reviews for: listing #106814 - Harrisonburg, Virginia Cabin rental

Lower Rawley Cabin
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $79 - $149 /nt
    $599 - $999 /wk
    $2,000 - $5,000 /mth

sort by:

Five men used the cabin for a weekend retreat

Review submitted: February 25, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

The owners, Steve and Katie, were extremely gracious hosts. The cabin was clean ad prepared for us and was already warm. We used the wood that they provided to keep our cabin warm.
The weather allowed us to enjoy walks, and the petting farm
animals were great. One of the men oped to use some of the cabins to have retreats for his employees' families. We talked to another couple who came all the way from DC .

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy and Quaint

Review submitted: February 12, 2014   Date of arrival: January 31, 2014

Our weekend at Lower Rawley was absolutely incredible. The house was clean, cozy, and exactly what we needed for our retreat. When we arrived, the house was toasty warm thanks to Steven and Katie. They are the perfect hosts, even helping us unload our vehicle and making sure we had everything we needed. I have taken many groups to various rental properties, but none compare to what we experienced on this trip. You will not be disappointed.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great winter retreat to access ski resorts!

Review submitted: February 1, 2014   Date of arrival: January 21, 2014

We recently stayed 4 nights at this cabin with two young children ages 5 & 6. It proved to be a wonderful experience and met all our needs. It is a charming little rustic cabin nestled in a valley at the base of the mountains. The setting is just beautiful with a large yard, private drive way, and plenty of cute little animals running around (inside a fenced in area.) The bird feeders attract an array of bird species and can be viewed from the kitchen window. There are other cabins nearby, but they are nicely spaced from each other and there are no other commercial businesses within the vicinity to spoil the serenity of the area. We chose this location to be accessible to the Massanutten Ski Resort without paying resort prices. It was a 35 minute easy drive from the resort that passes through Harrisonburg...making it nice for food/restaurant/errand stops as needed. The cabin's wood stove heated up the place very nicely. The kitchen was fully stocked with most every basic appliance you need to cook meals...to include a full size refrigerator. No dishwasher, but that wasn't a big deal for us. The farm fresh eggs were a nice added touch. Our kids slept in the loft area because it was fun...and it was very safe and accessible by stairs (not a ladder.) The owners are hard working and very attentive to their guests. They are currently working to upgrade the cabin's many amenities, and once this is done, it will be even better. In general, it is well worth the price!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent vacation location

Review submitted: January 18, 2014   Date of arrival: January 12, 2014

This is a great cabin in a beautiful area. We had a wonderful week with bird watching from the kitchen window and feeding the animals in the nearby barn yard. There are miniature ponies, goats, chickens and dogs. The living room faces the east and is very warming and inviting with the early morning sun. There is easy excess with no steps involved to enter the cabin. We kept our bedroom door closed and it was great sleeping in a cool room while the rest of the cabin was comfortable. There is also a neat loft with steps although we didn't use it. Would certainly stay again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect spot for a mountain getaway

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

Yeha! We went in search of the perfect place for a weekend, mountain adventure, and this cabin delivered. It was clean, warm, and the owners were incredibly responsive and welcoming. Best of all, there is a small barn on the property with goats, ponies, and chickens which they care for--and you're welcome to visit them and feed them if you like! It really added to the atmosphere. We enjoyed sipping wine by our wood stove and heading out on hikes during the weekend. I would wholeheartedly recommend this rental.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent weekend retreat

Review submitted: October 13, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

Just got home from a weekend at Rawley Springs, and even clouds and misty rain couldn't dampen the fun. The pictures do NOT do this cabin justice and after many years of rentals through VRBO this was our best experience to date. Being greeted by the owners and given that personal touch was great and the kids loved their time playing and seeing the animals and just generally running through the woods. The location was perfect and we ran around the valley visiting a local apple festival and seeing the sites. We just got home and are ready to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful location, house will be nice when done.

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

It's the location that drew us here. And there aren't many cabin choices in the area, so we were glad to find this. My husband is a road and mountain biker and this area proved great for both. My son also loves animals and we knew there would be chickens and a pony on the property, so we figured he would enjoy that as well. It was an added bonus that a baby pony had been born weeks prior to our visit and there was also baby goats that my son got to bottle feed along with feeding the chickens, my son enjoyed this greatly! There is a stream within walking distance for trout fishing they also took advantage of. Harrisonburg also has an amazing pool we spent the day at. There are also many good restaurants in town too. The owners are very kind and friendly, personally greeting you with fresh eggs upon arrival. We knew when ahead of time that the cabin was recently purchased and improvements were being made between guests, so we knew we wouldn't be staying in our typical luxury cabin accommodations. The cabin at first was a little less improved than expected, initially we were knocked over by the musty smell, but that eased as time went on. It was overall clean and that was what was important to me. It will be nice when improvements are completed. It could use new carpet in bedrooms, new shower surround, a kitchen remodel-kitchen sink placed under window instead of corner, wood floors put in verses the pergo, and closet in entrance area sweated from temp difference, so ironing board cover had mold on it. But knowing it is a work in progress, were sure these things will eventually be addressed. It has a nice screened in porch with swing and table. living room is large. appliances nice. beds average, my husband said bed in guest room was cozier. we didn't use loft, but could see the appeal if there was several children, the ceiling is quite low though. Entrance room was nice size to take off shoes and laundry can go right into washer. We would stay in this cabin again, the owners were nice to work with, price is reasonable, the location was perfect for us, away from it all- yet only 15 min to town and being that the cabin was clean, just needed improvements, were all positive for us, once the improvements are made- it will be 5 stars.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Peaceful and refreshing!

