reviews for: listing #1073 - Kihei, Hawaii Condo rental

Maui Vista Resort: Best Rate? No. Best Value? Yes.
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $95 - $155 /nt

sort by:

Our favorite room was your lanai.

Review submitted: January 15, 2009   Date of arrival: May 15, 2008

Hi Jim ~~ We enjoyed our stay at your Maui Vista condo. Our favorite room was your lanai. Really appreciate the way Maui Vista maintains the grounds. Your upgrades to the bathroom & kitchen are very nice and the bedroom is bright & comfortable. Also enjoyed the art work.

We always like to be on the 1st floor of the back units at Maui Vista because the lanai is larger, it's quiet at the back and the grounds are beautiful.

Owners response: It's always gratifying to get such an upbeat note. Helping provide an enjoyable vaction experience is part of my "pay." That's why I also send along restaurant, sight seeing and entertainment suggestions once a party has made a reservation. ~~~ Aloha, Jim

Helpful votes: 19 / 22

 

Not a value!

Review submitted: December 26, 2013   Date of arrival: November 30, 2013

As the above poster stated (although it may be removed by the owner) This place is
no value! The carpet is old and really gross! No phone as stated in his glowing description of his condo! When we arrived the fridge was turned off and when we tried to contact the cleaner we got no response with several attempts!This in my opinion is really not acceptable!
The cooking utensils are old burnt and unusable we ended up eating out
most meals because of the kitchen supplies... Also only ONE garbage bag seriously!
this is Hawaii when you take your garbage out every day! Needless to say we had
to buy garbage bags as well as toilet paper,laundry soap even salt and pepper. I don't
expect what I have at home but this is by far the Worst condo we have stayed in
while in Hawaii and we have stayed in many. I really feel for anyone who has already
booked this condo as I think the owner does not care and is only interested in any
reveniew from his multiple rental properties.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Value? NO!!!!

Review submitted: December 10, 2013   Date of arrival: November 9, 2013

We spent 2 weeks in this unit and were very unhappy with our decision to rent this unit. This unit is so dirty that we were embarrassed to have anyone visit us. Don't be fooled by the claims of new carpet and updates. The carpet is very old and stretched out of shape. The owner himself must not have been here for years, as the unit was filthy. I had to wash floors and bedding the very first day we were there. It lacks maintenance and basic utensils. His claim of all the utensils, cookery and dishes you'll ever want it so untruthful. A total of 5 dinner plates, makes it impossible to even use the dishwasher. Unit also has been stripped of a telephone for free on island calls and when I questioned him on it, he said to go to Wal-Mart and pick up a cheap phone and he would reimburse for our costs. This was not acceptable to us. His listing still show that a phone is included. I wrote Jim a note upon arriving home, and let him know how displeased we were. He never did respond to us. We felt like we were totally ripped off. Be ware of this unit, you will not be happy.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Kihei condo location and value

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

Thank you for letting us stay at your Maui Vista condo in Kihei. We are having a wonderful time and taking good care of your home. We love the location of your condo, since it is in the back building it is very quiet and romantic. We have really enjoyed our quiet breakfasts and dinners on the large ground floor lanai. Your condo is well maintained and even has beach chairs and boogie boards for the beach. Being able to walk to the beach, go shopping or out to dinner without driving is really a bonus.

Since we are already planning our next years Maui vacation we would like to rent your Maui Vista condo number 3104 for five weeks. If the dates we requested are available, please let us know and we will provide you with our credit card information.

Aloha, the Hart's

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Good to know that I'm seen as providing a good value. That has been my intent for the last 12 years. It's been very flattering that Barbara and her husband have already booked 35 nights beginning on 9/19/13!

Mahalo, Jim Egan (owner)

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

Another great stay in Jims apartment

Review submitted: May 6, 2011   Date of arrival: April 14, 2011

Whilst this was actually our first stay in Jim's apartment, it was not our first time visiting it, as other relatives have stayed here whilst we were in other units in Maui Vista and we had been in it, so we knew it was a good unit with a trustworthy owner (those and other relatives had also stayed at one of his units in Lahaina as well) .

It also helped that Jim takes credit cards, not all apartment owners do, and the ease of doing that is preferable compared to sending cheques in the post or dealing with bank transfers, especially if you live outside of the USA as I do.

So, when we had the opportunity to visit Maui again, it was a "no brainer" for us to book Jim's apartment in Kihei. If you haven't stayed at Maui Vista before, whilst there can be some road noise if you are in block one, one of the benefits of being in block three is no road noise at all, the only trade off being an extra two minutes walk to Charley Young beach through the beautifully kept Maui Vista gardens, well worth it. Also re the apartment location, it is nice being able to walk right out from the lanai to the pool in about 20 seconds, same for the BBQ area, and should you find the pool is too busy (rare in my experience) you can use either of the other two pools, as the apartment key fits all three.

As the description of the apartment is accurate I see no point adding much to that, other than to confirm the bed was very comfortable. We found the air conditioning in the bedroom worked best by using it for 30 minutes to chill the room down before sleeping, and then switching it off and just leaving the bedroom door open and letting the main air con keep the apartment at a reasonable temp after that.

