reviews for: listing #106919 - Galveston, Texas House rental

Kahala Kastle
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Sands of KahalaBeach
  • sleeps  15
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $550 - $850 /nt
    $3,850 - $5,495 /wk

sort by:

Great home

Review submitted: July 18, 2014   Date of arrival: July 4, 2014

Our family has been renting a beach house every year in Galveston for at least a decade or more. This home has been the best yet. 6 adults and 6 grand kids were in the house and we never felt crowded. A/C's worked great, which is a major issue on the coast. The amenities provided were just right. The beds were comfy and the bedrooms were quiet. Great location- right on the beach and close to town. It made for a restful vacation. Just wish the seaweed hadn't been so bad, but still a five star trip! I would not hesitate to recommend this home to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Graduation Vacation

Review submitted: May 26, 2014   Date of arrival: May 19, 2014

What a beautiful house with gorgeous view! 10 extended family members gathered here and RELAXED and enjoyed our time. We were disappointed in the beach due to piles and piles of seaweed making the water unapproachable. But I believe this was a Mother Nature anomaly; disappointing none the less. Be prepared to supply EVERYTHING including toilet paper! There were very minimal towels and linens provided as well. Still it was a great stay and a wonderful property. I highly recommend it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Second time at property

Review submitted: April 30, 2014   Date of arrival: April 17, 2014

My entire family went in October for my Dad's 94th Birthday and again in April for my Mom's 84th Birthday. We all had a great time. Plenty of room to accommodate all of the family. The house is beautiful and the owner is always very friendly and helpful. We hope to go back in October for my Dad's 95th. We all love the beach!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Chris from Colorado

Review submitted: April 18, 2014   Date of arrival: March 20, 2014

Our stay was delightful. The house is beautiful, situated close enough to town to get where you want to go, but away from the noise of the downtown area. The layout of the home is very comfortable, nice beds and all the amenities. I would highly recommend this house to anyone who wants to spend some time on the beach in Texas.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Break in Galveston

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: March 12, 2014

We traveled to Galveston with my 2 daughters & their families. (6 adults, 5 children) We have stayed in several homes in this area & this home is by far everyone's favorite. The location was perfect, close to Galveston, but yet far enough away to beat the crowds. This house is a great lay-out, bathrooms in every bedroom. Children loved the bunk beds! The house was very clean & well maintained. The beach is steps away, uncrowned and very clean! The owners were very accessible & helpful! We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Will be back!

Review submitted: November 10, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

I've rented this house twice. So, that tells you how much we enjoyed it. The first visit was a girls trip with 9 of us. Perfect layout with each bedroom having a bath, door to deck, comfortable beds and open kitchen/living room for cooking and hanging out -- even an extra fridge that came in very handy. We rent places each year for the girls trip and this is our favorite so far. Sometimes the houses on VRBO can look great, but are not what we expect once we get there. This house is well appointed, stocked and rather immaculate. You can tell the owners care about the house.

I went back with family and kiddos this year because I already knew we'd love it. The kids room is great for them to have their own space. The beach itself is awesome for kids, even small ones - you can walk out really far without the water getting too deep for them. It gave me peace of mind as they played in the water. It's a beach vacation and I shouldn't care about cable tv and wifi, but that was really nice to have when we wanted it.

What's also good to know about the house is that it's part of a private row of about 10 homes that are all beachfront. This means public beach is pretty far from the house. Traffic on the beach is light and you are never competing with anyone else for room on the sand. You'll have a great vacation at this place -- just don't rent it the week I want to go back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Everything that you could ask for!

