reviews for: listing #106878 - Boston, Massachusetts Houseboat rental

Fabulous SleepAfloat Houseboat in Downtown Boston!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Houseboat
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $225 - $400 /nt

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing, Private, Unique

Review submitted: February 26, 2014   Date of arrival: February 24, 2014

We loved the privacy and quiet if our weekend. The boat is clean and a unique experience. The top balcony is where we spent mornings drinking coffee and talking. I slept better than I have in months in the boat too! Definitely try it again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What we expected

Review submitted: January 21, 2014   Date of arrival: January 15, 2014

The place was nice. It got a little crowded with 4 guys stepping over each other. We had to put all the suitcases in the master room because space was limited. But we knew what we were getting into. The marina is beautiful, many awesome ships. Amenities in the boat were nice and definitely met our needs.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Experience!

Review submitted: December 21, 2013   Date of arrival: December 14, 2013

Virtually everything was perfect and as expected. Melissa met us after a late flight to hand over the keys and give us a tour. The boat is in great shape, furniture is all very nice, and the boat is in a gated community so very safe. We loved the topside deck which made for a unique experience in after-dinner entertainment!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wow! Best Rental I've Stayed in!

Review submitted: November 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

We come to Hollywood a lot to see family and this was by far the best rental we've ever stayed in! It was so unique and in a great location, safe and not far from the beach. There was plenty of room for our family of 5 plus we had visitors stop by and we cooked food and ate up on the top roof deck (best part of the boat by far). The kids loved staying on the water and haven't stopped talking about it since we got home!

Our family members who live in the area were also impressed. They had no idea such a thing existed! We'll definitely be back next year and we'll bring our dog as we just found out they are pet friendly too!

Thanks SleepAfloat!
Tanya

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

An Experience

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

Having never stayed on a boat this was a good experience for us. We were travelling with 3 adults and 3 children, 11 years and 15 years and it worked well. 2 nights was sufficient for me but worked well for us. The outside living space on the boat was great. The area seemed quiet and secure. The swimming pool was lovely. Would recommend for something different.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Centaurus week-long visit

Review submitted: March 3, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

Our party of 4 (2 couples) arrived for a week-long visit to Miami Beach where we stayed on this 700 sq ft houseboat. Every day a manatee family loitered under the dock for an hour or two, close enough to touch. Still, we were not in the wilderness as Collins Avenue was a few feet away with busy traffic at times. There was no noise inside the boat, but on the deck, where we spent much our time, we gradually got accustomed to the traffic sounds. That was our only complaint, but being right on Collins Ave. also allowed us to step out of the boat at a traffic light controlled crosswalk, and walk a couple hundred feet to our car valet station or into the Alexander Hotel. We loved the tiki bar between the pools where Micheline (chef 30+ years at the hotel) at the bar's tiny kitchen cooked the best fish we had anywhere. Willi and Alex, bartenders, were fun and half-price happy hour from 3-5 was welcome. At 5-7 the No Name Bar next to the famous Shula's Steakhouse was also half priced. All the staff, especially the car valets, were charming with the concierge always coming out to greet us "boat" people as the valets labeled our car to find it easily as we came and went so often. The beach was gorgeous, but we preferred our boat roof top deck to hang out. Security guards walked along the waterfront. Our accommodations were clean, new, and with free Keurig K cups and the easy-to-use Keurig maker (I had never tried this system) we coffee drinkers were happy. The water was smooth. A mile or two north on Collins was a Publix market, pharmacy and liquor store which you park "under" and ride up to on an escalator or elevator making both parking and shopping easy. Lots of small restaurants we enjoyed were there as an alternative to the hyper-busy South Beach area where parking was always tight as the action was constant–a bit much for us "older" folks in their 50's. Driving back past the high rise beach-front condo buildings to our houseboat made us feel a little special on Millionaire's Row as our rooms were more than water front and the most unique, I think, in all the Beach. We're more used to low key Florida stays like in St. Petersburg; however, to visit the action of Miami and stay for a week at reasonable cost in super-expensive Miami Beach I'd highly recommend the house boat experience. Different and budget friendly, with all the benefits of a hotel we recommend it for couples, families with kids, or for a get away for two couples like us.

Helpful votes: 26 / 28

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review