reviews for: listing #105882 - Rodanthe, North Carolina House rental

Only a few winter weeks left!!!!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $200 /nt
    $700 - $2,300 /wk
    $2,400 - $8,000 /mth

sort by:

Best Beach House

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 15, 2013

Staying at Ocean Breezes in Rodanthe was the perfect family get-away. We were treated to immaculately clean but well-loved home that was just the right combination for our brood. The beach was just a few houses away from the beach so you could see and hear the surf throughout the day an evening.

Our dogs were especially glad to have a play area and front porch to keep watch over the place during our stay.

The only question that we are left with after our stay is, when will we have the pleasure of returning?

Thanks from Tony!
American Express Corporate Travel Consultant.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

6 days of bliss

Review submitted: November 1, 2013   Date of arrival: October 20, 2013

I would say that this place will go beyond the expectations of anyone that rents it. Anything and every thing that you need to enjoy your vacation is provided, from the roar of the waves crashing on the beach to the smell of the salt in the air I can say this place if one of the top 2 places I have stayed in my 26 years of comeing to the outer banks.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review so glad you enjoyed your trip. Hope you come back and stay with us again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Gail - Deb- Gaye _ Yuvette

Review submitted: October 8, 2013   Date of arrival: September 29, 2013

The stay was perfect - the house was prefect - the beach was perfect - the food was perfect - the weather was perfect --- the house had more than we could have thought of - the kitchen was stocked with everything we needed - the hot tub was so enjoyable - evening on the deck were perfect --- this was a perfect vacation and am planning on returning ------ thank you so much

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Simple Gem in Rodanthe

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2013

This property had everything we needed for an amazing vacation among 5 friends. Super clean and filled with some extras that many other beach houses do not provide. It made packing and traveling much easier as we could leave towels, linens, beach chairs, etc at home. You can tell the owners take great pride in a clean home, and giving their guests some of the extra comforts is a bonus. The owners were also very attentive to any questions we had leading up to our stay and during. The house is simple, and has a sort of 'yesteryear charm' reminiscent of the beach cottages I stayed at as a child in the Outer Banks. There hot tub was thoroughly enjoyed in the evenings with a glass of champagne, looking at the stars above and enjoying the sound of the surf just over the dune. We caught fresh fish every morning from the surf and utilized the fish cleaning station to prepare memorable fisherman breakfasts for the whole house. Rodanthe is one of my favorite communities now in the OBX. It feels more secluded than the more populated northern beaches of Nags Head and Kitty Hawk that I used to vacation at as a child. We did not mind driving to get to the more populated shopping areas on the occasion in Duck or south to Hatteras. The beach is not as crowded and has a mix of vacationers, locals and surfers which were a lot of fun to watch. The fishing pier is a short walk away. Great view of the sound and ocean from the deck. Pizza, Seafood market, tackle shop, coffee, small beach shops and gas station all within walking distance or a short drive. We got fresh local wahoo from the seafood market at the end of the street and it was delicious. Farmer's stands selling produce are just down the road for fresh local fruits and veggies. Another bonus - the street that this house is on has a large stretch of land that is undeveloped so the house felt more secluded and private than some of the surrounding streets. The houses are also more spread out overall in Rodanthe which is another bonus.

The best news - I got engaged this past week in the OBX, so this house will always hold special memories for me and my fiance. We hope to return again next year with our friends and would definitely stay in this home again. Enjoy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great home close to the beach

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

If you can't afford to stay right on the beach, this is the next best thing. the proximity to the beach is amazing, its a very short walk away.

Owners were amazing, even providing a birthday cake for my husband as a suprise!

Pros: linens, and essentials like dishwasher detergent provided. Owners were very accomidating. GREAT amenity not having to buy the stuff. Great extras- the beach stuff provided, like beach chairs and the beach cart, a true life saver as first time parents on the beach. Hot tub and large deck were great to spend evenings.


Cons: living room and kitchen not ideal for entertaining. They are both a bit on the smaller side, and the town is 25 minutes from a local grocery store.

Overall the house is IDEAL for a family. the dog run was also great. It would not be good for groups of friends looking for a home to entertain in. We had an amazing family vacation!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Just Perfect

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

The house was exactly what we needed. It was so well stocked and convenient to the beach. We loved hanging out on the porch and in the hammocks downstairs. The hot tub became a nighttime ritual. We loved Rodanthe's small town charm. This house can work for any type of family. It was JUST perfect!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

Our family has rented a lot of beach houses for our vacations. This home was the most well equipped with everything you needed. The kitchen had almost every gadget you could think of. And not having to pack towels (beach and bath), sheets, and kitchen linens, was wonderful. Saved so much space in our car. The house was very homey, comfortable, and welcoming. The bedrooms were spacious and the beds were very comfortable. My children are all older now; my "baby" is 17, but all the touches for families with little children, toys, video games, movies, and of course, the sand box was wonderful. I even wished my kids were younger, just for a little bit, to enjoy all of these amenities. We had a question for Mr. and Mrs. Meyer, e-mailed them, and they were so quick in their response. The best part is the location of the house. We were 2 houses off the beach. I couldn't have asked for anything closer. We could spend all day or only a couple of hours on the beach and make a quick trip home without packing everything up. And we really enjoyed Lisa's Pizza right up at the end of the road. Delicious food, and very convenient. We would definitely rent this home again. Thank you for everything. We missed the beach by the time we got back home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Repeat Vacationers

