reviews for: listing #10478 - Hilo, Hawaii House rental

Tropical Paradise w/ Lava Pond.
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Kapoho Vacationland
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $335 /nt
    $1,225 - $2,345 /wk

sort by:

Great house at Kopoho tide pools area

Review submitted: December 11, 2013   Date of arrival: December 6, 2013

This was one of my first rentals with VRBO and was very pleased. House is spacious 3 bedroom/3 bath. Kitchen was well appointed which is helpful since you will want to cook rather than drive to town for food. Loved the lagoon setting and the hot tub outside that is quite private. Tide pools are maybe a 5 minute walk and lovely. We liked high tide for snorkelling best. Loved also the outdoor shower for after a run. They have a nice set of things for use such as snorkel gear, boogie board, kid things in the bin outside. The owner even had a nice little welcome basket of goodies for us which was a nice touch.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo Jim,

So rewarding to hear that you had a a great stay at Lagoon Shangrila. We strive to make sure our guests have a very memorable experience.

Hope to see you on a return visit.

Mele Kalikimaka & Hau’oli Makahiki Hou! Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Aloha,
Sterling & Trisha

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Family Vacation House!

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: April 8, 2013

"Perfect!" was the first word from the adults when we arrived at Lagoon Shangrila. The four children in our party of eight were ecstatic with delight and could not get into their swimsuits fast enough. Our son and his wife and children have lived on Oahu for two and a half years now but have not had the opportunity to travel to the other Hawaiian Islands. They have all learned to surf and snorkle and were ready for new places to explore. We wanted a place to relax and play without long waits at restaurants or endless hours in the rental van. The lava pool was a huge hit with the 2,8,11 and 12 year olds. After the long trip from Arkansas the grandparents went straight to the hottub. It was ready on arrival! As described, the house was well stocked for every need --- Beach towels, bicycles, spices and condiments, toiletries, etc. The short walk to the beach front revealed coral of every color and sealife not seen in the waters around Oahu. Kids and adults scrambled over the rocks like crabs and dipped into the water for a new experience each time. We traveled through the rain forest, walked into the lava fields at night to view the volcanos fiery blast and took a helicopter ride over the volcanos and waterfalls. So much to see and do------ We want to do it all again. Back at Shangrila, the little ones chased the geckoes, looked for the frogs in the beautiful landscaping and cracked fresh coconuts that had fallen from the trees. In Hilo, we found the fresh fish market and locally grown fruits and vegetables to prepare on the outside grill and enjoy lava poolside. We did enjoy one evening meal at Ponds Restaurant and a late breakfast at Ken's Pancakes. Inside, we found games to play and plenty of room everywhere to sit and talk. As grandparents we are use to seeing a few tears from the kids when it is time for us to return home. This time we all cried because we didn't want to leave Shangrila. How we envied the next guests at "our house"! Thank you for allowing us to share.
Re: Customer Service -- We awoke one morning to no hot water but a phone call directed us to the electric meter. (The house, apparently, uses solar heat for the water supply and it had been cloudy the day before.) A flip of the switch and we soon had hot water for all eight of us.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

A dream come true vacation.

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: January 4, 2013

I just wanted to first start off by saying thank you to Trisha and Sterling for sharing this amazing property with us.. Second, I read how people were saying not to stay such a long time on the east side of the island. ( 9 nights) Well, I am so glad we did. If we could, it would have been longer. We loved the area so much from the remoteness of it, yet, close to everything we needed. We did a trip to kona and with the new saddle road.. it wasnt bad at all. A beautiful drive. We did not like Kona as much as Pahoa side. The tide pools down the road were our favorite. 2 min walk away. We spent like 400 dollars on meat to bar b que and did that everyday. The house had everything and more! Sleeping in the bed at night was heaven listening to the sounds of the rain forest. We didnt bring snorkel stuff but they had everything from that to shoes to floats. The hot tub was on the top of our list too.. Everyday we went in it.. every night.. SO PEACEFUL AND PRIVATE.. Sterling was able to help us with everything that came up. We are planning to move to this side of the island and will be using this place as a base camp when we look for properties when we come back. Thank you so much you guys for everything.. We want to come back.. now.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Amazing Experience for first time VRBO'er

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 27, 2012

The Lagoon Shangrila was everything we expected it to be - AMAZING! Sterling and Trisha were amazing to work with from the day we made the reservaiton, even guiding us through our first tsunami evacuation experience when we arrived! The property and everything Sterling and Trisha offer is fantastic.

We toured nearly the entire island over the course of the week and loved having the Shangrila as our home base. The majority of the sites and activities we wanted to see and do were on the Hilo side, so it worked out great! They say that Hilo is the wet side of the island, but honestly, the early morning and late night showers we'd sometimes get at this time of year had no impact on us. The convertible top was down every day.

We traveled to the Kona side and have to say that I found the Hilo side a bit more rustic with it's rain forest and vegetation and a bit more relaxing overall.

This was my wife and my first time experience using VRBO, and if every experience is like this, we'll definitely be using it again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Rick.. Thanks so much for your great review. I am thankful that you weathered the evacuation in good humor. We do have to take serious precautions and sometimes this causes an inconvenience, but provides great stories for your friends back home. Yes, Shangrila is a place of relaxation, and provides a beautiful environment for unwinding from life's stresses. Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review. When you return to one of our properties (we have 3) let us know and we will give you the best rate we can. Aloha ! Trisha and Sterling

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A relaxing and enchanting holiday

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: September 18, 2012

We are an Australian couple and this was our first holiday together in Hawaii.We loved the Lagoon Shangrila. It is elegant, spacious, private and tranquil. Very comfortable beds, large kitchen and lounge room. We did not meet Sterling or Trisha personally but Sterling did come over one day to attend to maintenance while we were out exploring this wonderful mysterious and beautiful part of the world. We will definitely stay there again. Wonderful snorkelling to be found by walking down the road to the right, turn right at the stop sign and trek through a short patch of bush.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Carol and Greg.. Thanks so much for your beautiful review. We love that you enjoyed Shangrila.. it is just what most of us need to destress, unwind, find ourselves again and breathe in some clean air.
We so appreciate that you took time to write to us and we look forward to your return to Shangrila ! Aloha ! Trisha and Sterling

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Unwinding...

