reviews for: listing #10755 - Baltimore, Maryland Townhome rental

Lancaster House
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Townhome
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Fell's Point
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $295 - $325 /nt
    $1,650 - $2,065 /wk
    $2,800 - $3,400 /mth

sort by:

Girls Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: August 18, 2014   Date of arrival: August 1, 2014

My best friend got engaged and we had a girls weekend to celebrate. The location is perfect if you're looking for a weekend of great food, shopping and scenery - and all within walking distance. There was enough room for the six of us to sleep comfortably (the rooms are massive). The only downside was how small the kitchen was - it worked perfectly for the food we cooked but if you're staying for an extended period of time and have a large group the kitchen is quite small so maybe only have one or two people in there cooking or else it will get crowded quickly. If you're older and have arthritis or knee problems I probably wouldn't suggest this place due to the steepness of the stairs all the way to the third level, but other than those two MINOR setbacks this house was gorgeous and the notebook that they provide with information on the surrounding area is perfect! There are details in there for any question you may have.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A truly amazing experience!

Review submitted: February 10, 2014   Date of arrival: November 18, 2013

My husband and I as well as several other production crew members stayed at Lancaster House for five weeks while were working on a film being shot in Maryland. The house served as the perfect base for our production. We enjoyed comfortable accommodations, with a well equipped kitchen, plus had enough extra space for production meetings and to store props. In the rare times when we weren’t working, we took advantage of Fell's Point's many nearby restaurants and shops- which were incredible. Fells Point is truly a unique place to stay, as the sense of community and neighborhood pride really make for a fantastic spot. Lancaster House is the ideal place to spend an extended stay in Baltimore.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Highly recomended, great location and great property!

Review submitted: January 22, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

I arranged for college room-mates to come into town for a long weekend and discovered this property when looking for a space for everyone to stay.
All I can say is "Great!"
We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner nearby, short walking distance to great funky establishments, lotsa live music, and fun crowds.
During the day, everyone explored Fells Point, Canton, Harbor East and Canton
There is a LOT to do within a very small walking distance.
There's a Whole Foods nearby if you are inclined to make meals and the kitchen is small and well-provisioned
Parking is tight, but we had no problem since all the guests were visitors so we only had one car (mine. I live nearby)....the 'included' neighborhood parking pass allowed me to park within 50ft of the house every time I was there.
If you have more cars, there is a large and reasonably priced parking garage basically around the corner.
all-in-all, highly recommended

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

This is a wonderful house right in the heart of the Fells Point neighborhood, which is full of historic row houses and, in the business areas, funky bars, restaurants, and shops. A relatively new plus is the nearby (a few blocks away in walking distance) of a movie theater, a CVS, and a Whole Foods, these in addition to the Broadway Market, which is a half block in the other direction. The latter features a terrific Polish deli (the sliced meats and cheeses make for great sandwich fare) and a fresh seafood store, which I cleaned out of shucked oysters one night to make oyster stew for a dinner party. The house does not come with private parking, but there is a parking pass and we didn't find the parking to be bad (plus, once you park you really don't need to drive anywhere since everything is in walking distance, or water taxi distance, including downtown and points around the Inner and outer harbors, like Ft. McHenry and Federal Hill).

The house is warm, comfortable, and inviting, and was great for our family (my husband, me, one teenager, one 7-year old, and my brother, up from the D.C. area, who took the couch, which folds out). The owner has done some remarkable rehabbing over the years, and we were so impressed with the finishes, the decor, and the beautiful wood spiral staircase. This is not a good house for anyone who is challenged physically, but if you're game for multiple levels up narrow (and beautiful) staircases, then this house is for you.

There is some street noise (revelers from the nearby bars), but it wasn't bothersome and was only intermittent. We loved that on Christmas Day the town criers, in Colonial dress, walked through the streets ringing in Christmas greetings. It really brought home the history of the neighborhood, which is one of the oldest in Baltimore.

