reviews for: listing #106854 - Waimanalo, Hawaii House rental

Tropical Beachside Home, Gorgeous Beach, Majestic Mountains
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Beach Lots
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $199 - $250 /nt
    $1,393 - $1,750 /wk

sort by:

Just another day on Paradise!!!!

Review submitted: June 10, 2014   Date of arrival: May 29, 2014

Aloha Skye,

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us! It was so nice to be able to spend time here with my son and his wife to be. It was fun to cook out and eat as a family which I miss soooo much with him living here in Hawaii.

The beach is wonderful!!

The beauty of your home is wonderful! And your kindness over our little problem that occurred was greatly appreciated. THANK YOU...

The time spend here is just what I needed!

Sharon Christe
Somerset, PA


I'll be back,
I'll call first lol

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ocean Song Cottage is worth singing about!

Review submitted: May 16, 2014   Date of arrival: April 14, 2014

Our time at the Ocean Song Beachside Cottage in Waimanalo was perfect. It is a breath-taking piece of paradise full of Aloha. It is hard to describe the serenity we felt as soon as we stepped on the property and the wonderful greeting from our hostess. The cottage and the private garden are beautiful and it was great to feel surrounded by the lush, tropical foliage. The sunrises, the long, sandy beach, the beautiful water, all made Waimanalo Beach a wonderful choice. It was great to be able to escape the hustle and bustle of Honolulu. We especially enjoyed the nice cool breeze at night, flowing through the bedroom windows, and the soft beds that gave us the best sleep in years. No sleeping pills required. The Ocean Song Cottage is worth singing about. We hope to return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Anniversary vacation ever

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: April 7, 2014

This place is AMAZING!!!!! Skye greeted my husband and I with a huge ALOHA. We were so excited to finally be here. This place is everything and more than what the description says. Falling asleep to the waves hitting the beach was so peaceful as well as listening to the wind chimes outside the front door. The linens on the bed was the softest we have ever felt. Everything you could want is in this cottage. We cooked on the grill most every night. Skye was sure to let us know where all the locals eat and grocery shop. Everything was conveniently located. It was also nice to be able to pack to go home with all clean clothes. Defiantly look forward to coming back to this beautiful cottage!!!!

Mahalo Skye.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Better than we imagined!

Review submitted: March 26, 2014   Date of arrival: March 18, 2014

As soon as we stepped on to the property, we were blown away by the beauty, tranquility, and thoughtful touches of this home away from home. We immediately felt at home, especially after meeting and talking to our gracious and wonderful host, Skye. She has put a lot of good energy, hard work, and love into this property and it shows. The most beautiful beach is just a few steps away, and the peaceful town of Waimanalo is well located with plenty of things to do nearby. We will definitely be back, and hope to someday call this beautiful area of the planet our home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic Experience

Review submitted: December 28, 2013   Date of arrival: November 5, 2013

Skye,
Your Ocean~Song Beach House has given us a fantastic experience in Hawaii that would not have been so exciting had we not been here at your place.

We enjoyed being able to casually rise, breakfast, and plan our days.
We enjoyed being able to walk to the beach and feel the ocean come upon us.
We also enjoyed several events in this area. The Sea Life Park adventure was fantastic and the kids joined a group for hands on experience with the dolphins.

The atmosphere created by your collection of seaside decorating is quite pleasant and refreshing.
We all---Kris, Kody, Vi, Kurt and Carolyn---appreciated your spirited conversations and suggestions.

Aloha & Mahalo from all!

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Aloha Spirit!

Review submitted: December 28, 2013   Date of arrival: October 12, 2013

Dear Skye,
Thank you for being such a warm, gracious and accommodating host.
You really personify the "Aloha Spirit" that I had heard so much about but had never encountered until this trip.

Thank you for opening your home up to us.
We really wish we didn't have to leave---
Oahu is so gorgeous and the week has gone by too quickly.
This trip and your home was exactly what was needed to de-stress and re-charge.
Thanks for everything and hope to be back soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved Every Minute!

Review submitted: December 28, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

Many thanks for a great week here in the Ocean~Song Beach House!
We have loved every minute and wish we could make Oahu and the Windward Coast our permanent home!
Failing that, rest assured that we will be back!

Aloha and Mahalo from Indiana and Sweden!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved Every Minute!

Review submitted: December 28, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

Many thanks for a great week here in the Ocean~Song Beach House!
We have loved every minute and wish we could make Oahu and the Windward Coast our permanent home!
Failing that, rest assured that we will be back!