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 29, 2013

My wife and I had the opportunity to stay for second time at the cottage and, once again, had a wonderful experience. It's quite a treat to have bed linens, towels and toiletry items all included with your rental price. It's very clean with a well equipped kitchen. It's a very short walk to the beach which was not crowded at all. The owners are very conscience that you enjoy your stay and are always accessible for any questions that arise. We hope to book a fall visit later this year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

R & R at it's best

Review submitted: May 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 15, 2013

My 5+ month pregnant wife and our two furry kids needed a calm, quiet beach vacation. Rodanthe and this property were perfect. The home was clean and wonderfully stocked with all the little things you always forget and must have (soap, detergent, etc.). The beach really is about 200 feet away. We walked down to the sea food store and buy shrimp or walk down to Lisa's Pizza for dinner a couple times. We watched the sun set while we listened to the surf on the deck every night. Rodanthe is the perfect place since it's almost right in the middle of all the real touristy places. We strongly recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Rodanthe is what dreams are made of

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 9, 2013

This house was exactly what myself and my friends needed. The house was great. The Hot Tub, even greater! The location was perfect. Everything about our trip was fabulous. From the easy breezy drive across the outer banks to the shaded hammocks to the Hot Tub underneath the starry sky everything was fantastic. The kitchen table sat the 7 of us perfectly. The ample porch space was great to sit on and feel the ocean breeze. I can not thank you enough for such a great place. It was perfect. We grilled out, laughed, and had a great time. I can't wait to come back! Thank You!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We offer a loyalty discount to our returning guest of 15% off the dates you choose to come back. Thank you for taking the time to review our home we hope you stay with us again. The Meyers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect getaway spot : )

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: April 15, 2013

Super special thanks to the property owners for a great experience!
Property was exactly if not better than descibed.
So close to the ocean, i could hear the waves in bed!
The owners were very promt in returning calls etc.
The local people were very friendly. I would recommend this rental
to ANYONE who intends to go to the OBX.
I will be back for sure! Thanks again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for you review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. When you come back you will receive a 15 % off loyalty discount.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best equipped beach cottage we ever stayed at.

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2013

We were blown away by not only how well equipped and clean this cottage was but little extras that showed that the owners really put a lot of thought into what would be helpful to those staying there. We were there for a family celebration and get together and it was perfect for that. The refrigerator/freezer with ice maker and the electric stove made it convenient to cook and we enjoyed being together around the big square table. We were glad to find seafood close by that we could buy to take out either fully prepared or ready to cook. The dish washer, washer and dryer were really nice to have . It was a very short walk to the beach and I checked out the waves every morning. The young people enjoyed the hot tub and everyone said what a great place this is.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Will be the first choice for Snickers, Gizmo and us next time in the Outer Banks

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 7, 2013

My fiance, the dogs and I went to the beach house in Rodanthe this past weekend and had a great time; it was our first time in the Outer Banks. It's March so the weather was a cold and the wind was crazy BUT the house was warm, clean and cozy inside which definitely helped pass the time. The landlords were very attentive and the location was impressive; literally a 2 minute walk and you're in the water. Be mindful that Rodanthe is a ghost in the winter months so if you want to shop, eat and play I'd recommend another time of year or a place like Myrtle. Amenities such as the hot tub, washer/dryer, upkeep, cleanliness, location, and most importantly (for us) dog-friendliness definitely makes this a place worth staying again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Kyle,
Thank you for the review. We did go down in February for our anniversary and it was cold also and only a few stores open. But being we wanted it to be romantic (with the fireplace). It was very private and in the off season so this was a good reason to go. We hope you come back when it is warmer so you can enjoy the beach more. Also don't forget our loyalty discount. Thank you so much for staying with us at Beach Breezes of Rodanthe.

Sincerely,

Jonathan and Wendy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Rodanthe in the Winter

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

We found the clean as a whistle and quite cozy. The kitchen is supplied with anything and everything that you would need(not the food, of course) to cook and prepare any meal. We really like the coffee maker - had never seen one quite like it. The kitchen table was perfect for our size group of 8. Although there was plenty of rooms for all of us , the kids(4 of the) all chose to bunk in the " kids" room. The beach is so close and an easy walk from the house. Because it was winter we had the heat on the whole time and the fireplace was on most of the time just for the ambiance. We had to notify the owner about a matter and he was especially helpful and quick to help us solve the problem. All in all we very much plan on returning to the area and hopefully this home will be available.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for taking time to review your stay.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Cozy Cottage

Review submitted: October 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 30, 2012

This was a wonderful clean cozy cottage that was very close to beach and exactly as advertised. Having everything on 1 floor was a treat compared to other cottages where kitchen was on 3rd floor. Kitchen was well equiped for all types of cooking. Very large deck was nice for evening chats. Owners walked us through the vrbo rental process and communicated with us during stay to make sure we were having no problems. We would and have recommended to friends for future rentals and hope to be able to rent again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

October birthday getaway!

