reviews for: listing #105925 - Whidbey Island, Washington House rental

Playhouse on Penn Cove
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $180 - $200 /nt
    $1,260 - $1,400 /wk

sort by:

Memorial Day weekend with friends!

Review submitted: May 29, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Playhouse! It's a beautiful home with views of the mountains and water - so peaceful. The house was roomy even with 4 couples, a 5 month old and a dog! So close to Coupeville, we took in the Saturday farmers market and Memorial Day parade. It was a short walk down the hill to the beach - but if you have trouble with hills, you may want to make the short drive as driveway is fairly steep. Other items you may want to bring - tin foil, plastic wrap, extra paper towels and trash bags. Overall - it was a great house for our weekend with friends!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A retreat for writers

Review submitted: January 15, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

My friends and I stayed at the Penn Cove Playhouse while attending a writers' conference at the Captain Whidbey Inn. The Playhouse was fully stocked with everything we needed to make meals and relax (although there was not much time to do that!) And being January, we weren't able to enjoy the deck and bbq, but I would highly recommend this place for families and small groups.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

New Year's family reunion

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 30, 2013

We are family of ten, including 5 kids. This was the perfect house for an enjoyable New Years family getaway. Beautiful house with plenty of room in a beautiful location. Lots of games for all ages.
Thank you.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We are so happy to hear that the house was filled with holiday cheer at the New Year! This is a place for just that....

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Perfect Thanksgiving!

Review submitted: December 11, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

We just spent an absolutely perfect Thanksgiving! The house was extremely clean, spacious and well laid out. We had 5 adults, 2 children and an enormous dog, and had plenty of room to spare. The kitchen is great for cooking with multiple cooks. There was more than enough seating for meals and for hanging out in the living room. Lots of board games, kids toys, musical instruments and magazines for entertainment. Very private lot, and the kids enjoyed the treehouse in the yard. The beach is just a short walk away. The views from the beach are stunning. If you are fussy about such things, bring your own knives. Otherwise, I can't think of a thing that was missing. Take a flashlight if you need to walk the dog at night -- it is dark out there! Theresa was very accommodating, and returned out deposit right away. We will absolutely be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Better than expected!

Review submitted: November 19, 2013   Date of arrival: November 15, 2013

My family and I rented the Playhouse this past weekend for a men's retreat and had a wonderful time! There something for everyone, which we all thought would be more difficult than it turned out to be. Our party included a 13 yo and men in their 20s, 30s, 40s and 60s and every single one of us left impressed. We will certainly be coming back in the future. Thanks again!

Owners response: We were honored to be the location for the 13th birthday celebration for a young man and his male family members and are even happier that a good time was had by all! What a lovely gift this boys mother gave him, secretly knowing she would have loved to come spend a weekend on the Island herself, but understanding it was a "Man's weekend"...

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Recent stay for Girls Retreat

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: October 24, 2013

Beautiful home. Great for our group of 8 ladies to share a girly weekend. The walk to the beach was slightly longer than we expected, but the beach itself and the walk there were beautiful. Coupeville was close by and demands a second visit. The home was not as clean as other rentals I've used in the past (e.g., expired items in the refrigerator, sticky on kitchen counters). Also the kitchen was not as fully stocked as one would hope in terms of basic items such as a large salad bowl for large group, kitchen garbage bags, aluminum foil, plastic wrap, wine glasses, larger casserole dish, etc. Our group made due and enjoyed a lovely retreat. Loved the cozy fireplace and family room for lounging and chatting. Would have loved a music player in which to plug our MP3 players, but enjoyed the home's selection of CDs, especially Dad's mixes. Thanks to the home owners for sharing their beautiful property.