We will definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous

Review submitted: December 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

We stayed here for one month to be closer to my elderly mom. This place is clean, safe, and fabulous in every way. Richard, the owner, meets every need that may arise. We loved it there and will return again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location for exploring Baltimore

Review submitted: October 22, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

Spent 7 nights at this charming historic row house. The place was clean, well equipped, and convenient for exploring the sights and sounds of Fells Point and surrounding areas. We walked to most places including the inner harbor and Little Italy. We were able to park on the street just in front of the property most evenings when we drove and on the other nights just a few blocks away. We all enjoyed the comfortable outdoor patio area and playing the many games including darts. We also liked the many books and art work throughout the house. Booking was easy and hassle free. The owner was available for questions and checked to be sure everything was okay. I highly recommend this wonderful place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Had to cancel - handled very well

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 25, 2013

I had booked a 2 night stay in October and sent in my deposit, but then had to cancel my reservation. Richard handled everything very professionally and promptly refunded my deposit. I hope to have the chance to actually stay there in the future!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for three generations!

Review submitted: August 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 30, 2013

We were in town for a wedding, with a large group ranging from a 10-month-old baby to a 70-plus grandmother. Everyone had plenty of space, and we made use of the kitchen, patio, washer-dryer, and nearby Whole Foods Market. Our car stayed put, since it was so easy to walk, take Baltimore's inexpensive cabs, or take the water taxi to the wedding events and to attractions around town. The house's water-taxi family pass was a huge added value! Other wedding guests staying in nearby hotels envied our communal space and the convenient location, just steps from the heart of Fells Point.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Place

Review submitted: September 28, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

I am a Baltimore local who was married recently and had several family members coming in from out of town. We found this home to be an amazing alternative to a hotel. We were all able to stay here in comfort and have the convenience of a kitchen.

We found the home to be very clean and comfortable. We also greatly enjoyed the decorating.

Parking in this neighborhood is difficult at times but the visitor permit provided with the rental is a huge help.

The owner was quick to respond to inquires and was very flexible and pleasant to work with. We would definitely stay here again if a reason presents itself.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best of Both Worlds!

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

My friends & I stayed in the Lancaster house a few weeks ago, when in town to see the Orioles play. We go to a different city every year, to see a different ballclub/stadium, and our trip to Baltimore ranked up there with one of our best ever. This home is located in beautiful Fells Point...you are LITERALLY a few steps away from some of the best restaurants and taverns in all of Baltimore. But, you also are far enough away from it all that you get peace & quiet. Richard is an excellent host, and was very helpful with our arrival. The walk to the inner harbor, and even Camden Yards, was also very nice. The next time we return to Baltimore, we will definitely see if Richard's house is available.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great trip!

Review submitted: July 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 20, 2011

My husband and I rented this house with our best friends and our 3 daughters (ages 10 months, 19 months, and 3 years). We had a great time!! The house was kid friendly with working baby gates, and the adults loved sitting in the patio after we put the kids to bed. The location was perfect too- about a 10 minute walk to the aquarium and Little Italy and a 5 minute (if that!) walk to the bars and restaurants at Fell's Point. It was the perfect place for a little getaway!!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place in a great location for a good price

Review submitted: July 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2010

Several of my friends and I decided to have our annual get-together in Baltimore. We were looking for a place that slept up to 8 people that was in a convenient location and not too expensive. This place has plenty of room, it is clean, reasonably priced, and in a great location. It is a block away from everything in Fells Point. The owner was also very pleasant and booking the place was easy. We had such a good time that we will likely come back.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

So much better than a hotel, you won't regret it.

Review submitted: July 18, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2010

Found this place at the last minute before a weekend trip to Baltimore to reconnect with some old friends. Were going to be staying at a local big name hotel, but thought it would be nice to find a place we could all hang out together. This place is VERY nice, excellent location and the owner has an extremely smooth rental process worked out, so it is not any more hassle at all than simply checking into a hotel. Can't wait to consider staying here again next time we're in town.

