reviews for: listing #106267 - Beech Mountain, North Carolina House rental

Double the Fun - Two Homes in One
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Beech Mountain Club
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $175 /nt
    $740 - $880 /wk

sort by:

Very nice group getaway

Review submitted: August 13, 2014   Date of arrival: August 7, 2014

The place was really nice. The cabin is not handicap accessible, but that didn't matter for my group. It was big enough for 10 people but would have been more comfortable for 8.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: I am glad you found our home "really nice". It is small for a group of 10. We are simply trying to offer a low cost alternative. But yes, the house was only designed for a max of 8 people.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mountain retreat in the trees

Review submitted: May 20, 2014   Date of arrival: May 15, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights for a destination wedding that was held at the Beech Mountain Golf Club which was less than 1/2 mile away. Great location that provided relaxation and solitude.
Home is very comfortable with retro furnishings that make it feel very livable for a fantastic price. Having the downstairs level for our friend who accompanied us provided privacy but also the ability to connect when we desired. It is a wonderful area for hiking, bird watching and just plain relaxing on the decks. In the winter it would be ideal for those interested in skiing and other outdoor activities. It is close enough to drive to Banner Elk and Boone for meals if desired, but we chose to bring our own food to eat in when we were not participating in wedding activities. Would definitely stay there again if we return to the NC mountains.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am glad you thought the house was reasonably priced. I know it becomes expensive with extra fees added on, so I have not increased my prices since the house was listed and do not plan to in the future. I am also glad you like the retro furnishings and I plan to keep reinvesting in and updating the house. I agree, it is a relaxing place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great trip!

Review submitted: March 14, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

Our family of four enjoyed our long weekend at Beech Mountain. The home had plenty of space, a great fireplace, gorgeous deck, privacy and a neat layout allowing the kids to have their own space.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: I am glad you enjoyed staying at our home. We just made more improvements since you left - including a new front-loading washing machine, new arm chair for the upstairs living room, and new bear-proof trash bin outside. We have other improvements in the works and are looking forward to summer fun!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Doubled the fun at Double the Fun

Review submitted: February 17, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

We doubled our fun at Double the Fun! The home comfortably housed two families, both of us had twins. The home has a well-equipped kitchen upstairs which made it easy for us to feed both families. The two separate spaces were also great for the kids and adults to all feel like they had enough space for the three days. The skiing was great at Beech Mountain as there was a heavy snow fall the day before we arrived and we sure are glad we had 4WD and snow tires. Not sure we would have been able to get in and out without them. However, this made for AWESOME sledding around the home. Our children had so much fun and it was certainly the perfect weekend getaway for us all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Snow Skiing Vacation Getaway

Review submitted: February 6, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

This vacation home on Beech Mountain is perfect. The location only about two miles from the ski lifts, but you feel like you are in the country. The deer and turkey can be seen in the yard at anytime. The two levels with fireplaces provide plenty of space and privacy to relax after skiing. All of the comforts of home are ready for your group to enjoy. We will certainly come back next season.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Trip Ever

Review submitted: January 22, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

Two dads volunteered and took six sophomore boys for the weekend. The accommodations were great for separating the teenagers from their chaperons. The owner was very easy to work with. Kitty, the owner, got lift tickets and saved each person money. The boys said it was the best trip, ever!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for us!

Review submitted: January 17, 2014   Date of arrival: January 9, 2014

Our stay at Double the Fun was perfect for us! We loved that the lights were on and that it was already warm and cozy when we arrived in from the cold (they had -40 wind chill weather a few days before we arrived!) It was a quick 5 minute drive from the ski slopes and on Saturday when it rained most of the day, we had plenty to do at the house -watched movies on the Roku, played Monopoly, etc. My sister, who brought her dog, loved that it was so pet-friendly, with dog beds on both floors and a gate to keep them safe upstairs. The house was super clean and we look forward to renting it again next year and making this our annual family vacation!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thanks for the review! Our housekeeper is relatively expensive, but I think she is worth every penny, especially when I hear that the house was super clean and and your arrival was welcoming. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

beautiful house setup for relaxing vacation

Review submitted: December 28, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

House is nicely set up for 2 relaxing areas and owner very helpful in making sure everything was there that we needed. Lots of wildlife around, challenging as well as easy hikes within miles-we must have walked from the house at least 6 different ways for a nice walk, Ski Beech only 5 minutes away, private. Wifi and modern tv set ups

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: I am glad you were able to take advantage of the trail system that is being developed on Beech Mtn. It is truly becoming a four-season resort with something for everyone. I'm glad you had a relaxing vacation over the Holidays at our house as well.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family weekend

Review submitted: December 22, 2013   Date of arrival: December 20, 2013

My family just spent a wonderful weekend at this home in Beech Mt. The home had everything we needed. It was nestled high in the trees with plenty of windows so we could enjoy the view. We really liked the two levels of the home which allowed the college aged students room to watch movies without being disturbed. The ski slope was near by and even though it was an unusually warm weekend the slopes were in pretty good shape. The owner was great to work with and went out of her way to meet our needs. We look forward to visiting here again maybe in the spring or fall. Although we didn't take our dogs with us this trip, there were accommodations for them.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: I am glad you enjoyed your stay despite the weather. Since it rained the last day, I was concerned about the slope conditions. I have since found out that the management can return the slopes to pristine conditions in 24 hours due to the large battery of big barrel fan guns that they have been acquiring. The other significant change this year is that they have eliminated the 90 min closing of the slopes between day and night sessions. Now you can ski 12 or 13 hours a day without rest. Now there is a challenge. Have fun!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great cabin that ensures a wonderful visit to Beech!

