reviews for: listing #107341 - Harrisonburg, Virginia House rental

Cliffside Cabin
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $68 - $299 /nt
    $549 - $799 /wk

sort by:

Cute, Clean, Cabin

Review submitted: May 28, 2014   Date of arrival: May 16, 2014

Very nice owners. Clean, basic, and comfortable with all the necessities. Wi-Fi was a plus! Enjoyed the screened porch. Close to everything we wanted to do. Great location. We even got a new coffee pot! Thank you for our very nice vacation.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cozy cabin; perfect study haven.

Review submitted: April 29, 2014   Date of arrival: April 21, 2014

Another perfect getaway to the woods! I have now used Steven and Katie’s properties numerous times over the past two and half years as a place for quiet rest and reflection. With spring weather warming, I opened up all of the windows and filled the cabin with fresh mountain air (or I just sat out on the screened in porch and took in the views).

The location of Cliffside Cabin is close enough to “civilization” to get basic needs, but just enough removed to feel isolated and have peace and quiet. Steven and Katie always have the property clean and open for my arrival (and have some fresh eggs in the fridge from their chickens!). They then are willing to go out of their way to provide any needed accommodations and attentive and quick to respond to an email or call. This cabin has ample space for multiple guests and has a big comfy bed surrounded by windows to let in the morning light. It also has a fully equipped kitchen for cooking all of my meals, and a great coffee maker for a morning cup on the porch.

Great hiking close by; I drove a couple of miles for a 1.5 mile hike to a fire watch tower on the VA/WV state line. This moderate hike rewarded me with magnificent views in every direction.

Overall, ZERO COMPLAINTS. I got exactly what I was looking for--a quiet getaway with beautiful scenery and a feeling of escape. These owners have worked hard to create a special experience in Rawley Springs--one which I plan to return to in the future.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Quiet, delightful cabin!

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: January 12, 2014

My wife and I spent several nights in the cabin, using it as a base for our exploration of western Virginia (from Harper's Ferry to Charlottesville). The owners were attentive and gracious, the cabin clean and well appointed (with a kitchen that had everything but a crock pot!). Would recommend to others and hope to return for an anniversary trip.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Weekend Getaway!

Review submitted: October 27, 2013   Date of arrival: October 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked this cabin for a fall birthday getaway and it was just perfect! Someone before us wrote that the cabin was musty and hard on allergies, and I disagree -- that wasn't our experience at all. I have serious allergies and had no problem there, and the cabin smelled like cedar, lavender (from the clean linens) , and wood fire (when the fireplace was running). It was delicious!

The cabin itself is on a beautiful hill and it is so cozy. Katie and Steven are awesome hosts - they greeted us personally at the cabin, showed us the ropes inside and out, and gave us eggs from their own chickens for our breakfasts! The fireplace made the cabin cozy on the cool evenings, and we had everything we needed to cook several meals in the kitchen.

Our hosts suggestion to go to Union Station Restaurant was right on -- we ended up eating there twice over the four days. The cabin is hidden away from the hustle of Harrisonburg, but close enough to town that we had no problem running back and forth each day. It's also close to lots of great hiking -- we trekked through Paul State Forest and Shenandoah River National Park while we were there!

The price is amazing, and I think you get far more than you bargain for with this cabin. We couldn't have been happier and we will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Very nice cabin. I wouldn't change a thing.

Review submitted: October 27, 2013   Date of arrival: October 16, 2013

Owners were very helpful in all ways. Cabin was clean and well appointed. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Relaxing Getaway!

Review submitted: October 26, 2013   Date of arrival: October 12, 2013

Had a wonderful time! The owners ( Kate & Steven) were so accommodating and friendly! Recommend a wonderful restaurant, hiking spot, and place to buy groceries! The cabin was super cozy, very comfortable, and quiet! We were also lucky to enjoy a light rainfall on the metal roof, which is a soothing sound to fall asleep too! We really appreciated how welcome the owners made our dogs feel too! Had all the comforts of home, already ready to go back!! A wonderful place to reconnect with loved ones! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

We loved this charming mountain home!