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

KNEEDZ Crew Endorsement **AWESOME**

Review submitted: June 25, 2010   Date of arrival: June 11, 2010

My business partners and I travel to trade shows a few times a year and always rent a home instead of staying at a hotel. The Lancaster house has been the most enjoyable stay thus far for us. We've stayed at other vacation homes in many states but the experience for us at Lancaster was just awesome. You could feel the history. The historical home was charming and very functional for 3 guys that know "how to roll". The location was awesome. Cabs were always a 5-10 minute phone call away to get us to the convention center each day. Walk a block and your there for a cold one after working hard all day. We enjoyed World Cup games at The Green Turtle.
If your looking for a casual, hip house with a really cool historical vibe, then I highly recommend the Lancaster House. The owner Richard was very professional and took care of every last detail. We will definitely be back when Fells Point calls again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lancaster House - a gem

Review submitted: June 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 11, 2010

Place was absolutely fantastic. Great location that is walking distance to Fells Point, Little Italy, even the Aquarium. Clean when we arrived and a very nice place to stay. We will ask for this location again when going to Baltimore for sure.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charm City Charmer

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 19, 2010

If you're looking for a true city vacation, Lancaster House is the ideal location. This historic townhouse is steps away from all the action of Fells Point, yet offers a quiet respite complete with a walled outdoor patio. Plenty of room for 6 adults and a couple of kids. There are lots of narrow stairs, but the climb is worth it. The owners have included every ammenity including Wi-Fi, washer and dryer plus detergent, air mattress and pump, board games, and all utensils, linens, etc. Two free water passes offer easy access to any Baltimore tourist destination. Try the yogurt at Mr. Yogato, the mussels at Bertha's, and the coffee at Latte Da. Parking is non-existent on weekend nights especially, so leave your car at the Caroline St. garage (easy walk) or use the resident parking pass to claim a spot for the duration.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house; amazing location

Review submitted: May 2, 2010   Date of arrival: April 9, 2010

The location of this house in the heart of lower Fells Points and a block to Broadway Square cannot be beat. Eight of us (all adults) shared it for a weekend and loved everything about the house -- from the funky decor to the courtyard to the fabulous shower (never underestimate the importance of a really great shower when you're running around doing touristy things all day). The inclusion of an on-street parking pass was key. We scored a spot right out in front on Friday and then walked or took a taxi the rest of the weekend. It *is* important to mind the steps & narrow stairs, just one of the quirks of an old building. I would highly recommend Lancaster House to anyone visiting Baltimore.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 29, 2009   Date of arrival: December 29, 2009

My family of 5 (3 kids in their '20s)
spent our Christmas holiday at Lancaster
House, and had a wonderful time. The
kitchen was well equipped for cooking,
the rooms are lovely and spacious. The
surround sound was fun for watching
movies. The neighborhood was great fun
to walk around. There was even a washer
and dryer. The house was even decorated
with a wreath and poinsettia. Only down
side: I wouldn't recommend the spiral
staircase for young children.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 13, 2009   Date of arrival: April 13, 2009

The Lancaster House was an excellent choice for us in Baltimore! What a great house in a great location! Can't say enough good about it! Would stay here again in a heart beat! Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great Easter Vacation

Review submitted: March 25, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

Due to my teenage daughters volleyball tournamant we had to travel to Baltimore for the Easter weekend. This was the first time we had ever spent a major holiday away from home, and my 3 year old was worried that the easter bunny would not find her. Thanks to Lancaster House, we had a GREAT weekend, and now my 3 year old wants to go back every easter! Great accomedations, great location. You can smell the wonderful foods being cooked just a few yards away at some great restaurants. Park once and take a cab or the water taxi. The Lancaster House had plenty of room for our family of 5, and was great for also hosting a few friends for dinner as well. If you rent, who knows, you may find one of the easter eggs that my daughter missed finding!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 14, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

As a well-traveled former Baltimore resident, I don't think you can find better lodging than Lancaster House. The location is perfect; you are in the best section of the coolest neighborhood in Baltimore. It is beautifully decorated (with some fun and funky Baltimore art and memorabilia..)and will exceed all of your expectations. It is definitely upscale. It was spotless, but the kitchen cabinets have all the oils, spices and extras that you'll probably need; you can walk to Whole Foods for the rest.. Richard, the owner, has three houses in Fell's Point and is an excellent host. He takes credit cards and doesn't pull any "nickel and dime" nonsense- your nightly rate includes absolutely everything. He even has a resident's parking pass for your use, which is invaluable in Fell's Point. Rent this house, get a water taxi pass for all the harbor activities (the stop is two blocks), visit the Walters Art Gallery and Baltimore Art Museum (both free!), eat some crabs...I guarantee a great vacation!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review