One tip, before buying or renting things like chairs, boogie boards, fins and masks, cooler etc, take a good look in the hall cupboard, you never know whats in there, certainly most of the above for our stay.

FWIW local cheap restaurants just up the road we and friends enjoyed included Lulu's, Wokstar, the Pita Place,and also the little fish and chip place just up from Wokstar. The little market area there is also quite good for souvenirs.

In summary, if you are looking to stay in the Kihei area, this apartment comes Highly Recommended.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Very generous review. I expect the "newly minted" royal couple to show up any day! What Joe left out is that he suggested WiFi access to the internet would be a nice amenity since many visitors now travel with their iPad. I plan to install that capability next time I'm over from Honolulu. ~~ Aloha, Jim Egan, owner

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 25, 2011   Date of arrival: September 29, 2010

"Thankfully this unit has an A/C in the bedroom . . . "

"The perfect place for some much needed R & R. After a long day of traveling, followed by a long day of shopping, I was overjoyed to open the door to this immaculately clean and beautiful home. I've stayed at many condo's up and down South Kihei Rd. that were more expensive and cleanliness, comfort, and noise were a problem, but I didn't experience any of those issues here. Like I said this unit is spotless!
"Thankfully this unit has an A/C in the bedroom, otherwise I think it would have been way to warm to sleep in there. Because this unit is in the very back, there is next to no pedestrian traffic, or regular traffic noise.
"The kitchen is fully stocked for cooking. The washer and dryer allow you to pack lighter. There is an enormous closet full of beach goodies including several beach chairs, beach bags, beach toys, and a pretty large collection of books. The grounds are well maintained, I loved the plumeria trees. The owner is super nice and provides lots of helpful info prior to arriving.
"The Maui Vista is in a great location it's close to everything in Kihei and provides quick access to the highway. There is a cross walk right outside the Maui Vista that takes you to the glorious Charlie Young Beach. Had this unit been available, I would have extended my stay, I did not want to leave and I hope that this was just the first of many stays to come."

Sarah ~~ Phoenix, AZ ~~ (9/29/10)

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

. . . and you are right that there will be tears !

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: October 10, 2010

Aloha Jim ! We will probably be departing between 9:00 and 9:30 a.m..... and you are right that there will be tears!! We are having such a good time. It is so beautiful and relaxing here (but then I don't need to tell you that).

The condo is great and we are really enjoying it. It is a very tranquil environment and great "home base". We bought some "deluxe" beach chairs that we are going to leave behind in the closet. I know that future vacationers staying in your condo will enjoy them .... perhaps we will enjoy them again in the next year or two :)

Is there anything we need to do upon departure other than leave the keys in the lock box?? We have been doing "regular" cleaning so the housekeepers won't have too big a task in cleaning up after us. Again ... thanks so much for the use of your condo at Maui Vista. We will be back !!

Kathy ~~ Coquitlam, BC Canada (10/29/10)

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

If you ever decide to sell the unit . . .

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: December 12, 2010

Jim ~ It is our last night in #3104 for this year. Our stay has, again, been wonderful. As always, your unit is 'the best value' available. The new carpet is luxurious, and we appreciate the new dining chairs. Much better than before. And we found two comfortable new beach chairs in the storage closet. (See next letter.) They were great for sunning at Charlie Young beach.

If you ever decide to sell the unit, we would be interested. We have looked at other units here at Maui Vista, but yours is the best! We'll be contacting you soon to make our reservation for next year.

Jack & Mary Alice ~~ Olympia, WA (12/21/10)

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

The perfect place for some much needed R & R

Review submitted: September 30, 2010   Date of arrival: September 19, 2010

After a long day of traveling, followed by a long day of shopping, I was overjoyed to open the door to this immaculately clean and beautiful home. I've stayed at many condo's up and down South Kehei Rd that were more expensive and cleanliness, comfort, and noise were a problem, but I didn't experience any of those issues here. Like I said this unit is spotless! Thankfully this unit has an A/C in the bedroom, otherwise I think it would have been way to warm to sleep in there. Because this unit is in the very back, there is next to no pedestrian traffic, or regular traffic noise. The kitchen is fully stocked for cooking. The washer and dryer allow you to pack lighter. There is an enormous closet full of beach goodies including several beach chairs, beach bags, beach toys, and a pretty large collection of books. The grounds are well maintained, I loved the plumeria trees. The owner is super nice and provides lots of helpful info prior to arriving. The Maui Vista is in a great location it's close to everything in Kehei and provides quick access to the highway. There is a cross walk right outside the Maui Vista that takes you to the glorious Charlie Young Beach. Had this unit been available, I would have extended my stay, I did not want to leave and I hope that this was just the first of many stays to come.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: What a review! In my correspondence with this young lady, I learned that she had been studying for her bar exam ~ and recently passed. Also passed her ethics exam which is even more difficult I understand. I'm thrilled that she took the time to write such an comprehensive review. And so soon after she left on September 28th ~~ after a nine night stay. Mahalo SB! ~~ Aloha, Jim

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I truly appreciated the choice of pillows.

