reviews for: listing #107435 - Kihei, Hawaii Condo rental

Newly remodeled condo minutes from the beach
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $95 - $160 /nt
    $665 - $1,120 /wk
    $2,660 - $3,780 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful condo, everything you need within walking distance

Review submitted: July 1, 2014   Date of arrival: June 17, 2014

My family and I had a wonderful stay at Steve's condo during the second half of June 2014. The Kihei Akahi complex is literally across the street from the Kamaole II beach park, and within a couple of minutes walking to Kamoale I and III beaches. Also less than 2 minutes drive from the Kihei boat dock, which is where many scuba and snorkel boat trips to Molokini and other destinations start from.

The condo is wonderfully equipped - everything you need for trips to the beach, snorkel gear, tennis rackets, etc are all provided. The kitchen is fully equipped for any cooking you might want to do. Overall, great stay and great value, and this will definitely be our first stop to check for availability for future Maui trips.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mauii

Review submitted: June 10, 2014   Date of arrival: April 21, 2014

Place is well maintained, clean, and has a great view of the ocean. My partner and I found it quite romantic and enjoyed being so close to the beach. Good place for families and couples.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great condo

Review submitted: May 16, 2014   Date of arrival: May 6, 2014

A great condo in Kihei Akhai. This one has been renovated nicely and has lots of snorkelling equipment for the whole family to enjoy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything You Need

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: April 24, 2014

Fabulous condo with absolutely everything you could ever need. All your beach essentials are taken care of, including tennis rackets and all your towels, even spices and freshly made ice! Very nicely updated unit with beautiful counters and stainless appliances; the complex itself is quiet and very well maintained. We would not hesitate to stay in this condo for our next trip to Maui.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Value

Review submitted: March 27, 2014   Date of arrival: March 5, 2014

Very Clean and updated. All photos are accurate to the excellent condition of this property. Good location for the explore base and nice area with some bar/restarunts/shops with in walking distance. Exactly what we were looking for.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

You won't be disappointed!

Review submitted: March 2, 2014   Date of arrival: February 20, 2014

This was our second time to Maui and our first time in this unit. Everything you see and read in the description is exactly what you get. It lacks nothing! The owners are exceptional to deal with and care about your stay. The location is superb, with just steps from some of the best beaches, restaurants and shopping in South Maui. We would definitely recommend this unit and ideal location for your home-away-from-home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Condo Right Across from the Beach

Review submitted: January 21, 2014   Date of arrival: January 5, 2014

We spent two wonderful weeks in this beautiful condo. The condo is recently updated and exactly as described and pictured in the add. The condo and the entire property are clean and beautifully maintained and the condo contained everything that we required to have a great holiday such as beach chairs, snorkelling equipment and even coffee for the first morning.

The condo had a limited view of the ocean from the lanai and the sunsets were beautiful. We felt very safe in the condo with electronic key system and found the owners very easy to deal with.

Kihea Akahi is close to everything, walking distance to restaurants and shopping and right across the street from the beach. We enjoyed the 2 for 1 breakfasts at Fred's and $2 taco Tuesdays with live music at Taqueira Cruz.

We would recommend this condo to anyone looking for a great condo in a great location.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Kinda' perfect!

Review submitted: November 19, 2013   Date of arrival: November 9, 2013

This condo was perfect. It was comfortable, nicely decorated, and the kitchen was better equipped than my house back home! The complex was quiet and well-cared for and close to shops and restaurants and the beach. The condo was also furnished with beach chairs, towels, snorkeling equipment and insulated bags for day trips. We used all of these items daily. There was also two nice tvs and blue ray in the living room. After a long day of vacation adventures it was nice to just relax on the couch and watch a good movie. There was truly not one thing that we needed during our stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Aloha from San Diego

Review submitted: October 9, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

Thank you so much for letting us stay in your beautiful condo. It was our first time staying in Maui, and we found your home as a comforting place to come back to after staying out all day on all our adventures. We look forward to to returning in the near future.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great condo in South Kihei

