reviews for: listing #10724 - Tybee Island, Georgia Cottage rental

wilmington island cottage
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $95 - $150 /nt
    $525 - $950 /wk
    $1,000 - $1,800 /mth

sort by:

Wanted to stay longer!

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

My family and I (including our Yorkie) stayed in the cottage for 3 nights. It was not long enough! It is unreal how quiet the neighborhood is! Feels like you are so far away from everything, but actually you are only a few minutes from restaurants, groceries and shopping. During our stay, we discovered two nests of baby birds on the front porch. We enjoyed peeking in on them when momma wasn't around. It was funny to watch the momma bird bringing food for the babies -- if we were anywhere around, she would stay close enough to watch us but would not come to the nest. As soon as we would go inside, she would fly to the nest and feed the babies. If you are seeking a quiet and relaxed getaway, this is it! Hope to visit there again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: hosting is a pleasure, hosting with the help of nature, good weather, and great guest is the best.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Savannah Fun

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

Very cute and clean artsy cottage - perfect for the family, feels like home. Our Great Dane loved the front porch and the kids loved the hammock. Very quiet area. Lots of space. Kitchen has everything to make meals. Would recommend to friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: I have had so many happy travelers this summer. I appreciate all of your support and encouragement to continue hosting even when the storms are disruptive to power, the Mosquitos are biting and the palmetto bugs are flying. It is island living and my staff remains vigilant to providing the best home away from home experience to you all. Thanks for a wonderful summer season.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Savannah Fun

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

Very cute and clean artsy cottage - perfect for the family, feels like home. Our Great Dane loved the front porch and the kids loved the hammock. Very quiet area. Lots of space. Kitchen has everything to make meals. Would recommend to friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Savannah Vacation

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

My husband and our two dogs went to Savannah for a sight seeing vacation. The house was perfect! It's a lot bigger and roomier than it appears to be from the outside. It's located in a quiet neighborhood which was great. Everything we wanted to see in the Savannah area was within a half hour drive, and then we were able to escape to our quiet little rental house in the evenings. We went to see the New Years fireworks on Tybee Island and even with the traffic, we were back at the house before 1am! The kitchen's got just about everything you need- even muffin pans and a waffle iron! We'd definitely recommend this house to our friends!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the New Year of 2012 compliments on my property. Everyone loves the waffles.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Romantic Getaway

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

My partner and I really enjoyed our stay. The house is beautiful and the artwork is amazing. The kitchen had plenty of utensils, plates, cookware and appliances. It was very peaceful and relaxing. Wilmington Island is only 15 mins from Tybee and 15 mins from Savannah. It was perfect. Next year we are renting the the house and guest cottage for a family vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guest Cottage

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 20, 2011

We stayed in the guest cottage and it was plenty of space for a family of three. My teenaged son enjoyed his own space in the loft upstairs. We found it to be exactly as advertised. A fifteen minute drive to the beaches of Tybee and about the same to downtown Savannah. We enjoyed staying off Tybee on pleasant Wilmington Island. It made for a peaceful respite away from the beach crowd. Bev was great to work with, checking on us and making herself available if needed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: I am proud of the guest cottage and believe in small spaces providing more than enough space. The mezzanine 2nd floor offers a fun getaway. I appreciate the compliments from a family of three enjoying the guest cottage experience.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Calming and Peaceful Retreat

Review submitted: July 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

Words cannot say enough for the wonderful experience we had. We chose to stay in the smaller cottage and I must say it is quite the charmer and was perfect for our 3 person family!!! Everything about it was wonderful, from the mini kitchen with all it's ammenities, to the spiral staircare and loft upstairs, even the bathroom with the hidden door and loved the open top window area to the kitchen! My son found the spirtal staircase to be the neatest thing and loved sleeping upstairs in the loft area, as it was just his size. We found everything to be just perfect for us and our family and felt at home and very cozy during our vacation. It was such a wonderful, quiet neighborhood and we so look forward to coming back very soon. Bev is such a wonderful person to work with. She even called to check in and make sure we arrived safely.

Thanks a million Bev!!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am happy you enjoyed your experience in the tiny cottage designed to resemble being on a yacht. You used the space inch by inch just as I hoped guest would. No, you thanks a million. I look forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Our stay at Wilmington Cottage

Review submitted: June 8, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

The place was cute and charming. It fit our party just fine with lots of space. We enjoyed our stay very much. The only thing that I had to complain about and it really didn't matter was that I thought we would be able to fish near where we were staying. But my husband and son found another place to fish and my son caught a sting ray so no big deal. It was off the beaten path but, still close enough to restauants and attractions.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: thanks for all the compliments on the property. i am happy to hear that "gone fishin" ended well finding one of many public fishing spots minutes from wilmington willow.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Hidden Treasure

Review submitted: June 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2011

Great stay, beautiful. The cottage has a beautiful decor and lay out. We were pleasantly surprised. As referenced in the guest book, it is definitely the "love shack." Very close to Historic downtown and Tybee Island. We had so much fun. It's quiet and even the locals are friendly. Bev is so polite and helpful. I called her in the middle of the night and she didn't hesitate to call me back to answer my questions. She is a pleasure to speak to and very accommodating. We'll be back soon.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: love is in the air. the smaller guest cottage contains sweetness, that's for sure.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful!!!

