reviews for: listing #10532 - Lexington, Kentucky House rental

The Martin House
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  South Hill
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $250 - $250 /nt
    $1,450 - $1,450 /wk
    $3,500 - $5,500 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful historic home!

Review submitted: May 9, 2014   Date of arrival: April 14, 2014

Our family gathered in Lexington as a central meeting place over Easter. Great location to walk from and explore the city. Indian restaurant around the corner was terrific and very accomodating (requested take out). The porches were great for enjoying the first taste of spring weather. The owners were very attentive from our first inquiry through the chocolate cookies waiting for us when we arrived! Highly recommend the Martin House if you are going to be staying the Lexington area. Tall people need to watch their head at the top of the stairs!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great home in heart of downtown

Review submitted: May 7, 2014   Date of arrival: April 23, 2014

This house is lovely and the owners were very easy to work with. The welcome plate of cookies was a huge plus. Was so nice to have everything we needed, spices, condiments, sodas even as well as soap/shampoo, etc.

We enjoyed walking to restaurants, etc. There was plenty of room for all of us. The parking is a bit tight but we were forewarned and did just fine.

The yard and porches were quite enjoyable too. We had great fun going to Keeneland, Rolex and Claiborne Farms

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Roomy, homey accomodations in the heart of Lexingt

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: April 30, 2013

Great old house in the heart of Lexington. 3 bedrooms plus a sleeper sofa and air mattresses mean theres plenty of room for everyone; really enjoyed the screened in back porch. Place was built in 1908, so it has the charms of an older house but is also very clean with some modern touches. Owners were great with answering questions and making sure our stay was comfortable. They even had cookies waiting for us when we arrived. House is also very well stocked if you like to cook. Can't beat the location; you can pretty much walk to anywhere in downtown Lexington.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect location - - great spot

Review submitted: May 2, 2013   Date of arrival: April 24, 2013

The Martin House was just perfect for our visit to Keeneland and the Rolex Cup. The house itself was roomy enough to give everyone a bit of their own space - - and the common areas were great for relaxing/hanging out. the kitchen is cheery and well appointed.
We loved having our coffee on the deck upstairs and screened in porch off the kitchen.
It was a quick and easy drive to the horse parks, and in the evenings it was great to leave our car and walk to all the great nearby watering holes and restaurants.
We would definitely love to stay here again if our travels take us back to Lexington.
And the cookies were great too!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

love the comfy feel of home

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

We absolutly LOVED this home. Perfect location. You can walk to the college campus, restaurants and do some shopping as well. It was perfect for my family. We were in the area for a competetion at the horse park and it was so nice to come back everynight to such a beautiful home. Would definitly recommend a stay at the Martin House. :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family get together

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

We came to The Martin House to get our family together in one place (8 of us)for a few days since we all live many miles apart. We were so pleasantly welcomed with fresh chocolate chip cookies (everyone's favorite!) and fresh flowers all over the house. We felt at home right away. Many rooms, many towels (they were needed with 100 degree temps), lots of comfy beds, and well-stocked kitchen. The owners left a list of suggestions for restaurants & things to see--great! There were lots of things to see within walking distance. We all loved the experience!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Martin House

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: April 23, 2012

Our group of 10 found the Martin House the perfect setting for our ROLEX Three Day experience. The beautifully landscaped and private back yard was great for BBQ's and afternoon social hour entertainment. The house had ample rooms and comfortable beds for all. The kitchen/breakfast nook and room layout gave everyone the space to gather and converse and the men enjoyed the leather seating/big screen TV in the den. The location was convenient for walking to the local eateries (and there were many great places to choose from within blocks from the house). We honestly felt as if the owners had just left the house as if they were still living there.

PS: The cookies that were left for our arrival were great!!!! I would recomend this home for others to enjoy. Thank you Jeannette and Paul for making our stay a memorable experience..... :)

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Wonderful stay!

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 20, 2011

What a wonderful old home that has been so well maintained! We vacationed in this home with our two grown children (24 and 18) and the special people in their lives and the home was enjoyed equally by all.

The stay starts with fresh flowers meeting you in the foyer, followed by a plate of homemade cookies in the kitchen! No attention to detail is spared in this home. The beds are very comfortable, the sheets are soft and cozy, plenty of toiletries are provided and the kitchen is well furnished. And the list could go on!