Review submitted: October 5, 2013   Date of arrival: September 15, 2013

Great location for a condo for rent. My wife, myself and my 2 year old stayed here. Just a 5 minute walk to the beach and many local restaurants nearby. Condo had all of the furnishings that everyone talks about. We saved a lot of money by cooking. Renovations look nice, too. They will give you powder laundry detergent but go buy some liquid detergent from local store or Costco. Only downside is that the bedroom is close to the walkway and parking lot, and thus if you sleep past 9am, you're likely to hear stuff if you are a light sleeper.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely Condo in South Maui

Review submitted: September 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

We spent 2 weeks in the condo and loved it. The condo is beautifully remodeled, clean and very comfortable. It is right across the road from the beach, and located so that you can hear the sound of the waves from the ocean, but no traffic noise. The condo had everything one would want - beach chairs, a sun umbrella, snorkeling gear and more.

There are lots of nice restaurants in walking distance (try mahi-mahi tempura in Da Kitchen!), and the sunsets from the window tables at the Moose are breathtaking (so are the Margaritas - best on the island!). And The Three's happy hour half price appetizers are to die for.

The owner is very helpful and accommodating, and is a pleasure to deal with. Thanks! We'll be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Kihei Akahi condo in South Maui

Review submitted: May 24, 2013   Date of arrival: May 6, 2013

The vacation condo at Kihei Akahi was right across the street from the beach, just a short walk down the sidewalk to several restaurants and ice cream! So the location was ideal. When we went shopping at the local grocery store we were given the in-store discounts - which helps! The condo itself was clean and well maintained. One of the best features was the washer and dryer - makes it easy to clean up if you are staying longer than a week. Almost every appliance needed in the kitchen was available. The pool area was nice and we really liked that there were 2 grills. This was a great place to stay for us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location....Very Clean

Review submitted: May 12, 2013   Date of arrival: April 25, 2013

We stayed at this condo for 12 days. It has a great feel to it, smells great, and was as clean as condo could be. Almost everything inside is new, and very well put together. I wasn't sure where I wanted to stay on the island, but I am glad I chose this rental in S. Kihei. Kam II is one of the best beaches around, and is great for kids and adults. The beach has great sand, pretty good snorkeling in the mornings, and a lifeguard station for some added safety. I would for sure stay at this same condo again, and I highly recommend it to anyone undecided about where to stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 15, 2013

Loved this condo! Everything was spotless and well cared for. The condo was beautifully remodeled, spacious and stocked with everything a traveler could want, beach chairs, beach towels, insulated bag for beach picnics and much more. Excellent location with the beach across the street and dining and shopping within walking distance. Owner is a pleasure to deal with. I highly recommend staying in this condo. Can't wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Space for a Great Price

Review submitted: April 19, 2013   Date of arrival: April 11, 2013

Great looking condo, with plenty of space for a couple. Very conveniently located to the beach, fish taco stands, shops/restaurants, and other lodging where friends were staying.

The condo has an open layout, good for entertaining, with all the basics provided (including a blender!). Having beach towels and snorkel gear provided was a great perk. Could have provided maps or local recommendations, but overall a fantastic vacation spot that we hope to return to soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Spot with Great Price

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: April 4, 2013

The location suited us perfectly and we could walk to everything we needed.
We didn't spend much time indoors, but it was completely outfitted and comfortable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Pleased With Condo

Review submitted: April 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 27, 2013

Just to let you know that we were very pleased with your condo. It was nice having a place to stay that we could walk to the beach and restaurants. Thank you so much for making this rental so easy. We will be sure to let our friends know about your place in beautiful Maui.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful condo, 2 minutes from Kamaole II Beach

Review submitted: March 28, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

This is a beautiful condo that looks exactly like the pictures. The kitchen is well-stocked with everything you could possibly need including a blender, garlic press and coffee grinder. There are also some items in the cupboards (staples) like salt and pepper etc.
The owner provides 2 beach chairs and umbrellas as well as snorkelling gear etc.
What we loved most was the cross breeze created when the lanai door and front door were open - there is a locking screen door and direct to the outside access at the front door - lovely.
The location is perfect as everything is in within walking distance and it is literally a two minute walk to the beach across the street.
Steve, the owner, was easy to work with and really has thought of everything. Highly recommend.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kihei Akahi Condo

Review submitted: February 22, 2013   Date of arrival: January 16, 2013

The condo had been recently renovated and was well equipped with everything you might need in the kitchen or for the beach. The Kihei Akahi is right across the road from an excellent beach and is close to shopping and restaurants.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The condo was amazing - everything you could want in a vacation rental and more.