Owners response: It is nice that this particular guest decided to review the home twice and rephrase all her concerns, but as the manger I was present on the last cleaning and there are several casserole dishes in the cupboard, a very large salad bowl and more than a dozen wine glasses. There is a drawer with foil and other plastic products (possibly mistaken by this guest as a junk drawer) and the additional garbage bags are under the ones in the can and have never been undiscovered before. I am glad that this group enjoyed their stay overall and understand that pleasing people completely is not always possible 100% of the time. We appreciate the feedback when constructive, and are sad when some people are unable to find simple solutions in a fully equipped and stocked home, albeit not their own familiar environment.
The beach is a 5 minute walk and is posted private property so that people other than residents and guests cannot enjoy it. We have supplied a wagon for children to ride to the shore and a rolling ice chest just in case...

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Beautiful island home

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: October 24, 2013

I stayed at this property with a group of girlfriends for a weekend getaway. First impressions were wonderful. The property is beautiful and finishing are nice and in good shape. Getting into the house was easy and exactly as described, which is always appreciated.
The beach is a short walk away. There was a big no tresspassing sign on the beach but after some discussion we decided it must be for the use of the local people or it would have been mentioned in the description.
While at the house we walked into town and shopped in the quaint stores on the waterfront. There is a nice selection of various shops to explore. If you go, be sure to walk out on the pier to the coffee shop. They make a great latte and have a nice selection of local products. We also visited Fort Ebey which has some great hiking trails, fantastic view of the sound and some cool bunkers to explore.
I was in the loft with the king bed & futon and two other people. It was spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. I was glad that I brought my own pillow because the ones provided were a bit thick for me - but that is strictly a personal preference. The bathroom in that room has the beautiful jetted tub, just be prepared that, although it has a hand held shower head, there is no actual shower and it takes a little practice to wash with the hand held shower without soaking the rest of the room as there isn't any type of curtain.
There were a few things that if I were the owner I would want to know, so I could address the appropriate people. The expectation when staying in a vacation rental is that the home will be clean and not feel like it's been occupied, so the open cereal boxes in the pantry and other used foodstuffs was a little off putting. We also cleared a bunch of expired condiments from the refrigerator. The house itself was clean on the surface but really needed a good housekeeping - lots of spiderwebs, dirty drawers in the bathrooms we even found an eaten bowl of carmel corn in a nightstand. There are three junk drawers in the kitchen which seems really odd - and again adds to the occupied feel. Finally the coffee maker is super slow, taking more than 20 minutes to brew a pot of coffee.
I gave the property 4 stars because of the feeling that we had that it was occupied - not the fresh new feel that we've come to expect. Overall we had a wonderful time and I would definitly recommend this property.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: This is one of the busiest vacation rentals in Coupeville on Whidbey Island and generally has a 4 hour window between guests. It is the second home for some very wonderful people that choose to share instead of lock it and leave it...They have belongings, food, tools, junk drawers and many items that are necessary when they are visiting. The home is warm and inviting and far from sterile. It is a happy place for gathering with friends.
The jacuzzi tub is not designed to be a shower, it has a wand for rinsing and should never be used as a stand up shower as the walls are not waterproof...I find it odd that that did not register.
We enjoy managing the home so that it can be shared and enjoyed by all....

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great getaway!

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

My friends and I stayed at the Playhouse this past weekend while we were attending a wedding in Coupeville. We had an amazing time! The house was perfect for our group: clean, organized, comfortable, with games in the closet :) The setting was absolutely gorgeous as it is nestled in the trees with a view of the water. The owners were incredibly helpful and made sure we would be taken care of even though they were going to be out of town at the time. I would highly recommend the Playhouse for your Whidbey Island getaway! We are keeping this one bookmarked for our next trip!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Playhouse on Penn Cove

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 28, 2013

The house was very lovely and welcoming; it felt like we were staying in a beautiful treehouse. It was great for all of us to have our own space as an adult family. The weather wasn't very good but we didn't care. We cooked together and played lots of games. We hope to return in the future. Thanks so much.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: So glad this lovely family had a great time and especially appreciated the communications pre and post visit...Hope to see you again!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Quiet Getaway