This home is not the least bit overstated in it's description. This house would accommodate families young and old alike.

One thing I found really helpful was the information binder put together for the guests.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Lexington Rental

Review submitted: April 18, 2011   Date of arrival: March 21, 2011

House was exactly as advertised, and was perfect for our needs. Well equipped, and the locations was ideal for easy access do the downtown area. Would highly recommend to anyone requiring a fmaily location in Lexington.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

We had such an amazing time staying at this home and the quality is unbeatable. I work for a vacation rental company - If all of our property owners were as wonderful to deal with, my job would be a dream!!! Thank you, thank you - it is obvious you are motivated by love to maintain and share this beautiful spot with others. Our Mom is still talking about her amazing 70th birthday - memories to last a lifetime!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: May 6, 2010

The Martin House makes you feel that you are at home. It is in a great location.The owners gave us several suggestions for restaurants and were very easy to work with. We would highly recommend this property.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: April 15, 2010   Date of arrival: April 15, 2010

Our first trip to the Lexington area was topped off with this great place to stay. This historic home is beautiful! On top of that, everything you could want is within walking distance. The extra touches provided by the Brackens(flowers and cookies) were great and really made us feel like we had arrived home. They were also fantastic to work with. We had a great time and are hoping we can make this an annual trip.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Review submitted: April 10, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

The Martin House is comfortable and in a great location to walk to downtown Lexington restaurants and UK. The screened porch and backyard were a great hit with the kids. The owners are responsive and pleasant to work with and the house is well-appointed. We highly recommend this rental to anyone looking to stay in Lexington.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 5, 2010

Four of us stayed at the Martin House and we all loved it. The beds were comfortable, the living room commodious, the dining room invites family dinners and the kitchen is perfect for collaborative cooking. On top of all this, the location is ideal for exploring downtown Lexington on foot. We highly recommend The Martin House to anyone visiting Lexington.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 9, 2009   Date of arrival: June 9, 2009

The Martin House is a lovely place and we enjoyed our stay. You are made to feel like you are right at home with beautiful flowers and homemade cookies awaiting your arrival. Close proximity to many events.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 12, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

We loved the Martin House. We choose Lexington as our annual family get together in 2008 and the Martin House turned out to be the perfect location. The city setting made all the local attractions accessible, but the street and back yard were quiet and private. The historic home had plenty of charm, but was comfortable for modern tastes. We enjoyed every minute there and would definitely visit again when back in Lexington.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 2, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

What a wonderful place to stay. The house is a perfect blend of past elegance and modern conveniences. From the special personal touches to the very comfortable beds - it exceeded all expectations. Add to all that the excellent location and you can plan to see us again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 10, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

The Martin House truly exceeded our expectations. A very clean, comfortable, and relaxing home in the heart of Lexington. The Bracken's were very gracious with the extra touches and were excellent with communication. We want to come back the next time the Bulldogs come to town! Thanks again for everything!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 26, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We enjoyed an amazing week at the Martin House. Jeanette and Paul thought of every detail, and then some. What a welcome we recieved with fresh flowers and chocolate chip cookies. Thank you for helping create the wonderful memories that my family will treasure forever.
The Knoepke's, MN

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 30, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

We had a wonderful week-long stay at the Martin House. If I could transport this house back to Colorado, I would! It felt like we stepped into the pages of a Southern Living magazine. We really enjoyed the personal touches - fresh flowers, cookies, plenty of towels, recommendations for excursions and restaurants, etc. There were 7 of us at one time or another during our stay and we had plenty of space to visit, sleep, watch TV and spend time outdoors without bumping into each other. We'd definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 29, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

Our family enjoyed a delightful stay at the Martin House. It is convenient, comfortable and relaxing. Our family of 4, plus our golden retriever, had a great time and enjoyed entertaining friends in this oasis. It is an excellent home away from home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 24, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

In 2006, we took 5 12-year-old girls to Lexington for National Pony Finals. We rented the house for almost 3 weeks and it truly became our home away from home for that time period. The house was the perfect setting for our families to get together in the evenings after the daily competing events. Dinners spent in the back yard with a great meal prepared on the grill; kids playing cards in the living room while watching Bugs Bunny videos; and the great downtown location for the kids to play in the fountains during the hot August days. I highly recommend The Martin House for anyone considering a vacation to Lexington.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 24, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

