect on our stay. Everything worked fine, the location was great and it was well worth the amount we paid. Would use service again anytime and recommend this unit to others. Probably best to keep it to 6-8 people total, limited parking just due to the area it is in. Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're so glad you had a wonderful time, and please come back when you have more time. We agree that 6-8 people works best, especially due to parking. Two cars fits perfectly, but three would really be a tight squeeze. Let us know when you're ready to return.

Helpful votes: 3 / 7

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

We had a great time and really enjoyed the cabin. Was very clean and felt right home! Hope to make a return trip, ran out of time for everything.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: It's always great to hear all the compliments about our guests having a great time and appreciating the hard work put forth on behalf of our caretaker/cleaner. They deserve the recognition for all they do. Thank you for the compliments, and come back again!

Helpful votes: 3 / 7

 

Fantastic Week!

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

The cabin was just like it was pictured. Very clean and comfortable. The location is perfect just a short drive to all the area has to offer. If your thinking about trying zip lining we would recommend Fox Fire Mountain it was really fun! The owners of the cabin are very helpful and strive to ensure your vacation at Black Bear Falls is a memorable one. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: As a family, we definitely strive to help other families enjoy their time here at A Black Bear's Hideaway just as much as we do and have for years. Thank you for taking great care of our cabin, and we look forward to your return

Helpful votes: 3 / 7

 

BlackBear Hide-Away

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: May 19, 2013

Everything was just as described. Accomodations and location was great.

Owners response: Thank you for the 5 star rating. We strive to only describe/depict exactly what you encounter in our cabin during your stay. We appreciate you and your family taking great care of our cabin. Let us know when you're ready to come back to A Black Bear's Hideaway.

Helpful votes: 5 / 11

 

Loved it!!

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 17, 2013

This cabin is perfect! It is just as it is described. Just a short distance from downtown Gatlinburg, but far enough for privacy. There is a grocery store just a mile down the road in case you forget something. Whitney is great to work with. We definitely would stay here again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much, and you're definitely welcome to come back!

Helpful votes: 6 / 14

 

Weekend Getawy with Kids And Family

Review submitted: February 11, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

We spent the weekend at Black Bear's Den. The location is very convenient to downtown Gatlenburg as well as easy access to Pigeon Forge. The cabin was very clean with plenty of amenities including king size beds, spacious family room and gameroom, hot tub, plenty of TVs and internet service. The owners were very accomodating and corresponded often with us to assure that our stay was a pleasant one.

We would highly recommend this cabin to our friends and family! Thanks for the great stay and great memories in TN.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love when our guests recommend our cabin to family and friends. That speaks volumes to us in regards to the hard work our caretaker puts into providing a clean and inviting atmosphere for all of our guests. We work hard too with our communication. We want all guests to feel comfortable and taken care of during their stay. Thanks!!!

Helpful votes: 6 / 14

 

Perfect Weekend Memories

Review submitted: January 31, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

This cabin had something for everyone in our group and was the perfect venue for our mother's 90th birthday! My mother was able to easily navigate throughout the house, the kids loved the hot tub and everyone commented on how comfortable the beds were. Each bedroom had a full bathroom attached and that was a major plus! The kitchen was fully stocked and we were able to have leisurely dinners each evening. Having a pool table on the lower level was great fun and the fireplaces added ambience as well as heat (which we really didn't need because the temps were so mild).

We were a little hesitant about going to the mountains in January but luckily the weather was fine and we were able to move around town with little traffic. The holiday lights were still on and that made it festive at night. We went to the Aquarium on Sunday evening and were practically the only ones there. It was like having a private visit. So if you don't like traffic and long lines, I highly recommend the winter season.

We would definitely come back for a repeat visit and would highly recommend the cabin to anyone looking for a relaxed get away. Whitney, the owner, was friendly, very helpful and returned emails and calls almost immediately. It was a pleasure doing business with her.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: It was a pleasure doing business with you too. We're so happy to hear all of the wonderful memories made among all of your family members during your stay. They'll have lasting positive thoughts of their time spent at A Black Bear's Hideaway!