Review submitted: August 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

It all started with a last minute booking that was handled perfectly. My husband and I were treated like we were the most important guests. Katie and Steven are the example of perfect customer service. The moment we needed something they came. This property had a few surprises like a little petting zoo. Now don't let that scare you off. It was quiet and we loved to see and pet the animals. There was a miniature pony and her baby, 2 goats, chickens, and chaney the dog! We,had fresh eggs from the chickens. The cabin itself was super clean and had every cooking utensil we might need as well as the softest linens I have ever slept on. Also there were two bedrooms that had a firm and soft mattress. So it fits anybody. The cabin is surrounded by other cabins and also a river. We hiked, fished, and explored. The weather was so nice and cool and the front porch was our favorite spot. We brought our 1 year old and she loved it as well. I will definitely recommend this property to our friends and hope to come back and try a different cabin that they own. The price was just right and accommodating. Also, plan on staying out there. Bring all your groceries. You will not want to leave.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

The perfect getaway!

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 23, 2013

We had such a great time at this cabin! The house was clean and had everything we needed to cook our own meals while we stayed. Katie and Steven were very friendly and made it clear they were available if we needed them for anything at all. We had use of a washing machine, if necessary, and lots of outdoor space to play. Our son loved the goats, chickens, and ponies, and our dogs were entertained by them too. The hiking trail is only a 5 minute walk and was a fabulous hike through the National Forest, though if you have small children we recommend having a hiking backpack. Luckily, we had one, as there are multiple water crossings. We loved it, but were definitely surprised.

We also traveled into nearby Harrisonburg to go to the local children's discovery museum, which was fantastic, as well as a local playground (A Dream Come True Playground) that was also excellent for kids. We'll definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Relaxing & Peaceful-Quiet and Exiciting

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

Lower Rawley Cabin is a wonderful facility. Nestled in the trees and very quiet. Nature's beauty surrounds you as you stroll to George Washington National Forest. The sound of the rushing water in the streams is great therapy. The owners, Katie and Steven, were wonderful and helpful. This facility had everything I was looking for to recharge and relax.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic location, cabin, service, and scenery.

Review submitted: June 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

Everything was as described. The property was clean, well maintained and ideally situated near The George Washington State Park and beautiful waterways. Nearby Harrisonburg was a great town with everything you would need (Restaurants, Wal Mart, fuel) etc. The owners, Katie and Steven were great. The hiking, wading in the creeks, and excitement of viewing the woodpeckers and humming birds were all great.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Experience!!

Review submitted: May 31, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

My husband, his best friend and I stayed at this cabin for the Memorial Day weekend. We were so pleased with our experience. The owners, Katie and Steven, provided us with fresh eggs right from the chicken coop upon our arrival!! They were kind, hospitable and very personable. The home was extremely clean and provided us with everything we needed for our stay. The location is remote, quiet and beautiful! We brought two dogs with us and the owners made all of us feel very welcome. I would definitely recommend this as a vacation spot and we would certainly come back!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cant wait to go back

Review submitted: May 1, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

From the moment we arrived the owners were extremely helpful in giving us directions to great trails, fishing and local shopping. We received fresh organic eggs from the chicken coupe right on the property, my son really enjoyed seeing the chickens and so did our dogs! The cabin was clean and had all amenities we needed to make it a great trip, my son loved staying up in the loft area. Our dogs are like our children too and they had a blast running all over the place and teasing the chickens. We will come back, we absolutely loved the privacy and sitting out watching the birds. We saw bear, deer, humming birds, pheasants, and wild turkey. We went to a few fishing holes in the area, and the locals were very nice as well. The creek running behind the neighbors yard was just beautiful the dogs and my son got a chance to dip their toes in, and the home owner was just the sweetest lady. We really felt at home and surrounded by good friends and neighbors, thats what mountain living is all about!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved this cabin and Rawley Springs

