reviews for: listing #10729 - Shell Point, Florida House rental

Dock of the Bay...Canal Front, Dock, Pool, Pool Table, Wifi
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Paradise Village
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $92 - $167 /nt
    $675 - $875 /wk
    $1,200 - $3,000 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Vacation in Years - Didn't Want to Leave!

Review submitted: January 26, 2014   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

We stayed at The Dock of the Bay. We didn't want to leave. My son hadn't been to Fla. in 20 years( we couldn't get him to go) and he was asking me before we left if we would go back next year, so we all are saving our money for that trip. The best vacation in years, thanks Deb. (Review shared from Guest Reviews on “Deb’s Forgotten Coast Rentals” Facebook page)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Well Stocked - Everything You Need

Review submitted: January 26, 2014   Date of arrival: June 6, 2013

We stayed at Dock of the Bay - Deb was a pleasure to deal with - she even called us while we were on the road to let us know of an approaching storm and offered to adjust our rental dates because of it. The house is very well stocked - has everything you need. (Review shared from Guest Reviews on “Deb’s Forgotten Coast Rentals” Facebook page)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Comfy and Relaxing

Review submitted: January 26, 2014   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

We have stayed at "Dock of the Bay" twice and "Already Gone Fishing " once. Our favorite is "Dock of the Bay". Clean rentals , very comfy and relaxing every time that we stay . The most important thing when a busy person like us plans a vacation is how we plan and do business with our vacation rental. Deb handles things in a professional and trusting way. This is why we always come back to rent from her. (Review shared from Guest Reviews on “Deb’s Forgotten Coast Rentals” Facebook page)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

LOVE IT! Coming back in 2014!

Review submitted: January 26, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

Love it! We stayed for 6 wks last winter and are going back again this year! Deb is great to deal with and Dock of the Bay was a comfy retreat! (Review shared from Guest Reviews on “Deb’s Forgotten Coast Rentals” Facebook page)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Yami (Carrollton, GA)

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 8, 2013

We visited Shell Point to celebrate my husband's birthday. His family lives in Tallahassee and we wanted to stay near by. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised to see how spacious this property was. The house is beautifully decorated and has a cozy feeling. You can't help but relax when you are here. The furniture was very comfortable, as were all of the beds. The house was fully equipped with everything you could need. It had plenty of linens, towels even beach towels! We enjoyed the spacious kitchen and looked forward to having our morning coffee on the patio overlooking the water. We were only here for a weekend so we were unable to go sightseeing around the area, but we did enjoy the beach since it was within walking distance. My toddler had the best time at the pool and the playground area. We enjoyed it so much we are planning our next trip back already. Our son is coming home for a visit, he is in the Navy and stationed in Japan. We can’t wait to bring him here to enjoy the area and visit with family again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We are coming back for sure!

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

We came down for my younger grandson's birthday and my grand daughter's Baptism this past week and wanted to try something different then the usual hotel stays in Crawfordville. We took my mother-inlaw and my older daughters. There was an activity for all ages here for us to do. It was spacious and no one was ever bored. The Canal and screenporch was a great feeling as we rocked in the chairs on the porch sipping our coffee with the morning sun. The swimming pool is right near the dock of the bay and was sp peaceful and romantic to swim under the moon and watch the water glisten. Our first day, One daughter went to the beach, the other at the pool. My mother in law called all her friends to tell her what a great place this was. We played pool as a family and either listened to music or watch TV as the day ended. Instead of fast food meals, we cooked home cooked meals in a cozy, clean, environment. It was real nice after a busy day of fun filled events that we came back to a cozy place instead of a smelly small hotel room. We slept like babies and time flew by so quickly. I have to tell you that you have to try this place once, like we did...... you will want to come back for sure.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Place - Construction was a downer

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

Shell Point (& Dock of the Bay) was an excellent place for a great vacation at a great time of year. The weather was absolutely fabulous & the beach was mostly quite, even with the "Regada" going on. We came up to see our Daughter graduate from FSU and then spend some family time together. Shell Point is just far enough from the busy city areas, but yet close enough to enjoy trips to local hot spots (like Wakulla Springs & lighthouses) & Tallahassee. This house was an excellent place to stay with nice rooms, plenty of linens and even beach towels (most places don't provide those). The house was well kept & very clean. A car is important as it's a bit of a drive to find a grocery store & places to eat. The only down side to our vacation was the construction work being done by Public Works. We had to boil water for a couple days & we didn't get much of a chance to sleep in due to heavy construction equipment & noise "very early" each morning. The property owner was great at planning ahead for the construction and had bottled water on hand for those days when we needed it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 17, 2011

This is our first time we drove to Florida to escape the Ohio snow. We loved the green palm trees and abundance of birds and our vacation rental. The door was unlocked and we felt at home as soon as we went in. The rooms were comfortable, the master bath and even the closets were very roomy.

We walked to the beach almost every morning and found different shells and a star fish washed up. With high and low tide it was never boring. Most Saturday’s a traveling chef brought awesome food at reasonable prices. Wakulla springs is incredible with the boat ride we saw manatees the first time we went and big Joe the big alligator and his wife the second time we went, that place is fantastic. Posey’s restaurant has everything and it’s all very very good. I give Dock of the Bay five stars. We called Deb when the microwave died and she had another one there in about twenty minutes. Beautiful, peaceful and interesting place. We had a wonderful six weeks vacation.
Ault

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Just Another Day in Paradise

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: March 1, 2011

Never in our wildrest dreams could a place be so perfect. From the instant we opened the front door until the day that we closed it to return home, our experience at "Dock of the Bay" was everything we had hoped. Deb and Jerry know how to please their guests to the point that "we can't wait to get back next winter"! I was so fortunate to find them online, never dreaming our vacation would be so perfect right down to the lovely linens and heavenly beds, to a fully equipped kitchen - everything was there at our disposal including golf clubs to a fish cleaning station right on the boat dock. Everything was so tastefully decorated and folks were friendly everywhere we went. Taking our boat was one of the smartest things we ever did. Rod couldn't wait everyday to get out in the beautiful bay and hope for a great catch or not. We would spend many an evening out in the bay watching some of the most incredible sunsets. This is heaven folks, quiet, beautiful, no traffic and the place to be for one of the most relaxing vacations ever. Don't wait too long to make your reservations. Hats off to Deb, she is the Queen of the Rental Industry. Your every wish is her command. A most grateful couple, Linda and Rod

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review