reviews for: listing #10700 - Mission Beach, California House rental

Great view and only 50 ft to beach-Fall weeks available
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  South Mission Beach
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $225 - $400 /nt
    $1,600 - $2,800 /wk
    $3,000 - $11,200 /mth

sort by:

Our San Diego Vacation

Review submitted: July 1, 2008   Date of arrival: June 21, 2008

This condo was perfect for our family. We have smaller children and the out front patio was great to keep them out of harms way. This conda was also about 20 steps to the boardwalk. We were also close enough to walk to the amusement park everynight without complaints from the little ones. We had 6 people staying, and had plenty of room.

Great time

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Thank you for your time in writing a review. The property is great for families with children. It is close to the beach and has an enclosed patio with gates to keep the little ones safe.

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Great location

Review submitted: October 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 9, 2013

Location was great. The only issue is the bunk beds were really wobbly and creaked every time someone turned over or moved. Other than that it was great. (please get some oven mits)

Owners response: Thanks Lori for your review. This is the first that I have heard about the wobbly, squeaky bunk bed. You are the first to mention it! I had it tightened as soon as I read your review....it took 10 minutes. So sorry that your weekend stay wasn't perfect. Thank you for the 5 star rating. We try very hard to make our beach house welcoming and comfortable for our visitors. I appreciate the feedback...as I mentioned before you arrived, please let me know if anything needs to be done. I will respond immediately

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect beach stay-cation

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 7, 2013

We live in San Diego County and have been coming to South Mission for years, this is the first time we decided to actually stay. From a locals perspective this is the perfect location, perfect beach to enjoy beach side surf and bay side tranquility, everything is within walking distance once we arrived there was no reason we needed to leave. We have 2 children, pre-teen and teenager, it was close enough to the beach and felt like home that they were allowed some freedom and we felt very comfortably allowing them to wonder a bit. Already trying to figure out what week we will stay next summer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cherished Memories!

Review submitted: August 1, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

My family had such a awesome time at our stay in this beach house! We are so excited to book it for next year but this time book the whole house! We made many great memories. Not only did we have a great time the Spooners were great. Easy going, so helpful and make the stay so pleasant! Until next year beach house:)!

Owners response: We were very happy to have you and your family stay with us. Your idea for next year in booking the entire house is a good one. Many families use both units for family reunions....it is a great property to get the entire group together!! Thanks and we will see you again next year

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

cute duplex but......

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

This is a cute, clean well stocked duplex in a great location. The only problem we had is the owner/neighbor directly across the court, facing the house. when we arrived and read the house instructions, we were a little put-off (as a family in our late 40's) to read "absolutely no outside noise after 9:30 pm, as owner across the street will call police, and they will come." We are not loud partiers, but do like to sit outside in the evening, especially on vacation, and visit. we felt uncomfortable the entire trip. If not for this situation, we would return, as the owner is easy to work with and the location is nice, and duplex in good condition

Owners response: We encourage our guests and our friends to use the beach house and the outdoor patio for dinners and gatherings during the wonderful summer evenings. Our neighborhood is not conducive to rowdy, late parties as it is very family oriented. Late night party revelers are not happy in our area as it is a quiet neighborhood. This family and their friends are exactly the type of group that we hope will enjoy our beach house and return for many years to come. If I had realized that this group was uncomfortable, I would have certainly explained the intent of the warning regarding late night noise. The note has been on the bulletin board for 8 years and this is the first time anyone has commented on it. I will certainly modify the note to explain that normal family and friend gatherings are encouraged.....but loud, late night parties are better on the beach rather than on the patios.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great beach house

Review submitted: July 27, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Our 2nd year staying in this lower level beach house. Excellent location, house equipped with all the amenities. Perfect for families with or without small children. Owner is easy to get in touch with and responds promptly to questions and any issues that may arise. Loved our time there, looking forward to another stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are always happy to know that families with children enjoy our beach house. It is a perfect location for families with small children. This wonderful family has already made reservations for two weeks in 2014....we have many repeat visitors that have stayed with us since we bought the property in 2005. Thanks for the review and we will see you again next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

D & J

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

We felt at home from the minute we walked into this 2 bedroom beach cottage.
There were clean linens, a well stocked kitchen and cold refrigerator.
From the large furnished deck we were able to enjoy the ocean breeze without the constant
traffic of the board walk.
I would recommend this unit or the upstairs 3 bedroom to any of our friends.
Thanks to the owners for allowing us to escape to their piece of heaven.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A wonderful week at the beach here!

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

My family and I recently stayed here and had a wonderful time. I would definitely recommend it to others. Close to the beach and restaurants, but far enough down Mission Beach to stay away from the huge crowd near the roller coaster. The unit itself is spacious and very well equipped, which is important to us as we enjoy cooking some of our meals and the kitchen had everything we needed. The owners are very responsive and easy to work with. We have previously stayed in the upstairs unit, which was why we felt comfortable renting this one. We look forward to coming back here, hopefully soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great beach house

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Well stocked, clean beach house. Open layout was perfect and very spacious. The patio was really large and had a great view to the ocean. It comfortably sleeps 6 people and there is plenty of seating inside and out. It was in a perfect location in south mission and a very quiet one too. We will definitely rent again, we loved it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Second Stay

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

This was our second stay and it was wonderful. It was greatly needed and the beach house is perfect for us plus our dog. The owner is very gracious particularly in our circumstances at the time. We love the closeness to the beach and all the other activities. Phil's BBQ is a good restaurant and a short drive. It is a great house to relax in, read, and nap. It is clean, family friendly, and quiet. We will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Feels like home to us!!

