reviews for: listing #10555 - Mendocino, California House rental

Canyon Beach House
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $220 - $325 /nt
    $1,500 - $2,500 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful, quaint home!

Review submitted: August 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Canyon Beach home in July this summer! We were there for a week and truly enjoyed the house, the view and the area! The home was so very well equipped with everything we could need. The view was stunning!!! As we are from North Carolina, the landscape, beach cliffs and mountains were so very new to us. We kayaked in the area and horseback rode through the redwoods. The home was clean and absolutely charming! It was a wonderful stay and we were very pleased with our stay and all the transactions with the owners. We loved the privacy, the beach walk, the rustic home, the cozy fires and the hot tub!! Thank you for a delightful stay ~

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just amazing!!

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 21, 2011

My husband and I have been coming to the Canyon Beach House for almost 11 years now. I have nothing but great things to say about the home, the view, Jose (the caretaker) and both of the owners....This home is amazing, clean, and well stocked. The spa beyond the deck is so wonderful. We love it here and will never stay anywhere else!! Bye the way...Diane...I know we couldnt make it last year but I will be calling about coming back in August.

Thanks for having us : )

Kelli and Dan

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you both. We will be happy to welcome you back to Canyon Beach House anytime.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Beautiful relaxing weekend

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2010

My wife and I had a beautiful relaxing weekend, Canyon beach House is just that, A wonderful rustic home on the edge of a canyon with wonderful views of the ocean. It is well stocked with everything you might need except food and clothes. Unlike the review below , I found nothing to really complain about. It's a house in the trees in a wilderness type setting. I would advise to drive down to beach it's not far, but the walk can be tiresome. I would recommend this home to anyone looking to get away to a little piece of heaven, and peace and quiet.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much! Please come back again!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Nice location but needs thourough cleaning

Review submitted: October 6, 2010   Date of arrival: September 19, 2010

Great location with beautiful views and secluded. Experience could be even better if place was cleaned (blinds & windows & fans were filthy; mouse droppings on kitchen counters; caked on soap in dishwasher; dirty sofa (mouse droppings & silverfish). Adirondack chair was broke and cushions were soaked (we could not use cushions). Encountered mouse the 3rd day. When called maintenance man, his comment was "What do you want me to do?" and he did NOTHING. We had to take care of mouse ourselves.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so sad that these guests had a negative experience. However all of their concerns have been addressed -- every item cleaned and the chair repaired. The mouse was certainly a new occurrance, although being in a remote location, even with mouse baits, rare visits can happen. We have been unable to oversee the maintenance of the house ourselves for a while due to surgeries and family illnesses. We will soon be able to more carefully insure a great experience for all our guests.

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 

Excellent getaway

Review submitted: May 11, 2010   Date of arrival: May 5, 2010

We found this location to be the best of all we have stayed at in the past. We spent an entire week and couldnt find anything negative. The beach is close, you can drive down or take a walk down the driveway. We lucked out and had every kind of weather Mendo County can throw at you. The best part of the location was how quiet it was, you hear nothing but the waves crashing, the house had all the ammenities that we needed to stay the week, we used the BBQ nightly and the fireplace. The beds were excellent and made my sleep even better. We will be back again since the price is comperable to any hotel in the area. Thanks again for the great memory.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Not as expected, but pleasant for a short stay

Review submitted: February 8, 2010   Date of arrival: July 13, 2009

This was a cute home and the stay was a peaceful one. The views in the photos are a little bit misleading, as we thought the beach was right by the home, but instead, the beach is quiet a hike (10 minutes or so, depending) down a steep road.
I think it would be nice if it was printed on their rental page in case someone lacking in the abilities to make that walk, could be warned ahead of time. The jacuzzi was in working order and clean. The house was well stocked and we didn't need of anything but our food and belongings. We have rented homes before and I thought it was a little bit strange that they request you to tear down the bedding and wash and dry all laundry used.. although I didn't mind the clean up much, it makes it a hassle when you have a family you need to get together and check out in time by the check out time, to not be charged for another day. None the less, when I tried to get the laundry done, the dryer broke, and wouldn't work, so I left a note, and we didn't get charged a extra cleaning fee.
Over all I think it was nice for a couple of days, but wouldn't have wanted to stay for a long period of time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review