Review submitted: April 21, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

Wow. What a place. It was beautiful. Both the cabin and the area. Evelyn across the road was very friendly and the river flowing behind her house was breathtaking. Simply beautiful. As for the cabin, you couldn't beat the bed. It was super comfortable. Best night sleep I have had in a long time. Can't wait to come back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Very Special Cabin

Review submitted: April 21, 2013   Date of arrival: March 4, 2013

This cabin is a very special place to come and stay. We love listening to the brook across the road from the front porch swing. All guests should look for the opportunity to meet the neoghbor Evelyn who lives across the road. She even showed us her home, which is like no other. She invited to sit on her back porch over looking the brook as well. The cabin is a great place to take a walk. The cabin is just what you would envision a cabin being. We loved spending the Winter nights beside the warm fire. Kitchen had everything you need to prepare meals. Cabin has a washer and dryer too. Great place to watch the birds. Katie & Steven are perfect hosts. We could not have asked for more. You won't be disappointed.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cabin paradise

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

Remarkable value. Beautiful place. Great people. They really care about the little things. Stay once and become a repeat guests for life.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Retreat to Rawley Springs

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: April 3, 2013

My family thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Lower Rawley Springs Cabin. Our hosts greeted us upon arrival with a fire going in the wood stove, and they made very clear that we were welcome to call upon them for any questions or assistance we needed. The location was just what we were looking for; away from it all but not too far from Harrisonburg. The cabin was outfitted to meet our needs in the kitchen, in terms of internet access, and in terms of comfort, bedding, bathroom, and cleanliness. I did need to call upon my fire building and maintaining skills to keep the place warm, but mostly those tasks just added to the charm. The owner is fully available to help out on this front if needed, plus I would not be surprised to learn central air and heat has been installed by next winter anyway. But even if it is, I'd still probably prefer to build a fire.

While the cabin is not stream side, the sound of Gum Run is omnipresent and exploring that run plus the nearby Dry River turned out to be one the pleasant surprises of our stay. We particularly enjoyed just walking the immediate area and exploring upstream of Gum Run and walking to Blue Hole. The nearby hike to Signal Knob, just west on US 33, was also a positive surprise and time well spent.

Overall, we happily recommend the Lower Rawley Cabin, and look forward to returning to Rawley Springs.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Lovely Cabin in the Woods

Review submitted: March 22, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

My wife, 2 of our children, and I enjoyed our stay here. The photos don't do justice to the experience. The Jones' are excellent hosts! We were delighted to find such a gem so close to home(for us).
The wood stove kept the whole place very comfortable, no need for the auxiliary heat sources. Everything is clean and very comfortable. Next time we stay will be with all of our children, plenty of space, indoors and out! The kitchen was fun to cook in, cozy and furnished with plenty of utensils.
If you like watching birds, there are feeders to watch right out the kitchen windows. The George Washington N.F. is an easy hike. The stream (Gum Run) begs to be watched and photographed if that is your hobby.
We highly recommend that you give this cabin and the Jones' family a try!
Shawn

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great weekend at the cabin

Review submitted: March 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our cabin experience. The hosts were a true class act, personally showed me hikes in the area, and even jumped in the freezing cold river to build a rock bridge for my friends and I! Ha, talk about a story we'll be rehashing at the next visit...

Cabin was lovely, accommodations suited us well. And don't miss Evelyn, she's a riot.

Thanks for the cabin experience!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Such a nice trip

Review submitted: March 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 4, 2013

this cabin is wonderful, it's a quiet and peaceful place.
When we arrived, Steven warm welcome us in front of a burned wood stove.
He, also, provided us a very good address for dinning in Harrisonburg, so my wife could really rest.
We enjoyed so much our stay that we already gave the address to our multinational friends.

A we said in France for the best place, 'This place deserves the trip'.

COL [French Army] JB & Anne de Fontenilles

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Such a nice place

Review submitted: March 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 4, 2013

We discovered a wonferful quiet place.
The wood stove has been burned by Steven who warmly welcomed us. The cabin is confortable and pretty with everything you need for a pleasant stay.
Steven gave us the address of a tasteful restaurant so my wife could rest ;-)
The area permitted long peaceful walks.
We enjoyed so much than we gave the address to our Multinational friends.

''A tout point de vue c'est un lieu superbe qui merite d'etre connu et visité''
As we say in France, for best places, 'deserves the trip'

COL [French Army] JB & Anne de FTS

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best adventure ever!

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

I took 4 friends and myself on this adventure to this amazing cabin in the woods! I never expected how lovely and quit and all around BEAUTIFUL! The owners were full of very wonderful hospitality and made us feel at home. Im an outdoors kinda girl and this adventure was to great to fit into words. Waking up to the birds and sounds of a flowing stream made me want to stay forever. The only thing i could have wished for was to stay! I was sad when we had to pack up and leave :/ but i will be back this summer for sure! I CAN NOT WAIT!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lower Rawley Cabin is AS ADVERTISED

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

and I hate to write this as I'd like to keep this cabin our secret, if you know what I mean.

