reviews for: listing #106244 - Orange Beach, Alabama Condo rental

Phoenix X 1517
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Phoenix X
  • sleeps  15
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $350 - $600 /nt
    $2,100 - $3,600 /wk

sort by:

Disappointed in the Gulf

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: January 12, 2014

I found this unit to be "oversold". While the photos are exceptional, the actual unit was not. The furniture desperately needs to be updated (you sink on the sofa and chairs, one bed had a side broken down, the master bed was lumpy, soft, and the frame squeaked every time you moved.) The dishes were terrible - no descent pans to cook in, and those that were there had been put away with food on them. The shower curtain in the front bedroom was black with mold. The floors were dirty - dust bunnies under the beds and grit on the floor - after a shower, you had to put on shoes to keep your feet clean. There were no instructions for using the TV and sound system, and the DVD player did not have any cables connecting it to the unit! The chairs in the dining area were wobbly - we had to tighten the legs so we didn't fall. There were two plastic chairs on ONE balcony - none on the master. The balcony table was plastic and had only 3 legs. We called the iTrip and they immediately sent someone over to check the lights that didn't work and to reclean the oven. None of the remote controls had batteries, and someone came over 10 hours later with a case of batteries. These little details should have been checked before ANYONE stayed there. Only good thing - great view. Overall - we will not stay here ever again!

Owners response: We appreciate the feedback! Unfortunately, we were not notified of any housekeeping issues or problems with the unit during the stay. The dishes in the unit are new. They were purchased in December. We have also replaced the pots and pans since this stay. We have purchased new balcony furniture to include a sitting area with small love seat, two chairs and small table. There is also a brand new huge dining table with eight chairs and three lounge chairs have been ordered as well.

We certainly strive for our units to look and feel like your home away from home. Unfortunately, unless we are informed of these issues during the stay, we cannot address them.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Had a great time!

Review submitted: March 15, 2013   Date of arrival: January 24, 2013

Thank you for letting us rent the unit! We had a great time except for the rain. Being next door to the Flora Bama was perfect! We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Large and Very Nice Space

Review submitted: March 14, 2013   Date of arrival: January 9, 2013

Great views. Condo was very nice and had a lot or room. Had nice furniture and hardwood styled tile flooring. Very pleasant to deal with. look forward to going there again. This place was awesome, and the condo was very clean and had all amenities needed. A+++

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect for our large family!

Review submitted: March 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

The unit was perfect for our large family of 12! We had enough space to move around and for everyone to have their own space. As the rental company said in the responses below, the unit has been updated. All of the carpet has been taken out and replaced with tile. It was a great family vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Disappointed

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

This was our 2nd family reunion here. Many problems this time--I should have read review from Renter T from Jackson MS!! Had to wear shoes constantly as our feet turned black on bottom from filthy floors! Have pictures of feet after just a few minutes on floors! Both sofa beds had food, etc. and dirty blankets in them when pulled out to use, water faucet on one shower kept falling off, no kitchen towels or dishcloths, no can opener that would work, towel bar off wall in bath, garbage disposal wouldn't work, bar stools very wobbly. When I talked with management, they claim they responded to things we called about and not enough cleaning problems--I think filthy floors indicate poor cleaning). Also said they responded to our claims--guess I should have called about everything but I really didn't want to constantly call and doubt they would have come to scrub the floors. We were wanting to enjoy our family and our time together! Think the owners of condo would want it taken care of better.

Owners response: It was reported to us that there were no kitchen dish towels. We took those to her. She also reported that there were two manual can openers and neither of them worked. A new can opener was delivered within an hour and a half. Unfortunately, that was not fast enough for her. There were a few maintenance issues that she had which were all taken care of very quickly others from her review were not reported to us until six days after her departure.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Renter

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

We rented this condo last Thanksgiving. The owner and management company were great; any problems or issues we had were addressed promptly and a nice manner. Unfortunately, this Thanksgiving was not the same. The condo was filthy, and several things were broken. The new management company did not respond in a timely manner. Once they did respond, they were rude. After several days and many phone conversations, the condo was finally cleaned. The condo size and location are great; however, the new management company and the condition of the condo were not.

