reviews for: listing #107337 - Jewett, New York House rental

Your Own Country Estate w/ Lake & Extensive Views
  • bedrooms  12
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  7
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  40
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $2,250 - $2,250 /nt
    $12,750 - $12,750 /wk

sort by:

Perfect Family Getaway

Review submitted: October 14, 2008   Date of arrival: October 2, 2008

We were looking for a home for a family reunion that would accomodate all 32 of us comfortably, was affordable, and had things for adults and kids to do. This was without a doubt the absolute best choice we made. The house and property are so beautiful and clean, and between all the amenities, there was always something for the adults and kids to do. Hunter Mountain, cute cafes and boutique shops are within a ten minute driving range as well, so it is very conveniently located. You feel like you're on your own private estate, and the views are truly breathtaking. With three kitchens, twelve bedrooms, and countless bathrooms and living areas, you will not be on top of each other at all, and everyone will have their own privacy. The ages in our group ranged from 4 to 80, and everyone enjoyed themselves the same. We would definitely recommend this house for people looking for a great family getaway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Steph/Mike,
It was a pleasure dealing with you. Thank you for your review. I guess you could say it was worth the time you put into researching the best property for your family.

Thank you for your business and I look forward to working with you in the future.

Best wishes to you and your family,
Brett

Helpful votes: 16 / 20

 

A hidden gem!

Review submitted: February 28, 2014   Date of arrival: February 21, 2014

I stayed at “The Estate” last weekend with 40 friends to celebrate a few birthdays and could not have been happier with property and accommodations. When you find a rental online, you usually do not know what you are getting until you actually get there; however, this listing description and pictures regarding the location, layout, amenities, etc. were 100% accurate. There were absolutely no disappointments - only pleasant surprises! The house was amazing and it was the perfect property for such a large group – some people were able to go skiing at Hunter, while others stayed at the house and enjoyed the hot tub and tremendous game room. It was also able to accommodate 40 people in beds, which is not easy to find!
Brett was a pleasure to work with and made the entire process extremely easy and seamless. He was very accessible and able to answer all of our questions. We had a fantastic weekend at the house and are already looking into booking a weekend in the summer! I would definitely recommend Brett and his properties to friends and family and definitely plan on going back year after year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house, ample of amenities, plus a lake!

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 29, 2013

Thanks for renting us your Catskill property (The Estate). It was really a wonderful trip. Every year all our friends rent a vacation house around labor day and this year we rented Your Own Estate. We were 24 adults and 20 kids and still did not find the property small. The Property was just as it was described on the website, we had a few surprises, but of course on the better side. We had about 20 kids who enjoyed the big property especially the swimming pool and the play area in the second house. Guess what, we even spotted a bear at the backyard which was so much exciting for all of us, even the adults.
I would definitely recommend your property to my other friends and relatives. Overall it was a great experience for all of us and would definitely rent the same house again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing, wonderful, great property!!!

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

Our church decided to put together a retreat, we couldn't have found a better property than the Estate! It's just as described and even better! Everyone really enjoyed the pool. Using the boats on the lake was great and very relaxing. The game room was a great place for the kids to hang out, laugh and of course play. One of the most unforgettable moments was on our last night at the Estate where we all sat together in front of the fire-pit. We sang songs, ate marshmallows, and shared stories. I would definitely recommend the Estate to every family and church group that is looking for a place to have fun, get away from everything, and where they can spend time with one another. Not only was the house great, but the owner Brett was
also really helpful. He did everything to make us feel comfortable. We all thank you very much for everything Brett! The Estate was perfect and the only bad thing was that we couldn't spend more time there. Thank you for making us feel at home, God bless and we'll definitely be back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing, family friendly, lots to enjoy for all!

