reviews for: listing #106333 - Cancun, Yucatan Studio rental

Ocean View, Beachfront, kitchen in the heart of Hotel Zone
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  yes
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $95 - $120 /nt
    $665 - $840 /wk

sort by:

The Good and Bad of it All

Review submitted: January 17, 2014   Date of arrival: December 24, 2013

The Good: Great location to shopping, restaurants, night life. The condo was clean and well appointed. The views are amazing, and the beach is less than a stones throw away. Paula (owner) was super to work with; took our numerous phone calls and emails and helped us immensly. The staff was awesome.....zero complaints in that department; friendly and helpful. The Salvia is a bit worn, but unless you are a "princess/prince" it was fine.

The Bad: Noise! 4 of our 6 nights the Night Club next to the Salvia had their speakers out on the beach.....it was a constant loud boom-boom-boom until 3-4am, Even with all windows closed and earplugs in, it was still audible......we napped during the day. The other 2 nights we heard the discos from the main ave. and could block much of that with the windows closed. If you are young, stay out late, and want to be close to Las Vegas like discos.....great place. Beyond noise, I would recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Studio as described

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: November 11, 2013

We stayed for a month in this studio. It is exactly as shown in the picture. The view is gorgeous. Rosie, the massage therapist, is just the best. I wanted to bring her home with me. This location, near the Hard Rock Café, is the perfect location for the young or young at heart who like to party to loud music. For us a week would have been enough only because of the music. The staff is great and after a month you got to know them a little more personally. Would stay again, but as I said for only a week or two.

Owners response: Thank you so much for staying with us!
Hope to see you again.
Paula & Rob

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Muy linda propiedad frente al mar

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: October 18, 2013

Hermoso todod comodo el depto y el condominio. Tiene todo

Owners response: Thank you for staying with us!
Come back anytime!
Paula

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great time at Salvia

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: June 12, 2012

Hi Paula,
I am sorry I did not reply to you sooner on our Cancun stay! Just wanted to let you know that the condo was awesome! The beds were very comfortable -- (my wife missed a couple of sunrises while sleeping in). The A/C worked great, TV worked great and english speaking channels were a plus. I just turned 50 in February! So A Pirate Looks at Fifty was and appropriate book to read (If I only had Jimmy Buffett's money??) Everything went well, we felt very comfortable at the Salvia. Entertainment Plus got us where we needed to be and were always ahead of schedule. If you ever need a rental reference feel free to give them my name.
Thank You and Take Care,
Gary

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GREAT GREAT GREAT!

Review submitted: February 27, 2013   Date of arrival: July 10, 2012

Completely recommend this condo! I loved everything, i had no problems. The nightlife is just downstairs. Would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Karina,
I'm so glad you had a great, great, great time!
Come back anytime!
Paula

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GREAT Room & View, Close to Restaurants, But Loud

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

This was one of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in. Very clean and pleasant, everything was just as pictured. The beds were super comfortable. It was great to have a full size refrigerator and the bottled water connection was so convenient - we drank a lot of water our week there! The drawers in the kitchen were a little hard to open and close at times - I think from the humidity. The balcony door was difficult to open because of the air pressure. It was even hard when the bathroom window was open and the from door propped open - I had to use two hands and pull with all my strength. So every time we went in or out, we had to put everything down to open the door. Kind of inconvenient, but it was workable.

The air conditioner leaked the first couple of days. Maintenance came promptly each time, but then it would break again. I spent a lot of time wiping up water and placing bowls under leaks on the balcony and in the room - the water spread from the window all the way to the front door. The third day, it finally did get fixed, but after three days of breaking, I could never quite relax - we continuously kept a bowl and towel under the unit "just in case."

The view from the balcony was the best! And the balcony was in the shade in the afternoon, which was great because we both have very fair skin. We had breakfast on the balcony every morning. And we hung out on the balcony overlooking the ocean most afternoons. The chairs were quite comfortable, and the tables were big enough for plates and drinks.

