reviews for: listing #10656 - New Braunfels, Texas House rental

The Ponderosa River Retreat
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Ponderosa
  • sleeps  15
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $500 - $650 /nt

sort by:

So much potential

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

My family of 15 recently stayed at this property. The location and land the home is on are great. The house has a lot of potential. But the maintenance, care and cleanliness of the home are of such a low standard that I could never recommend it to anyone but a bunch of party animals who plan to trash the place. Simple things have been neglected. The dryer vent hose is not connected to the dryer - thus heat and lent pour into the home. The kitchen would be great except for the dust, crumbs, and dead bugs in the drawers and cabinets. Well, all the gunk and filth under the kitchen sink is pretty bad too. The sparce furnishings are adaquate and clean enough but that doesn't negate the need to clean out the spider webs and wash the walls. Over half the light bulbs were burned out upon our arrival. You get the picture. I have owned and managed rental property. I would never have rented out a property in this poor a condition (and I have personally cleaned many properties for occupancy). The owner felt he was been fair by refunding my damage deposit. The property was cleaner when we left than when we got there.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

A little on the warm side

Review submitted: April 29, 2013   Date of arrival: April 27, 2013

While at this house for a family party. I noticed dirty utensils in the kitchen. (no one had cooked anything-we ate out)The bathroom upstairs wasn't very clean while the one downstairs was about the same and the door lock did not work.(made for a few red faces)
*Lack of AC on a warm muggy day, which would have made it difficult to sleep for anyone with breathing problems. Several calls and text messages went unanswered. I had to cut me stay short as did other family and friends due to this issue.
The deck and the covered space was nice due to the breeze.
Before signing make sure the AC works!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

We had a blast! We had a great family vacation. There were 13 people ranging from 65 to 5 months and everyone was good. It was centrally located to go tubing or spend the afternoon in Gruene. We actually went down the river with all the kids in the morning then dropped the younger ones off with Grammie and went back for another run after lunch. We spent the early mornings on the porch and late evening in the yard or in the river with all the boys. There was plenty of room for everyone to enjoy themselves and not be underfoot. We even had plenty of room for all the cars!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Good times

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 28, 2011

It was a fun place and we had a blast. We will be back next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Excellent vacation

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: July 19, 2010

Nice house. Exactly as advertised. Pets are allowed so it shouldn't be a surprise that the carpet is not perfect. Cleanliness was acceptable.
I would definately stay here again. We love the deck and the view.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

grossest place ever

Review submitted: August 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 8, 2010

grossest place ever..these people have no pride of ownership..they are completley letting this place go....next yeat we would rather atay outside in a tent than in this dump..we have stayed at 4 other houses on this same street and they have all been awesome til this dump! would not reccommend this to anyone

Owners response: tenat did not clean house lost deposit

Helpful votes: 9 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review