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

My family and I stayed at 4 Season Getaway’s, “Your Own Estate” property for a weekend getaway. My party included about 35 people including adults of varying ages (18-72) and children (9 month old- 17). The property was enjoyed fully by people of all ages. There is a lake, with a few different types of boats, and could also be used for fishing. My elder relatives really enjoyed being taken out on the boats by some of the younger generation. Besides the lake, there was also a massive swing set, hammock, hot tub, fire pit, and swimming pool. My group loved the pool. The elder folks in my group, including people with arthritis, and they really enjoyed sitting in the hot tub for hours. My grandmother actually said her joints felt much better after doing so. My family spent most of our time outdoors, the inside was also very beautiful. The inside had a couple of bedrooms on the main floor, which was very convenient for my handicapped grandfather. He had easy access to a bedroom, bathroom, kitchen, and pool hall on the main floor. In the main house, there are two separate units upstairs, each including about 3 to 4 bedrooms. My girl cousins and I stayed in the master suite, the beds were very comfortable, and we had our own balcony overlooking the lake. The kitchen was fully stocked with appliances, utensils, pots and pans. The guest house was were many of the kids and young adults would stay up late and hang out in the game room so we would not disturb the elders in the main house. Brett is a very helpful and dedicated owner. He always answered my million questions without showing any annoyance, and was very patient with my very large group. He was very accommodating, especially for allowing us to check in early on Friday so that we would have a place to do our Friday prayers. Personally, my favorite part of this trip took place on our last night. We sat around the fire pit making smores and each person spoke about their favorite parts of the weekend. As organizer of the trip, it was very satisfying to hear that everyone had a good time and was looking forward to doing this again next summer. Also, it was very nice to hear how proud the older generation was of the younger generation for keeping family a priority and planning trips like these to increase bonding. You will not be unsatisfied with your stay guaranteed.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Terrific Venue for our Annual Leadership Summit

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 15, 2013

Your Own Estate was a terrific venue for our annual leadership summit. The remote setting coupled with breathtaking views served as the ideal setting for our team of 30 leaders. We were able to hold group meetings outside on the bluestone patio as well as indoors in very large rooms in both the main and guest houses. The property and amenities were well represented on the website. We used the front lawn of the property to conduct a team building event that featured a series of relay races. Our talent show was held on the back lawn. Brett, our landlord, was very accommodating and highly responsive. He was able to quickly deploy resources to address the few items that needed attention during our stay at Your Own Estate. It was a great property and location! Your Own Estate helped make our 4th annual leadership summit the most memorable to date!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredible Property

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

I can't speak highly enough about this property. I rented it with a group of 15 friends for no occasion in particular, mainly just to catch up and enjoy a weekend of skiing. The property is absolutely amazing! Our only regret was that we didn't rent it for longer because come the end of the weekend, we did not want to leave. Everyone loved the bar area, which has the feel of a real bar and includes a pool table, big screen TV and tons of couches. It was the perfect place to hang out after a long day of skiing. We also had a blast playing all the games set up in the game room. The listing description was extremely accurate in regards to the location, layout, amenities, etc. Doing business with the owner was a pleasure; he was very professional and afterwards returned our security deposit back promptly. I would recommend this property to any large group of friends looking to have a relaxing weekend in the woods, but it would also be great for families. There is no doubt in my mind I will be renting this property again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Place for a Perfect Weekend

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

Having spent a long weekend at the estate, I can honestly recommend it to any large (or small) group looking to have a lot of fun, while also having space to stretch out. Its always difficult to find a home suitable for 20+ people, and we couldn't have found a better spot. Every clique within the larger group had their own micro environment, but the common spaces were perfect to all congregate. The bar room was perfect at times, as was the game room in the guest house. All the furnishings were in good shape, and the house was very clean. Would definitely stay there again, and hope I have the opportunity to do so.

The other aspect that led me to an excellent rating was the experience I had working with the owner. I rent houses often, and i've never received the focus and attention that Brett provided. He's a class act, and made the whole process that much easier. I hope he buys more homes so we can rent from him beyond Hunter/Windham/Berkshires.

Also, in the spirit of feedback, I want to highlight two things. 1, it's tucked away in the woods, so running back and forth to town isn't ideal. Bring as much as you can when you arrive. 2, couldn't find a cutting board (knowing Brett, he'll read this, and put 10 in the kitchen!)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bachelorette Weekend

Review submitted: March 15, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

Anyone interested in renting this property, I rented "Your Own Estate" with a group of 30 women ranging ages from 25-70 for my bachelorette party. The house was exactly what I expected, even better. Everyone had their own bed which was great. The houses were both very big and spacious with 3 full kitchens so there was no need to spend extra money going out to eat. We cooked food ourselves. The group I was with really enjoyed the open area in the guest house. There were a bunch of table games and a very open layout for everyone to hang out together in one area. Brett was great to work with and was very easy to get in contact with if I had any questions. I would recommend this property to anyone with a large group. My group was already talking about future reunions!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stress free vacation....