Our only real complaint was that beginning before noon every day music would begin blasting from a nearby club on the beach, and it would get louder and louder as the day progressed. It was so loud (with a non-stop disco beat) beginning around 2pm we couldn't even play our own music. And in the evening, music from the club on the street would blast all night long - and some days it was still playing when we got up in the morning. We closed the bathroom door and the outer door leading to our room, but that only muffled it. There was no real way to completely drown it out. Had we known about this beforehand, we probably would have booked elsewhere, because we were looking for something peaceful and relaxing, and there was nothing peaceful about it. If you are looking to party all day and night, this is a great location. But if you are looking for a place where you can sit and hear the ocean waves, not so much.

Owners response: I am so sorry about the air conditioner we have had it just replaced with a new one. I am not sure if the new one is faulty or if there is something else leaking. It will be looked at thoroughly. As for the noise, I myself hate being there in March during all of the spring breakers that come through there. Cancun turns into one big party zone. Come back any other time than in March and April (Easter Break) and you will see a huge difference.
Thank you for your comments.
Paula

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

cancunlover

Review submitted: March 22, 2012   Date of arrival: March 12, 2012

The condo was situated right beside all the nightlife & within walking distance to just about everything. it can be very noisy, but this can be avoided by closing all doors into the condo. we did have some disruptive neighbors, but that was to be expected during spring break. the beach was huge & just steps away. our air conditioner leaked, HEAVILY. we tried making the front desk aware of the situation, but it never got resolved in the 3 nites we were there. other than that, we really had no problems. nice pool, beach & security. overall it was a good stay & i would consider staying here again :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: I am so sorry about the air conditioner Kris. After you left we had it replaced, but there are a few issues with the new one that we are still working on.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

VACACIONES MARAVILLOSAS

Review submitted: February 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 30, 2012

Fue una experiencia alucinante. El depto tal cual se ofrece en la pagina web. Todo funcionaba perfectamente. El balcon precioso con una vista al Caribe espectacular. Nos encantaba a la tarde sentarnos a ver la caida del sol con unas ricas cervecitas.El condo esta muy bien ubicado. La playa del condo nos encanto, con gente bastante gente pero divertida, con musica y buenos servicios. nuestro niño disfruto como muchisimo las olas, la arena, todo.
En la puerta del condo hay una parada de buses que te acercan a todos lados. Fuimos a conocer playa Paraiso al lado de Tulum, maravillosa un lugar para tener en cuenta.
La gente del hotel super amables, correctos, siempre dispuestos a ayudarnos y a aconsejarnos para las distintas excursiones o lugares para visitar
.
El servicio de limpieza bueno, aunque como se hacia cada 2 dias , el mono se llenaba de arena y no habia con que barrerla, quizas sea lo unico para mejorar.El resto 1o puntos , todo de buena calidad y en funcionamiento. realmente volveria a Cancun y de ser posible al depto de Paula. Para los argentinos, el cambio en este momento nos favorece mucho, asi que a animarse porque la comida es muy econcomica, asi como los tragos y la ropa.
El Walt Mart esta a 20 minutos del Condo, es muy variado y vale la pena. Fuimos a carlos and Charlie pero si van con niños no es aconsejable porque esta dirigido a gente adulta, igual estuvo muy bien-
Fueron unas vacaciones hermosas y por supuesto nos gustaria repetirlas.
Gracias paula porque confiamos y encontramos todo tal cual lo describis en la pagina.

Owners response: Thank you so much for staying with us, and thank you for your comments.

Paula

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very happy costumer

Review submitted: March 26, 2011   Date of arrival: January 12, 2011

The location of this property was perfect! Right on the beach and as close as you can get to the action. We got lucky having never been to Cancun before. We didn't realize that all the places that claim to be on the main strip may actually be extremly far away. Paula was very helpful and very easy to deal with. The maid service was exceptional and often went above and beyond... (we usually tipped every day though)
Cancun is a great vacation spot. When you go you must eat at Carlos and Charlies the food is amazing ( the fajjita's are unbelievable) the staff is very friendly. great atmosphere!!!!
If I ever need somewhere to stay in Cancun, I will defenitly stay in this property again. I would strongly recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Best Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 17, 2011

Our stay in Cancun at the Salvia was one of the best vacations I have ever been on! The condo unti itself is large, spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. It makes you feel like you are staying in a 5 star hotel! The condo staff is attentative and caring and extremely helpful with everything from check in and check out to information about the area, how to get transportation, where to get supplies, etc. The pool area is clean and well kept and enjoyable to use. The access right onto the ocean as well as it location within the hotel zone makes it the ideal place to stay as almost everything is within walking distance.
Paula and family are excellent at helping you plan tours, hotel transfers etc and offer a plethor of useful information on the area itself.
I would absolutely recommend that anyone looking for good value and an outstandingly wonderful vacation look to rent here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

BEST TIME EVER! FEB 13th HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME!

