reviews for: listing #106419 - Yosemite, California House rental

Knarly Oaks Midpines Manor, spa, secluded, spacious home
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Midpines
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $175 - $250 /nt
    $1,000 - $1,500 /wk

sort by:

Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 23, 2014   Date of arrival: June 16, 2014

My family stayed 4 nights and 5 days at this great getaway. We had my parents and our teenagers with us. The space was perfect for all of us. The living room/dining room combo was a great space for all of us to congregate. The house was very well equipped. The hot tub was used every single day. The pictures reflected the house very well. It was very clean and well equipped. It is about an hour drive to Yosemite, and 15-20 minutes from Mariposa. The house is located in a very peaceful area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review. We also enjoy the large amount of space the house provides.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Yosemite Family House

Review submitted: June 17, 2014   Date of arrival: June 11, 2014

This is a great house. The layout is really good for a family get-together. It has a open floor plan that accommodates big groups. All the rooms are upstairs with the exception of one downstairs bedroom that is perfect for giving over to teenagers.

The home is clean and smells good.

There house is on a country lane set back on a long driveway. The privacy is complete. When we were there, we saw wild turkeys roaming through the front yard. There were also baby birds in one of the birdhouses. Very cute.

The owners work hard to make things comfortable. The kitchen is well stocked and even includes appliances like blenders and coffee grinders. The hot tub is excellent. It is modern with super powerful massage jets.

The nearest town is about 15 minutes away. Yosemite valley is about a one hour drive.

Overall, this is a solid vacation house that gets everything right.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Kim and Keith

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time!

Review submitted: June 4, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

The house was great, lots of room, very clean. Our first morning at the house the coffee pot was not working, I emailed the owner and he brought a new coffee pot to the house within the hour! He saved the day. Thank you Keith! The Hot tub was amazing, we enjoyed it every night after a long day at Yosemite Park.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Knarly Oaks Midpines Manor

Review submitted: May 30, 2014   Date of arrival: May 11, 2014

Our family stayed at Midpines Manor for a week in May, and the occasion was a wedding in Yosemite! We found it to be large and spacious, and it easily accommodated our extended family of 8 and one toddler. The sunken living room proved to be our grandson's favorite place to play due to the plush carpeting, and we loved the Ansel Adams shots of Yosemite along the hallway and over the fireplace. The kitchen had all the appliances needed to prepare a nice meal, and the barbecue on the nearby deck proved so helpful. The hutch even has a set of Desert Rose Franciscan dinnerware, and everyone enjoyed being together at the large dining table. We awoke every morning to birdsong, and liked being outdoors on the decks amid the forest. Most of our time was spent in Yosemite, but one afternoon on returning, we found the spa to be very rejuvenating. There is also a laundry room complete with washer, dryer, and fold-down ironing board. The town of Mariposa was about 7 miles away, and we were able to do our marketing,at Pioneer Market there, in addition to spending a little time in an historic location. If you have a large family, this home may be perfect for you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words. I should correct one error. The photograph over the fireplace is "Oak in Fog" by local photographer Kay Price. We've adopted this photo as our official Knarly Oaks logo (with Kay's permission, of course). The six in the hall are Ansel Adams.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hawks and stars

Review submitted: April 22, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay in this house. We travelled with four children and four adults, and everyone had enough space, especially at the dining table (we kept a game side and an eating side). The kitchen was spacious and functional, and we loved coming home to the hot tub and watching the hawks roosting, and the blazing stars come out. Our children liked playing the Wii after hiking.

Some super picky notes - the master mattress was adequate but felt a bit tilty between frame points, and the main living room furniture isn't super loung-y. The pull out in the living room isn't comfortable and is awkwardly placed with the partition, as others have noted.