Review submitted: September 30, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

Lagoon Shangri-la was an oasis of tranquility. Experiencing the rise and fall of the tides and floating in your private geothermally heated lava pool with Koi had a zen-like quality...haiku anyone?...7AM hot tub soak while the morning dew is falling...imagine evenings bathed in tiki torch ambiance dining under the covered deck while the cocqui frogs chirp merrily away...c'mon now...what's not to like?
Excellent layout, many living areas provide privacy. Famous Kapoho snorkeling pools a moment away...gorgeous drive through a tropical rainforest area with a tree-lined roadway to the property...I could go on and on!
BONUS: Trisha and Sterling were wonderful to work with...You should be so lucky...GO THERE...SOON!

Owners response: Aloha from Hawaii...

Thanks so much for the awesome review on Lagoon Shangrila.. Yes, it is an amazing atmosphere being surrounded by nature and living in a 5***** luxury home. We invite you to return and join us again and bring some friends or family to enjoy this paradise with. Now you have seen the "Real Hidden Hawaii", not the one typically pictured.. resorts with lots of people, elevators and lounge chairs by the pool... like you could be in Las Vegas.. Hawaii has so much more to offer.. you just have to look and discover it. Mahalo. Trisha and Sterling

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lagoon Shangri-la was even more Awesome than we expected!

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 2, 2012

We had a beautiful Hawaiian vacation in part thanks to our great accomodations at both of Trisha and Sterling's properties in Hawaii --- we stayed at Lagoon Shangri-la the last four nights of our 9 night Big Island trip. It was just perfect for our family group of 7 -- this side of the island is so different from the Kona side; a lot more lush and tropical... if you visit Hawaii you really should experience it, and the Lagoon shangri-la is so well appointed. Just as described it was beautifully decorated and so comfortable. We felt so at home and welcome! The huge kitchen was so nice I wish I could have taken it home with me! Everything we needed was there for our use... having the laundry facility was a big help. My kids enjoyed the pond out back and the short walk to the Wai Opea tide pools each morning right down the road. They are pretty and really different -- my nephew snorkeled there and got a great picture of a spotted eel in one of the deeper pools. I found it hard to climb in and out over the lava rocks, but even just walking around and looking in you can see a lot of fish and corals. Watch out for the slippery lava; when the tide is low and the algae is exposed it is easy to fall.. The neighbors we ran into were all really friendly. We enjoyed the sounds of the rain forest each night and the pitter patter of rain on the roof. If the little froggy noises bother you you might want to bring some earplugs but we actually liked it. The garden area was so very pretty. We would highly recommend Lagoon Shangri-la to anyone adventurous enough and willing to be a bit off the beaten path. We feel the extra distance we had to drive to Volcanoes National Park ( a little over an hour with a couple stops to gawk at scenery) and into Hilo town ( 45 minutes) was worth it -- you did not miss air conditioning at all here as it is much cooler on this side of the island. It rained every day but usually early morining and late afternoon, and it did not interrupt any of our sightseeing plans. Do not miss exploring Hilo town as it has a totally different feel from Kona and is quite pretty and charming. As we were to fly back home out of Kona late our last day, we took the "northern" route back to the airport, traveling up the Hamakua coast which was a beautiful trip.. we stopped at Akaka Falls - gorgeous - and got all the way to the overlook for the Wai'pio Valley which should not be missed ! We highly recommend Lagoon Shangri-la -- you will love it !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Kay..
What a beautiful review you gave us on Lagoon Shangrila. It is indeed a special space which gives you the feeling of the real Hawaii untouched by man. Being there allows one to let go of life's stresses and concentrate on being one with nature. Sharing this environment with those you love brings a special meaning to your holiday you will never forget. Please let us know when you will visit again and hope to meet you on your next stay. Aloha and Mahalo Trisha and Sterling

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Vacation Home!

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 24, 2012

We just returned from our vacation in Hawaii where we spent a week at Lagoon Shagrila. It was wonderful. The house was just as described. Relaxing and beautiful. Staying in and cooking dinner still felt like vacation!

The kids loved the fish pond and it gave them the chance to practice snorkeling. Then it was off to the tide pools just down the street. This was the most amazing part of this location. I don't know if I would have taken my kids snorkeling because they are young but having this opportunity right down the street gave them the opportunity to practice and get stronger. And it was definitely my favorite part.

We liked being so close to Pahoa's and had excellent meals at Kaleo's and Paolo's. We also had good Mexican food and delicious lilikoi margaritas!

We would love to go back and would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Lori.. Thanks so much for submitting your review. It feels so good to know that our guests had a great time at Lagoon Shangrila.. we strive to give our guests an experience of a lifetime. Thanks for taking the time to write the review.. Please come back and stay with us again. Alona !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rain Forest Fun

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

This was the perfect location for our family re-union. The house has everything you need to prepare meals. There was a nice variety of snorkeling equipment and life jackets. The hot tub was great for relaxing after a long day of sight seeing. Our daughter loved the pond and swam in it everyday, she loved the fish.

Just a few blocks from the house were some wonderful snorkeling spots and wonderful views of the ocean and sunrise.

The breath taking 45-60 minute drive thru the rain forest to the house is well worth the tranquility and beauty of the location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved it

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 19, 2012

Our experience in Puna staying at Lagoon Shangrila was perfect! The house is lovely and has everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Plenty of space and very well laid out with terrific kitchen. The children loved swimming in the pond and we dined outside at night. Well located for the tide pools and easy access to volcanos and waterfalls. Owners were delightful to work with and very helpful. Thank you for contributing to our very special Hawaii vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lagoon Shangrila -- A Great Vacation

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Lagoon Shangrila for two weeks. Wow, what a great place for a serene, peaceful vacation. The property is designed around a beautiful, clear lava rock tidepool, maybe twenty yards in diameter, that fluctuates in depth from about three feet to seven feet with the tide. You can hang out in the pool, or even snorkel there at high tide (its full of fish!!). The one-story house curves around one side of the pool, with a covered lanai/BBQ area on a second side of the pool and a six person hot tub sitting on a third side of the pool. The ocean is only three minutes walk away, with some very nice snorkeling there also. The home had everything we needed in terms of kitchen supplies/equipment, towels, bedding, and even snorkel gear.