Review submitted: October 27, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

This house made it possible for our family and friends to have a truly relaxing vacation! We chose this house based on our need to accommodate lots of people (three families). Based on the occupancy in the description and the pictures, this looked like the perfect choice, and perfect it was! As soon as we arrived, we were pleased that the pictures accurately showed everything! Each of the couples got their own room and bathroom, and the kids all got to bunk together. They even had their own bathroom, too. Plenty of space for us all! Not only was the house a perfect fit us, but the accommodations were wonderful! First of all, it truly is RIGHT on the beach. The kids loved playing with the toys that they generously leave for visitors to use, and the seating on the upper deck and on the covered patio allowed everyone to get as much or as little sun as they wanted while still comfortably enjoying the beautiful ocean view! The outdoor shower was not only relaxing; it also allowed everyone to clean up without dragging the beach inside at the end of the day! With all the family coming together, we also greatly appreciated having all of the cooking utensils and pans available so that we could enjoy a home cooked meal together. As if it couldn’t get any better, it did! We are the owners of a small business, and it was crucial that we stay connected. Accessibility to their Wi-Fi allowed us truly relax, knowing what was happening at home. We have rented other places on the island, but THIS is the one that we will be returning to for years to come!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

vacation 9/25 to 9/29/2013

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 25, 2013

wonderful experience!! great vacation ever!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome family vacation!

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

Our family, which includes 3 generations, had an awesome vacation at this beach home. Each family had the luxury of having its own bathroom as well as its own access to the oceanfront deck. The kitchen had everything we needed for meals, snacks, happy hour, and even to bake a birthday cake! Beach toys were provided on the outside ground level along with a shower and a charcoal grill. The only thing that I could have asked for would be a cover on the whole deck that is accessed from the living/kitchen area. However, there was a covered area on the deck on the southside off of the master bedroom as well as the entire deck accessed from the downstairs bedrooms.
We have rented many different beachhome in Galveston over the past 19 years and, in our opinion, this home is the most family-friendly one on the island!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family Celebration

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this property. The owners were great to work with and they immediately addressed any issues we had. This beautiful home is as close to the water as you can get - so close that all you see is the ocean when looking from any ocean side window. Each bedroom has it's own full, private bathroom as well as deck access to enjoy your morning coffee or just to relax. The kitchen is fully stocked and all linens are provided and clean. This home has a brand new AC and the house stays cool all day and night! There is a HEATED shower outside to wash the sand off before entering the house. I highly recommend this property - we plan to make it a yearly tradition. This house is perfectly laid out to offer either privacy or togetherness. This home does have an elevator, but we could not access it.
Be sure to look right out your window every morning for your daily greeting by dolphins. I miss it already!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Girls Family Reunion

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 10, 2013

We just got back from out week's stay at this property. It is a fantastic, well maintained home with all the amenities you could ask for. We all found it difficult to leave on our last day to head back to "reality". We found it very relaxing and renewed our minds and spirits. The views from every part of the house are breathtaking. It is far enough away from the hustle and bustle of town, yet close enough to enjoy any type of sightseeing activity you may enjoy. Wonderful!

Owners response: We are so glad you had such a great reunion with your family!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Karen F

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

Great property. Our group really enjoyed the stay. Perfect location (on the beach and close to Galveston) and beautifully maintained.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Birthday surprise

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

The property served as an excellent location for our weekend surprise .
The accommodations were excellent. The property was described just like it is. The property owners were very courteous and willing to help with anything needed. The property location is excellent. It was great to catch a breath taking sunrise and then just chill on the deck and watch and listen to the waves rolling in. The property is very comfortable and very nicely decorated.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are go glad you enjoyed our beach house and the birthday surprise was a success!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

new years in galveston

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

wonderful house on the beach. everything about it was 5 star

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Thanksgiving

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 16, 2012

Very beautiful home! When we arrived after a long drive, we were so excited once we opened the door. Beautifully decorated, fresh paint, and very clean. We loved the open floor plan. We were able to enjoy everyone’s company while cooking and watching TV. What a view! Can’t wait to come back to Kahala Kastle.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: We are very glad you enjoyed our home!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

Wow! My family and I have stayed at several different beach houses in Galveston over the years, but this house was by far the best. The house is very clean and spacious. Waking up to the stunning views of the ocean was amazing! This year's Christmas at this beach house will be one that my family and I will remember for years to come.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review