reviews for: listing #10501 - Carmel, California Cottage rental

The Carmel Cottage with a lovely garden and privacy.
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $400 - $550 /nt

sort by:

Idyllic Get Away on the Bay

Review submitted: May 26, 2014   Date of arrival: May 17, 2014

We loved it. The place is both cozy and cleverly appointed. The bathrooms are small, but the "living areas" are spacious, especially so the LR and DR. We had a few questions for the owner, upon arrival, and she responded quickly, satisfying our needs. The landscaping is charming: discover the dozen or so clever birdhouses. The location is also a plus: near the major north - south highway (CA Rt 1), but only a 10 minute walk into town - the charming Carmel By the Sea. The storied 17-mile Drive and Pebble Beach is no more than a mile away. I would recommend this place most highly.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Carmel Cottage - an enchanting treat.

Review submitted: April 7, 2014   Date of arrival: March 21, 2014

The cottage was charming. Whimsical surprises were to be found around almost every corner, both inside and out. Everything needed for a pleasant, comfortable stay was provided. The kitchen had all cooking utensils and dinnerware needed. The beds were comfortable.

The cottage was clean, both inside and out. The owner was responsive to questions and concerns.

It is not very close to downtown Carmel but it was an easy drive to get there.

I would highly recommend the Carmel Cottage to my friends and relatives and would love to stay there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Carmel Cottage

Review submitted: February 25, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

The home is a picturesque Carmel cottage, very quite, well maintained has all the amenities you would need. Heat & hot water worked very well for a full house of six. Close to downtown and beaches. Peggy is very easy to work with, communicates well through email and obviously cares very much about her home. We will be back soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Storybook cottage

Review submitted: October 24, 2013   Date of arrival: October 21, 2013

My friend and I were looking for a nice quiet place to relax after a long weekend in San Francisco and before going home to a busy work schedule. This was absolutely PERFECT! I am a realtor and have 20 seasonal vacation rentals myself and very critical about certain aspects. I can't think of anything I could have improved on this property. It was immaculate (kudos to your cleaning person)! The kitchen was well-equipped and the beds were extremely comfortable. The weather was still nice enough in the late afternoon to sit in one of the lovely patios and just enjoy the crisp air. I will definitely be back and my friend has already started talking to her husband about coming up next year. Thank you, Peggy.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming in Carmel

Review submitted: October 18, 2013   Date of arrival: October 8, 2013

We arrived to the most wonderful house in Carmel! The gardens were spectacular and the house was so tactfully furnished that we immediately felt at home. The amenities were top notch - with enough supplies to easily sustain 5 adults and the rooms provided enough privacy and space. One bedroom was a wee bit small but placing the suitcase in the closet solved that. The owner, Peggy was always available to answer any questions and provided easy instructions for accessing and leaving the house. I would highly recommend this property to anyone traveling up the coast that wants a quiet oasis with only a short drive to Carmel by the Sea!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

BEYOND PERFECTION

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 11, 2013

I can't even begin to express how amazing this cottage is. Myself, and three girlfriends had the pleasure of staying at Peggy's cottage last week for a girl's getaway. We were hoping that we made the right choice by renting Peggy's cottage, and upon arrival we were blown away. The cottage has every amenity that you could ever dream of needing, the landscaping is so colorful and well kept, the cottage is immaculate, the beds are very comfy and you feel so at home as soon as you walk through the front door. This cottage truly made our trip!!!! Thank you Peggy for everything...we hope to come back!!!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Girls Getaway Location!

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

Perfect house/cottage for a girls getaway! 6 women fit comfortably into the house, even though one of the the downstairs bedrooms is small and only has a double bed. Narrow staircase leads up to beautiful ensuite bedroom and bath, but it might be difficult to navigate for an elderly person. The cottage is perfect for 4 adults and 2 kids. Living and Dining rooms are comfortable and charming, and the garden is delightful on warm days. Easy walk to downtown Carmel in 20 minutes.

The owner was easy to work with, and the property was clean and neat.

Highly recommend Carmel Cottage!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely charming!