Review submitted: December 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

I rented the Estate for our 25th Annual Columbus Day Weekend Family Reunion. The combination of the 2 houses make this the ideal property for ANY large group or family. The listing couldn't have been more accurate. Everything was exactly as listed and there were no surprises as I have had on MANY prior rentals with other companies. Our group found that having the 2nd house with all the "fun" activities for kids was great. Not to mention the AMAZING lake with the boats and fishing. 3 Days was just not enough at the Estate to enjoy everything. Also, the location of the house is perfect. It is right in between Hunter and Windham. A lot of our group got to enjoy Oktoberfest which was just minutes away. What made this trip special was that there was so much space to accommodate our large group of 27. It is usually very hard to find a place where everyone gets a bed to sleep in. Last but not least, dealing with the landlord, Brett. He made this whole process a breeze. He is incredibly down to earth and helpful. I was having trouble with another company that actually needed to cancel our reservation for another place in August. I stumbled across www.4sg.com and explained my situation to Brett. From that moment I knew that cancellation was a blessing in disguise. After dealing with Brett so much, I would like to now consider him a friend. I recommend Brett and his company 4 Seasons Getaway to anyone/group looking for an awesome getaway not too far from home. The views from the front of the house are extraordinary!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

the perfect home!

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 26, 2012

We rented the Estate for a company summit, which included employees from NYC, as well as London. The description of the Estate was exactly as described in the listing, if not better. The house provided everything we needed for its 35 occupants the four days we were there. The place was immaculate when we arrived also! A lot of time was spent in the hot tub after the long work days. Many of the occupants loved the billiard table, basketball and the game room as well. It was quite nice to have the big open living room for meals and general socializing too. It made us feel like a big happy family! One of the best parts of the summit was when we built a fire in the pit one night and roasted marshmallows all together. It sounds lame, but it really gave us a humbled, sentimental moment all together. Brett was so helpful from beginning to end. He was always available and ready to answer whatever questions we had, which he always had responses for. When looking for a property for our summit, we began getting nervous about having to send money for a property we hadn't seen and to people we hadn't met. With Brett I never felt worried or skeptical of the transaction failing. The site was phenomenal and I was able to plan everything for the trip before getting there. I would definitely recommend and advise people to rent this property in the future whenever possible. We may even use it again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Perfect Home!

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 26, 2012

Finding this Estate was literally and figuratively a breath of fresh air. A beautiful, pristine location in the lovely Catskill mountains. We had a company summit at this location housing 34 people comfortably. The Estate provides everything it claims to and more. Brett, the property manager, is a delight to work with and answered every question I had. I highly recommend this property for anyone looking for a relaxing, serene stay in the mountains.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

the perfect home!

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 26, 2012

Finding this Estate was literally and figuratively a breath of fresh air. A beautiful, pristine location in the lovely Catskill mountains. We had a company summit at this location housing 34 people comfortably. The Estate provides everything it claims to and more. Brett, the property manager, is a delight to work with and answered every question I had. I highly recommend this property for anyone looking for a relaxing, serene stay in the mountains.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Family Memories!

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

We enjoyed our vacation so much the home and location was perfect. We had a large group of 32 ranging in age from 2-67! Our family picks a different place every summer to vacation together and this was perfect. We had more than enough room/beds/bathrooms and the pool was amazing!

The scenery was really beautiful. The pictures did not do it justice! There was so much to do. It was our first vacation that we only left to food shop and then we all came back to the house and just played games. We brought a volleyball net and set it up on the front lawn and played for hours. The kids loved the pond and spent hours catching frogs and looking for snakes. They were in heaven!

Having three kitchens was also really very helpful considering the size of our group. Lunch we would eat in one house and dinner in the other. The view on the deck of the house with all the games was perfect during the day.

Brett, the owner was so great to work with. Any time I would reach out and ask a question he got back to me within an hour or less. We have rented many homes and this was by far our most positive experience with the owner.

Overall, I would and already have recommended this home to other family members and friends. We are a big skiing family and we were talking about heading back up this winter!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Second Stay. Just as nice as first.