We had two minor maintenance issues during our stay (hot tub needed chemicals, and BBQ ran out of propane) and Stirling had someone out right away to take care of these for us.

Here are some other things you might want to know about the property.

Lagoon Shangrila is not that near to town -- eight miles to the nearest grocery (in Pahoa) and around twenty five miles to Hilo. But the roads were good when we needed to get food or to Hilo, and we liked the isolation. In fact, we had other family members who rented a house in Hilo, and we spent some time with them at their Hilo rental, and we liked the location of Lagoon Shangrila better for two reasons: 1) the microclimate at Lagoon Shangrila was sunnier and breezier than Hilo, and 2) we had almost no insects (inside or out) at Lagoon Shangrila. Not to mention the unique lava rock tidepool on the property . . . . ha.

Also, when you are staying at Lagoon Shangrila, understand that there is no ocean view (or view of any kind), and the property is not built to look flashy from the outside. Lagoon Shangrila is entirely oriented towards the inside of the property, i.e., the lava rock tidepool.

In sum, we loved Lagoon Shangrila and will surely be going back someday!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect start to our Hawaii vacation

Review submitted: May 9, 2012   Date of arrival: November 13, 2011

We loved everything about Lagoon Shangrila. We wished we would have booked our entire trip here rather than spending time on the west coast of Hawaii. Comfortable and beautifully decorated, Lagoon Shangrila exceeded our expectations. The best part of the whole trip was getting to speak with Steve, one of the people helping with the property. He offered is invaluable information and tips about the best snorkeling spots, island ecology, etc. Thanks Steve, and thanks to Lagoon Shangrila for our lovely time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A gem!

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

This ended up being our favorite place to stay on the east side of the Big Island. Lagoon Shangrila was creatively designed and decorated with care. It was like visiting with relatives who work hard to make your time with them enjoyable. The large and well-stocked kitchen made meal prep with multiple chefs a pleasure. The tv area was a little small, but who wants to spend alot of time in front of a tv when in Hawaii anyway? Using the tidal pool as a focus for the entire home along with the outside living areas was genius! The window wall blurs the distinction between inside and outside and the covered outdoor eating space extends the family gathering area with class (and coverage during daily showers). Two separate sleeping areas made for nighttime privacy and the three full baths were great. The neighborhood was enjoyable to walk and the tide pools were really only a few minutes away. Really! Although first time visitors, we felt that we received a more realistic sense of living in Puna because of the location of Lagoon Shangrila. And we appreciated that the owners did such a great job designing and decorating this property. If we are lucky enough to return to Hawaii, we would definitely seek to stay in their home on the west side of the island along with a return to Shangrila Lagoon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Joanne. A Big Mahalo for taking time to share your thoughts about Lagoon Shangrila. Our mission it to provide Memories of a Lifetime to our guests. We will post your review on our website.. to share with other potential guests. We look forward to your return visit and please remember to ask for a "Returning Guest Discount" when you book. Aloha from Trisha and Sterling

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A real gem

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

Amazing how this peaceful place transforms you.
The setting is unique, from the tide-pool and the hot tub, the wonderful lanai, the great noise with which the many frogs fill the lush tropical environment, the view from the barbecue (great place to do your cooking !), all the way to great snorkeling in walking distance.

All in all a phenomenal place, with amenities more abundant than we have seen anywhere. The loving care started with a gift basket which greeted us on the table, carried on to loads of basic groceries provided for and did not end with a very helpful and swift response to the only issue we had -- which was self-inflicted ...
It goes without saying that we found the place in a very clean and good condition, with everything well attended to.

As is adequately pointed out in the description, the Shangrila is a little far out for those who want to explore more than relax. We combined both and could not have been merrier.
Thank you, Trisha and Sterling, for a grand experience !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mendes family

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 25, 2012

A wonderful place, you feel very secluded and tucked away in your own piece of paradise.
Great location to all the tide pools.
We had a wonderful stay at lagoon shangrilla!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Aloha Debra and Tony..
Mahalo for taking time out to write a review on your stay at Lagoon Shangrila ! We always enjoy reading what our guests say in the review as we strive to provide "Memories of a Lifetime" to all who visit. We look forward to your return and please let us know that you are a returning guest and we will extend a "Returning Guest Discount".
Aloha and Mahalo,
Trisha and Sterling

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wunderschön und tolle Gastgeber

Review submitted: March 18, 2012   Date of arrival: March 4, 2012

wie im tropischen Paradies. Tolle Gastgeber die alles gut vorbereitet hatten. Das Haus ist super eingerichtet. 3 Schlafbereiche mit eigenem Bad , Waschmaschine und Trockner. Vor dem Haus ein Schwimmteich aus Lava- sehr schön. Die Meerespools sind 200m weiter und haben den Vorzug das hier das Meerwasser etwas wärmer ist. Leider hatten wir dafür zu wenig Zeit. Einkaufen ca. 10 km weg. Die Fahrt durch den Regenwald entschädigt dafür voll und ganz. 1h zum Vulcano NP. 1,25 h zum Mauna Kea. Sehr zu empfehlen Schwarzer Strand kurz vorm Südkap . Whirlpool und Gasgrill machen das Vergnügen perfekt. Bernd, Sandra, Lothar und Ilona

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Jo and Jim

Review submitted: February 29, 2012   Date of arrival: January 16, 1970

We loved our short stay at the shangrila lagoon. The home was beautiful and really well set up with all we needed to make ourselves at home . The location was great for exploring the Puna district and the volcano . We will definitely recommend this oasis to our friends. Our hosts were very accommodating re our arrival time. They left lots of information about places to see and where to eat, however we only ate out once as it was such a pleasure to dine outside in their garden .
Thank you for sharing your lovely home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect

Review submitted: February 14, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

I came over to Hawaii with some friends and we stayed 3 nights in this beautiful house. Everybody was speechless! It was perfect and as beautiful as it promised to be. We enjoyed every minute. A great place to relax and hang loose. I will come back one day!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo Christa,

We are so glad to help make your Hawaiian Holiday Special. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Stay at Lagoon Shangrila

Review submitted: January 22, 2012   Date of arrival: January 11, 2012

We had a wonderful time! Lagoon Shangrila was thoughtfully outfitted with everything you need for a relaxing, enjoyable stay. The natural pool filled with fish was just the crowning jewel. We'd love to return for another visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha David..
Thank you so much for your great review on Lagoon Shangrila.
We are so happy that you found this beautiful spot for your vacation.. it is for sure...the real Hawaii. So much to do here and never enough time ! Please come back and bring your friends and family.. we will be happy to extend our "Frequent Guest Discount" to you. Aloha Trisha and Sterling

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An Amazing Place to Stay!

