reviews for: listing #105067 - Santa Barbara, California House rental

Charming Downtown Cottage
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $390 /nt
    $1,250 - $1,600 /wk
    $3,500 - $5,900 /mth

sort by:

Very cute cottage with lots of thought put into the space

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

My husband and I and another couple rented this cottage for a weekend getaway. The house is so charming with lots of amenities for all. We were very comfortable and felt right at home the minute we entered the cottage. The home has been done up very well with nice appliances, paint colors and bedding! I travel for my job so I am very picky about hotels and rentals that are clean and with updated (newer) bedding. They have movies, music, games, etc. if you want to stay in and a lovely backyard if the weather is nice. The walk to State Street (main strip with shops and restaurants) is not bad at all, very easy walk and a nice area. The size worked out perfectly for two couples since there are two bedrooms and two bathrooms. We will definitely rent this place again and use Vacation Rentals of Santa Barbara as they were great agency to work with!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for visiting...we're thrilled to hear you had a wonderful time!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Tourist

Review submitted: February 14, 2013   Date of arrival: February 7, 2013

You will not be disappointed in this cottage. Entire cottage is well stocked and so delightful. Amazed on how clean this cottage is. Had parking which was great. Walk to State Street which is a must. Many wonderful restaurants and shopping within walking distance. Traveled to the piers which is not far. The scenery is so beautiful you cannot stop taking pictures. Plenty of restaurants as well. Recommend taking the trolley tour of Santa Barbara. You learn a great deal about this beautiful city. Of course, you can do wine testing which is a must. Went to the Farmers Market and found that very interesting. Vendors must grow their produce in Santa Barbara and be from Santa Barbara. A unique market. Fresh produce. Not a typical farmers market. Everything is not far from this cottage. Definitely would stay there again and recommend it highly. This was first time in Santa Barbara and was not disappointed. Owners definitely took pride in making you feel welcome in this cottage.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words, please visit us again soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Expectations met--an exceeded!

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

Curley Cottage was a great location for 2 weeks of exploring Santa Barbara and the Central Coast area. We kept busy during the day, heading up to wine country, over to the Channel Islands, hiking in Ojai and Carpenteria and Montecito. A high-energy trip: good things we had a well-equipped kitchen to start the day and super comfortable beds to recover from the day's adventures.

With great shopping and restaurants within walking distance, the location was perfect, The decor is 1st class. It's obvious that the owners want their guests to feel at home--an we did!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Please visit us again soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Curley Ave, Santa Barbara

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

Curley Ave is a lovely hidden gem in Santa Barbara. High-end amenities like granite kitchen, washer-dryer, landscaped yard with outdoor dining. Small details like a toiletries, a Wii and kitchen necessities are all at your disposal. About 5-7 minutes from downtown on a quiet, safe side street. Clean and comfortable and classy. I highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! Please visit us in Santa Barbara again soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect place to relax and enjoy the best of SB. Extremely nice place to stay

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

My family and I stayed for 8 days and we found the accommodations more than wonderful. The location is two blocks away from State Street, a nice quiet neighborhood but close to everything. The bedrooms were nice sized, the kitchen had every thing you can ask for, the nice secluded backyard was well kept and perfect for sitting outside and enjoying the sun. I really was impressed. My wife is usually somewhat more critical but even she commented on how well the property was clean, well maintained and comfortable.

We had three young children and my daughter with us (6 total) and never once felt crowded. I would recommend this condo to anyone - and the people who made the arrangements were 100% professional.

The only complain was the bathrooms were somewhat small (but it is Santa Barbara after all) - but other than that- perfect!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your feedback, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to Santa Barbara!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved this cottage!

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

We went with another couple for July 4th week and LOVED this house! It is all redone and like brand new! The decorations are in great taste and very homey. Very clean condition and even better than the pictures. The only down side was the small den and lack of air conditioning. It has an air conditioner, but just never seemed to cool down enough to not have to sleep with the windows open at night. With a box fan is was comfortable with the windows open. The good thing about it was each bedroom had a bath for that couple and 1 bedroom and bath upstairs and down. So you each has privacy. Perfect for an older couple with problems going up stairs, they can stay downstairs. Really LOVED Santa Barbara and would go back again! If you could avoid the drive from LA that would be the best way to do it! Also, at one end of the alley the street sign is gone, so it's a little tricky to find the street to turn into. Would recommend this to friends as a great place to stay for 2 couples.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Leslie,

Thank you so much for your review and feedback on the air conditioner. Please come back to visit anytime!

Whitney

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved this Cottage! Will definitely be back!

Review submitted: June 22, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

This quaint downtown cottage was so COMFORTABLE! We did not want to leave!

We were really tired when we arrived and didn't even unpack. We just opened the sleeper sofa downstairs and popped in a DVD. We (me, my husband and son) were all asleep within 30 minutes.

The owners have put in a lot of time to make sure you are very comfortable. You can tell they have very high end taste and the living room blankets were the softest we have slept with.We napped for awhile and then walked downtown with ease (my 4-year old had no problems walking everywhere- that is how close you are to parks, shops, restaurants, trolley, etc.).

Everything in the cottage is top of the line: Adirondacks on the porch, patio furniture outside, casing around the doors, light fixtures, molding, linens, towels, plantation shutters, kitchen utensils, etc.

I think two families would be SO happy here and we have already booked our next trip!

To sum it up: Luxury, comfort and location location location for sure!

We can't wait to come back and will bring more people next time. The home would comfortably sleep 6.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Heather,

Thank you so much for your review! Please come back to visit anytime!

Whitney

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review