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

My large party was part of a festival at Windham Mountain. This location is perfectly situated between Hunter Mountain and Windham Mountain. This is my second time renting "Your Own Estate". The setting is stunning, the home was clean and looks exactly as it is advertised, and the owner, Brett, was very easy to work with. We used the fire pit at night, pool during the day, hot tub,. pool table, ping pong, etc. We took full advantage of all of the amenities. No issues whatsoever. Thanks for an enjoyable stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Milestone birthday celebration perfection

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 21, 2012

What a wonderful place and a wonderful time we had. We went to ‘Your Own Estate’ for my husband’s birthday and had 20 of our family and friends join us. It was perfect. As we drove up the driveway our breathe was taken away with the beauty of the place. It had everything we needed for a great weekend-a swimming pool, games room, bar, pool table and plenty of space. I was slightly worried as we were such a big group but it was ideal. There was so much space people could do whatever they liked. Groups went hiking, others swam and lazed by the pool, some went on the lake in the boats provided while others heated up in the hot tub. A great time was had by all a truly wonderful weekend with plenty of grilling, swimming and relaxing. One of the best things about this property was that there was a separate house over the garage for those who wanted to be away from the hubbub of the main house, perfect for those with families. We would definitely come here again for another big gathering and want to thank Brett for renting this wonderful house to us for such a special occasion.
- Zoe Heygate-Browne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect location for corporate retreat

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

We are a start-up technology company based in NYC and Boston and we recently rented The Estate for our corporate retreat. We were looking for something that was equidistant between our offices, could comfortably accommodate 38 people, and had space for large meetings, small group meetings, and a bit of fun on the side. We absolutely loved the houses, the amenities, and the location. The house had a large living room with comfy couches and chairs, a spacious kitchen for all our eating and snacking needs, and numerous well-appointed guest rooms. The guest house was large and private enough to accommodate all of the ladies, while the gentleman shared the main house. The amenities were lovely: a wonderful swimming pool and hot tub (we probably enjoyed the hot tub too much), pool table and game rooms, pond and paddle boats, and a bonfire pit. The location was perfectly spectacular. The breathtaking views from pre-dawn to evening sunset were picturesque. It was our first time renting this property in the summer and we absolutely loved it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Property but needs maintenance

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2012

We just had a family reunion here with 30 family members. The location was fantastic - mountain views, overlooking pond, and plenty of space. However, it should be noted that the kitchen was lacking in pans for baking, and basic utensils. One of the dishwashers was out of order, the fridge in the carriage house was set so cold that all of our organic veggies froze the first night (we never thought of checking the temp), there was only 1 small towel rack in the upstairs bathroom that was shared by 6 adults, a terrible smell made the front living room uninhabitable most of the time - it was either dead animal or sewage and seeped upstairs into the bedrooms at night. No problem if you were in a different area, but for those of us in that wing - STINK-OH. No internet (not sure if there was supposed to be). Most of the DVD players didn't work. The canoe on the pond was working but the paddle boat was useless and we didn't try the rowboat. Aside from those complaints, which I think Brett should fix considering the price we paid, our family had a great time. There was plenty of space for all generations, the pool was great. The hottub got a little murky by the end of our stay and could be larger considering the capacity of guests in the house. We have rented properties all over the country and while I could say the size and location of this one were excellent, the upkeep could have been better.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect getaway!!!

Review submitted: March 8, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

All I have to say is AMAZING!!!! My husband and I celebrated our 4th wedding anniversary and wanted to get away and go skiing with friends! The location of the property was perfect because it is located between both mountains (Hunter & Windham). This house is beautiful and looks ten times better in person. I wish I can show off my pictures, we all had such a great time! The house has it all...everybody is still talking about it! No complaints at all, LOVED IT! Brett was so helpful and nice, an amazing guy! THANKS AGAIN BRETT!!! Cannot wait to go back! Definitely renting in the summer time to enjoy the pool! Did I say I loved it? haha HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!! T H E B E S T ;)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

Absolutely amazing!!!....that's how I would describe everything about our experience with this rental....I rented this house for presidents day weekend with 30 of my friends.....they left finding the place and planning it all up to me, when they got to the house they were in amazement of how beautiful it was......the house had everything....great for a bunch of family's, tons to do for kids...great for a group of friends to escape for the weekend......dealing with Brett was a great pleasure, he always was available to answer all of my questions...I would def recommend booking through his company, I know me and my friends def will be renting again from him.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