The listing is advertised. The cabin is beautiful, deceivingly so from the pictures. The kitchen is modern and immaculate. The living room is warm and inviting (we love the couches). The bedrooms and loft are comfortable (especially if your party only demands privacy in the bedrooms and not perfect in the loft). The whole place is immaculate. It is all you'd need, especially if your party seeks a 2 bedroom with a loft full of beds.

Both Steven and Katie, the owners, are gracious, attentive, and kind people and a hit among our party. As Steven said to me on arrival, "we have two rules; (1) do not hesitate to ask for anything; and (2) have a good time." Yes, he did say this! Indeed, as a member of my party says, "their energy is reason enough to want to come back here, again and again."

The location that is Rawley Springs is historical and restorative, even in the winter!

We will definitely recommend this to friends and family. Really. We could not have asked for more. Bravo. We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lower Rawley: quiet & peaceful

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

Nice, quiet setting. We went in easrly winter. The house is modern and warm on the inside, with a very workable fire box heater. Also, electric heaters worked well... no problem with cold. Ther house is well stocked with cooking utencils, linnens and lots of wood to keep the fire burning. The facilities are modern and clean. There is a washer and dryer too. It helps if you are proficient at starting & keeping fires going. But that is the fun of a cabin like this.

There are two bedrooms: one is pretty small, but both have queen beds. There is also a loft, prefect for kids, because of a low cieling.

This house is great for a romantic getaway, or family with kids who can go up and down staris. There is a high table with seating for four. On the porch, there is a table and chairs, too, which probably could be brought inside if you have more than four people.

The surrounding area is beautiful, but in winter I strongly recommend having a 4 wheel drive: we were afraid to drive out because the roads were pretty icy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Wonderful stay at Lower Rawley Cabin

Review submitted: December 16, 2012   Date of arrival: December 6, 2012

Had a great stay at Lower Rawley Cabin. Cabin was very cozy and warm and just right for my husband and me. Sleeping accomodations were wonderful and I slept like a baby. Loved sitting in front of the fire. The neighborhood was delightful with picturesque/rustic cabins and you could hear the Dry River creek from outside the cabin. Enjoyed shopping at Silver Lake Mill, the Dayton Farmer's Market and the Rolling Hills Antique Mall all within short drives in the beautiful country side. Can't wait to return in the summer and enjoy sitting on the front porch and watching all the bird activity. I highly recommend a visit to this area, you won't be disappointed.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Enjoyed Our Stay

Review submitted: November 30, 2012   Date of arrival: November 22, 2012

Our family stayed 3 nights in this cottage over the Thanksgiving holiday. It was ideal for what we wanted; 2 bedrooms, in a National Forest Area / close to the National Park, reasonably priced, and pet friendly (without a lot of extra pet fees). When we spoke to the owners over the phone to reserve the cottage, they were very friendly and we knew from that moment that we'd have a good experience. The beds were very comfortable (great linens and bed covers), they started a fire in the fireplace before we got there so the cottage was toasty warm, the kitchen had all updated appliances, and the overall surroundings were very nice. The cottage also has wireless internet and free local/long distance phone. The owners were close by so if we needed anything, they were there to provide. The grocery store was 15 miles away in Harrisonberg, an easy drive, and the town would provide anything that one would need. We most appreciated that the cottage was very pet friendly, as the owners themselves have several rescue dogs, we wanted a good place where we could stay with our pets over the holiday. If you are into fly fishing as my husband is, the Dry River is only 3 miles away from the cottage. If you'd like a nice stay in this part of Virginia, we recommend Lower Rawley Cabin.

Carisa & Bala

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice Relaxing Cottage

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 22, 2012

Our family stayed 3 nights in this cottage over the Thanksgiving holiday. It was ideal for what we wanted; 2 bedrooms, in a National Forest Area / close to the National Park, reasonably priced, and pet friendly (without a lot of extra pet fees). When we spoke to the owners over the phone to reserve the cottage, they were very friendly and we knew from that moment that we'd have a good experience. The beds were very comfortable (great linens and bed covers), they started a fire in the fireplace before we got there so the cottage was toasty warm, the kitchen had all updated appliances, and the overall surroundings were very nice. The cottage also has wireless internet and free local/long distance phone. The owners were close by so if we needed anything, they were there to provide. The grocery store was 15 miles away in Harrisonberg, an easy drive, and the town would provide anything that one would need. We most appreciated that the cottage was very pet friendly, as the owners themselves have several rescue dogs, we wanted a good place where we could stay with our pets over the holiday. If you are into fly fishing as my husband is, the Dry River is only 3 miles away from the cottage. If you'd like a nice stay in this part of Virginia, we recommend Lower Rawley Cabin.

Carisa & Bala

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review