Review submitted: April 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 27, 2011

I cannot say enough wonderful things about our experience. Bev is such a sweet, and caring woman. She checked in on us to make sure we were pleased with the accomodations. She also allowed us to bring our pug, and he really enjoyed his time there also. It was myself, my husband, my 7yr. old daughter, and my husbands daughter and grandson. There was plenty of room so nobody felt cramped. The biggest point was the house was extremely clean!! Everything you needed was there. She also showed us the other rentals on the property, and she has such a keen eye for creativity. We plan on coming down once a year now and Bev is the only one I would want to rent from. Her prices are extremely reasonable also. A restaurant that we wanted to go to, but unfortunately were unable to go to was Uncle Bubba's. The owner is Paula Dean's brother, so I'm sure the food is incredible. To sum it up, if your looking for something that is like home away from home this is it!! I hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: These over the top reviews of my property, my team, my hosting, compliments us all that handle the upkeep of this special property. All the kind words fuel our efforts to provide the best. It is my pleasure to host your holidays.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

wilmington island small cottage

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 1, 2010

I spent three weeks in December in the little cottage and it was great! The location isn't as isolated as the dirt road suggests but still private if you want it to be. Great location between downtown Savannah and Tybee Island. Did alot of sight seeing and dining out so the cottage was very convenient. Bev was great and was nice enough to allow my cat Rosie to come along - she loved it too! I would certainly recommend a stay here - it was small but that made it even more cozy-also, loved the fireplace during the crisp weather. Many things to do and lots of good restaurants(we especially like the Sundae Cafe and K-bella gourmet to go)within just a few minutes. Favorite shops were Seaside Sisters and another great place just past it and on the right(ca't remember the name and of course all the great dining and shopping in Savannah(just 15 minutes away!) Thanks Bev!!!

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: your review is certainly appreciated and the description of the amenities, dining, shopping on the island are always helpful to guest to come. let's not forget to mention the unexpected good finds at the island's very own goodwill shopping. thanks to all that take the time to express themselves regarding their stay in savannah, tybee, wilmington island, and of course wilmington willow.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

What a lovely home!

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

This home is a very comfortable place to go to. Lovely and homey yet very interesting decor. Clean and well maintained. Tucked away in a charming neighborhood. Walking distance to parks. Hopefully will return again!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: i anticipate your return. i can promise there will always be interesting changes. the decor and art collection is always changing.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Eclectic cottage in quiet community.

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 7, 2010

A little hard to find initially, but worth the trouble. In Wilmington Island, a very friendly and well kept community, this jewel is hidden not far from the marsh. The master bedroom has a roomy and romantic setup, with a jacuzzi tub in it's master bath. The home is decorated with artistic treasures of all shapes and sizes. Everyday we found something new. A plethora of needed household items, were always at hand. From bath towels, to beach towels, to a kitchen with every kind of utensil imaginable, it was here. Our visit was heaven and I miss it already. Hope to return shortly. Thanks Bev! You were great.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: i am always looking to please in a most unsuspectingly way. it is the road less traveled.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Place to Relax

Review submitted: September 28, 2010   Date of arrival: September 16, 2010

We had a wonderful time and the location is great and so convenient to the ocean at Tybee and just a few minutes to River St and downtown Savannah. We particularly enjoyed the privacy and setting, away from the crowds and close to the river. I would recommend to my friends anytime.

Amazing relaxing and very comfortable. I will definitely go back again!!!
Thanks you Bev for a great weekend....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

location.location location

Review submitted: September 17, 2010   Date of arrival: September 21, 2009

What a wonderful time we had and the location is great only 10 minutes to the ocean @ Tybee and 10 minutes to River St and downtown. We particularly enjoyed the privacy and setting, away from the crowds and close to the river! Thank you, Ms. Overton for sharing your home with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: thanks for making my cottage your return spot over the years.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

great place

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

Very unique, fun rental tucked away on Wilmington Island. The interior was ready for entertaining (lots of art) and clean. It is a very quiet neighborhood with great shade due to the very mature trees.

My boyfriend is an avid birder and called it 'the birdiest place he's ever stayed'. He saw 4 kinds of woodpeckers and innumberable songbirds just in the yard.

Only a 10 minute drive to Tybee beaches, this is a more relaxing and versatile place to stay than next to all the traffic and pedestrians on the beach during the high season.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: thanks for picking my property and so closely noticing all the subtleties of the property. i am happy to hear you appreciated all the birds that travel pass and make nest on the edge of the georgia coast. it is the ultimate compliment when one travels from so far away from home to make my cottage their home.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

The perfect place to decompress!

Review submitted: May 25, 2010   Date of arrival: May 21, 2010

I was looking for a place to get away and relax for a long weekend. Something about the pictures, even though there were few, made me want to stay at this property. Maybe it was the road that appeared to lead to another time when life was at a slower pace. I must say I have been on a lot of vacations and this was by far one of the most relaxing. I took a nap on the hammock, walked my dogs in the morning as the fog rose over the marsh and basked in the sun on the beaches of Tybee Island. Amazing, relaxing and definitely a place to return to. Savannah is close enough to go in for dinner yet the house made me feel like I was far from anything city. Bev is wonderful at anticipating what a vacationer might need and I had everything I needed and more. I definitely recommend this property to anyone. It is roomy and well stocked. Kudos Bev, I really needed the R&R.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

it was a wonderful experienced

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: March 12, 2010

I wanted to find a quiet place to get away with my Fiance for a few days to get away from our stressful lives. We spend 3 days of relaxation waking up when we wanted and the bed was so confortable it was amazing. The house we stayed it was very well decorated and it was big. The owner was such a sweet lady she made us feel quite at home. There is no pics here of the house but I will tell you that is great. We are planning on going back this summer and staying for a longer period of time.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: much appreciation. i look forward to your return visit. i wouldn't be there without the adventurous spirit of my guest.

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review