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: July 20, 2011

This house was our 2nd stop on a 4 week holiday to 3 islands, and we were so glad we made the choice to stay on the Hilo side at Lagoon Shangrila! The house is spacious (we were 4 adults and 4 kids), tidy, and did have everything you needed. The pond was a huge hit, and the hot tub was perfect after a long day hiking at the Volcano! The tide pools just down the road were spectacular! We are very well travelled in both the Caribbean and the Mayan Riviera/Mexico, and this is some of the best snorkelling we have ever done, hands down. It was wonderful to walk down the street, enjoy the tide pools, and then throw something on the grill for dinner while enjoying the peaceful yard. Trisha and Sterling have done a terrific job of making this property private and luxurious. It is about a 45 min. drive to Hilo, but it was perfect for us to feel like we were getting away after having been in Honolulu. The culture here is laid back and welcoming and we enjoyed chatting with the locals to find out about the hidden gems near by (the hidden black sand beach several miles down hwy 137 was one of the best places we visited during our 4 weeks in Hawaii) Do drive to the end of the road where the lava flowed across it and there is a new beach forming beyond the lava field. Do take at least a full day (or 2) in Volcanoes National Park and walk through the Kilauea Iki Caldera (4 miles), it is worth every step. Do go back to the Park at night to see the Caldera glowing orange, and the millions of stars in the sky (your park pass is good for 7 days) Do walk to the very end of the Thurston Lava Tubes-take a flashlight or you can't do this. Do drive the Chain of Craters Road right to the Sea Arch, the next big lava flow may destroy this area! Do take a helicopter tour over the active vent, a trip highlight! Do hike to Akaka Falls, eat at Cafe Pesto and Ponds in Hilo, visit the Japanese Gardens and Coconut Island on Banyan Drive. Do go to Big Island Candies and try everything! The Chocolate dipped Mac Nut Shortbread is to die for--we brought several boxes home with us! Enjoy the tropical rainforest, I do miss the beauty of it. We drove the south route on Hwy 11 to Kona for my husband to do the Manta Ray night dive-excellent, and the north route on Hwy 19 back to Hilo, and are glad we chose Hilo as our location, it was just a great place to stay to enjoy all that this island has to offer while feeling relaxed and refreshed as we moved on to Maui. Thanks Trisha & Sterling!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Marcia..

Mahalo Nui Loa ! What a wonderful review you gave us on Lagoon Shangrila ! We just love that our guests enjoy the property as much as we do.. there is so much to do on this island and having a private and luxurious home awaiting your return from you daily adventures makes for a perfect stay !

We wish you beautiful travels throughout the islands. Come back and visit the Big Island again.. and bring your family and friends. We will be happy to extend a "Frequent Guest Discount" to you. Aloha !

Trisha and Sterling

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise in May

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

Aloha. My husband and friend and I stayed at Shangrila from 5/21 to 5/31/11. It was perfect. Shangrila is so pretty and peaceful we almost didn't leave to see the volcanos, farmer's market, tide pools, black sand beach, lava tree park, rainforest etc. Yes, you must drive to everything but the location is well worth it. Sterling answered my many e-mails full of questions in a timely manner. While there we had a problem with the tv one evening and we had a new one almost the next day. Wanting to see a "touristy" event I asked about a luau and Sterling recommened one closest to Shangrila which was still across the island. We had a great time and enjoyed the food and show. We ate at Pesto's in Hilo twice and at Pookies, a roadside diner, met quite a few locals who clearly have not gotten out of the '60's. It was like reliving our youth again. Weather was in the 80's and no humidity. One thing we almost missed was airconditioning. But in the evening the trade winds came through and every room has a ceiling fan so we were quite comfortable. Our long trip from and back to Pennsylvania was certainly worth it.

Mahalo

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Michaeline,
A Big Mahalo to you for taking time to write a review on Lagoon Shangrila. So sorry my response is so late, but it "fell through the cracks" and I apologize for that !
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay.. We strive to give our guests Memories of a Lifetime... so when you would like to return, please let us know and we will extend a "Returning Guest Discount".
Aloha and Mahalo,
Trisha and Sterling
Lagoon Shangrila
Hawaii Shangrila Vacations

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

Words cannot describe how pleased we were with this place. Everything and I mean everything was perfect. Everything you could possible need was there for you in a cupboard or a drawer. We had such a lovely time here. A family of 2 adults, 2 children and another couple. Plenty of space, the tide pool was great, the hot spa under the stars amongst the coconut palms, AMAZING !!! A little far from Hilo, but it was a place we had planned our daily trips around so it was perfect. Spent a lovely early evening out at the tide pools snorkelling. Ate in town a few times. The Thai at Ning's was good as was the food at Black rock Cafe. Had the shaved ice at Wilson's by the bay. Waited an hour, but boy was it worth it. Overall, a fabulous stay. Would thoroughly reccommend the Lagoon Shangrila. Thanks once again to Trisha and Sterling.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Kandy..