home away from home, but better

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

"Everyone in my family lives in different cities, and we were looking for a
place we could all get together for a vacation that was central to everyone. In
our online search, we hit on your place in the Catskills and it was perfect. It
had the space we needed, the privacy we wanted, and all the amenities we could
imagine. We were a large group of all different ages, and there was something
for everyone to do without bumping into each other. The boys enjoyed
boating/swimming in the lake, others liked the pool better, there was lots of
area to throw around a ball, and the hammock was a real hit with the kids. All
the indoor games kept everyone busy when it rained, and there was plenty of
entertainment and hiking in the area when it didn't. The beautiful nighttime
bonfire was something we will remember for a long time. All the kids really
enjoyed decreased parental supervision, and our family enjoyed being able to
spend such a relaxing week together with no worries. It's not a hotel, there is
no maid service and you have to bring all your own supplies, so for our large
family that took a lot of planning and organizing. Once we got there though, we
were able to spend time all together as a family that is impossible anywhere
else. This was a week with memories and shared experiences everyone will hold
onto forever. Maybe we will make this a tradition, who knows...”

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Best Men's Conference Ever !!!

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

We rented "Your Own Estate" for our annual Men's Empowerment & Focus on The Family Conference

"Your Own Estate" was advertised well on 4sg's web site but what we envisioned physically was like a piece of "Heaven on Earth". The property was kept and presented in immaculate order.

We truly enjoyed ourselves. There was so much space both outdoors and indoors. It never felt like we were in each other's way. We were able to fully engage in some effective and fun filled team building activities, life changing testimonies and most importantly rejuvenated focus. The amenities was literally a one stop shop. From the outdoor pool, the professional size pool table to the more than adequate gaming space in the guest house there was enough to keep everyone happy. Our most memorable moment was interestingly enough the "Family" plaque that hung over the mantle of the fireplace in the main house. It was memorable because when we left that is exactly how we felt as Men. Like Family. Working with Brett was amazing. He's young, experienced and very accommodating. It's rare that you have someone who is so authentic in placing your cares fist. Also, I would be remiss if I didn't mention the awesome house staff and their heightened sense of urgency when it mattered the most. After a wonderful experience at "Your Own Estate" I feel very comfortable referring others to experience the same joy and excitement that was had by booking their next Vacation getaway, Retreat, or Conference there as well

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for our family reunion!

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

The property was advertised with absolute accuracy and upon arrival it was even more beautiful than we expected. One thing that the pictures cannot truly capture is the unadultered 180 degree of the Catskill mountains - it was magnificent! The property is ideal for large groups because there is the perfect combination of large places to gather (both inside & outside) as well as enough room to roam and find private, quiet time. The three kitchens were also great for my large French family that makes every meal a feast. We truly enjoyed all the property has to offer, including: hours of play time in the pool, boating & fishing on the lake, air hockey, poker, the bar in the main house, the fire pit, the hot tub, the back patio, and the television for family photo slide shows. The memories we made there will be with us forever! Working with Brett has been a pleasure. The entire process was accomplished with ease and every question or concern was met with friendliness and emphasis on accommodation. Thank you Brett! I already referred a number of Catskill locals to the property website. In the future I will not hesitate to refer anyone your company and am happy to provide a reference if needed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Reunion Retreat

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

Thanks again for everything. Our family had a tremendous time at your properties celebrating my parents 50th anniversary. The pictures, as shown on your website, do not do them justice: comfortable, lots to do, very well equipped – and those views… They are wonderful! We had 80 guests, from infants to age 80+, most of them deciding to stay at one of the properties for the weekend with everyone commenting positively about their experience. These properties can accommodate ANYONE. We found that most of the time at the inn was spent either on the back deck ambience of the surrounding mountains or the on-site sports bar! The Estate was an experience onto itself. Very elegant. Business interaction with you was top-notch. Everything up front was very thorough and there were no problematic surprises (only pleasant ones)… I especially appreciated you getting in touch with me during our visit to ensure everything was going well and providing me with a couple of local contacts if we needed anything. I have already referred you to several folks and our family is talking about booking again next year. If anyone calls you looking for a reference, I will be happy to provide a glowing one. Just give me a heads up and send them my way.
Enjoy your summer,
Bob

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Place

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

We needed a large place to house our group and so glad we chose "Your Own Estate". It was exactly as advertised and particularly like the heated pool and hot tub. Game room / bar area was so big that it easily became the hang out room for our group of 25. We all took advantage of the boats on our private pond. Next time I'm brining my fishing pole. Overall, it was a perfect place for us and would definitely look at renting with Brett again in the future. His communication was excellent. When he said he would email or call, he did. When i emailed a question about the house after checking in, he answered right away. Thanks Brett!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Bachelor Party