Aloha and Mahalo from Indiana and Sweden!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The best week!

Review submitted: December 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

This has been the best week I could have asked for! We stumbled upon Ocean~Song by accident, pure luck, and we are oh so grateful.
Skye, your warm aloha welcomed us to some of the happiest, most carefree days of the summer.

With any luck, we'll be back.
Much mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family treasures

Review submitted: December 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

"Let us be in the present," my son Dylan has intoned gently, here and there, as we have soaked up our long week here on Oahu. Perhaps this is the greatest gift of this breathtaking island and of the Ocean~Song Beach House, our momentary home.
Our stay here has marked, as Bob observed, our 24th wedding anniversary. It also punctuates our daughter Rachel's departure for college. It is perhaps the last trip as a family "with children."
Surely, new adventures beckon. And our entry into this next phase of family life. perhaps bittersweet, could not be more gloriously accompanied than by Skye's warm hospitality, her gentle beach getaway, the iron trees and sand crabs, the aqua waters and brilliant salmon sunrises of Waimanalo.
What of a place where one's greatest challenge is deciding whether to take in the green-kissed mountains to one's right or the dancing sparkle of waves to the left. Stars at night or sleeping in the amazingly scented breeze? Snorkeling or hiking or surfing or strolling the white sands?

Mahalo, Skye. Aloha.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Blissful Home~~~

Review submitted: December 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 23, 2013

Dear Skye,
I don't believe I can add much to what Ashley wrote, but I too have enjoyed our second family stay in your wonderful beach house immensely. First in your lovely cottage, and now in "Ocean~Song."
I will miss the spectacular sunrises, which have amazed me, the night owls, and waking up early each morning.
Our family hikes, runs, excursions, swims, and moonlight walks are all new memories we have made and will always treasure.
Thank you for sharing your blissful home, your kind heart, and your loving cats with us.

Until we meet again...
Mahalo and aloha.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Memories!

Review submitted: December 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 23, 2013

Dear Skye,
Thank you so much for giving us an amazing opportunity to stay in such a beautiful place. Returning to Waimanalo with my family brought back so many wonderful memories from our time here two years ago, and allowed us to build on those memories and create new ones. I really cherish any time I get to spend with my family before I leave for college---thank you for providing us with a place to stay and enjoy each other's company.
The Ocean~Song Beach House is simply magical. Waking up in the mornings to sunlight pouring through the windows, a gentle breeze rolling through the room, and the beautiful melodies of tropical birds filling the entire house was absolutely poetic. A beautiful way to "rise and shine."
This vacation my family enjoyed various hikes and runs on trails, eating delicious foods, trying tropical drinks, but most of all, visiting the beach right down the street from here. There is something about that beach that is just so inviting and welcoming. You live in an amazing place, Skye. Thank you for sharing it with us!
Just like this beach house, you are a wonderful, peaceful and amazing person. I was honored to have met you when we first visited and was very happy to see you again this time.
I love everything here: the people, the beaches, the scenery, and especially the cats! I had a wonderful time here with my family.
Hopefully we will return again, and maybe I'll bring my family in the future when I'm older!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very Nice Place

Review submitted: November 13, 2013   Date of arrival: November 7, 2013

THE ACCOMMODATIONS: Skye is a perfect host with a perfect house! The furnishings in the living room and bedrooms are top-notch Hawaiian. It comfortably accommodates four adults -- comfy beds, large living room and large kitchen area. The master bath is small but with a huge shower, and the guest bathroom (with tub/shower) is quite large. Both bedrooms have large closets and plenty of drawers to unload your suitcases and then stash them in the closet to get them out of the way. Only complaint is $2.50 to wash and $2.50 to dry one load of laundry -- many vrbo's don't charge, or you get one load free.
THE NEIGHBORHOOD: It is only a short walk to the beach (literally past 3-4 houses to the short path to the beach), although we were only able to use it one day due to rain. There are dogs and cats in the neighborhood which initially concerned us, but we never heard them and none of them bothered us.
THE TOWNS: The home is only 5-6 short miles to Kailua where there are many shops and restaurants. Although the home is located in Waimanalo, a very small town, it still has a nice grocery store (Shima's), fish market, and right around the corner from the house is a great little place to eat, "Fresh Steak and Shrimp", which serves good food (breakfast, lunch and dinner) at good prices.
We chose this VRBO because we wanted a two bedroom/two bathroom place, and every rental on the beach was twice the price. For the price, and just a short walk to the beach, it is a good vacation place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Thank you for a week in paradise

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

(At the request of the owner, Skye, I am posting here what I wrote in the guestbook/journal for the house. I think this says it all. [Please excuse the length of this post. There was a lot for which I wanted to express my gratitude.])