Review submitted: December 20, 2013   Date of arrival: December 16, 2013

My friends and I had a great time visiting Beech thanks to this cabin. We used a GPS to get to Beech and the cabin, but the cabin really was not very hard to find. Like the photos show, the cabin is very cozy and comfortable, and one will not regret renting. The property was well maintained, but i would suggest cleaning dishes before use. The kitchen was very useful, as we tried to save money by cooking there instead of going out, and the media centers were great for games and movies! The owner was very pleasant and helpful with any questions that i had, and was eager to accommodate any needs we had. I will definitely be renting this cabin again when i revisit Beech!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for the review! I am glad the kitchen and entertainment centers worked out for you. As for the dishes, I think in the future, we will remind guests that they need to rinse the dishes before placing them in the dishwasher. Merry Christmas to All.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Beech Mountain Retreat

Review submitted: November 10, 2013   Date of arrival: October 28, 2013

We were very excited to be back at Beech Mountain! We arrived in the afternoon on Monday, October 28th and had a few leaves to contend with, but the place was pretty much ready to enjoy! The weather was absolutely perfect until Thursday when the wind decided to crank up and made it unsafe to travel, so we lit the fireplace and enjoyed the comfort of the house. We utilized the washer and dryer for two loads and found that an additional spin in the washer was required to get the garments to the correct dryness. Besides that, all items worked great! We can't wit for our next visit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our house and glad that everything worked - as it should. I'm sorry the leaves fell off the trees before your arrival since they were as colorful as ever. We are looking forward to a great ski season and rumor has it that the snowmaking personnel and equipment this winter are the best ever. I hope you can join us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Housing at Beech Mountain- What a treat !

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: October 23, 2013

This house was great ! About 5 minutes away from the Beech Mountain resort. It was very quiet and secluded, with wonderful fall foliage all around us. The house very cozy, and was perfect for the nine people we had stay there. Kitty (house owner) was also very easy to work with, and accommodating. Overall, great rustic location for any vacation !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Glad you liked the house - and hope you come back for the next Collegiate Biking Championships here on Beech. Our latest improvements include more renovation of the bathrooms and a commitment to a new heating/dehumidification system. Here's hoping for much snow this winter.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful place

Review submitted: October 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 18, 2013

We spent a weekend at this house with friends, to a total of five adults, four kids and a dog. The house was great - cozy, comfortable and clean, with enough space for everyone to get together or separate in the evening according to their liking. The area is quiet and peaceful, with a lot of trails within the walking distance from the house and many more within a short drive. The owner was very attentive and organized, and made sure that all the things connected with the rental went smoothly. We have nothing to complain about and will definitely be returning!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thanks for the review. Autumn is a great time to be on Beech Mtn and our deck, high in the trees is great place to enjoy the colors. In the winter, the numerous 7 foot windows in our home help you feel like you are out in the snow, without being in the cold. Ski seaon is on its way!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Double the fun

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: September 22, 2013

My husband and I, along with another couple and our two dogs rented this mountain home and had a wonderful time. Most of our time was spent on the upper level deck. It has gates to confine the dogs and felt like you were almost in a tree house because you were up so high. It is very quiet and peaceful there. At night when we were ready for bed, our friends went downstairs to their room and it was just like each of us having our own house. We cooked several meals while we were there and found everything we needed. I would suggest that you stop in Banner Elk if you need to purchase groceries as there are no major food stores in Beech Mountain. We ventured down to Banner Elk twice and had a nice lunch at Bayou Smoke and Grill and Dunn's Deli. I communicated several times with Kitty by email about a new mattress that was suppose to be delivered while we were there. As it turned out, the mattress didn't come until after we left but I was glad because I loved the mattress that was being replaced! We would definitely rent this house again. Thanks Kitty!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Weekend Getaway!!

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

This was a great experience all around! The owner Kitty was excellent to deal with. She was very pleasant and extremely accomodating to our last minute getaway plans. The property was perfect for what we were looking for.We only rented the upstairs as it was just my husband, myself and the two mini daschaunds. The listing description was accurate, but did the home little justice. It is an older home with a lot of cozy, "home" charm. It was clean and well maintained. The property is definetly dog friendly. The upstairs deck has dog gates and a house in the rear. Our furry kids loved being able to run around in the treetops! We will definetly be returning!! Thanks again for sharing your home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We enjoy sharing our home and are doing our best to make continuous improvements so that you have the best vacation possible.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dated but comfy

