reviews for: listing #10635 - Cape San Blas, Florida Townhome rental

Cockle shell, pets ok, close to Gulf with view plus loft
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Townhome
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Barrier Dunes
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $130 - $200 /nt
    $790 - $1,180 /wk

sort by:

As advertised, owner great to work with.

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Cockle Shell was as advertised as it was on VRBO. close and easy pool/beach access. Family friendly atmosphere.

Arrived the last day of tropical storm Debby, was a lil rainy the first night but beautiful there the rest of our stay. The beach was awesome and friendly, we left our chairs and beach going equipment there the whole week and nobody bothered it.

Cockle Shell is in close proximity to the state park which is beautiful, the kids loved wading and catching lil critters in the bay. TheTtrading Post was close and has everything you need.

Maria was great to work with and we look forward to staying here again. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Break Blast

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

Cockle Shell was fantastic! We vacation with friends every year in new places. This was our first time in Cape San Blas. The only pet-friendly beach we've ever been too. Our family dog had a great time as well! This place is very relaxing as well as offering various of outdoor activities. The kids rode horses on the beach, rode their bikes along the bike/walking/running trail, played hours of tennis and climbed the rocks at the beginning of the Cape San Blas Peninsula. These rocks made for fantastic family pictures. The Cockle Shell's location is the best on the property in my opinion. It's conveniently located just steps away from the pool and the beach. We could see the tennis courts from the kitchen window and the little child we took with us loved to look from the deck at the turtles in the pond and play on the playground that was just a few buildings over. The highlight was the end of the day when we made a fire on the beach, looked at the beautiful stars in the dark sky and made s'mores together.
Also The Trading Post, the little grocery down the street, had everything we could possibly need that we left at home. We made daily stops at The Trading Post for ice cream, coffee and if you awake early they have fresh, homemade doughnuts made by George!
Maria was great to work with in booking our vacation and her place is very enjoyable and reasonably priced. We loved our time on Cape San Blas and at The Cockle Shell. We made some great memories with our family and friends and I highly recommend The Cockle Shell for your next vacation.
Kimberly.......South Georgia

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutley Amazing

Review submitted: September 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

Thank you AGAIN for another wonderful summer vacation. I don't know where to start as to what we enjoyed the most. The condo was perfect, we usually stay at the Coquina but this time decided to try the condo. Plenty of room, wonderful decks and views. Nice pools. One positive for the condo is the kids were able to meet other kids. I would have to say my favorite were spending an afternoon visiting with you and your husband. We will also remember renting a pontoon and crossing the bay to the tip of the cape. We found clams that locals had not seen for years, sand dollars that we finally quit collecting because there were so many. Thanks again for your hospitality, we will definately be back. Andy, Tamara and the kids from Columbus, Ohio

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Dream Vacation at Cockle Shell

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

Maria; We throughly enjoyed our stay at Cockle Shell Townhouse! You were great to work with, answering all of our questions prior to arrival and we weren't disappointed. We had room to park the trailer for the boat under the house, as well as two vehicles in the driveway, found beach chairs in the closet, and a great place to dock our boat! This area has so much to offer, with walks on the beach on the gulf side, swimming, walking the path and great places to dine on fresh seafood or buy it and bring it back to the house. We appreciated have the gas grill on the deck!
We dined at Dockside Cafe for lunch one day and Sunset Coastal Grill for a beautiful dinner. Indian Pass Raw Bar was a great experience and if we had found it earlier, we would have visited more. We also drove to Apalachacola to an Oyster house there as well.
This is a great place to relax and get away. Anytime we were on the beach, it was never overly crowded! We loved seeing the turtle nests marked and protected! Would have loved to watch them hatch...
We so throughly enjoyed our time there that we are already planning on returning next year! We are also sharing our experience with our friends, making recommends to others to come and enjoy the area.
Thanks again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Times with Family and Friends!!

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying at the Cockle Shell Condo in Barrier Dunes! Only a few steps from the pool and beach pleased everyone! We had 5 adults and 2 teens in our group and everyone had a wonderful time either relaxing by the pool, playing on the beach or enjoying a bonfire on the beach the last night we were there. When we first got to the condo we made a short trip into St. Joe for groceries, but soon discovered that the Trading Post had anything else we needed throughout the week. It was only an hour and a half or so drive to Panama City Beach for a little shopping and then back to the cape for the rest of the week. Maria was so easy to work with and very helpful. She answered all of our questions and made us feel right at home. We are already planning our next vacation here!!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

THE PERFECT WEEK

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

We (4 adults 1 teen 1 dog) searched for months at Cape San Blas before choosing Cockle Shell and it paid off! The Owner was so easy going and an absolute delight to deal with. Absolutely no hidden fees or costs with this owner (I emailed with 2 other Barrier Dunes owners prior to Cockle Shell and their price was not what they showed on their VRBO listing). Absolutely not the case with this Owner. We have used VRBO several times and this was the easiest transaction ever. This Condo was perfect, much nicer than pictures reveal. It had everything we needed for cooking which we did a couple of nights. The location was great in the complex to both pools and the beach. The pond with all the turtles right off the deck was an added plus - we had a blast feeding them. The new TV in living room was awesome. We spent the entire week on that beautiful beach with our golden retriever. Side note - we left our pop-up and chairs on the beach all week and nobody bothered them. We met so many nice people, both renters and owners. Barrier Dunes is fantastic and we will certainly be back to Cockle Shell. Trading Post store had everything and be sure to eat at the Raw Bar at Indian Pass. Thanks so much Maria - your place was fantastic.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location in Perfect Beach Community

Review submitted: September 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 8, 2011

We stayed in Barrier Dunes years ago and couldn't wait to come back with our 2 labs. This condo is in a great location, very close to the beach, pools, tennis courts and a big grassy area with a pet waste station. In about 2 minutes, you're on the beach...which is amazing. Pure white sand, clear water, no sea grass.