Sorry for late reply, but wanted to thank you so very much for taking time to give us such a great review. We love that our guests appreciate Lagoon Shangrila as much as we do. Please let us know when you want to return and ask about our "Returning Guest Discount".
Aloha and Mahalo,
Trisha and Sterling
Lagoon Shangrila
Hawaii Shangrila Vacations

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Home

Review submitted: June 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 4, 2011

We stayed in Lagoon Shangrila in February 2011 and both my husband and I believe this was our best vacation ever. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation, away from the hustle and bustle of a big city, this is the place for you! The home itself is lovely, with everything you could possibly need. Pictures don't do it justice. You are off the beaten path on the Hilo side of the big island, but if you are an adventure seeker there is plenty for you to do. We snorkled in the tide pools at the end of the street which was like being in an aquarium. We often just drove around to see what we could find to do. Take a drive to the end of the road where the lava covered it in Kapaahu Village to see an eclectic mix of people and "businesses." One of these "businesses" is a lava tour which takes visitors out to the actual hot, flowing lava. So close, in fact, you can poke it with a stick. I am quite sure this is a very unregulated business because it seems like it could be VERY dangerous, but it honestly was the highlight of our trip. From the end of the road you can walk out across the lava fields to the ocean. It is amazing! Along the drive from the subdivision to Kapaahu there are numerous roadside parks to stop at. When you are done for the day Lagoon Shangrila was a great place to return to. Very comfortable and spacious. The only possible negative I have was the lack of airconditioning. The only time this was an issue was if you wanted to take an afternoon nap when it got a little warm. Sleeping at night was fine, but you will hear the tree frogs singing so if you need complete silence to sleep they may be a problem. We loved our vacation on the "rustic" side of Hawaii and we would return in a minute! Thank you Trish and Sterling for sharing your home with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The name of the home says it all...

Review submitted: April 28, 2011   Date of arrival: April 18, 2011

We recently stayed at Lagoon Shangrila and were very impressed. You never know what you are getting just by looking at photos on a website, but this home met our expectations and then some. The owners were extremely helpful and answered all of our questions before and during our stay. The property was clean and very well maintained. We have three teenage children and they all agreed the home was perfect for us. Having twin beds in one room was especially nice so no one had to share! The decor, the landscaping, the upgrades - all beautiful. We would definitely stay here again if ever in Hawaii. It was only a short walk to the beach to see more tidal pools. We also loved the fact that there were little "extras" left from previous travelers that come in handy (like soap, shampoo, dish soap, toilet paper, boogie boards, water shoes, etc.). That way we did not have to shop for things that we wouldn't be able to use up or bring home. We did our part by leaving a few things behind to help others too. If you're looking for a quiet, restful home to stay in, this is it. You may have to drive a bit to get to some of the island attractions, but it's really not that far to go and the roads aren't as windy as on the west side of the island. Don't expect sandy beaches nearby, but then again, there aren't many of those on the entire island. This home has all the right things for a restful, peaceful vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Lisa. We are thrilled you enjoyed your vacation at Lagoon Shangrila.

Hope you will visit again in the near future.

Mahalo,
Trisha & Sterling

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Did not want to leave

Review submitted: June 14, 2010   Date of arrival: May 26, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this home for a week in late May/early June. In truth, words fail me. We had a fantastic time. For brevity, I'll just list out the highlights (there are no lowlights):
Having the private pond and having the fish say hello everytime we walked by, and, swimming/snorkling in the warm waters.
Full moon rising over the tide pools (only a 5 minute walk away) at the horizon level, nothing we can see back home here in Lisle, IL
Swimmiing in the Pond, and enjoying the Hot Tub with the full moon overhead.
Millions of stars!
Beautiful home and property, others have said, and I agree, pictures don't do it justice.
Full Ktichen, they are not kidding, everything you need.
Plenty of room, mind you, it was just my wife and myself, so we didn't need much. Would easily host 6.
Snorkling gear, beach mats, and beach towels provided.
Internet and printer if you need.
Great neighborhood to walk around, very friendly people and some properties have wonderful gardens.
Pahoa town, very small, but a few really good places to eat.
Washer and Dryer
The flashlights did come in handy walking to the tide pool after sunset to watch the moon rise, area is very dark.
Grill out if you want to
Farmers Market about 15 minutes away on Sunday, don't miss it!

Really, my wife and I love to travel and this home will always be a special memory in our hearts. I hope to return one day.

One caveat - Kapoho Tide Pools are about 45 minutes from Hilo and other than the tide pools themselves and some nearby parks, the house isn't really close to anything. Be prepared to drive 1 hour or more when visiting the Volcano, Hilo, the Black Sand Beach, Akaka falls, and anything on the Kona side. However, remember that the Big Island is just that, Big, and no matter where you stay, in order to see "all" the sites, will require a car.

Dolby1000

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha David..
I have just read all our reviews, and really enjoyed reading yours.. but sooo sorry we did not respond or thank you for taking time to write such a great review..not sure why, but your review "fell through the cracks" Late or not, we wanted to really thank you for the review and hope you can come and stay again with us. Please ask for a "Returning Guest Discount" next time you book Shangrila.

Aloha and Mahalo,
Trisha and Sterling

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Paradise!!

Review submitted: May 4, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

My family and I loved staying here. It was home away from home and it really had that tropical feel. Everything you could have wanted was provided for you. The tide pools are amazing!! I hope I get the chance to return one day.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: February 2, 2010

Aloha Sterling and Trisha! Your home was breathtaking...the pictures DO NOT DO IT JUSTICE! It was amazing. It was a perk to have access to a computer and printer in the home and I loved the wall flashlights that automatically charged while in socket and when you pulled them out they automatically turned on. They truly came in handy at night. There was more than enough room for our family of 4. The home is very spacious, I believe we could have fit 9 or 10 people in the home, using the living room sofa sleeper to sleep two people! The kids and adults loved the pond and I particularly loved the kitchen. I enjoyed making breakfast in the morning and using the Guava Jam I bought from the farmer's Market in Hilo and Portugese sausage. I also liked the fact that your home was well equipped due to the fact that I cut my foot on the active reef near your home and you had a first aide kit and cleansing aides in the home to clean my cut.

We were all sad to leave and can't wait to return. Again thank you for sharing your home with us.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Medeiros Family, Maimi, Florida

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 25, 2009   Date of arrival: August 24, 2009

Our family of five stayed at your beautiful home for a week in August 2009. What a delightful experience, a piece of heaven on earth. I am glad we had the chance to experience the eastern side of big island with its green lush tropical beauty. Your home was a perfect retreat after each day of exploration. Mahalo.....until our next return- Deb and Jose Mata

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 5, 2009   Date of arrival: May 5, 2009

Sterling & Trisha,
We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Lagoon Shangrila. The online photos could not prepare us for how amazing our "home away from home" would be (beautiful as they were!) Our kids, ages 12 and 10) absolutely loved the tide pools that were such a short walk away. We saw at least 15 different kinds of fish and even got to swim with a sea turtle! Every detail in the home was well thought out, down to umbrellas by the door for the few rainy days we had. Nothing slowed us down though! (The Hilo Farmer's Market is not to be missed.) Thank you so much for the ease in renting your home and for all the thought you put into making it such a wonderful place to vacation. We certainly recommend it to anyone thinking of staying on the Hilo side of the Big Island! Mahalo!