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 9, 2013

This home is tucked away at 5,000 ft in the woods on Beech Mountain. It is a comfy up and down home with fireplaces on both floors which we able to utilize on our stay. The home is a little dated and needs a freshening up. That being said we had a great time and the Owner was accommodating and friendly.
For the price a great place to stay!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Owners response: I'm glad you had a great time at our home and thought it a good value. The home is old, and we are working hard to update it with modern conveniences such as smart TVs and cell phone boosters. All linens and towels are new and soon all mattresses will be new as well. Thanks for the review!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Double the Fun review

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with another couple for a few nights while we were in Beech Mtn for a wedding. We actually were not at the house much because of all of the wedding festivities but when we were, everything was great. We rented the top half of the house because there were only 4 of us. The house is a little older but it is very cozy and we loved the top deck. We felt like we were in the tress :). The bathtub upstairs could use a little renovating and the basement (laundry room) is a little scary. For the most part our stay was good and we would stay here again. The owner is very nice and helpful.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: I'm glad you found everything great at the house. We are continuously improving the house and have saved the bathrooms, and particularly the basement for last. Since your visit, we have added an AT&T booster so those with AT&T will be able to get cell coverage from our house. We look forward to having you again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Mountain vacation

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 4, 2013

Very nice place right at the mountain. Very nice experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks. I love renting my home to appreciative guests and am thankful for such a great ski season this year too. Yippee!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: February 24, 2013

Love the view. Lots of windows to see the deer in the mornings. Skiing is very near. Loved the area the house was located in. House was clean and neat when we arrived.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Vacation Getaway Experience

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: February 24, 2013

This home was designed with fun in mind. We loved the fairtale location only minutes from the ski slopes, in a forest of beautiful trees. The view from the top deck was incredible after the snow covered the trees and landscape. It was easy to relax with friends while watching the white deer that showed up just before dark most evenings. The two story floor plan connected with a spiral stair gave us good privacy. The warmth and romatic glow of the two fireplaces made a perfect end to the day. We will certainly come back next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Once again, we have enjoyed sharing our home with our guests.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great retreat for larger families!

Review submitted: March 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

Has a wonderful visit with my extended family. Very close to the slopes.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: We are having a great ski season this winter and are glad that our guests can enjoy it while staying at our home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Birthday Getaway at Beech

Review submitted: January 17, 2013   Date of arrival: January 9, 2013

Very nice place to spend some time. Close to beech mountain and just a short drive to banner elk and sugar mountain. This home has nice features and is set up well so that 2 couples can have their own space but still share a vacation. The owner made communication easy and I would recommend this house to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: We enjoy sharing our home. We are making continuous improvements so that we can be proud of the house and we can feel confident that we are offering the best we can. Thanks for your feedback.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Experience!!

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

We had a great experience from finding the place on vrbo and the communication we had between the owners. They were always there to answer any questions we may have had. Their home was clean and came furnished with everything you can possible need. I would say that our over all experience was great. Would definitely do it again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Once again, these were great guests. We always appreciate those who take care of our home and leave it in good condition when they depart.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful Getaway

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

Rented both levels of the Calhoun home with friends for a total of 3 adults and 4 children (ages 10-17) for 3 days after Christmas. After traveling during inclement weather we arrived to the Calhoun home to find that the steps had been salted and ready for our arrival.

We enjoyed the wood burning fireplaces, along with the wood the Calhoun's provided. The kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans, dishes and utensils. The home is also equipped with a washer and dryer which was nice when returning from the slopes in wet clothes.

The home is located in a community but each of the homes are situated on heavily wooded lots which gives you the peacefulness and the privacy most people are looking for in a mountain home.

Kitty could not have been more helpful. She was able to help us with discount lift tickets and provided us with information about activities and events in the area.

Our stay at the Calhoun's was a getaway that the entire family enjoyed and hope to make an annual event.

Kitty, thanks for everything!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is a joy to have guests as gracious as this family has been. They left the house in good condition and provided me with thoughtful feedback.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Family Experience

Review submitted: October 21, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

My family and I enjoyed a fall get-away to Beach Mountain and really enjoyed our stay at the Calhoun house! We rented both floors and had a lot of room for this family of 8 (kids range from 6 - 15). Our kids were never bored - as they had fun playing both indoors and out. We all especially enjoyed the deck - feeling as if we were in the trees, and the fireplace, which we used each night as we gathered in the living room after a long day of hiking on Grandfather Mountain.

The beds are very comfortable and each room has it's own adjustable heating, so each room was set to each occupant's liking. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed to cook several meals. There is also a grill with charcoal - an added bonus - next time we will bring things to grill! There were family friendly movies ready to watch and several games that we all enjoyed playing.

The town of Beach Mountain is wonderful! We stopped in the Chamber of Commerce to get some tips of area hikes and they were incredibly friendly and helpful. We could have stayed longer and done more fun hikes, or attended the Wooly Worm Festival in Banner Elk (just down the mountain).

At night, we enjoyed walking down the street a bit to watch the sun set behind the mountain range off to the west. Our kids were also delighted when three deer crossed their path on this walk.

All in all, a great weekend and the kids are already asking when can we go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We were blessed that our first guests were as gracious as this family is.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review