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

We enjoyed our stay over a holiday weekend, with our extended family. The beach was close by and great for shells and such, but with our toddler granddaughters we were looking for a more sandy beach, so we didn't spend much time there. There were things for the girls to play with, and our adult children loved playing the trivia games out on the deck into the late night! Everything was basically supplied, and plenty of room for all. Beautiful views of Mt. Baker from the deck. Loved the fire pit. Therese was responsive, quickly answering any questions. I would recommend this property to a family or anyone looking for a quiet getaway. Received our deposit back promptly - thank you for a great weekend!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Relaxing and comfortable home

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

We had a wonderful 3-day weekend at the Penn Cove Playhouse with our 2 sons, their wives and 3 grandchildren. There was plenty of space for everyone, and the kids loved the big yard and woods to explore (with a slide). It's very secluded, with lots of privacy and scenery. A deer even paid us a visit. The beach is about a 10 minute walk down a rather steep driveway and several streets....but it's well worth it, especially during low tide. The kids had so much fun exploring the tide pools, identifying clams, crabs, starfish, snails, sand dollars and snails. We also had a great time at the local county fair in Langley....we didn't realize it was going on that weekend until we arrived, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. It's a very short drive into Coupeville, which is a quaint, little town with a nice pier. The Penn Cove mussels (world famous) were excellent at Christopher's. All-in-all, this is a great home for a vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great Family Reunion

Review submitted: August 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

We had a great time at this rental property. The views were immaculate, and the kids had fun running around the yard and enjoying nature. We shared the home well among four couples and lots of littles. A great place to stay in or get out. We enjoyed a trip to nearby Fort Casey and the lighthouse close by. We found the local grocery, a Red Apple Market to have a good selection, although we did bring most of our food from Costco... The home seemed well stocked, as there were only a few things we felt we could have used. (tinfoil and Ziploc bags, for example.) The rooms were all wonderfully clean and ready for us on arrival. The one dislike we stumbled upon was a very open bathroom window on the main floor, lacking a sorely needed window covering. The owners were great to work with, and we had a lovely time as a family. Thank you again! We would happily stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great family stay

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

We celebrated our anniversary here with our kids, mom and grandsons. The house was exactly as we had hoped....comfortable for our 4-generation family, with a spectacular deck, yard and view. We had memorable meals around the large table, walked to the beach and played frisbee in the large yard. All enjoyed both together and private time. Wish we could come every weekend. Owners were very responsive to our inquiries.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Aren't our guests kind?

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family Getaway and Graduation Celebration (Seven adults, three kids and three dogs)

Review submitted: June 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

This was, quite simply, one of the best mini-vacations we have ever had. To be sure, having four consecutive days of sunshine in Seattle helped a lot, but the home and location were key. Everything the owners have said about the property and the other glowing reviews are totally accurate (except for the one jerk who complained about aircraft noise, which was not a problem). I would add that for retired (or active duty, for that matter) should be made aware of the easy access to the NAS Whidbey Island Base Exchange and Commissary. Both are located in Oak Harbor, an east drive from Coupeville. They are both quite large and extremely well stocked. The fire pit was the center of evening activity and greatly enjoyed. There are more games and toys than you could ever need and the kitchen is extremely well equipped. One consideration for families with small children is the walk to the beach. Going down is quick and easy, but there is a fairly steep climb back up. With small, tired and cranky kids you might wish you had driven down, even that short distance. The nice thing is that there is easy access to parking right next to the beach, so it is easy to do. We will definitely be looking to come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We have the best guests!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Gorgeous place, very close to air force base