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: September 24, 2012

Aloha. We stayed at Steve and Cecilia's condo at Kihei Akahi in Maui for a week and a half. The condo was amazing - everything you could want in a vacation rental and more. The property is tucked away just enough to give you quiet and privacy and yet located in such a desirable location for all kinds of fun activities. The beach, great eateries, and shopping centers are located just outside the property gates. Wailea, which has the best laua in town and our favorite beach, is only 5 minutes away. The condo itself is immaculate, cozy and comfortable. Not to mention, it has all the amenities you need. There is a a full kitchen with everything including bakeware and best of all, a blender. We spent plenty of nights making our own pina coladas and lava flows. The condo also provides free internet and a digital security lock for convenient and safe entry. When you go to the beach be sure to take the chairs, umbrella, and body boards. If you're adventurous, there is also snorkeling gear there. The owners of the condo were extremely hospitable and called a few times during our stay to make sure the condo was meeting our needs and to make sure we didn't need anything else.

Thank you to Steve and Cecilia for making our experience on the beautiful island of Maui unforgettable by opening your home to us. Mahalo nui loa! You helped make our vacation a blast. :-)
--Mike and Ramona

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Celebrating our 19th anniversary!

Review submitted: December 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 11, 2012

Your Kihei condo was the perfect place to stay in Maui while celebrating our anniversary! On previous trips we've stayed in Wailea but spent so much time driving back and forth to Kihei. Your condo is perfectly located which meant less time in the car! We walked everwhere - to the beach, restaurants and shops. The interior of the condo was beautifully remodeled, very clean and well appointed. Everything we needed was there. We especially appreciated having the beach towels, beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards and snorkel equipment. The kitchen would please any chef! We found all the necessary gadgets and tools to cook any meal. However, our favorite part of your condo was the lanai and the sunset views! We spend most evenings enjoying our wine while watching the sunset. Just gorgeous! So thank you very much for sharing your lovely condo. We hope to be back soon. Perhaps for our 20th anniversary!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved our stay!

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

Loved the location and how quiet it was in the overall complex/grounds. It was very well stocked and we felt very much at home and Steve was very accommodating! We had to ship out some items for our wedding in Maui and he was able to help coordinate that so we didn't have to carry them on the plane with us. The only issue we ran into is that the bedroom was a bit warm during the night as the A/C unit is located on the other side of the unit (it's not central air) but this was far outweighed by the location and overall condition of the condo. If you want something very close to the beach and local shops and restaurants, this is your place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for your review and I'm glad you had a fantastic time on Maui and in our Condo. All the units in Kihei Akahi are designed with the A/C unit in the living room but you probably noticed that even though the area outside usually stays around 85-90 degrees during the day the nights cool down considerably. Our unit is positioned in a way that if you open the sliding door on the lanai (and just keep the screen door closed) you can open the windows in the bedroom and a wonderful breeze flows through the unit and keeps everything very nice and cool. My wife and I are in Maui several times a year and I can honestly say we rarely use the air conditioner as the evening breeze is so awesome.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great experience!

Review submitted: October 1, 2012   Date of arrival: September 16, 2012

This condo was well placed for the Kehei area. It is in a nice setting with a garden view of the deck that has a small view of the beach accross the street. It was recently remodeled and has all you need for an extended stay including beach chairs, towels, tennis and snorkel gear. The beach across the street which is wonderfully relaxing, is less than a 100 yards away. We will definitely be back on our next trip to Maui!

THANKS!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacationer

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 3, 2012

The condo was the very best in comfort (very peaceful sleeping areas) appliancess (all new) absolutely professional ambiance (soothing decor, beautiful floor plan, refreshing lanai,) The location captures the true and refreshing atmosphere of the Hawaiian Island of Maui. I loved the proxmity of the sea shore, The convenience of all the recreation and the nearness of all the food places. I will return to this paradise soon. I absolutely love it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The best condo, the best vacation!

