reviews for: listing #106020 - Berkeley, California House rental

Berkeley Original Craftsman Style 2-Story Home
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Lorin District
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $180 - $215 /nt
    $1,400 - $1,400 /wk
    $4,000 - $4,000 /mth

sort by:

Pleasant stay in Berkeley

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 8, 2013

My family and I spent one week in august in this nice house. The owners wellcomed us kindly, and instructed us thoroughly in all things about the place. It´s very well furnished, with confy bedrooms, pleasant living room, kitchen, and back yard.
We enjoyed a lot our vacation, it´s a pity we could´t stay more time!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: My husband and I are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our house. We always try to give our guests a detailed tour so they can be comfortable that they know their way around all the house idiosyncrasies before we give it over to them.

We very happy we could meet the whole family, and have them be able to leisurely check out the Berkeley area where their daughter will be a visiting student this whole next year at UCB.

We also wish you could have stayed longer. You were the perfect guests.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely home

Review submitted: July 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

This home is exactly as presented in the pictures. The owners not only were very responsive when I felt a need to call them, they were actually appreciative! The backyard is wonderful and our 4 year old grandson loved playing in it. The house is about a 10 minute walk from the Ashby Bart station a d my daughter and son-in-law used it frequently.

My husband and I shared the house with my daughter and her family and we did not feel crowded in any way.

An added advantage for us was that my older granddaughter who lives in B erkeley could walk to the house after her day at ballet camp!

For anyone like us who has family living in Berkeley this house is a wonderful alternative to a hotel.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Excellent for graduation

Review submitted: May 25, 2013   Date of arrival: May 15, 2013

Eileen's house is really quite lovely, very old school Berkeley. The garden is peaceful, and while it is a short ride from campus craziness, it is not in it.
It was perfect for graduation and running to the stores on the westside for food and drink. I had originally regretted that we were not on the eastside, but gee it worked out well. Guests could park. Very quiet. Lovely neighbors. And unlike so much of Berkeley, we could leave a case of wine in the car as we unloaded the vehicle without losing it. Try that anywhere east of Shattuck.
The cab ride to Ashby Bart was $7.00 with tip, and we went to a museum exhibit and a Giants game as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We were very happy that the renters enjoyed their stay at our Berkeley Craftsman Style home. We also appreciate the solidness of the construction of our house — over 106 years old.

We acknowledge that our renters had very similar responses to the location of our property as we do. It is near the university and Telegraph Avenue exuberance but it is not part of it. And yet the convenience of our location for your everyday needs is wonderful.

The BART and freeways are easily accessible. The Ashby BART is actually 5 blocks, about a 10 minute walk.

We look forward to you considering our house for your future vacation.

Best,
Eileen Starr Moderbacher

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guests from Hometown Berkeley on way to England

Review submitted: January 12, 2013   Date of arrival: September 2, 2012

We stayed at Eileen and Johannes' house for 2 weeks in September. It was impeccably clean and well maintained as shown in the pictures. It was also spacious and equipped with everything we needed. The backyard was a treat for warm nights. It felt like staying at our parent's house. Within walking distance were fabulous farmer's market, as well as cafes and grocery stores.

If you want to see more of the bay area, BART is about 10 minutes walk away. Last but not least, Eileen and Johannes were wonderful host and went out of their ways to accommodate our family of 3. They were very prompt in their responses as well. We would highly recommend their place to anyone who wants to experience Berkeley like a local. You won't be disappointed.

Regards,
Hee Soo and Chad

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guests from Connecticut

Review submitted: January 12, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

We have stayed at Eileen's house for 9 nights in December over the Holidays. This was a last minute arrangement but she was very prompt and helpful when responding to our questions and requests. On our arrival she and her husband greeted us, gave us a tour of the house and then left us to our own devices but were always a phone call away in case we needed something - perfect arrangement. The house is wonderful, bright, spacious and clean, the neighborhood beautiful, perfect for long walks. 10 minute drive gets you to whatever shops, restaurants or services you need. The list would be to long to post here. Just two examples of places that we were happy to discover: for beautiful sea level views of the whole Bay go to the Cesar Chavez Park at the end of the University Ave and for Hungarian style pastries head to Crixa Cakes coffee shop at 2748 Adeline St (a 10-15 min walk from the house). Once again, we had a very pleasant stay at the house and the hosts were great! We strongly recommend their house for your next visit to the Bay Area.

Kasia and Ted

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guests from Bulgaria

Review submitted: January 12, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2009

We all thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your hospitality and excellent accommodations. You truly contributed to us experiencing California and the USA in a quite incredible and unforgetable way. We really felt at home away from home in your wonderful house. Even though we never met in person (some of us) we could feel your spirit in your home — calming and recharging.

Again, thank you for your accommodation, flexibility and consideration that made our stay amazing and very special. We wish you all the best and good health for many years to come.

Happy New Year 2009 for all of us!

Best,
Familia Trandevi and Familia Georgievi

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guests from Virginia

Review submitted: January 12, 2013   Date of arrival: December 18, 2009

Fabulous. Extra Appreciated: enough light to read by at night, the ukelele, and the games. We especially enjoyed the German Trivial Pursuit — though none of us speak German, it was great for a lot of laughs! Thanks for sharing this lovely place with us—
Best, Steve, Barb, Zack, Lydia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guests from NY

Review submitted: January 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 13, 2010

Thank you so much for a WONDERFUL week in your home. We were in Berkeley for our son's wedding and your accommodations and location were perfect! Best of Luck to you and your home in the future.

Best Regards,
Pat and Frank

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review