Also, our children got fed up with the drive to Yosemite, but this reflects mostly on them, not the house. It is a gorgeous 1 hour drive along the Merced river. The trade off between house space and proximity to YNP is a decision for every family. For those with children patient in cars, who want a spacious homey rental, Midpines Manor fits nicely.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review. We had changed mattresses on the pull out based on the previous comments, but apparently it still needs more support. We usually set the partitions up below the steps which makes it a little less awkward, but store them above the steps.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

family vacation

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

Beautiful views, really cleaned Cabin, my family and I had a gorgeous vacation...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your good review. We hope you will come back to the Mariposa area again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family gathering for New Year

Review submitted: January 24, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

We spent six amazing nights at this property, we highly recommend this house for vacation. It is very private at the same time it is close to Mariposa where you can go for grocery and restaurants and it is about 45 min to Yosemite. We also enjoyed the Merced River and had dinner at Yosemite Bug. We visited the Butterfly winery and Mariposa Grove. The house has 3 rooms, the master room is very nice, huge with private bathroom. The other 2 rooms share a bathroom, room 2 with a kig bed and room 3 with a queen bed and a bunk bed. There is a sofa bed in a den next to the living room where you can use the pane screens for privacy, but the sofa is not comfortable, you better remove the mattress or bring an airbed. We love the family room and the big dinner table where we all enjoyd our meals together. The hot tub is also very nice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

it is a nice place,suitable for 3 families

Review submitted: January 18, 2014   Date of arrival: January 5, 2014

it is a well decorated house, clean, warm and quite. I especially love the carpet in the house, very soft and comfortable. The sitting room is big, and has WII, my daughter loves it! The owner is very nice and patient, they gave me so many helpful suggestions. They even gave me $30 back for the absent of my husband. The only thing is this house has 3 bedrooms, one is king bed, one is queen bed, the third has a bunkbed and a single bed. There is a pullout sofa bed in the sitting room. It is not comfortable for sleep. Actually finally I gave up and slept on the carpet directly (as I mentioned before, the carpet is very soft). So I booked it for 11 peoples for 4 families, but I think it will be better for 3 families.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words, but I need to address an inaccuracy. The house has two rooms with king beds, there is no queen. The third bedroom has a set of bunks and a double bed, not a single. For the future, we are just finishing the addition of another room downstairs that will have two sets of bunks and a fold out couch, providing sleeping quarters for an additional six people.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

X-Mas Family Vacation

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

The house well-kept and everything we needed was provided. The town of Mariposa is 15 minutes away and has everything you need for supplies and food. There was plenty of parking for at least four cars, two in the garage and two outside. There was an issue with the spa, but the owner responded quickly by email and we were able to remedy the problem. He was even willing to drive out to fix the problem! Talk about making sure your guest are taken care of!! The large living room provided ample room for our small children to play in. There were board games, the wii( saw the controllers but did not play), and we were even able to sign into our Netflix to watch movies. One issue we had was that the some of the furniture in the living room is old and not that comfortable but laying out a blanket on the carpet in front of the fire was great. Another minor problem was that we wanted to use the garage extra room but it was very dusty from construction being done to it. The third bathroom down stairs was very helpful when it came to getting everyone washed up. I can’t wait to see what that room looks like when it is all finished! Overall we enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for the positive feedback. The downstairs room should be finished by March, and will sleep an additional six people. And, yes, we will do what ever we can to make your stay comfortable and happy.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful house

Review submitted: December 3, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

It is beautiful house, with well maintained.
Me and my family with the kids had really great time.
We stayed there for 4 nights during thanks giving and had wonderful time.
Hot-tub was relaxing with a great view of surrounded trees; outdoor tables/benches to sit and enjoy the food in the forest was fascinating.
It was relaxing vacation with family time, good collection of books for my kids and blu-ray player with netflix enabled makes things easy for the kids.
Yosemite National Park is just 45 minutes drive.
Thanks Kim and Keith, we had great time

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the nice review. We also really like the Manor’s living space and location.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Flawless