Helpful votes: 6 / 14

 

Best vacation in our lives

Review submitted: January 6, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

I have to rave about this vacation's accommodations. It is by far the best place I have stay in my many travels. The cabin was all that the owner offered in the advertising. It was clean, has all the amenities from home, well located and easy to access even with snow on the roads. The cabin was better than the pictures describe. The fireplaces were cozy and kept us warm during the cold winter nights. It was located very close to downtown Gatlinburg without being in the middle of town. Roads were accessible even though curvy as it is in the mountain.

The owner was a blessing. Whitney provided us with information before and during the trip. She gave us travel advise as well as places to visit and things to do. She kept in contact with us and all things were exactly as described. We got lost on the way in (as I tried to follow our GPS instead of her directions and she helped us and even offer to call us if needed.) We made it and enjoyed the stay without any inconveniences. She emailed us before and during the stay to confirm that we have all we needed.

Cabin was clean, well kept, fully furnished and with all the kitchen appliances and pots, etc needed for the stay. We were there for 6 days and the only thing we needed to ask was for additional linen as we decided to use the sleeper bed for one night. It fitted comfortably our party of 6. There is a lot of privacy for three families and space for the kids to enjoy it. The game room was well equipped and the pool table gave us some fun times.

We enjoyed Dixie Stampede Christmas Show and definitely we loved the drive to Cades Cove. Will recommend to do both of them if in town. The kids had a blast at Wonder Works and enjoyed several of the arcades in Pigeon Forge. The Earthquake ride was NOT worth it.

In overall it was an EXCELLENT vacation and will recommend to any family and friends. VRBO system was easy to use and very secure. We even had our deposit refunded within 24 hours of our departure. That was great service. Will definitely use VRBO next time we are looking for accommodations.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: WOW!!! We can't get any better response from a guest than this being their Best vacation in their lifetime. That makes us very appreciative because this is what we would hope for all of our guests. Thank you for the wonderful holiday black bear decoration you purchased for our cabin. We have it ready to go for this upcoming holiday season.

Helpful votes: 6 / 15

 

Fantastic Vacation!

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

This cabin was just as it is described and fit our needs perfectly! We were travelling with another family so we each got a master suite and the kids got the suite downstairs. With each family having their own floor, we had plenty of personal space as well as great common areas with plenty of space for the adults to visit and the kids to play. Booking was so easy and the owner was so responsive to any questions we had. The cabin was fully equipped to fix meals too. I loved the level entrance for loading and unloading luggage and little ones. I also loved the proximity to Gatlinburg and other attractions. I would love to come back during the summer to be able to take advantage of the pool and other ammenties of the resort. We will definately book A Black Bear's Hideaway again!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 16

 

Shelley

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: December 7, 2012

The Cottage was great! Perfect for 6 people! Either couples or a girls weekend! It was clean, well equipped,and in a good location! We had a Wonderful time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 14

 

Best time in Gatlinburg in all the 10 years we have been going!!

Review submitted: December 28, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

This is the cutest, most cozy cabin, with the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in!! The owner is an amazing person and it shows in how sweet the cabin is decorated. She is so willing to help and will make your stay the very best it can be. She is only an email, text or phone call away and is quick to respond even if it's a simple question. I recommend this property to everyone and currently I am doing just that! If you are vacationing with children they will love the pool table and I highly recommend visiting the Aquarium. We also had a great, casual time at Smoky Mountain Brewery watching the football games this past Sunday. Reserve this cabin...you won't be disappointed!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 12

 

Sister's trip

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 10, 2012

This place met all of my needs and more! Centrally located but yet still secluded and private with views, easy access, very clean, stocked kitchen, tvs in all the bedrooms, everyone commented their bed was very comfortable, comfortable living areas with tvs in each. I would absolutely stay in this cabin again. The wireless access was unbelievable at times we had 4 people using at once and the speed was still amazing.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. You're welcome back anytime:)

Helpful votes: 5 / 14

 