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 13, 2011

Place just as the pictures! Owner was a doll! Referred me to agent( Hi Louise!) who rented me another place in the building for my extra days..... that was also great! Can't believe I had sooo much fun by myself!! And didn't go far from the condo! AWESOME BEACH,VIEW.PEOPLE STAFF ETC...
BE BACK REAL SOON!
Hi PAULA!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Room with great view

Review submitted: December 22, 2010   Date of arrival: December 8, 2010

We really enjoyed being at your place in Salvia. Every thing was as you said it would be. The condo was clean and modern with a spectacular view of the ocean more beautiful than we could have hoped for. The best part it was next to all best clubs and restaurants in Cancun (hotel zone) justs steps from the condo. The maid came every other day so the condo was always neat.

The ocean was really beutiful blue and clear and warm even in mid December. Lots of activies to do. Please do not miss out on Jungle tour with speed boats.

It was little sad that I had to keep telling people that Cancun was a safe place to be, Cancun is to me safer than a lot of American cities even the bus was safe most tourist take them best way to get around town, just outside the hotel.

Love to come down again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Not all Salvia condos are equal

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: March 12, 2010

Our condo was perfect, with granite countertops, flat stove top, and everything you would need to cook a full meal and a full sized stainless steel refrigerator that dispensed bottled water. The room has two queen size pillow top beds with foam toppers for a heavenly night sleep. Flat screen TV, Ipod station/alarm, extra pillows and an air conditioner that blows ice cold. The view of the beach and ocean are amazing, comfortable lounge chairs on the balcony with extra tables in the closet. Plenty of hangers and space in the closet too, a shoe rack at the front door, large modern ceiling fan w/light, the whole condo had tons of recessed lighting. Great art work and its decorated perfectly.

All we needed to provide was our food and drink and paper towels. Liz Beth comes in and does the dishes, cleans thoroughly and puts fresh towels, hand soap for the bathroom sink, new bath soap and toilet paper. Also, the elevators were clean and fast, no waiting around.

The condo is near everything. The Salvia is dated and not much to look at from the outside, but that didn’t bother us since it was always clean. There is always a guard at the front gate so you feel like you were secure all the time although I never felt unsafe anywhere in Cancun.
There is a pool, we didn’t use it but it was clean and always full. Rosa, gives massages at the Salvia and is amazing. We paid her $40 for an hour and my boyfriend couldn’t even speak when she was done.

Our condo was perfect in every way and super comfortable; There is noise from the forum at night and it can get pretty loud but in our condo, all you had to do was close the door in the hall that was between the two condos in that section and the sound would deaden, also, you could only really hear the music when you went into the bathroom. Once you got out into the room where the beds and the kitchen were, all you heard was the ocean or the TV. It was quite wonderful being able to hear the ocean while you slept.

I loved it and it’s the only place I would stay while in Cancun. Not to mention the only place I would stay in the Salvia, we peaked in a few rooms while they were being cleaned and they all seemed pretty dated. We had the best condo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Best Condo Ever!!!!

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 21, 2010

Let me start by saying, the Salvia is my favorite place to stay in Cancun because of it's location and staff. It's close to the nightclubs and right next door to a mall, and a short walking distance from another mall with many restaurants inbetween. Now, after staying in this condo, I won't stay in any other. It is exactly what the picture shows and is very clean and up to date. The beds, are simply the BEST! Feels like you are sleeping on a cloud. Probably spent more time laying around on the beds than needed, when we could've been in the sun, but thats ok because they are wonderful!
The owner was very helpful right from the time we booked until our vacation was complete. She made sure all of my questions were answered, and even wanted to know how the vacation went when we returned home. Very sweet person. I would recommend this room to all my friends and family, but..... I would hate to have them book it at the time I plan on going again! It's so nice I don't want to share it!!! Very pleasant experience.........

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review