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 19, 2012

We used this home for a girls getaway and loved everything about the house and gardens. Peggy's attention to detail is evident in every nook and cranny!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent place to rent in Carmel

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: August 20, 2012

We rented this cottage in Carmel and it was one of the best places I have rented. My in-laws were visiting from India and they really enjoyed their stay. They took a lot of pictures to take back home as good memories. I would recommend this cottage to anyone visiting Carmel.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Charming Cottage

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

Third year renting this charming cottage. It feels just like home. Beautiful, serene grounds. Couldn't speak higher about it.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Get Away

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

I took the family up to Carmel for "a get away from it all" vacation. Our stay in the Carmel Cottage was just what I was looking for. Peggy has done a great job providing a clean and comfortable environment as well as everything you need. The location is quiet and close to everything by car. You can walk about 3/4 of a mile down hill to Ocean ave. but walking back can be quite a climb without the proper route. Peggy has thought of that too by leaving the business card of a local taxi co. if you need it. Thanks! There's a bus stop down the block too...

My two teenage boys thought they would die w/o ESPN but that energy was channeled into some family card games and cut throat Jenga(also courtesy of Peggy) playing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great house in Carmel

Review submitted: July 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

Gorgous house and yards! We loved everything about it! Can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Meeting up with old friends

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 18, 2012

This was the perfect cottage for us to meet good friends we only see once a year. It is the ideal size, comfortable, very clean and has all the amenities you need, down to enough coffee for the first cup after late arrival. We all felt at home from the time we walked through the front door.

We enjoyed catching up by the fireplace in the evenings and the incredible garden patio in the morning over coffee or wine in the afternoon. There is a table for 2 on the side garden patio that is great for morning coffee before everyone else is up. Peggy is a great host and all the details were handled.

This is an excellent location. Close drive to downtown Carmel, and easy access to Rt.1 with none of the road noise. Very peaceful and quiet neighborhood. We recommend this to anyone planning on staying in the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

True Carmel Charm

Review submitted: May 25, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

The owners have restored this famous cottage in a most charming and detailed fashion and the gardens are beyond beyond! I'd put it's enchantment factor up there with the original Comstock fairy tale cottages. Though it's a little walk to town, I would recommend this home for its privacy.

It was definitely a comfortable home away from home. It would have been nice to have window coverings in the master bath, but other than that, I would recommend it to any friend and I intend to return there myself!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

My Number One Choice

Review submitted: January 6, 2011   Date of arrival: January 5, 2011

I have rented the home a couple of times in the month of December and it was the most restful, beautiful and quaint place I have stayed in the area. There is no luxury hotel that can beat what this home offers. The owner of the home has always been very pleasant and accomodating to me and my family. I highly recommend this place to stay, be it for a quiet, romantic getaway or a weekend for family time. Thank you Peggy for providing such a wonderful and memorable place to stay. I would deffinately chose the cottage over ANY hotel and the cost is well worth what you get for it especially in comparision to the hotels in the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely home in a great location

Review submitted: December 15, 2010   Date of arrival: September 24, 2010

I rented this home for myself and 2 friends. We go on a trip every year for a few days and ride our bikes in the day, then eat and drink in the evenings. This house was perfect. We rode 3 days and were able to head out straight from the house, without having to load our bikes onto the car. It is close to town so very easy to head in for groceries or to hit a restaurant. The house is very comfortable and the yard is very relaxing. We would come home from our ride, make a cocktail and sit out in the yard for a couple of hours. We cooked dinner in the well appointed kitchen a couple of nights and went into town a couple of nights. All in all, a very wonderful trip. I will definitely come back at some point for another stay at this cute cottage.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful! Charming!

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

This place surpassed our expectations. It is so charming and with lots of room. I would definately rent this place again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Carmel Cottage

Review submitted: April 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 8, 2010

This lovely, well-equipped cottage was perfect for us and had all we needed, comfy beds, crisp clean linen, log fire, well-equipped kitchen, pleasant sitting room and TV/DVD for children, beautiful gardens with lots of options for eating /sitting out and a lovely owner who was pleasant and easy to deal with. Wonderful launch pad for California 1, Monterey and surrounds. A haven after the bustle of San Francisco. The children loved Katy's Place for breakfast! April seemed to us a perfect time as, although weather a little unpredictable, the wild flowers were amazing.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Simply Magical!