Review submitted: October 23, 2013   Date of arrival: October 20, 2013

It was clean, spacious and exactly what we were hoping for. It was also pet friendly. Our little dachshund had a great vacation too. The owners are lovely people, and we had everything we needed for our stay. We just needed to bring food. I am a travel agent and I would most definitely recommend this home for anyone that wants to get away, in a quiet and beautiful setting! The kitchen was clean, the wood burning stove kept our nights warm and cozy. The king bed was so comfortable we didn't want to get out of it. The living room couches were the same...so very comfortable. I picked this home purely by accident looking for a pet friendly vacation home in the Shenandoah valley. The ad was not misrepresented in any way. It was exactly what was described. I hope to come back again next year! The owners told us where to have dinner if we wanted to eat out. They recommended Union Station, and they were right. The restaurant had a lot of history and the food was great. The cabin is not far from caverns , shopping, and west Virginia. We drove to West Virginia and the scenery was breathtaking. In closing, if you are looking for a clean, comfortable cabin in beautiful Shenandoah valley, this is your home away from home.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

everything you need

Review submitted: October 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 18, 2013

the house is equipped with everything you need (and some things that you may have forgotten) including washer dryer soap blankets and even a blender and coffee maker! the family is extremely busy with all of their properties, has two young children, yet manages to be very attentive and are so friendly and accomodating. we had an amazing time. the newly-installed wood stove in the house is really cozy. candidly, i am from DC and have pretty refined tastes but i was extremely comfortable at this house for the weekend.

re: hiking, you can walk to a trail in about 10 minutes that weaves through the valley near a stream. we followed it for about two hours out but are not sure where it goes but it was beautiful and peaceful.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

To pricey for a Musty, Dusty tiny cabin.

Review submitted: October 15, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

It is a cute cabin on the inside, set almost 1/2 in the mountain, very close to two other houses, no one seemed to be in either of them. It was rather dusty and had Musty smell, my son who has allergies had a rough time being there. The loft bedding consists of futon mattresses on the floor.........Kitchen and bath were clean though

Helpful votes: 3 / 9

 

Great cabin experience

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

Wonderful well kept cabin with all the comforts of home. The king size bed was very comfortable and the linens were extremely clean. The kitchen has everything needed to prepare your meals. The fireplace stove looks like it would be a real winner in cooler temperatures. While we didn't use the loft, it appeared it would be a great place for the kids to sleep.
Has a very nice screened porch on which to enjoy a meal and take in all the great scenery. There is also an open porch with a grill and accompaning eating area. Would recommend this to anyone wanting to get away.
Steven and Katie are very friendly and try to make your stay one that you won't forget. You even get free eggs from their chickens.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

What a wonderful getaway!

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 27, 2013

What a perfect way to spend the last week of summer! Our boys (13 and 8) loved sleeping up in the loft! We had fun exploring the local area, including fishing, hiking, and more. The cabin was perfect: clean, comfortable, and had the accommodations we were used to having at home. We've told all our friends about this wonderful location! We'll definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

THE BEST EVER!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 9, 2013

This was the best place, quite, loving weather and enjoyed the place. Katie & Steven were so nice they greeted us and were very cool and nice. Once you get to this place you just don't wanna leave this place. All my friends and family member were so happy and glad that we could get this property. I just wish I had more time to spend over there and I am thinking of going back again very soon.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Wonderful place to get away

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 5, 2013

We wanted a quiet and comfortable place to get away for a weekend and this was it. The cabin is an open floor plan with a kitchen, living space, and king bed on the main floor, plus mattresses in the loft (all of which were comfortable to sleep in). The screened in porch was our choice for all meals and the side deck was perfect for star-gazing. It was cozy but plenty of room for the 5 of us to hang out, play games, and enjoy the weekend. The cabin is located right in between two other cabins (that were unoccupied for the weekend we were there) so if you want total isolation from others you might consider one of Katie & Steven's other cabins.

Katie and Steven were also awesome hosts. They met me on arrival to make sure everything went smoothly, left us fresh eggs, and even invited us down to their place to meet their Shetland pony and new filly. They were so friendly and gracious and clearly invested in their properties. Getting to talk to them made everyone's trip more enjoyable.

We could've easily entertained ourselves in just the cabin, but we also discovered that it's an easy 5 minute walk onto park land and loved playing in the rocky creek that runs through. We also made the easy 20 minute drive into Harrisonburg just for an outing.

This cabin is a wonderful little space for relaxing or a home base for adventures in the area (Having internet and a/c is great). It was well maintained and furnished and again the hosts were great. We will definitely plan to stay with them again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Fantabulous cabin!

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

This is a great little cabin in a wooded and moderately remote location outside of Harrisonburg. The place was tidy and clean and has a warm, rustic feel to it. Katie and Steven Robert were fantastic, quick to respond to any questions we had, and provided us with excellent service. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

peaceful place

Review submitted: April 21, 2013   Date of arrival: April 17, 2013

i woud give it 5 but i drove a car not that safe for where the location of the cabin is, but once i got there its awesome. The owners are great people. I would go back there with more time since we stayed only one night, its a wonderful way to get away from the world.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful!