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: April 9, 2013

Beautiful place! I chose it to visit with my parents while they were in town. We stayed here for three nights. The beach is gorgeous, the place very comfortably furnished. We had a full house - four adults, two dogs & our one year old baby with us. Unfortunately as soon as we arrived Air Force planes started flying right over the tips of the trees making incredibly loud noises. Our son was terrified and couldn't take any of his regular naps or fall asleep at night until the planes were done for the day (9:30pm - three hours after one son's regular bed time; they were flying for a total of 6.5 hrs that day). I decided to document this experience for other families with small children as the description of the property doesn't mention anything about such proximity to the airport. I emailed the owner in April requesting that a portion of our fee be reimbursed given this experience and that we simply weren't able to enjoy our first day there, however this was the only email she has not responded to in my several email exchanges pertaining to this rental. Again, otherwise a beautiful place and an amazing beach.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Future guests....please do not let this review confuse you...We have been almost fully booked for 2 Summers and this is the first time anyone has given us less than 5 stars. It is unusual that small children are not part of every group so hearing that this child's nap was disturbed does not concern me deeply.
First of all, poor dear, it is the Navy, not the Air Force, and second of all, it is a Naval Air Station, there will be planes.
The flight patterns vary but sometimes increase before a deployment and cannot be monitored. We have never had a complaint before and without throwing stones back, I will not comment on anything relating to their stay or the condition the home was left in so the thought of a refund was just ludicrous...Sadly there is always one in every crowd.....

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Family Bonding

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

Our big family of 10 had the most awesome time. This home has everything for a fun-filled time. There are tons of games and when we found that our game had dried up play dough, guess what. There was even soft squishy play dough available in the kids activity basket so we could continue our game. Our baby grandson loved the beautiful hardwood floors for sliding. The house has so many lovely and
unique paintings and decorations that it is a good thing we are an honest bunch and sadly had to leave them behind. There was plenty of room for sleeping and the beds were super comfy. We really enjoyed the spacious kitchen and dining area that accommodated al of us comfortably. The owners were right
on top of all the details for our visit. John and Therese made our stay a vacation to remember. You will have the time of your life if you stay at the Playhouse at Penn Cove. We certainly did!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: More happy people!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

family gathering

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 2, 2013

All was as it should be when one arrives with a mixed bag of family members. The home was as it was presented and easy to find.
The grill on the deck and the awesome gas kitchen stove made cooking a joy for the lot of us.
From the cute play house and lookout platform , for the grand children to be on their own and still be observed from the house, to the quiet back yard to get away from the crowd ..all great. Beautiful vistas and the quiet whisper of trees.Parking was perfect.The easy 10min walk to the beach was wonderful. Enough distance to get all the sand off the kids. Beds comfortable and rooms relatively sound proof. Our son in law wants to know when we're going back. We did not miss having a hot tub. We walked to town , ate ice-cream, visited the wharf and walked the beach back to the house. There was a market in the park , we drove to a number of state parks, some of the guests biked the paths and others golfed.There was no excuse to be bored. A great place to go with a few or many.
Very dog friendly.We recommend it in a heart beat. We don't want too many people to know about it so it will be available for us when we want it. Owners were understanding and cooperative if we were in need or had any questions. A good time was had by all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Lovely people!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

family gathering

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 2, 2013

All was as it should be when one arrives with a mixed bag of family members. The home was as it was presented and easy to find.
The grill on the deck and the awesome gas kitchen stove made cooking a joy for the lot of us.
From the cute play house and lookout platform , for the grand children to be on their own and still be observed from the house, to the quiet back yard to get away from the crowd ..all great. Beautiful vistas and the quiet whisper of trees.Parking was perfect.The easy 10min walk to the beach was wonderful. Enough distance to get all the sand off the kids. Beds comfortable and rooms relatively sound proof. Our son in law wants to know when we're going back. We did not miss having a hot tub. We walked to town , ate ice-cream, visited the wharf and walked the beach back to the house. There was a market in the park , we drove to a number of state parks, some of the guests biked the paths and others golfed.There was no excuse to be bored. A great place to go with a few or many.
Very dog friendly.We recommend it in a heart beat. We don't want too many people to know about it so it will be available for us when we want it. Owners were understanding and cooperative if we were in need or had any questions. A good time was had by all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: We have had so many great gatherings in the last 5 seasons at the Playhouse on Penn Cove. We love to hear some of the fun details and really appreciate that all our guests have had a wonderful time sharing this big beautiful home!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

awesome

Review submitted: April 28, 2013   Date of arrival: April 21, 2013

the lay out & design of this place is so stylish & practical. great interior design taste! had "lots" of thoughtful amenities. we all had kitchen envy! great view & nice secluded location. will definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Awesome!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great stay!!