Review submitted: September 22, 2010   Date of arrival: September 1, 2010

Hi Jim ~~ Thanks for sharing your Kihei condo with us for the past couple weeks (September 1-16). We enjoyed it very much and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. The patio has a lovely view and we found the condo very quiet.

I truly appreciated the choice of pillows. So many places have very uncomfortable foam pillows. My husband likes a firm pillow and mine at home is down, so is very soft. We were both able to choose one to suit our tastes and that made for a good night's rest ~ with the comfortable mattress as well. As someone who likes to cook, I also was pleased to see the nice Chicago Cutlery knife set.

Again, we were very delighted with the place and at some point in the future, we will contact you to see if you would be willing to rent it at a flat rate for a month or two. Thanks again.

Connie ~~ Scottsdale, AZ ~~ (9/21/10)

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Great time at Maui Vista

Review submitted: September 6, 2010   Date of arrival: August 24, 2010

Hi Jim,
Just wanted to let you know that we very much liked and enjoyed our stay at your Maui Vista condo. The condo was very well-appointed and clean. We very much liked being at the back of Maui Vista as we couldn't hear the street noise at all. Also the little walk through the beautiful Maui Vista gardens down to the street/the beach was really nice! The A/C in the bedroom was a bit noisy so that we switched it off at night - still, it was really good to be able to cool down the bedroom prior to going to sleep!
By the way, we had dinner at Cafe O'Lei, which you had kindly recommended as one of your favorites, various times and absolutely loved the place!
We will definitely recommend your condo should one of our friends ever go to Maui!
Best,
Verena

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: My housekeeping lady had already reported that Verena left my condo very tidy and clean. I sure hope she has many friends like her who want to come to Maui! ~~ Aloha, Jim

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved having the A/C in the bedroom.

Review submitted: September 4, 2010   Date of arrival: April 13, 2010

Dear Mr. Egan ~~ Just wanted to thank you for all the information you gave us regarding the Kihei area. We had a wonderful time! Everything was great in the condo. Very clean and quiet! We will definitely contact you again for our next trip to Maui. The condo was everything we expected and more. We loved having the A/C in the bedroom, the weather was a little muggy and it made us more comfortable. We will contact you next year!

Thank you, Christine ~~ Milpitas, CA

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

You were so good to work with!

Review submitted: September 4, 2010   Date of arrival: November 23, 2009

Hi Jim ~~ Thanks for the use of your lovely condos. We loved the location in Lahaina - so convenient to everything we wanted to do, including the Maui Invitational Basketball Tournament.

But, you outdid yourself with the Kihei condo! WOW! It is really beautiful and all your new upgrades are wonderful. The location was super. We had never stayed in Kihei. We loved it and will be back. You were so good to work with!
You are so professional and did not miss anything - including great directions. Your attention to detail was excellent. Thanks again for letting us use your beautiful accommodations.

Vern & Barb ~~ Glen Haven, CO

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Some owners look at their units as cash cows.

Review submitted: September 4, 2010   Date of arrival: September 15, 2009

Hi Jim ~~ Thanks for keeping your condo in immaculate shape, we hope to come back. We were slightly worried about a private rental, as some owners look at their units as cash cows, but your condo compared favorably with the resort hotel we stayed with in Kaanapali.

Jan (Yon) and Judith ~~ Portland, OR

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely peaceful outlook and great decor.

Review submitted: September 4, 2010   Date of arrival: September 23, 2009

Hi Jim ~~ Just thought I would let you know. We arrived about 3 pm after a long day....8.5 hour flight from New Zealand...then Honolulu to Maui ...then organising rental car..windsurfing equipment hire....shopping. Anyway....we love your apartment Jim...lovely peaceful outlook and great decor. I have been coming to Maui Vista for many years and your apartment is by far the best I have stayed in.

Tony and Yih-hsin (e-shing) ~~ New Zealand

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our stay in your unit...was the best!

Review submitted: September 4, 2010   Date of arrival: November 30, 2009

Jim ~~ we would like to rent your Maui Vista condo for Nov. 30 thru Dec. 13 - 2009. We have stayed at the Maui Vista each year for the last six years, or so. Our stay in your unit Feb. 2008 was the best!

Jack & Mary Alice ~~ Olympia WA

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

I would stay again in a minute.

Review submitted: January 15, 2009   Date of arrival: July 6, 2008

Dear Jim ~~ The Maui Vista is a perfect location especially with Charlie Young Beach just across the street and quiet too! You have a very nice place. I would stay again in a minute. All the appliances, tub, shower, everything was simple to use with your great labels. Nice cabinetry as well. Hope you have a nice summer! Aloha!

Owners response: When someone takes the time to comment on their positive experience, it's very encouraging. All I can say is mahalo (thank you in Hawaiian!) ~~~ Aloha, Jim

Helpful votes: 13 / 14

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review