The FOX Family

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

Our family arrived to an extremely clean, well decorated cabin with gorgeous views and great ammenities. We all loved the pool table, the outdoor pool area and the whirlpool tub to enjoy at the end of our days. There was plenty of space and the kids enjoyed having their own comfortable rooms. The cabin was located well within the tourist spots we wanted to visit and the owner was very accommodating and friendly. We absolutely LOVED our Tennessee vacation and would recommend Black Bear Falls to anyone looking for a special place you'll want to return to again and again. There is SO much to do there, we will HAVE to go back. Thanks again for giving us a place where fond memories will remain with us for years to come!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Black Bear Falls is a perfect resort to create those memorable vacations; I definitely agree. That is why my family chose to purchase a cabin here. We vacationed at various cabins throughout the resort and never wanted to stay anywhere else in Gatlinburg. Thank you and we look forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 5 / 14

 

Loved our stay!

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

This cabin has everything you want for a weekend getaway. It's only a few minutes from the downtown area but still feels secluded. We brought our 3 and 5 year old children and two 14 y/o relatives and they loved it. The two separate living area spaces are a huge feature.

The hot tub was great and functioned perfectly and the pool table was perfect for entertaining the teenagers.

Overall, this was the best cabin for location, affordability and amenities, we will be coming back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your wonderful comments. We would love to have you and your family back for future visits!

Helpful votes: 3 / 11

 

Home and Owner were Above our Expectations!

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 3, 2012

We could not have been happier with our stay. We knew we wanted to work with an individual owner rather than a rental company because of our past experiences and Whitney did not disappoint! She was amazing to work with and the house was perfect. There was plenty of room for our family (6 adults and a toddler at one point) and everyone had a great time. The included pack and play and high chair were such a help in packing our car. The house was incredibly clean and had everything we could need for our stay. We loved having the pool table and used it often. The community pool was open and we loved it! The porches were wonderful. The trees surrounding the property are so beautiful and calming. There are also plenty of rocking chairs for the family and a table on the main porch.

This is probably the easiest accessibility cabin we have stayed at in Gatlinburg. It's just a couple minutes from the main road. And there aren't any stomach-churning hills or turns. Accessibility was really important to us with a toddler. After a long day in town, the last thing we wanted was a long, scary drive back to the cabin!

We even had a black bear visit us one morning! It was quite the surprise and we really enjoyed seeing it.

We've already talked about returning to this cabin. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a calm retreat close to town. Thanks again, Whitney!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for recommending our cabin. We enjoy working with guests while they plan their much anticipated vacations. You were wonderful guests and we would love to have you back.

Helpful votes: 5 / 11

 

Home away from home!

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

What a great place to stay while on vacation...it felt just like home! Honestly it was the first vacation that my daughter didn't start crying that she missed her home/bed! She actually didn't want to leave.

It was perfect for us vacationing with our friends...each friend had their own bedroom with attached bathroom & we loved that they were on different levels. We didn't feel like we were bothering the others if we woke up early or stayed up late. The only argument we had was who was sitting in the middle of the couch...that was the most comfortable couch ever!!!

I have already recommended this place to friends...will be calling you for sure when we decide to come back :)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We definitely agree that the couch is a cozy place to curl up and relax! We're pleased that your family had such a great trip and we're looking forward to having you as guests again:)

Helpful votes: 4 / 10

 

Char(Illinois)

Review submitted: July 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

We enjoyed this cabin very much, it was a beautiful place. We had never done this before but am very glad we did. It was very easy and the owner was nice and made everything simple. We were there with our children and grandchildren and having the three levels of bedrooms gave everyone there space. It rained everyday but we found plenty of sights to see and would like to return and do the things that weather stopped use from doing. If we do return I would check to see if this cabin was available because it was very very nice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We wish the weather would have cooperated, but like you said there is plenty to do in Gatlinburg-rain or shine. Definitely bring your family back; you are more than welcome!