Review submitted: November 18, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

We appreciateyour opening your home to us for the month of September. We love the home with all its amenities and closeness to the beach. This is the best area for long walks and bike rides. We bought monthly bus passes for $20 and went everywhere on the buses and trolley. We made several trips to Balboa Park, Coronado, La Jolla, downtown San Diego, Old Town. Also enjoyed the Zoo, Padres game, Midway tour, Farmers Market in Ocean Beach, fantastic whale watching with SeaForth and our Grayline tour to the Wild Animal Safari Park. This condo feels like home to us. It is so nice. We hate to leave and hope we will return next year. Until then we have fond memories!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our 3rd time here & it was another wonderful week!

Review submitted: November 18, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

Another wonderful week, our third stay here. We love the location, the beach, the little extra's you provide. It was wonderful to finally meet you and your family as well. As always we had a relaxing time, great weather and lots of fun. We look forward to another trip next year. Thanks again!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Would do this again anytime!!

Review submitted: November 18, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

We had a great time!! Thanks so much for everything-the little touches made it so nice - the coffee, hand soaps, shower soaps, new pillows & linens. What a wonderful beach house - Great Location!! We loved the patio area and how close we were to everything. Along with everything else being so great, you were wonderful to work with!! We would do this again anytime!! Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

PERFECT!! Family Vacation!!

Review submitted: November 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

Our family had a wonderful time! The proximity to the beach was ideal! We were so close to everything. Coronado Island, Zoo, La Jolla & a lot more we did not have time to see. Although we did a lot we had time to relax and enjoy the wonderful condo and the beach! With our daughter going to be a senior next year it was truly a PERFECT family vacation for our family. Next summer will be moving her into a dorm! The weather was absolutely amazing and bike riding is a MUST!! We rented from a great company and left their info on the bulletin board. Thanks so much. It was wonderful!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another Wonderful Week

Review submitted: November 18, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

Another wonderful vacation at your beautiful beach home. It looks so pretty, love the new exterior siding and fence. The accommodations are great. Everything you could possibly need is supplied. We had sunny, sunny, great days. Thank you

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Rock & Roll Marathon Weekend

Review submitted: November 18, 2011   Date of arrival: June 7, 2011

We had a wonderful time kicking the Rock & Roll Marathon's butt!! The stay was perfect. Your recommendations were spot on!!. It is a great location, loved the beach, Sara's burritos were a perfect post-marathon meal. We will be back!! Thanks for an awesome weekend!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Simi Valley , California

Review submitted: November 18, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

Thank you for sharing your beaach home with us. We had a wonderful time. Long walks on the beach, getting to Lego Land, Seaport Village, visiting friends, etc. Thanks for the coffee. It was peaceful having that first cup sitting on the deck & watching the day begin. We has a superb time.

PS. Our Smokey really, really likes the dog park here.

Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome and relaxing!

Review submitted: June 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

The location of the house was great! And the price was VERY competitive. We were here a week and loved the proximity to everything! We spent a lot of time on the beach and on the boardwalk but we were also close enough to go to La Jolla, Coronado, a Padres game and Sea World. We wanted to hit the Midway too but ran out of time. Lots of great restaurants nearby within walking distance. Capri Pizza ROCKS! Delicious! The house was well stocked to include martini and margarita glasses. Plenty of linens and towels and the house was very, very clean when we arrived. Will DEFINITELY rent from again!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

AWESOME!

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: May 30, 2010

We have stayed in this beach house on several occasions and have always found it to be squeaky clean, very well equipped, convenient to restaurants & grocery stores, and most important, to the beach. It is a wonderful location for our family with small children. It is just steps from the beach which makes the frequent trips to and from the property very easy to do. The enclosed patio is great for the little ones. They are able to play outside while Mom & Dad are barbequing dinner on the patio. There are a couple of tot play grounds nearby which we love to visit after we are done playing at the beach. We hope to visit again soon. We would recommend this property to families with children.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

All the extras!

Review submitted: December 2, 2009   Date of arrival: November 19, 2009

2 of us (adults) stayed in the downstairs unit over over a long weekend in November while participating in an event, and needed the two bed rooms separate baths and comfy beds. This condo was clean and offered all the "extras" that most rentals do not have, and Roberta made us feel right at home. It was great to be able to come back in the evening and just kick back and relax. It's walking distance to the shops and restaurants, and a great view the sunset was a bonus. I will come back and rent the same unit when I can actually spend time and enjoy the surrounding area!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great place to get away....

Review submitted: December 1, 2009   Date of arrival: October 5, 2009

My family and I stayed here in October. It was wonderful! The condo was nice and clean and the kitchen was stocked with anything you need to make this place a home away from home. The ocean view from the patio is awesome. Beach access is great. I loved walking my the boardwalk with my little dog every morning. Just make sure if you take a furry friend that you are off the boardwalk or beach by 9:30.
We really loved our week here and didn't want to go home. The place was so cozy and within walking distance to Belmont Park. Its also close to Sea World too.
I highly recommend staying here and would like to come back someday. Roberta was really professional and she even sent us a list of nearby grocery stores and restaurants. Great price and great location. You couldn't ask for anything more!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review