Review submitted: January 19, 2009   Date of arrival: November 25, 2008

When I visit a town as magical as Carmel, I want to stay in a place that is equally magical. For me, that place is The Carmel Cottage. Our family has stayed at many luxury resorts in and around Carmel, but, for us, The Carmel Cottage surpasses them all. With its meandering flagstone pathways, beautiful English cottage gardens, and elegant yet comfortable interior, The Carmel Cottage captures perfectly the warmth, grace, and charm of the Carmel lifestyle in a way that no luxury hotel could ever do. The Carmel Cottage is not a typical “rental” property – it is clearly a cherished home. Each time that we have the privilege to visit (and we’ve been five times now!), we are grateful to the owners for sharing their little piece of paradise with our family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cozy in Carmel

Review submitted: January 8, 2009   Date of arrival: March 22, 2008

My family and I have stayed in this cottage once a year for a few years now. We absolutely adore it. It is in a quiet residential Carmel neighborhood yet easily accessible from the Hwy & not too far from the Ocean Ave area. We have found it to be the perfect "base" from which to drive around and explore the peninsula during the day & come back to in the evening to cook our own dinner or enjoy one of the great restaurants in town.

The cottage is very clean, inviting, warm & cozy inside and is well stocked with everything one would need -- just bring your own groceries for the fridge (several good markets are within a short drive--don't miss the Earthbound Organic farm in Carmel Valley) and you are set. There is even wireless internet for those of us who actually bring computers on vacation. ;-)

The gardens are lovely -- a winding path runs around the outside of the house and the patio/sitting area in back with its chiminea is perfect for sitting out in the evenings as the fog rolls in.

We feel so lucky to have found this wonderful home. The owner has put a lot of thought and TLC into this property. We look forward to coming here every year and recommend it highly.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Carmel Haven

Review submitted: December 29, 2008   Date of arrival: August 31, 2008

Carmel has been our favorite getaway location for a number of years, and we have stayed at many inns and homes in the area. Finding The Carmel Cottage was icing on the cake for us! The Cottage has all of the amenities of "home". We wanted for nothing. The only difficult part of our stay was deciding which patio to lounge on or which beautifully decorated bedroom to sleep in. The charm of The Cottage is indescribable. You really have to experience it whether by reading a book in the comfy down-filled chairs by the fire, enjoying a meal in the sun-filled dining room while looking out at the flowers in the beautiful gardens, or lounging on one of the patios enjoying the hummingbirds and watching the squirrels chase each other from tree to tree. There are so many wonderful attractions to enjoy in the Carmel area, but we had everything we needed for a very memorable vacation at "home" in The Carmel Cottage!

We hope to return to this Carmel Haven again and again.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Simply the best.

Review submitted: December 24, 2008   Date of arrival: October 25, 2008

I can't help but share my feelings about The Carmel Cottage and Peggy McCollum. We are a couple from Kohler, Wisconsin. We spent a week at the cottage, along with another couple from Milwaukee, Wisconsin. We were expecting it to be an enjoyable experience and were not disappointed in the least. Quite the opposite. We were thrilled with every aspect of the place. When I first inquired on line I found Peggy to be most helpful in helping make all the arrangements and filling us in on everything that we needed to know to make our vacation time exceptional. She has made sure that there really isn't anything that one would wish for that is not provided. The cottage is fantastic and it is equipped like home, not a rental. The gardens are beautiful and the cottage itself is in outstanding condition, as well as being very tastefully decorated. We simply couldn't have been happier with our choice. We all agree we'd like to repeat the experience if we get the chance. Ames & Jennifer

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Classic Carmel Cottage

Review submitted: November 24, 2008   Date of arrival: April 18, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Carmel Cottage with friends from the east coast who had never been to Carmel before. We all loved it -- it could not have been more perfect! The house is classic Carmel and absolutely charming. The kitchen was supplied with all of the equipment you'd ever need and the garden is enchanting. The bedrooms and baths are nice sized and also very nice. We walked into town to shop during the day and for dinner. We look forward to our next visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

It's Like Coming Home

Review submitted: November 24, 2008   Date of arrival: July 28, 2008

My daughters, son-in-law, friends and I have spent 4 wonderful week-long summer vacations at the Carmel Cottage. As soon as we see the cottage, we know what to expect: a charming, well-decorated, comfortable and lovely home. Forget about staying in a hotel, motel or inn. Stay here! You will not regret it...that's why we keep coming back. The gardens, the hummingbirds, the neighbor who sings opera, meals and drinks on the patio - they are just a taste of the outside. And the inside is even better! A wonderful dining room and kitchen with just about everything you need, a comfy living room with fireplace, and beds that will let you relax and sleep in. Ah, to be there again! I can't wait!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Enchanted Cottage