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: March 22, 2013

Great people! Great place! I absolutely recommend this little bit of mountain paradise.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very Pleasant Stay at Cliffside Cabin

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: January 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Cliffside cabin and were very impressed with the service. The owners were very kind and accommodating -- even gave us free eggs from their own chickens! We really enjoyed the simplicity and quaint atmosphere; very comfortable and spacious. We're especially looking forward to the renovations the owners are planning and definitely plan to come back to Cliffside, and even try their other cabin, Dry River.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Christmas Trip stays in the "Red Cabin"

Review submitted: January 16, 2013   Date of arrival: December 20, 2012

My puppy-dog Linus and I stayed at the Red Cabin for 2 nights on our way home for Christmas, and for one night on our way back south.

The cabin is "rustic" with exposed beams and uneven wooden floors, but where it really matters (kitchen, bathroom and bed) it is first class all the way. Furniture included several sofas and a small wooden table with 4 wooden chairs. (I think if you have more than 2 people you would want to bring in the larger round table from the porch.) This cabin is great if you have a bunch of kids (of any age) that are OK with throwing down air mattresses and sleeping bags (BYO) in the large loft. Amenities included a flat screen TV with cable and WiFi.

Linus and I had a great time exploring the area and meeting a bunch of friendly people and dogs during our 3 days there. We hiked all around the community and upstream along the creek to an area of sheer granite cliffs with rectangular boulders the size of houses. Awesome! WE'LL BE BACK!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A great place to stay.

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 24, 2012

We had a great time! The owners met us at a certain point and led us up to our cabin. They were very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. It was a beautiful spot and furnished very well. We loved being able to bring our dog and our family. It wasn't cramped at all. The kitchen was fully furnished and we had a washer and dryer in our unit which was wonderful! The unit also had internet which we valued. We will definately check with this cabin again when we head to VA to visit. It was perfect for us! Thanks! Great memories!!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

AWESOME STAY!!!

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

My family/friends and I rented out the Cliffside Cabin to celebrate New Years and we had an amazing time. The cabin was very cute and cozy, the kitchen was clean and the linens/beds were very comfortable. The cabin was well stocked with necessities as well as games such as Yahtzee which we played several rounds of while there. Beyond all of the amenities, what really made the stay memorable was how hospitable Steve was. He wanted us all to be comfortable and have a great time, he let us know we could contact him for anything we needed because he lived right down the mountain. When my car didn't start when we were trying to leave that day, he jumped it for me which was beyond appreciated. Stay here and you will have a great time!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Pet-friendly cabin w/ a great view of the mtns.

Review submitted: December 14, 2012   Date of arrival: December 12, 2012

I loved this cabin. The owner's were so nice and accommodating. You don't find many places that you can bring your pet and you can here. The screened in porch was so relaxing to sit and drink coffee in the morning. The deck was beautiful, it had a great view of the mountains. It would be beautiful in the fall. My favorite thing was the king size bed with all the comfy blankets. Beautifully decorated. I would return and definitely recommend this to a friend or relative.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

a great place to stay

Review submitted: December 13, 2012   Date of arrival: December 11, 2012

i really enjoyed my stay at your home. the property was clean, very well maintained, and well stocked with all i could possibly need. The view of the mountians from the porch was fantastic. i look forward to returning to your properties for future stays and will recommend you to friends and family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

a great place to stay

Review submitted: December 13, 2012   Date of arrival: December 11, 2012

i really enjoyed my stay at your home. the property was clean, very well maintained, and well stocked with all i could possibly need. The view of the mountians from the porch was fantastic. i look forward to returning to your properties for future stays and will recommend you to friends and family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful cabin with all necessities

Review submitted: December 13, 2012   Date of arrival: December 10, 2012

This was an affordable getaway in a secluded place. The cabin was really cute with all necessities you need for a perfect night. I loved the soft sheets and blankets. I also loved the view of the mountains from the spacious deck. It was very clean and the owner provided excellent customer service.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect romantic getaway

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 2, 2012

I can proudly say, that we were the first guests to stay at this cabin after Steven and Katie bought this place. They are very hospitable people. We have stayed at their Dry River Cabin and absolutely love coming back. Speaking about this cabin.. It has a great rustic feel of living in woods, yet fully equipped. It has a very cute porch from where you can view the trees and mountains. We also spent a lot of time on Rawley springs which is very close and did a few hikes around. In all this cabin is a perfect getaway!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review