Saturday, August 31, 7:30 a.m.

We just returned to Ocean Song House from the beach,
where we watched the sun nuzzle its way into the sky through clouds of a dozen textures that it painted peach and gold and pink.

As we prepare to say aloha to Skye and her house, I'm taking a little time to write here in the OceanSong journal.

We are a family of four from Normal, Illinois, and this is our first time visiting Hawaii. We've spent a week exploring--and falling in love with--Oahu, and we've seen many gorgeous and fascinating places. But nowhere else exerts the same tug on our hearts as the beach at access point 100-E, just a few steps down Hilu Street from Ocean Song House.

The house itself is lovely, perfect for a family of four. We've basked in the bouquet of Skye's garden (where yesterday we watched a six inch long snail slide across the lawn) and eaten our meals together here at the table on the deck, cooled by the trade winds. We love to drink "Arnold Palmers" (half iced tea, half lemonade) and we have found a new flavor by adding some of Skye's lemon/limes to our drinks. The cliffs above Waimanalo have enchanted us.

Everywhere we've traveled on Oahu this week, people have congratulated us on choosing Waimanalo as our temporary home. We feel lucky and blessed to have spent this week--in part a celebration of Julie's and my 24th wedding anniversary--at Ocean Song House, under Skye's care.

Like all the other guests who have written in this book, we have been marked by our time in Hawaii and will never forget its magic.

Mahalo. Aloha.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Relaxing

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

Fantastic spot very close to the beach and some great nearby cafes recommended by the owner, who was lovely. Beach equipment - umbrellas, chairs, coolers, snorkel - great for exploring Oahu's beaches.
House has fairly basic amenities, though clean and well maintained. Fans in each room but no aircon so for us in mid August it was too hot to be inside the house from midday to early evening when the sea breezes arrived to cool the place down.
One minor quibble would be the owner's "check out rules" requiring us to strip beds, clean the kitchen, empty rubbish bins etc - at peak seasom the house is expensive for what it is and with a significant cleaning fee charged on top this seemed a bit unfair.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

A slice of heaven with Ocean blue accents

Review submitted: June 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

Where to start...
What a wonderful host and owner to share a beautiful corner of the world with. The property instantly becomes a home, even though it is only temporary. Everything that has been said in other reviews cannot be overstated.
From the sea breeze that gently passes through, to the friendly neighbors. The sound of the ocean lulling you to sleep in the bedroom or out on the covered porch...
Nicely appointed and very comfortable.
Perfect location to retreat to after a day anywhere else on the island.
About an hour to the North shore. Honolulu, Pearl Harbor, swap meet, 45 minutes away.
Minutes to snorkeling, Chiefs Luau, Sea Life Park.
Seconds, maybe 30, to the most awesome beach in Hawaii...
Great food in Waimanalo, or 15 minutes to Kailua for an assortment of nice places to dine. Everything we needed to stock the shelves for our stay were found at the local market. If they dont have it, you probably don't need it, but Kailua's full service supermarkets have it all. Local fare, liquor, and Poke.

I've already said too much... ;)

We will be back!

Mahalo

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This is It!!!

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

From the moment we walked through the door there was a feeling that said "This is It!" If you ever wondered what it would be like to live in Hawaii, you should strongly consider staying here.
The Cottage has a large eat in kitchen, spacious living room, two bedrooms with baths, and a porch that is private and catches the ocean breeze. The property is decorated beautifully, with many thoughtful reminders that say Aloha to Hawaii. The gardens are peaceful and provide great privacy for your stay. The Palms and porch seem to beg you to slow down and relax while you savor your time here. If this wasn't enough, one of the best beaches is literally a half a block away and was sparsely populated... even on a holiday weekend!
Thank you for the great Aloha Skye - we will return and stay here again!
Mahalo ~

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comforts of Home

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: April 21, 2013

04/21/13 -04/27/13

Skye,

Wow, what an amazing adventure! 37 years ago, my friend Pam and I went to Hawaii, we were 15 years old and stayed for three weeks! Pam had an aunt and uncle who lived just a few miles from your cottage.