The condo was perfect for us as we were 4 adults with our 4 large dogs. There was plenty of room and it never felt too crowded. The large deck out back overlooks the pond which is very nice and peaceful compared to other condo views. The deck had 2 very nice lounge chairs. The kitchen/bathrooms, decor and furniture were a bit outdated and not as beautifully decorated as the last condo we stayed at in BD, but it worked for us, so no complaints there. The beds were also very comfortable.

The only downside to the condo were a couple things that were lacking: there was currently no wifi available (which we had planned on having and were not told beforehand that we wouldn't have), there was less than a full roll of toilet paper in each bathroom (with no extras), there was only a half a roll of paper towels in the kitchen, no kitchen trash bags, and there was no dishwasher detergent. Because of this, we had to make a trip out to the store to buy all these necessities that we typically expect to be supplied for us (at least in a small quantity).

I would though recommend this condo to anyone, especially with dogs. A couple things I'd recommend bringing are: baby gate to close top of stairs off deck if you have dogs/kids and an umbrella or canopy tent for shade at beach. There were about 4 beach chairs at the condo to use as well as buckets/shovels for kids.

Also, we rented a pet-friendly pontoon boat on St. Joseph Bay one day with Seahorse Water Safaris that I would absolutely recommend. While in the bay, we saw dolphins, sting rays, sea turtles, jelly fish, etc. We took the boat around the whole bay, stopping and swimming on the sand bars which were about 1.5 feet deep so the dogs could almost stand. We also took the boat to the tip of the peninsula which was beautiful. It was such a fun day.

We absolutely love Cape San Blas and very much recommend staying at Barrier Dunes. You will be very happy and not want to leave!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Bech trip EVER

Review submitted: July 16, 2011   Date of arrival: September 25, 2010

My family stayed here last September and it was the most amazing vacation I've ever been on! The townhome is perfect, the beach is perfect, the shells are unbelievable and the price is so reasonable!
We walked the beach for hours each day with our dogs (Standard Poodles). We cooked all of our meals so I can't say anything about the dining lol. We even had a campfire on the beach one night.
Maria is wonderful to work with. I highly recommend staying here. I'm looking forward to our trip this September! We plan on renting a pontoon for a day this trip and hopefully a horseback ride along the beach.
Thanks again Maria for sharing your home! Jennifer Fisher and Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect in every way!

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: May 31, 2011

On the way down to Cape San Blas my husband declared it was the worst vacation ever....bear in mind, it was an 8 1/2 hour drive and he had worked all night prior to us leaving. No sleep and hungry. As we drove through the gates he perked up a little. We unloaded the car with him complaining the whole time. We hooked up the grill and cooked some burgers and had a lovely dinner on the back deck overlooking the pond. Needless to say his attitude changed completely. The townhouse is peaceful and decorated in a lovely casual beach theme. The community is just wonderful and very pet friendly. The beds are comfortable and the townhouse was clean. We have never enjoyed a vacation more. My husband proclaimed the next morning that it was the best vacation ever. We will be back next year!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

wonderful time

Review submitted: April 13, 2011   Date of arrival: April 11, 2011

Maria,

We had a wonderful time at your place! You have the perfect set-up down there! Thank you for allowing us to visit. I did sign the guest book, but I wanted to touch base and let you know the light in the upstairs bathroom is flickering. It is the bathroom with the Queen bedroom. Everything else was great and we did not have any problems.

Thanks again,
Kelli Peterson

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice Getaway and location at Barrier Dunes

Review submitted: April 27, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2009

This was a really nice getaway in one of the Barrier Dunes units that overlooks the front pond. It is also just steps away from the Gulf front pool and Club house. For first tier location, this is excellent. The home is pretty and comfortable with a king bed. The boardwalk in front of the unit runs right to the Gulf. Two decks have great views and one deck is equipped with a gas grill and ample patio furniture. This is also and end unit so we had privacy. I look forward to returning here since these are the prettiest beaches and almost a secret! Thank you for your hospitality Maria! We look forward to meeting you next time.

Eve (Vicki)
Atlanta, GA

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I love to have happy guests and have them come to visit again and again.I started to manage the townhouse myself and strive to ensure a higher level of comfort and service.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Canadian visitor

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

Hello Maria:
We had a WONDERFUL experience here on the cape!!!! We enjoyed the beach so much I can not find the words to express it!!!!
The weather perhaps was a little chilly but we can not complain about it at all. With it being a little cooler we were able to walk further play soccer longer and just enjoy the beach.
I said to my husband I have never had a vacation where I sit on the deck in my bathing suit tanning then change into jeans, winter coat hat and mitts to go for a walk!
In our minds the holiday was super and could not have been improved upon.

The Cockle Shell was a very nice place to stay, I can think of nothing you need to address.

We enjoyed ourselves so much the only complaint we have is the time went by way to quickly!! We are talking about coming back next year for Feb and Mar, however, we are unable to commit at this point until our house sells.
We will be leaving early on Monday morning....

It has been a pleasure dealing with you and was very nice to have had the opportunity to met you and your husband we did enjoy our visit.

Hopefully we will talk again in the future.

Ruth and Bob

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review