Owners response: Mahalo Paula & Rolf,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your vacation at Lagoon Shangrila. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Trisha & Sterling

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 8, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

Your home was indeed a Shangrila and the most wonderful place that we have ever stayed! It was like moving into someone's home while the owners were away for the week. Everything that we might have needed for our stay was there. It was a joy to cook in your kitchen as it was equiped with everything we needed. We enjoyed the fact that we had internet access while there and also used the hot tub, gas grill and snorkeled in the nearby tide pools. We ate many of our meals on your outside dining set next to the private tide pool. Your home was convenient to Volcanoes National Park and Hilo, so we also visited these areas while staying there. We hope to return at a later date and bring more of our family with us as your home can accomodate 6 people very comfortably.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 27, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We had a lovely visit in your home! We enjoyed the solitude of the area and the house is definitely of 5-star quality. Our 4 children (ages 8-14) loved the lagoon, as well as the tide pools nearby. It was our first visit to Hawaii and we were very impressed.
The McCaffrey Family

Owners response: Aloha Kristy & Kevin,

We are so happy that your first visit to Hawaii was special and hope to welcome you back many more times.

Mahalo,
Trisha & Sterling

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 23, 2008   Date of arrival: July 23, 2008

Excerpt from Guest Book:

"Dear Sterling & Trisha,

Our family had a glorious vacation and it started when we arrived at your home. Staying for two weeks gave us the opportunity to really settle in and enjoy your home and this side of the Big Island.

We balanced quality relaxation time with sightseeing. We have travelled all over the world and this is the first time we actually rented a home and "what a home!"

Two quotes sums up our experience. My mother-in-law: "I was just ecstatic and taken aback with my room and time here." Our eight year son, who has been to Disneyland, San Diego, Hawaii on two previous visits, Florida, Jamaica and many other places: "This is the best vacation ever!"

Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 10, 2008   Date of arrival: July 10, 2008

Excerpt from Guest Book:

"Dear Sterling & Trisha,

Mahalo!! Your home was/is absolutely perfect for our family vacation! There was nothing we needed upon our arrival. From seasonings in kitchen to soap for laundry. You did a fabulous job thinking out all the possible needs & wants.

We feel so privileged to stay in such a beautiful spot. The pools, the snorkeling, the ambiance, the birds, geckos, what a beautiful Hawaiian Paradise!

We kept the doors & windows open all night & listened to all the bird and frog noises.

We traveled all over the island from here........

We really did so much & came HOME to this lovely place.

We love the fence around the yard & the privacy,

We truly will recommend this place to others who are traveling.

This side of the island isn't that far away from anywhere you want to go. What a place to come home to!

Mahalo."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 2, 2008   Date of arrival: July 2, 2008

Excerpt from Guest Book:

"Dear Sterling & Trisha,

Wanted to write and let you know that your house is truly a home.

It was great for our kids. We love having a real full service kithche. We ate all our dinners here.

The pools were wonderful to have so close and we enjoyed all the trips to the lava mt., and beaches. The down time on the patio, pool, hot tub were exceptional.

We will be back.

Thanks."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 17, 2008   Date of arrival: June 17, 2008

Excerpt from Guest Book:

" Dear Trisha & Sterling,

Thank you so much for sharing this beautiful home! Everything was so organized and ready for us. Your decorating & remodeling was so well done. We love being in Hilo! We had adventure filled days and then could come home to this beautiful house. The tide pools are such a wonderful plus. The snorkeling was amazing.

The home office was so helpful for all of us but especially for Steve, since he was in the middle of a big project. He could vacation & keep up with things at work.

Thank you fro your prompt response to our questions.

Julie and Archie (past guests here) were right about this. We will recommend your home as well.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 31, 2008   Date of arrival: May 31, 2008

E-mail from Guest:

"Aloha Trisha and Sterling,

I am settling back into my regular routine at home now (in Tennessee), and I just wanted to let you know that my sister, mother, and I had such a wonderful time staying at your lagoon Shangrila that we completely forgot to add a note to your guest book!

We loved staying at your vacation home--you thought of everything that made our visit comfortable, relaxing, and perfect for a vacation. We look forward to returning in the future and sharing the experience with other family members.

You have a wonderful system in place. Keep up the good work!
Mahalo,

Martha"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2008   Date of arrival: April 30, 2008

Dear Trisha and Sterling,
We had a great time here in Hawaii. We are so glad that we decided to stay on this side of the island. You definitely have a well stocked home which was much appreciated. The ice chest got a lot of use and we were all over the island.

We'll be sure to recommend your rentall home to any other friends visiting the Big Island. Thank you !
San Diego, Ca and Gilroy, Ca.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 19, 2008   Date of arrival: April 19, 2008

E-mail from Guest:

"HI Trish and Sterling,

I just wanted to say THANK YOU for an excellent visit to Kapoho! We absolutely loved the area, and the house. It was AWESOME. Everything was perfect. My kids are totally in love with your pond, and all of the fish and the huge frog that they just discovered today.

We leave tomorrow morning and we're very sad about that. All good things....

We'll definitely be in touch if we come to Hawaii again, or if we know of anyone coming to this island!

Thanks,
Melissa"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 16, 2008   Date of arrival: April 16, 2008

Our last day here !
Every morning we got up to watch the sunrise over the Pacific.. and every morning a new show - a Jaccuzzi - a snorkel - then off to explore this side of the island.

What a true vacation it has been here - you both have thought about every little thing - loved that. May you be blessed with many more "Island Explorers" that will enjoy the home as much as we have- Mahalo Nui !

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 3, 2008   Date of arrival: April 3, 2008

Excerpt from E-mail:

Thank you for your note as well as confirmation of refund.

We truly had a fabulous time in your home. It was the perfect vacation for how busy our lives have been. We loved spending dinners outside and falling asleep to the symphony of frogs and waking to the sounds of rain and birds. You truly have a tranquil and beautiful home. We also enjoyed the calm of the Hilo side of the island, there was always something fun to do without the hordes of tourists.