Over the years we talked about how much fun we had, and always said we would like to take our husbands to Hawaii someday.

We finally got the chance in April. Neither one of our husbands had ever been to Hawaii so I wanted it to be a great experience for both of them.

I spent what seemed like hours, searching for a place to stay that would be quiet, away from the crowds, and by the beach so we could all relax.

When I found Ocean~Song on the internet, I took a chance it would be what we wanted. I was very pleased when we got there and could see it with my own eyes. The cottage was well kept and nicely decorated, and the beds were great!

The beach was amazing and just a few steps away. We all enjoyed the beauty of Hawaii with the comforts of home.

It was the perfect little place for us. We hope to visit it again…Soon!

Thank you for your help, your time, and your comfortable little cottage :).

Take care!

Handyman Dave & Lori, Idaho

--------

Today is our 28th anniversary.

What a wonderful stay!

Thank you for sharing your little bit of paradise.

Jeb & Pam, Idaho

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the garden!

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 1, 2013

We had a wonderful time in your lovely home.
We very much enjoyed your garden with beautiful flowers and greenery!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The ocean sang for us

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 19, 2013

The song of the ocean echoed throughout our stay at your wonderful beach house.

Skye, thank you so very much for giving us a treat that will always be remembered and cherished.
Karen and I will keep the memories of our stay here in our hearts forever.

Mahalo!
--Brian

moonlight dancing across the water, stars shimmering above: the beach at night is so serenely beautiful. your beach and cottage have given us very lovely memories. thanks for sharing, skye!
--karen

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Precious Memories

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: January 27, 2013

January 27-Feb. 2

Best Vacation Ever!

Skye,

Thank you so much for the great hospitality and wonderful home, where we had the best vacation of our lives!
Waimanalo Beach is so gorgeous it took our breath away.
A cup of coffee on the beach while watching the most beautiful sunrise ever created some welcome romance, even with the kids around!
They loved boogie boarding, turtle watching and snorkeling.
Could hardly get them off the beach until the sun went down.

And we just loved the house. We appreciated the cleanliness and attention to detail. The beds were really comfortable and I woke every morning feeling rejuvenated.
We loved the open air feeling and the sound of the waves while we drifted off to sleep…
The house has a real tropical island feel to it, which was so delightful for us. It just has a great vibe!

We especially appreciated all the extras, the boogie boards, snorkel gear, sun umbrella, beach chairs and coolers.
These kind of details really made the home complete for us, and saved us some money and the hassle of trying to rent things or buy cheap.
So "mahalo" for this!

We all can't wait to come back.
We've already started planning our next trip, so look forward to seeing us again soon!

Jon & Cece
Alaska

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise~~~

Review submitted: February 27, 2013   Date of arrival: February 17, 2013

What a wonderful time we have had here on Oahu (our first visit). Thank you Skye for sharing your little bit of paradise and making the beach cottage so welcoming and homey!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

great time

Review submitted: February 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 11, 2013

We felt right at home at Skyes 'Ocean Song Beach House'. Everything was neat and comfortable and the neighborhood was quiet and safe.
The beach was fantastic, miles long and almost no people, just like a dream come true.
The coastal road to Honolulu is beautiful, with many view points and a few hikes.
I would recommend this to anyone visiting Oahu. If I am ever back in Waimanalo I will definitely call Skye again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Gorgeous Beach!

Review submitted: January 16, 2013   Date of arrival: January 15, 2013

Thank you, Skye.
It is so nice to live in your Ocean~Song Beach House. My parents and I had a wonderful vacation. The beach is gorgeous!
My husband and I will come back again.
Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful!

Review submitted: January 16, 2013   Date of arrival: January 10, 2013

Thank you Skye,
Everything was wonderful. We had a fine time here (in spite of not so great weather).
It is, after all, Hawaii!!
We hope to be back and see you again sometime in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Time!

Review submitted: January 16, 2013   Date of arrival: January 4, 2013

Skye,
We had a wonderful time at your Beach House. Thank you for the great local hospitality! We will make it back to your place again to enjoy the beaches, sun and aloha that Waimanalo has to offer!!
Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Waimanalo

Review submitted: December 18, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

We stayed on Oahu for a wedding and ended up staying in Skye's 3 bedroom house. It was close to a beautiful beach in a quiet neighborhood. We enjoyed the beach, the house was clean & comfortable and Skye was awsome! We would recommend this property and would stay again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 17 / 24

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review