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 31, 2013

This is a big, comfortable house. Our party stayed in early November. We were hoping for chilly air and clear skies, so we could watch the stars from the hot tub. We got everything we hoped for and more. The hot tub is much larger than we were expecting, which was a nice surprise. The property is private. (Don't be spooked by the brief, unpaved road; you won't be on it very long.) It's also remote enough to see the Milky Way, which we saw every night. The house itself was toasty warm. In fact, we had to turn down the thermostat, the heating system works so well. The kitchen is huge, so we never got in each other's way while preparing meals. All of us took showers every day, and we never ran out of hot water. I could continue, but I don't want to belabor the point. We'll definitely be returning here. Thanks, Kim and Keith!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the review. We just refurbished the heating and air conditioning system, and replaced the water heater with an energy efficient model in October. It is nice to know it was appreciated.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Spring Break

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 25, 2013

We had a great time! We were a group of 9 college students on spring break visiting from Berkeley. It was nice having a huge dining table so we could have group dinners with all 9 people in our group. The kitchen also had a nice variety of pots and pans and enough space for us to make huge meals without a hassle - we could all fit in the kitchen either cooking or cleaning without a problem. The cabin was very homey and peaceful with TONS of space. There's a lot of open space for people to walk around or play games.
The hot tub took a while to warm up so I would suggest turning it on right when you get there, but once it warmed up it was great. We were there for 4 nights and it was in the 80's for the first two because we forgot to turn it on until 10pm, it was in the 90's on the third night, and reached the max temperature on the last night. We also took advantage of the grill on the porch which was great for making group meals. There was also a fire put that was great for making s'mores on the last night (and there are plenty of plastic chairs and outside dining areas to seat everyone).
The bed that is partitioned off from the living room was a little awkward because there wasn't much space for the partitions and they fell down a lot when you tried to open or close them, and the bed was pretty uncomfortable but we took blankets from other beds to use as padding so it worked out okay. When the bed is folding into a couch and the partitions are down it makes the living room even bigger which was pretty nice.
Overall it was a great experience and we would do it again! It's a very quiet area (except for the turkeys!) and is great for getting away or relaxing in the hot tub.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing

Review submitted: February 23, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

We spent an amazing weekend. The house is so big and comfortable! we were all exchange students, and we really enjoyed the place, the enviornment, the nature that surrounds the house... everything! And the hot tub is awesome. And the price is really affordable, so I strongly reccommend to go!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spacious and relaxing getaway

Review submitted: January 20, 2013   Date of arrival: January 3, 2013

We had planned to stay in a smaller house but the owners were concerned that the spa wouldn't be working so they generously put in the Midpines Manor. This is a very comfortable house that has everything you need and more! The kitchen, spa and TVs and rooms and property are huge. The drive to Yosemite is manageable and it was very pleasant to come "home" there, light a fire and sit in the tub. Also, our 8 year old son was pleased that there was a WII and our dog loved running around (we live in an apartment in the bay area!). Keep in mind that you have to drive a bit on a unpaved road to get to the house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your glowing appraisal of our house. We love it too. The drive to Yosemite from anywhere in Mariposa, Midpines, Ahwahnee, or Oakhursh will involve a drive of 50 minutes to an hour and 15 minutes or so. There are closer lodgings in the park itself, but as you all know they either cost a fortune or you're camping.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Something for Everyone

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

This high quality newer home was the perfect location for our family reunion and week together at Thanksgiving! The large family room could not have felt cozier for our large group ages 6 years to 70's. At nights, we enjoyed the warm fireplace and the high tech spa with adjustable lights and jets. The large screen high definition TV had a great picture with one window of wilderness still in view during the day. Puzzles, reading materials, movies, Wii games and internet are all provided. I can't decide what was more delicious the local beer or wine, the local fresh ground coffee or cocoa - all provided! The extra soft bed linens, comfortable mattresses and pillows provided a good night sleep. Especially nice was the extra long, beautiful dining table that easily fits twelve with an extra table in the kitchen for more when needed. We enjoyed walks on the country road and many car rides into the historical charming town of Mariposa, an easy 10 minute drive. Mariposa features local artists, wines, crafts, antiques and a variety of places to eat. Yosemite National Park is an easy 45 minute drive. We also enjoyed seeing the Mariposa Grove of giant trees. Counting deer became a favorite past time for the grandchildren.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the kind words. We filled the house with stuff we'd want, so we hope every one will be comfortable.
Keith and Kim

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review