We also enjoyed having access to the internet and used it more then once to look things up to answer our 11 year olds inquirying mind about the things that we were seeing.

Thank you again, our visit to the Big Island was a memorable, lasting experience for us all.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 29, 2008   Date of arrival: March 29, 2008

Mahalo Trisha and Sterling for the use of your wonderful home for our family vacation !

From the moment we opened the gate we all felt at home - anything and everything we could possibly need - we had - whether it be the umbrellas by the door, the beach chairs, or the herbs and well stocked kitchen - everything was fabulous.

The layout of the house was great and we all enjoyed many dinners out by the tide pool with the candles and frog symphony !

You have a wonderful home with great things to see nearby. We had a great first trip to Hawaii. Mahalo again.
P.S. Ben had fun signing your Signature Tree. (actually it is called an Autography Tree).
From Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 10, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

We stayed at Lagoon Shangrila in February 2008 and were very impressed. The home is very inviting, nice furnishings and CLEAN. It's obviously a fairly new home. We enjoyed being on the Hilo side of the island, even with the long drive to get to a swimming beach (Hapuna was great). The tide pools are close by & full of colorful coral and fish. There is a great travel book in the home (The Big Island Revealed) that we found quite helpful in making our trip more memorable. Overall just a very positive experience. Would definitely rent this home again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 22, 2008   Date of arrival: February 22, 2008

Excerpt from Guest Book:

"House was great and all the extras (beach chairs & towels, etc.) were amazing. Initially we felt we were too far out, then realized all that we would have missed had we not been in this area.

Overall an excellent week - enjoyed the yard, tidal pool and hot tub and spent very little time inside".

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 13, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

Aloha!

Our Thanksgiving was wonderful! The pictures on the web do not do Lagoon Shangrila justice! It was such a beautiful place to stay and we felt at home right away. Thank you for creating such an inviting and comfortable environment with so many amentities and really, everything we could ask for. None of us wanted to leave!

I'll look out for that reund deposit and will definitely let everyone know what a great find I made with your spot!

Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 1, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

Excerpt from Guest Book:

"Howdy from the folks from Texas!

Thank you for sharing your amazing home with us. It's absolutely beautiful. We really appreciate the attention to detail throughout the house and yard - in a word... AMAZING!

We found a great little place to eat in Hilo - The Hilo Bay Cafe - The food is fantastic! We left a menu with all the pamphlets. Enjoy!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 31, 2007   Date of arrival: October 31, 2007

Excerpt from Guest Book:

"October 1st - 31st, '07

I'm starting this about 2 weeks into our stay. There are 4 of us (2 couples - one from Los Angeles & one from Poudre Park, Colorado). It's a great house for 2 couples to share. The thing is, we totally agree with all the compliments on all the previous pages. We're so in love with the area that we keep looking at real estate for sale!

- Pat from L.A. - more later.

This is from the other half of the couple at the end of our 4 weeks. Sterling and Trisha did a wonderful job of providing a beautiful "home away from home". Anything we needed, we found (we did add a small ironing board as couldn't find that). But otherwise everything was perfect down to the smallest detail. 2 of us are brother and sister and we brought our spouses back to the Hawaiian Islands where we were born, partly in memory of our parents who passed away (4 years ago and 1 year ago). Thank you for the peace, the beauty, the comfort and the memories. We hope to be back!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 25, 2007   Date of arrival: September 25, 2007

Excerpt from Guest Book:

"Dear Trisha & Sterling,

For weeks before our trip we were showing off the web photos to our friends & family: THIS is what awaits us in Hawaii ... But we were totally bowled over as we got our first up-close look at your gorgeous "Lagoon ShangriLa" home - MAGNIFICENT! From the tide pool & flora, to the decor & ammenities (your kitchen is awesome!) to the little extra touches (cooler for day trips, lots of extra towels & the Aloha goodies on the table) - It all played a HUGE part in making our Hawaiian getaway so relaxing, serene and an experience we hope to have again & again - we will be back!!

Thanks, also, for being helpful w/ our little questions during our stay, the check-in call to make sure we were in and loving the place, and suggestion about the Sunday Market - much appreciated!!

It is evident why the pineapple is both synonymous w/ Hawaii AND outstanding hospitality - we now know the meaning of ALOHA.

Mahalo and Merci Beaucoup!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 3, 2007   Date of arrival: September 3, 2007

Excerpt from Guest Book:

"Thank you.

I love the place and the ambience too.

Your assistance in all matters was kind and helpful."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 22, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

The pictures don't do this paradise justice. What a beautiful, inviting home. Loved having our own tide pool - the frog symphony at night-the palm trees....
What a great place to hang out and wait for Hurricane Flossie (who fizzled) - as well as 3 earthquakes and a tsunami warning. We had it all.
Mahalo for creating such a peaceful, beautiful home

Owners response: Mahalo Judy & Larry,

We are thrilled that you liked Lagoon Shangrila. That is our reward.

Thank you for being such good sports during the "Hurricane Flossie" warning and the earthquakes. Glad the hurricane fizzled.

Please come back and visit.

- Trisha and Sterling

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 21, 2007   Date of arrival: August 21, 2007

Excerpt from Guest Book comments:

" This was my first trip back to The Big Island, after attending U of H at Hilo in the fall of 1974. I never knew this part of the island existed (I was only 20, yeah)- the tidepools were amazing - as was Ning's Thai restaurant in Pahoa.

We visited Princeville and Waimea on Kauai, as well as Waikoloa on the other side of the island. My kids liked this house more that any other place that we stayed; we all did."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 12, 2007   Date of arrival: August 12, 2007

Excerpt from Guest Book:

"Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us.

Our son couldn't get enough of the pond or hot tub. He daily snorkeled with the fish in the pond.

You have a great location, pleasantly furnished home and a wonderfully stocked kitchen.

We were left not to want for much of anything.

Mahalo!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 7, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

I would like to thank you so much for the incredible house, everything was perfect as it was before , you folks provide everything but our clothes and food, you make it possible for people to enjoy thier stay on the island and thank you for all you help regardign things to see and dop and my kids enjoyed the tide pools and also having their very own in their back yard. My two youngest swam their more then the beach. It was everything you said it would be, for a family staying on the Hilo side is the only choice, all the waterfalls and parks are their. Again Mahalo for everything, having a great place to come home to everyday you go out makes the experience that much better. Looking forward to renting this or one of your other homes again.I have stayed in Kona and now here next time maybe your other house in Hilo

Mahalo

Owners response: Mahalo, Salvatore, for your kind comments. The most rewarding part of being vacation rental owners is when we learn how much our guests enjoyed their stay and that we helped create lasting memories for them.