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 7, 2012

This is a beautiful and tastefully decorated condo near everything in Kihei. Since the location is across the street from Kamaole II beach, the location was perfect. We really appreciated how well equipped the condo was, from cooking utensils to wifi to beach gear, including full snorkel sets for adults, even one that's child size. This is the first time we've ever rented a condo, and it was ideal for young families like ours. The property was really well-maintained, and the workers were really friendly. Steve was prompt with e-mail and phone calls. Thanks so much for allowing us to share your home with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Condo is making Others jealous!!!

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 20, 2012

Hi Steve,
Sorry for the delay. You place was absolutely fantastic. We were there with 4 other couples that stayed in other units in your same building. Lets just say everyone was jealous.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Vacation

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Hi, Steve,

Thank you so much for opening up your beautiful condo for us! It was so nice to stay in an updated and immaculate space. We love staying in that area near great beaches, food, and shopping. We look forward to returning again in the future.

Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Base for Maui Adventure

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying in this condo. Steve takes pride in his condo and it shows throughout the unit. The pictures were accurate and we felt like we got exactly what we were hoping for. The condo was clean, quiet, nicely decorated, and uncluttered. We appreciated the beach towels, beach chairs, boogie boards, and other beach gear. The kitchen was amply stocked with cookware, utensils, and a wonderful stove. The condo grounds were also very well kept with a few pools that we swam in during the evening.
Booking through vrbo and Steve was smooth and hassle free. The checkin and check process was just as simple.
Definitely check out 808 deli next door and get the pulled pig sandwich. Maui tacos is also nearby and pretty good. Also we learned to eat papaya with passion fruit seeds and a squeeze of lemon at a local fruit stand. If you make the drive to lahaina then try Star Noodle.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise. Couldn't be more wonderful!

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: May 3, 2012

5 stars are deserved because it is a perfect condo. We immediately felt at home. The renovations are beautiful. The location is lovely. A gentle breeze blows through the condo and the birds chirp throughout the day. The unit is south facing on the 2nd floor, at the height of the tree blossoms. It's lovely, restful, quiet and peaceful. A beautiful, sandy beach is in front of the complex, so no need to drive to any other beach. Snorkeling is good at both ends of this beach. Restaurants and shops are nearby. Buses run along the street in front of the complex and pass grocery stores, restaurants, the post office and shops. (Being without a car is not a problem, but a taxi from the airport to the complex will be expensive.)
The unit was squeaky clean when we arrived, and it has everything we needed, including a blender for smoothies. We hope we can return.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: March 31, 2012   Date of arrival: March 13, 2012

We booked this condo without seeing photos of the new renovation. We knew the complex, so hoped that the upgrades would live up to the descriptions. Everything was as we had hoped. The condo was well-stocked, clean and in a great location in Kihei. We can't wait to go back! Maui No Ka Oi!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Condo stay at Maui

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 14, 2012

We stayed in Steve and Cecelia's newly renovated condo for two weeks in February. We loved Maui, and this condo was great. Its close to all three Kamaole beaches, restaurants and shopping. The condo is beautiful with all new kitchen,bathroom,flooring and all the amenities you need to cook or go to the beach. Too bad its already booked for next winter or we would go back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic

Review submitted: February 12, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

We spent a fantastic month in this condo. It was everything Steve promised it would be, beautifully finished, clean and quiet. We have stayed in the Kihei Akahi three times and this is the nicest unit by far. Great location, close to beaches, shopping and restaurants. The complex itself is also very nice, well kept, nice pools, bbq area and friendly staff, gardeners and security guards. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome

Review submitted: January 1, 2012   Date of arrival: December 20, 2011

This was our first time to Maui and our family had the privilege of being the first people in the newly renovated condo. When we walked in we were in awe, beautifully finished and has everything you could want from cooking to beach bound. The location of the condo is perfect. If you have a car, there is parking space and if not you are in walking distance to everything. We felt like we were at home but in a tropical paradise. Thank you so much for making our Christmas in Maui a special vacation. We will be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review