Review submitted: March 2, 2013   Date of arrival: February 24, 2013

This is a beautiful and spacious home -- very comfortable and had everything to make the stay fun and relaxing. We enjoyed the views, walks to the beach and close proximity to town and parks. Also very dog friendly which was a big additional plus... We highly recommend this house and would love to come back!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly

Owners response: We have the best guests, and are very grateful for their appreciation of our home and the Island....

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a Great Find!

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2012

From the moment you head up the tree-lined driveway, this elegant, well-built, immaculate home says, "Come in, come in, make yourselves at home!" The beds are incredibly comfortable, there are floor lamps for reading in the ample living room chairs (bless you!), two+ people can prep in the kitchen and the whole place is cozy and warm during a fall squall. Lots of board games for kids of all ages. We enjoyed taking our morning coffees out to the deck to watch the sunrise. The beach is perfect for dogs -- mostly sand and lots of sticks -- AND most of the sand will fall off their paws during the brief walk back to the house. A perfect kayak put-in as well. Bring extra presto/java logs so that you can burn one in the morning, too. You'll find anything you need at Ken's Korner (a Red Apple market). Managers Therese and John were friendly and very helpful. We were very comfortable here, and recommend it highly. What a great find. As with any VRBO home, we happily bring along our own chef's knives.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Wedding Gathering

Review submitted: December 2, 2012   Date of arrival: November 16, 2012

This was an ideal place for our family to meet, eat, play, sleep, and have fun together! We were able to entertain our son's fiance' family after our entire family arrived (our son and his fiance had prepared everything ahead of time in the well-supplied kitchen); there was plenty of room for everyone! They even had a laundry basket full of toys for the 2 very young children we had with us!! We would recommend this location to anyone who is considering it -- the deposit was returned within a week. Our only wish is that we could have stayed longer, and enjoyed the outdoors more since we had to be at nearby Greenbank Farm for the wedding most of Saturday! Thank you so much!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: More happy people!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Place!

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

This place was even better than expected. The very spacious home housed everyone comfortably. The property is beautiful, well maintained and a short 5 min walk to the beach. We all had a great time.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: So glad to hear you were happy!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pleasantly Surprised

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

We had a big group with 5 adults and 4 kids and everyone had a great time. There was plenty of room to move around and the house is very clean and spacious so each family had their own space. The surrounding area and proximity to Coupeville make it an ideal property to feel like you are secluded but really only a short car ride to town. The beach is just a short walk away and we had nice weather even in October. The kids loved the big Jacuzzi tub upstairs and the kitchen was well stocked with any item you might need to prepare a nice meal for your family. We enjoyed out stay there and will probably make a return trip next year during the summer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Whidbey "Retreat" House Yet

Review submitted: September 21, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

Our group of 6 was blown away by the comfort and elegance of this home. Everything is beautifully maintained, no musty smell (like so many rentals), comfy beds, and TONS of room for everyone to relax and enjoy the quiet setting. Sun flows into the nicely designed kitchen while you cook breakfast and on clear days you get a great view of Mt. Baker through the trees.

Thank you for sharing your gorgeous home with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Playhouse on Penn Cove

Review submitted: September 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

Wonderful home with all the amenities. Peaceful, beautiful surroundings!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely home, wonderful vacation

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

We had 5 adults and 4 children stay here and it was just perfect. The house is so warm and open...very inviting. Loved the furnishings and available amenities (bonus: the kitchen came stocked with quite a few condiments :-)). I was impressed with how child-friendly it was...they had several baby gates available as well as games, toys and movies. The kids also enjoyed the hammock and campfire we had out back. The stroll to the beach was lovely. We also did a day-trip up to Ebey State Park for some hiking and water play. Couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay for our family get-together! Also the security deposit was quickly refunded after our stay. Thanks John and Therese!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great stay on Whidbey!