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 7, 2012

We loved our vacation in Rodanthe. This is the first time that we have stayed on Hatteras Island. It is a whole different world there. The locals are very nice and it is a lot more relaxed than the northern beaches and Nags Head. We found the house very "homey" and all of the amenities were well supplied. Found out on the second day that our street was the surfers "hot spot" for the year. It was sure fun to watch. Had a great time in the hot tub on the deck on cool starry nights and it was great to have our pets with us. There is a wonderful seafood market just at the end of the road and many wonderful restaurants within walking distance. Our day trip to Ocracoke was also a real treat. This is a great house at a great location and you will be assured a great vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Relaxation at its finest.

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

This was my best vacation ever at the Outer Banks. I especially enjoyed the accessibility of this property (not having to drive on the beach). The house was clean and comfortable. The electric fireplace provided a warm glow and soothing ambiance. This house is fully furnished, including laundry detergent and linens (other rentals have charged for them). For those with families, there's cable TV in every bedroom and a huge flat screen in the den that was unbelievable for watching the games. I didn't want to leave. I loved the feel of the cool evening breeze as I relaxed in the Pawley's Island hammock with my Kindle. All you need are your clothes, swimsuit, toothbrush and some groceries (or enjoy a delicious pizza from Lisa's Pizzeria right at the end of the street... two thumbs up). Plenty of great restaurants within a short drive. Kitty Hawk Kiteboarding School is nearby too (maybe next year I'll plan to give it a shot). An outstanding value for the money, I know I'll be back here again. Enjoy! I did.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful September getaway in Rodanthe

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 9, 2012

Had a wonderful September getaway in Rodanthe @ the Beach Breezes rental with our 2 year old and our dog! The house is cute and comfortable, well outfitted for outdoor grilling or cooking in for a group much larger than ours. And if you don’t feel like cooking there are quite a few places within a few miles that are happy to provide you will a good meal—Lisa’a Pizza which is at the end of the road will even deliver if you just can’t pull yourself out of a deck chair listening to the ocean.

The beach which is just steps from your door was quiet during most of the week with families and dogs and a few fisherman and obviously it is a favorite place for the local surfers on the weekends. We spent lots of time on the beach watching the sun rise, playing and walking in the sand and just kicking back and relaxing by the ocean. There were even spots where sea turtle nests were being protected right down toward the Rodanthe pier and we had our own private family of little beach frogs that came to visit under the porch lights every night—very cool.

We took a few short trips up to Nags Head/Kitty Hawk where there is a big Harris Teeter grocery (there are others much closer but we were up there anyway), flew kites on the quiet beach and up on top of Jockey’s Ridge dunes and took the ferry one day to Ocrocoke Island to see the village, the “wild” ponies and the lighthouse.

There were still plenty of things close by that we even try to do since we wanted to relax, But should your group be inclined, there were places to rent dune buggies, take kiteboard lessons, rent bikes, buy camping and fishing stuff all pretty much right around the corner. Besides, we had to save a few things for next time since we can’t wait to come back for our next visit.

You can’t help but slow down and enjoy yourself on one of the most beautiful, quiet getaway spots in NC’s OBX. The owners were great and really wanted to make sure everything was in place for us and were willing to answer any and all questions we had along the way. We hope you enjoy your stay here as much as we enjoyed ours.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Beautiful house, 1 minute walk to beach

Review submitted: September 16, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

We would highly recommend this rental to anyone. This was a lovely location and a spacious well maintained home. It took us 1 minute to walk down to the beach, which we enjoyed doing a few times per day. It was nice to be able to run back to the house easily to grab snacks, drinks, etc...

There were restaurants and shopping nearby, but not too much congestion which we enjoyed. We were easily able to do a day trip to Ocracoke island and Hatteras lighthouse from this location, both of which we highly recommend doing.

The kitchen was fully stocked so you can easily just bring food/spices and start cooking without hauling cooking equipment. The house had wifi which was fast and great to have in the evening times. There was also an outdoor screened in dining area where you could enjoy the outdoors without the bugs !

All in all a fantastic trip and a great house !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love the close beach access and that's one of the many reasons we picked this home. Thank you for your review.

Sincerely Jonathan and Wendy Meyer

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

August Dream vacation

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

This was my families 1st visit to the Outer Banks and we couldn't have been more pleased. The house was wonderful including all necessities necessary for a worry free vacation! The owners were wonderful always promptly getting back to me with any questions I had. The beach was so close and VERY beautiful! After getting to know the Outer Banks better I'm so glad we stayed in Rodanthe. Everything you need but not a busy, crowded place. There are many great restaurants close by and even a fresh seafood market up the street! I would recommend this house to anyone looking for a relaxing get a way and it's VERY family friendly!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review we try to make our home very cozy and hope you will return next year.
Sincerly Jonathan and Wendy Meyer

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review