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

Me and about 15 guys rented the estate for a weekend for a friend's bachelor party. The place was huge and could have slept twice as many people but the extra space wasn't wasted as just about everyone got a bedroom to themselves. We had plans to spend a lot of the time away from the house but once we got there, those plans changed. There was so much to do on the property, we ended up spending the weekend hanging out at the house, lounging by the pool, BBQing, fishing on the lake, playing pool, ping pong, poker, table hockey and shooting hoops. The whole experience dealing with Brett was a pleasure. He is very straightforward, extremely responsive and was eager to give us tips about places to eat and other activities in the area. I would definitely recommend this place to friends and family and would love to go back up there myself sometime!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great Experience!

Review submitted: April 20, 2011   Date of arrival: April 5, 2011

We stayed at the beautiful main house at The Estate property for a corporate retreat and it was by far the best experience we’ve had. It was just as the website described…only better! The house was exactly as portrayed in the pictures, but we were not prepared for such an amazing view! The house is impeccably furnished and slept all 12 of us comfortably. The property is equipped with all you might need for your stay (except towels) and the added amenities far exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed preparing meals together in the roomy kitchen and challenging one another to a game of pool (or five) in the spacious living room. The grounds are truly breathtaking and our favorite moments were relaxing in the hot tub at the end of the day. Brett at 4 Seasons Getaways could not be more pleasant and was super responsive and helpful throughout our stay. We will definitely be coming back to The Estate for future company retreats. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Unique property for reunions/family gatherings

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

Just as it appears in the listing-- a great space for groups too big for a regular house. Lots of spots to hang out both inside and out, lots of activities on and near the property. Main kitchen is a bit small to cook for for 30-40, but is serviceable (and there are 2 others!) Lack of broadband can be a plus if you are trying to "get away." Brett answered all our questions promptly, and we had no problems during our stay.

Everyone had a great time-- we'll probably be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

This one's not to be missed!

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: May 27, 2010

30 of us gathered here for a family reunion. At first I was concerned people may get bored hanging around the house, but by the 4th day, people were really sad to leave. Between the pool, hot tub, lake, boats and game room, there was plenty of fun things to do for everyone. I highly recommend renting this home. You will not be disappointed!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

500th Night Weekend

Review submitted: February 26, 2010   Date of arrival: January 22, 2010

The house was exactly what we were looking for. We had no problems in dealing with the owner. It is a great for large numbers of people. I look forward to going there again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

What a great place!

Review submitted: January 20, 2010   Date of arrival: January 15, 2010

This was our group's 4th time renting the estate and we thoroughly enjoyed a long weekend of relaxing by the fireplace and hanging out...The layout and size is perfect for large groups of family or friends! Plenty of room for everyone to sit down and enjoy each others' company. The kitchen has recently been renovated and is amazing too. A washer/dryer and 2 dishwashers ensures there will be more time for enjoying the surroundings too! Location is perfect--close to Hunter and Windham Mountains for skiing. The Estate is in excellent condition. The owner, Brett, is always a phone call away and easy to work with. The jacuzzi, pool table, and numerous sitting areas are all fabulous too! Can't wait for next time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent rental for large groups

Review submitted: November 12, 2009   Date of arrival: January 23, 2009

I rented the house in January 2009 for a group of friends (relatively young singles and couples).

Having rented several houses in the area, I can say with certainty that Brett runs the finest rental house I've seen in New York. The Estate is incredibly well maintained, and my whole group was extremely happy with the property. The jacuzzi and game room are both excellent additions. Brett himself is always helpful and easy to work with. I definitely plan to rent from Brett again very soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

DREAMS 50th - June 2009

Review submitted: July 8, 2009   Date of arrival: June 28, 2009

Our vacation rating is 13. 3 Cheers for Brett and a perfect 10 for the Estate! Brett is an ideal landlord - approachable and responsive. Every member of our family of 19 (ages 3-72) found things to do, places to explore, games to play, new discoveries to delight in. From pool table to swimming pool; from s'mores at the campfire to burgers on the grill; from boating on the lake to cooking in the beautiful, new, large kitchen....and if tempers got short....there was the wonderful hot tub or the relaxing hammock. The gorgeous, spacious property and comfortable and gracious indoor spaces meant that we never tripped over each other. A good time was had by all - and if you're smart...a good time can be had by you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Excellence!