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

Our party (two couples with one toddler each) stayed at the Playhouse on Penn Cove the last weekend in June. It was the perfect spot for a weekend getaway! The home was great for a group- lots of comfy couches; a big, very well equipped, open kitchen; the big deck with the grill; and the bedrooms are laid out to give space and privacy to everyone. We all loved the hammock and the huge windows with great views. We got up-close visits by woodpeckers and a beautiful hawk- our kids were thrilled! The owners, Therese and John, couldn't have been more accomodating, and our damage deposit was in the mail the day we left- impressive turnaround! We're already checking our calendar to plan another trip soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stellar accommodations

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

Spacious and luxurious Pacific Northwest abode with all the comforts of home. Stunning ocean view from deck and picture windows. Forested lot is lush and beautifully landscaped. Short walk from clean, quiet beach. Impressive selection of games but surround sound with iPod dock would have been appreciated. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Exceeded Expectations

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2012

This beautiful home is nestled in the woods but minutes from the beach. It is an exceptional home in every way. The photos sold us on this property but the reality was even more dazzling --especially the spacious open floor plan and the views. In addition, the treehouse for the kids was a huge hit --we did not see them for hours! We highly recommend this home for families with children. It was perfect.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely House!

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 20, 2012

Friends and I stayed at this property for an extended weekend in June. The property was wonderfully outfitted with all the amenties of home with pleny of sleeping space for our guests and 3 dogs. It happened to be a wretched weekend weather wise, but the fireplace combined with the spacious accomodations made for a wonderful weekend despite the rain. Beach access was close, view was amazing, house was very clean and comfortable. The only thing I could add to make this a better place would be a hot tub! We will be coming back in August, can't wait!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Can't wait to return!

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

We surprised my mother and stayed for Mothers Day weekend. 5 adults and a baby so much room for us all. We could have brought more family! Everyone had such a fun and relaxing time. We loved the view of the water from the deck and easy access to the beach. Owner is very helpful, house is very clean and well maintained. I have to agree the pics don't do it justice. Favorite rental to date. Hopefully we will be able to return soon. Thanks for having us and making it a memorable Mothers Day.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Penn Cove

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed here with another family and 2 dogs for a long weekend. The house was large and nicely done. The view is beautiful, and it was a close walk to the beach. The firepit was a big hit! We had a great time and are already making plans to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Kevin

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

"We so enjoyed this charming, clean house that allowed for both private time, with plenty of lovely bedrooms, and communal family space with lots of fun board games. The open truss ceiling design gives the home a spacious feeling allowing for conversation while preparing meals and lovely views while dining. Our three days in this beautiful home were filled with cooking, exploring Coupeville and Langely, wine tasting, and relaxing in this restful atmosphere. Our dogs loved to explore the outdoors or to simply lay in the yard. We’ve stayed at many homes in the last few years and this is one of our favorites!"

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A lovely place to stay!

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 22, 2012

We stayed for 3 days in this lovely, well-maintained home. There was plenty of space for 4 adults and 4 kids, and the place is really well laid-out. The common areas are cozy and great for hanging out. Lots of thoughtful touches, including games and toys for the kids, a well-stocked kitchen, and miscellaneous child-proofing equipment. As described, a short walk to a lovely beach as well as a short drive to Coupeville. We hope to come back later in the summer.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Play and Delight house!!

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

This wonderfull house in the woods andover the water had everything we needed to play and delight with family ,friends and kids!. The place is even better than the photos show, full of space and light, and full equiped to the smallest detail. Although you can feel that you are alone in the woods with a view over the sea , you have the charming Coupeville nearby for everything you need!! Thanks againTherese and Jonh for such a homely and profesional treatment!, WE WILL COME BACK!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We are so pleased that our very first guests had such a wonderful time and hope that as the months and new arrivals pass through we will be able to make the home even more inviting...

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review