Review submitted: November 18, 2008   Date of arrival: November 3, 2008

My husband and I, along with my sister and her husband, have stayed twice at this beautiful cottage for a week in the fall. We can think of no better word than "enchanting" to describe our experience. The cottage is very clean and well-maintained, easy to get to - we would absolutely recommend this to anyone we know. Carmel is a beautiful place, but coming home each evening to this cottage was such a treat - waking up to the beautiful view out our windows was such a peaceful feeling. We will definitely be returning - this feels like home ought to feel!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Tucked Away!

Review submitted: November 17, 2008   Date of arrival: March 8, 2008

As beautiful as the pictures may be, they are just a small hint of the delight in really being at The Carmel Cottage. My family spent a week there in March, 2008, and it quickly replaced all of our #1 choices of places to be! The setting was serene, and just looking out the windows was like viewing an artist's portfolio. The property is well-maintained both inside and out, and the rooms are all warm and inviting. Some of the architectural details are delightful, and it's easy to find a quiet nook and relax. Of course, when you're looking for activity, you can golf, walk, hike, bike, sightsee, dine, and yes, shop. My favorite way to pass the time was just to walk the streets and look at all the unusual homes, including several well-known storybook cottages. However, I think you'll agree that THIS cottage is the one you want to come home to!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Delightful Surprise

Review submitted: November 17, 2008   Date of arrival: June 4, 2008

Vacation June 2008.

The cottage and yard were absolutely lovely. It definitely feels like someone's home, not a "rental property". It has a great layout to share with 2 bedrooms downstairs sharing a bathroom and 1 bedroom upstairs with its own bathroom. It was very comfortable to cook and stay in or walk or drive to downtown.

Very relaxing and the owners were wonderful. We traveled with our two small children and my parents. We rented a crib and some other baby gear from: Tiny Traveler in Monterey. They dropped everything off and picked everything up and were very respectful of the property. Overall a great experience!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

You feel part of Carmel at this classic home.

Review submitted: November 17, 2008   Date of arrival: September 21, 2008

I would rate this ideal Carmel Cottage a Five Plus! My girlfriends and I celebrated our 50th birthdays in Carmel and had a fantastic time. We wanted to stay a special place - and this cottage did not disappoint. The gardens and pathways were cheerful and private. The house is just like the pictures - cozy, comfortable, and very clean. The owner was a pleasure to deal with. I enjoyed Carmel and this home so much, I came back with my husband 4 months later. Both times were a marvelous experience. This is the perfect place to stay while visiting the beautiful Monterey Peninsula. Staying here makes the whole Carmel experience just a little more magical.

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We all wanted to move right in!

Review submitted: November 15, 2008   Date of arrival: April 24, 2007

As soon as we got to the Carmel Cottage, we knew that a weekend would not be long enough - we all wanted to move right in! It's a lovely property - every convenience you could want - everything in excellent shape - perfectly located near the town center. There was plenty of space and it was peaceful and quiet. I went with my husband, 6 month old son, and parents and we all had a wonderful time.

i can't recommend the Carmel Cottage highly enough - I look forward to finding an excuse to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Holiday

Review submitted: November 13, 2008   Date of arrival: October 15, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay in this cottage. They yard is gorgeous and enjoyed happy hour in the private back yard. Loved watching the hummingbird. This vacation property has everything you need. One small suggestion may be to have a couple of beach chairs available to take to the beach. We will definitely recommend this vacation property to friends and family. The beach in Carmel is a real treat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great House

Review submitted: September 21, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

My husband and I rented the Carmel Cottage for one week Dec 2007 What great memories we have. The house is beautiful and special. We had our son, his wife and our grand daughter only 6 months old at the time. The home and furnishings were wonderful. A little ways from town but you can walk if you want. This of course made it more quiet and peaceful. We've been in Carmel many times in different locations, so if you want a beautiful place and wonderful memories this is the place. Loving the Weather we are from Florida.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review