Thank you for your continued support, and it will be a privilege to welcome you back to The Big Island.

- Trisha & Sterling

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 22, 2007   Date of arrival: July 22, 2007

Excerpt from Guest Book:

"This was the perfect place for our honeymoon!

Not only did we enjoy the fantastic snorkeling, hiking, etc., we also had a great time dreaming that one day we might have such a beautiful home! Any chance the place will be open for our 30 year anniversary? We'd love to come back and visitin July 2037! :-)

Thank you so much."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 30, 2007   Date of arrival: June 30, 2007

Excerpt from Guest Book:

" What a gem! We had such an amazing time here. We cannot wait to come back again. Mahalo for sharing your slice of heaven with us!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 26, 2007   Date of arrival: June 26, 2007

Excerpt from Guest Book:

" Thank you for a very nice, nicely equipped and generally wonderful house in the middle of beautiful vegetation and waters.

We had a most pleasant stay - and you are very close to some nice tidepools.

Congratulations again on a house furnished and decorated with great taste - and all the nice touches."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 4, 2007   Date of arrival: June 4, 2007

Excerpt from Guest Book:

" Your vacation home is truly a bit of paradise. We regret that we won't to here longer. My son thinks that this would be a wonderful place to study for his medical boards next year.

You have thought of everything in your vacation home plus more. The layout/design is great for all ages.

Thanks for sharing your Lagoon Shangrila with us."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 21, 2007   Date of arrival: May 21, 2007

Excerpt from Guest Book:

" What a wonderful setting. You two really did create a 'Lagoon Shangrila'. The setting was peaceful and private. Max was entertained with the fish in the lagoon.

Then, there's the interior. We walked in a went "wow!" The decor and home layout is outstanding. It feels like staying at a friend's home, not a vacation rental. And a friend with great taste at that.

We are sure we'll return anytime we need a place to stay on the east side. Mahalo nui loa!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 12, 2007   Date of arrival: May 12, 2007

Excerpt from Guest Book:

" This house was what we expected and more. Very complete and well furnished. Its very tranquil around here and convenient. A lot of thought was put into this place.

Thanks for such a nice place that made a huge difference for our vacation. Hope to be back soon."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 27, 2007   Date of arrival: April 27, 2007

Excerpt from Guest Book:

"How do you say "Incredible home, incredible views, and incredible memories in Hawaiian? Or what about just "WOW!" What a wonderful piece of paradise you have here in Kapoho. Thank you for sharing this treasure with us. Although we could only spend two nights here, we would have to say that these two nights were truly memorable. We've stayed at Kona for the last two years and wanted to see the eastern part of the Hawaii. We never dreamed that we'd be able to stay amongst the Kapoho Tidepools - and your house is beautiful... to say the least. We've truly enjoyed our stay here nestled in the swaying palms and the ocean breezes.... It's absolutely unreal.

PS. And oh my gosh... the tidepools are amazing!! We say a turtle, a spotted eagle ray, multi-colored coral, peacock grouper, humuhumunukunukuapuaa, blue spined unicorn fish, etc., etc., etc... WOW! :-) "

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 24, 2007   Date of arrival: April 24, 2007

Excerpt from Guest E-Mail:

"We had a great time at your place. We feel so lucky to
have found it. Really made our trip to the big island."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 17, 2007   Date of arrival: April 17, 2007

Excerpt from Guest Book:

" Thank you so much for allowing us to experience the magic of your wonderful home! The area is special and there are only good things to say and think when we tell our family & friends about our stay.

We wish we could have stayed longer".

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 4, 2007   Date of arrival: April 4, 2007

Excerpt from Guest Book:

" We had a phenomenal time here. The tide pools were simply amazing. We viewed a majestic eagle ray and lots of colorful fish. Our own tidal pool entertained my son, Victor. The hot tub was very relaxing..........

This house is so amazing. Everything we needed was here. This is probably the best visit I've had to the Big Island and I rate this the best place to stay. Thank you so very much for showing me a terrific and outstanding time in Hawaii".

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 27, 2007   Date of arrival: March 27, 2007

Email from Guest:

" Hi Trisha and Sterling,
Thank you so much for what was THE best part of our Hawaii vacation! Lagoon Shangrila was everything we hoped for and more. The kids absolutely loved the pond and after snorkeling for hours I think they knew every fish and crayfish by 'name'! Your house is a perfect getaway and we made good use of the location to explore tidepools, heated swimming ponds, steam vents, and a day up at Volcano Nat'l Park. We were looking for a place to have our kids experience the 'true' Hawaii before heading over to Mauna Lani Bay and we certainly found it at Lagoon Shangrila. We have already been telling all of our friends and if you ever need a reference, don't hesitate to have people contact us. "

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 9, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

Rarely have we had the opportunity to spend time anywhere as exquisite as the Lagoon Shangrila. Swimming in the warm, and totally private (!) pond...dining by tiki torches under the clear, abundantly starred night...the sounds of tropical birds singing in the morning. Wow, we felt like we had our very own private tropical resort and spa! Every morning we took the three minute stroll to watch the sunrise turn the shoreline water orange. We saw many whales, and even saw one jump straight out of the water! We didn't visit the warm ponds just down the road (no need to, we had our very own pond, with cute little fish in it) but we did snorkel right there at the beach. The colors and varieties were absolutely amazing. We will be visiting often and have already told many people about this secret corner in paradise. Don't rush through here, stay a few days to really soak it up, and enjoy. Highly recommended!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 5, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

An Incredible get away with a real taste of Hawaii. Shangrila is an adventure and discovery of nature. Beautiful house with all amenities... great appliances, kitchen, everything
we needed for a great vacation with the family. The kids loved swimming with the fish in the ocean.. they could walk down themselves. We enjoyed feeding the fish in the pond... a great relaxing time. The dining by the pond under the moonlight was the best ! Thanks for the great holiday !
Denise

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review