Owners response: Unfortunately, this guest did have several issues during the first part of her stay. We did work hard to try and rectify these situations as quickly as possible. Housekeeping was sent back to the unit on several different occasions to do whatever the guest needed. We refunded not only her cleaning fee and processing fee but also 25% of her rent (which totaled over $800.)

The unit has new bedding in every room. The carpet is also being replaced with tile in December.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful condo with amazing view!

Review submitted: September 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 5, 2012

My family and I stayed here for my birthday! The condo had a large layout and plenty of space and very nice interior. For my family it was the most convient location that we have ever stayed at. We will for sure be back to stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

our week at phoenix X

Review submitted: September 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Very nice condo for our group. Only lacking in kitchen towels.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The most gorgeous view possible

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

We took the whole family (6 adults and 4 children) to this condo for a week. The view is breathtaking and you can see the bay area as well as the glorious Gulf of Mexico. My only complaint is that the kitchen needs upgrading in the pots and pans and carpet cleaning is needed. The destination offers so much and it's all at the location - great beach, swimming pools outside and inside, grills. Our four grandchildren did it all - boogie boarding, kite flying, sand crabbing, shelling, banana boating, jet skiing, dolphin cruising, and more. We had lots of privacy and space to spread out. All four grandsons want to move there permanently.

If you plan to cook, The Publix is really expensive compared to the Walmart down the road. The Publix deli options are really good though by comparison.

If you are flying in, go into Pensacola. We flew into Mobile to save money and regretted it. It's a long drive and the speed limits are 55 most of the way.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent accomodations ... couldn't have been bettter!

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We have just returned from an incredible time at Unit 1517 at Phoenix 10 and we could not have asked for anything more. Gordon was a great help with our rental. We were a group of 12 ... four (4) adults and eight (8) JUST GRADUATED high school seniors. It was an awesome experience. The condo was beautiful and perfect for our group. Everyone had plenty of space. The stand alone ice maker made staying hydrated on the beach so much easier! We also enjoyed kayaking with "Paddled by You" kayaks ... made for a great adventure. Thank you, Gordon, for such a lovely place to call home for six wonderful days! It was awesome.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Condo

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

Just got back from a wonderful five night stay in this unit. Highly recommend! Access to beach and all other amenities is outstanding! We had seven in our group and with the size of the unit, it never felt cramped. We will be using this condo again!!

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GREAT PLACE

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

The condo is one of the best we have stayed at. The location is great and the condo offers so much room for a large group!! Will for sure stay here again!!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent!

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 9, 2012

My friends and I have been to this lovely penthouse twice now. It's definitely large enough for 15 or more people! The kitchen is very nice and spacious, and every appliance you'd need is included in the room. The room contains great views from the top floor of the Phoenix X of the beach and of the bay area. I definitely plan on staying again next year, too!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Penthouse condo at Phoenix X

Review submitted: December 31, 2011   Date of arrival: December 25, 2011

Our family of 3 sons and their families just had a wonderful Christmas vacation at this fabulous condo. Plenty of room so we each had our privacy and great kitchen and family area for meals and being together. The pictures and description in the listing are very accurate about the condo and location. The manager is very helpful to make sure you have everything you need. The only thing I would suggest is that it could use a good "deep" cleaning of the carpet and cabinets in the bathrooms. Our family really hated to leave and would definitely stay there again if we got the opportunity!!! Beautiful views of the gulf!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 26, 2011

I recently had my bachelorette party here. This condo was by far beautiful! Huge and housed 13 people very comfortable. Master bedroom was so nice with its own balcony with a view. Excellent location! Not far from Wal-mart for groceries and if you want a close bar Florabama is next door and you can walk there! Beach was great and the pools were huge! Condo has everything you inside from a blender, to an ice meachine, to pots and pans! The owners are great and very nice! I loved it and I definitely will keep the owners info and get back in touch with him for future rentals.

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review