Helpful votes: 3 / 10

 

A Lovely Home Away From Home

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

From the minute we arrived late at night to the time we checked out, we had a wonderful time at A Black Bear's Hideaway. I'm always concerned if a property will be clean, well-kept and well-supplied; rest assured, A Black Bear's Hideaway was ALL of the above and more! We have two young children, ages 6 and 4 and they both loved the property. They thoroughly enjoyed the community pool, and they also liked having the convenience of splashing around in the hot tub right at the house.
There was so much to do in this area. We went to Dollywood and Splash Country, did the Dixieland Stampede dinner, went ziplining, hiking in Smokey Mtn National Park, explored the Aquarium and lots more. Our favorite restaurant (a recommendation by Whitney, the owner) was No Way Jose's (we visited locations in both Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge), but we also enjoyed the Smokey Mountain Brewery and Corky's (in Pigeon Forge). We found A Black Bear's Hideaway to be conveniently located to all of the many attractions we visited in the area.
The owners of the property were very helpful and conscientious to our travels and needs. I appreciated being able to complete all paperwork electronically, but then also being able to talk with the owners by phone or text. We were really grateful for their insight on the area.
We had a super experience in the area, and also at A Black Bear's Hideaway. We would recommend this property without reservation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for recommending our cabin to others. We would love to have you and your family back.

Helpful votes: 5 / 12

 

Great location ~ great times!

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2012

This place was absolutely amazing! If you're looking for convenience and great location this is the place! Was truly happy with the cabin and how nice and clean everything was. I have an 86 yr old mother who loved no steps and convenience of the bedroom on the main level. My daughter took over the basement and loved her space and quiet time all to herself. Everything you could think of they had stocked. It was one of the best kitchens that had everything in it that I have ever saw. Our temps when we were there was in the 105 degrees so we spent alot of afternoon hours in the cabin and air conditioning waiting for the heat to subside and went out again in the evening. Everything was so close by and my daughter enjoyed swimming in the pool. We didn't use the hot tub but it looked like a fun thing to use in the fall. We all had our own t.v. to watch as we all had our own "favorite" programs to watch. We enjoyed driving in the Smokies and even saw 2 bears on our travels. The traffic was so busy in Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge so it was nice to get out of the traffic and retreat to our cabin. It's located right by the Art and Craft Community so we did that several times. It's so nice and quiet and was a great get-away! Thanks for all the love and care you put into your cabin as it really shows that you have taken great care and pride in it. We'll definately love to come back again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Black Bear Falls is absolutely in the best location if you're looking for some truly relaxing down time, but close enough to all the downtown action. We invite you to come back; hopefully during a time with no record breaking summer heat temps:)

Helpful votes: 4 / 11

 

The nicest and cleanest place we have stayed in Gatlinburg! Kids loved it here and we did too!

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

We have stayed in Gatlinburg many many times over the years with our family, and even growing up with my own parents. This cabin was like new and so well kept. The furniture was beautiful, and this place had the most comfortable beds and linens ever!!!!! My wife is normally very leary on other people's furniture, sheets, beds etc. but this place looked like it had under gone a white glove test but was so kid friendly at the same time! We were all amazed at the way it was kept! The short walk to the pool made it easy and fun for the kids. The 3 floors offered enough privacy that we all felt like we had our own space. It seemed everything was within a mile or two from the cabin which was great. There was no long drive to check into a managing office or long drive to all the stores, town, etc. which we have ran into in the past. Although when you are there you feel that you are far away....so peaceful! The owners were great to deal with and my wife and I said we will be booking this cabin whenever we get the chance. Sorry to go on and on but you won't be disappointed! Thanks again to the owners for keeping an amazing cabin!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for the wonderful comment. Our cabin (as well as Gatlinburg) is the perfect location for a memorable and exciting family vacation.

Helpful votes: 5 / 12

 

Clayton's

Review submitted: May 26, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

I can't say enough good about the owner's of this cabin! Trust me, you will find it clean, comfortable, convenient, and you will enjoying a relaxing peaceful stay in the Smokies! Owners are so helpful, honest, and just friendly down to earth people. Can't wayt to stay again and again!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for the truly kind words. We can't wait to have you back again and again:)

Helpful votes: 9 / 15

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review