Thank you for creating a home away from home. We enjoyed BBQ's in the back yard, walking to the Children's Emporium, morning coffee on the porch, the sitting area in the kitchen (although with two toddlers we did not sit much!). Thanks for all of the welcoming touches, fresh baked cookies, info regarding nearby restaurants - clearly the Martin House is loved. With gratitude, Lynda, Peter, Jackson and Jesse (BC, Canada) and Grandma and Grandpa (London, ONT)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 26, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

The best place to stay in Lexington is The Martin House! The location is excellent, the house is warm and inviting, the floor plan provides a space to gather and a space to get away for some privacy, and the beds are very comfortable! We had 3 adult couples that desperately needed a relaxing weekend get-a-way. Jeannette and Paul helped us find interesting restaurants and nightlife which made our trip even better than we expected. Thank You! We will definitely recommend The Martin House to family and friends and hope to visit again this summer!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 22, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

Great location and a great house!! Very gracious, helpful and accomodating hosts who helped us with every detail. Everything worked out wonderful! Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 13, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Our stay at the Martin House was very pleasant. Jeannette and Paul's attention to the last detail made our stay enjoyable. We were delighted with the tray of chocolate chip cookies after the long drive but were blown away with the vases of fresh flowers in nearly every room. Comfortable beds and comfortable temperatures despite the heat outside. We felt that we were staying in a friend's house because the pantry was well stocked and everything we needed or wanted was easily accessible. We surely recommend this home as a perfect vacation rental. We especially liked walking to the Farmer's Market on Saturday morning where we purchased fresh eggs, cheeses, country ham, home-made bread, and fruit for our breakfasts.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 6, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

Wonderful home in downtown Lexington that offered a level of comfort only your own home could compare. Lovely decor in each room, including fresh flower arrangements and original photography. Lots of seating, great place for entertaining or reunions. Special touches like homemade cookies, a rocking chair, fully stocked kitchen (including drinks and a junk drawer)porch swing, hidden two dollar bills, lots of fluffy towels, and landscaped private backyard. The attention to the tiniest detail throughout the home is testiment to the owner's dedication and genuine concern to make your stay perfect. A dream home by any standard, can't wait for the occasion to return. Highly recommend!

Owners response: The two dollar bills were hidden throughout the house by a previous guest, and there is no guarantee that any are left. You never know though :-)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 28, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

What a wonderful home away from home. Large, comfortably decorated, spacious
and great touches of fresh flowers throughout and a plate of delicious chocolate chip cookies and drinks waiting for us upon arrival and a lovely country garden to enjoy. Super
location to all of Lexington! Highly recommended for those who don't like hotels. Wonderful owners who treat you like family...true Aloha spirit!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 21, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

The Martin House is wonderful. Large,clean & full of charm. Three adults & two children spent a week & enjoyed every moment. Owners are great.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 4, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

The Martin House was great, the ability to walk to dinner, clubs, ect. was a real plus. The house was great, no complaints and the owners were very accommdating.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 23, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

Our family had the pleasure of staying at the Martin House for the NCAA basketball tournament. We were within walking distance of Rupp Arena and the college campus. The house is lovely and clean and surprizingly large. Having such wonderful accomadations made our visit to Lexington a pleasure. The owners couldn't have been nicer - all in all a lovely experience!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 11, 2006   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

The Martin House is a clean and very charming home away from home. The owners are an absolute pleasure to work with and they have thought of everything to make the stay more pleasant.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 27, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

Very charming, comfortable and clean home. So much nicer than staying in a hotel. Great location, short walk to downtown. All in all, a wonderful place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 11, 2006   Date of arrival: May 1, 2006

I highly recommend the Martin House to anyone visiting the Lexington area. I had the pleasure of staying for a long weekend, and it truly was a "home away from home". The owners are marvelous to work with.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 11, 2006   Date of arrival: April 1, 2006

This house is full of charm and very comfortable. Four adults and two children stayed there with room to spare. Beautifully decorated and maintained inside and a great and usable backyard space. Nothing negative to say at all.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 12, 2006   Date of arrival: January 1, 2006

The Martin House is a fabulous property and a great value. It is located within walking distance to the University of Kentucky and most destination locations of downtown Lexington. My stay included fresh fruit and baked cookies in the kitchen upon arrival, as well as fresh flowers in most of the rooms. Terrific touch, memorable stay! Highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review