Review submitted: February 19, 2009   Date of arrival: February 5, 2009

We were a group of 15 (couples and singles) ranging in age from 30 – 40 looking for a clean, updated, convenient rental at an affordable cost and found it with this property! The house is newly updated and located in the middle of both Wyndham and Hunter Mountains (3 miles/10 mins each) which allowed us easily ski both mountains during our stay! Additionally it was an absolute pleasure working with the owner/landlord Brett as he was very accommodating from the booking to the rental and ‘very’ responsive to any questions we had (thanks Brett!). We plan on booking another weekend next season and highly recommend this property to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

thanksgiving 08

Review submitted: January 26, 2009   Date of arrival: November 26, 2008

My brothers and sisters and I rented the estate for Thanksgiving 08.We had a wonderful time. The house has everything you need and more. We rented the estate and the guest house. Our family has approx 40 people. We never felt overcrowded! The house really gave us a home away from home feel for the holidays! Skiing was great and close! Hiking was great. The property is beautiful!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Amazing weekend at the Estate

Review submitted: January 21, 2009   Date of arrival: December 31, 2008

Me and a large group of friends were searching for a house located near Hunter Mountain where we could spend New Year’s Eve weekend. But after conducting an initial on-line search we had difficulty finding a place that could accommodate 30+ people and were getting discouraged. Fortunately, just when we were about to give up, we stumbled onto a description of The Estate- we thought the profile and pictures looked amazing.
Upon finding out that it was still available, we knew that we had to reserve it as soon as possible. Although to be honest, at first, several people had expressed concerns about the price and whether or not the pictures were realistic-- when we arrived at the house, however, and saw the property in person, all of our initial concerns were alleviated: The house had more than enough room to sleep everyone comfortably, was very clean and well-maintained, and had great amenities. There was also room for everyone in the driveway, which was convenient because we had people coming in from different places and many cars to accommodate. Additionally, the house was located a short drive away from the ski lifts and a short taxi ride from the main bars in town. All-in-all, the weekend was great and The Estate was a major factor.

Also, and perhaps just as important, the owners were very accommodating with payments, were always available to answer on-the-spot questions and were quick to return the security deposit after the weekend was over. This made the process easy from an organizational standpoint- often difficult to do with a large group.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

A Hunter Paradise Found!

Review submitted: October 22, 2008   Date of arrival: May 2, 2008

I researched the web thoroughly and narrowed down a property that was by far the best, out of a pool of 400 homes and estates for rental. It was divine intervention that lead me to the Hunter House owned by Brett. He accommodated our needs throughout our entire stay at his home, and showed a true sense of pride and passion for his new role as landlord. The energy at the house was so special, in fact, we rented another weekend for a woman's weekend. Now we're hooked. We have all the amenities, we face a big lake, mountains as a backdrop, wildlife running all over the place......AHHHH, BLISS! Respect his house as much as he respects the guests that stay there. We may be special, but he's even moreso. You'll want to cook there, as the kitchen is awesome and packed with all cooking necessities. For our family reunion, we made home made cavatelli! And on the second weekend, we grilled a whole pig on a spigget in the backyard! Lots of great fishing, hiking, lovely shopping nearby. But the best is the beauty of being enveloped in the woods. One with Nature. I feel the stress is gone. I don't want to go back to civilization! Don't make me!

Andrea, Long Island

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great place for large groups

Review submitted: March 11, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

This is the second time we've rented the house and things have changed - for the better. The house has multiple beds in every room. It is set up to hold as many people as possible, in relative comfort. There is certainly plenty of room for sleeping and socializing. There is no place like it in the area that could hold our 30 person group. There is a new game room above the garage, a pool table in the main house and a hot tub outside. The description is accurate, but the pictures don't do it justice. The house was clean and well maintained, not the pinnacle of home decorating, but tasteful none the less.
Customer service was exemplary. The owner was always available and quick to return the security deposit and respond to any questions. Unfortunately, there was a heating issue when we arrived and with a quick call to the owner, the oil company arrived in a blizzard to fix the problem. I highly recommend this house for large groups. I can only imagine what it would be like in the summer - beautiful views, pool and 30 acres. We plan on coming again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 20 / 23

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review