reviews for: listing #107553 - Gatlinburg, Tennessee Cabin rental

Black Bear's Den/Large Game Room/5 min to Downtown
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Black Bear Falls
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $145 - $175 /nt

sort by:

Great family cabin

Review submitted: August 26, 2014   Date of arrival: August 17, 2014

Beautiful cabin that is well equipped for young families. The pool table and arcade were fun for the kids while we made meals and the high chair, pack and play and gate were useful for the baby. The cabin was very neat and clean. The location was quiet but yet close to the grocery store and gas station. The pool temp was very cold but the cabin was great. Highly recommend this place.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: June 19, 2014   Date of arrival: June 12, 2014

Cabin is very well maintained, minutes from downtown Gatlinburg. When it was time to leave, my daughter asked if we could call and stay a couple more days.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

1st time VRBO

Review submitted: June 10, 2014   Date of arrival: June 1, 2014

Our family just left the cabin last week and we truly enjoyed our home away from home. What you see is what you get, the cabin is clean, laid out well and easy to get to. Any questions that I had were answered quickly by the owner. I would rent this home again in a minute.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Time

Review submitted: June 3, 2014   Date of arrival: May 28, 2014

My family and I had a wonderful time during our stay at Black Bear. We wre happy with the accommodations in the cabin. We look forward to staying there again soon!

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay at a super clean cabin.

Review submitted: March 21, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

We will stay at this cabin again when we come back down to Gatlinburg. Great place to stay and I would highly recommend it to anyone!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Awesome

Review submitted: February 19, 2014   Date of arrival: February 12, 2014

Wonderful place. Will be back. Very clean. Fantastic correspondence and info via email.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Weekend away

Review submitted: February 18, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2014

My husband and I, along with 2 other friends, stayed here for a weekend getaway and we were all extremely pleased! My husband and I stayed at Gatlinburg Falls Resort last year and in comparison I must say that we will never stay there again now that we have stayed at Black Bear Falls!
First of all, it is great not having to check in anywhere, or check out! Secondly, our cabin at Gatlinburg Falls Resort was only a one bedroom, $100 more expensive, and not nearly as nice and updated! Everything was extremely clean and well kept and the location was great! We will definately look at staying here again in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Cabin

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

We rented your cabin this weekend , we loved it , close to everything ,clean , we enjoyed it very much .thank you .

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

awesomeness

Review submitted: December 28, 2013   Date of arrival: December 8, 2013

Wonderful cabin loved the cuzzi! Geautitul, comfirtable, good location !

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Black Bear Den stay

Review submitted: December 11, 2013   Date of arrival: December 2, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. The cabin was just as described. Spacious, very clean and with all the amenities we needed. My husband enjoyed the pool table and I enjoyed the Jacuzzi, especially on those cold nites..The location was great close to attractions but quiet and relaxing area to retreat to at the end of the day. Owner was excellent to work with, answering all of my questions promptly. I would definitely recommend to family and friends

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Baby in the smokies

Review submitted: October 22, 2013   Date of arrival: October 17, 2013

This was a perfect cabin. Great location and so peaceful! We especially liked the pillow top mattresses and the porch swing. It's really a family friendly cabin for little ones. All the doors have high chain locks to prevent little ones from getting out and the baby gate and level parking are pluses. Can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Great cabin, great location!

Review submitted: October 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 13, 2013

We just returned from our trip to Gatlinburg and had an excellent stay in this cabin! Everything was perfect from the amenities to the location. The cabin decor & appliances were very new and stylish! We enjoyed all the cabin had to offer...pool table, outdoor hot tub, relaxing porch with rocking chairs! All the parks, hiking trails, and downtown is just around the corner! Very convenient to everything! It was just what we needed. We plan to return next fall!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 

Clean Cabin

Review submitted: October 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 6, 2013

I just want to start out by saying this is the cleanest cabin I have beg after in while in Gatlinburg. had no problem making myself comfortable.

Pros
1. Good location to downtown gatlinburg
2. Very clean
3. Comfortable beds
4. Very large or a 2 bedroom

cons
1. Check out time of 10am is a little early. We had some trouble getting ourselves up.and running after a long day before. Another hour would have made all the difference.
2. Whoever is in charge of grounds maintenance ran leaf blowers from 730 am to 830am both mornings of our stay. It sounded like a larger generator in the middle of the living room for an hour each morning. Not something you want to hear while on vacation trying to relax.

overall I would stay here again. You can't beat the size of the cabin and the location for the money. beg well worth it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for the wonderful comments! We agree with you on absolutely everything, and we definitely invite you back.
We'll put in a request with the maintenance crew to maybe not start so early with the leaf blowing. They're great people, so I'm sure they wouldn't mind this request.
Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Perfect Vacation!!

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

This cabin was awesome!! This was our first time to rent a property from VRBO, we would do it again!! We have visited Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge several times and always enjoy spending time in the mountains hiking and do a little shopping in Gatlinburg. The cabin was located perfectly to allow easy drive time to do both and also time to just sit back and relax in the hot tub or in the rocking chairs. The owner couldn't have been more accommodating! We were very pleased to find the cabin just as the pictures showed. I have cleaned houses for several years myself and was impressed of the cleanliness of the cabin. Thanks for giving us a great vacation~~we'll be back:):)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Prime location, beautiful cabin

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

Four women friends meeting for an annual retreat. The cabin was really nice, well appointed and comfortable. We felt safe in the house and the neighborhood. While this is a neighborhood full of cabins, we still felt away from it all in this location. Very close and easy access to the town of Gatlinburg. We stayed Friday - Monday and wished we could have stayed longer. Fun things we did in the area was horseback riding at Sugarland Stables and a ride to the top of the mountain in a gondola where we went sled riding down a chute. Next time, I'd allow more time to do some hiking up to a waterfall. It was a fun weekend! Would definitely recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Motorcycle trip to Gatlinburg

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

Place was beautifull..nicely decorated, clean. Lots of towels dishes, a safe area to walk around..no laundry soap but no problem ,washer and dryer brand new..air conditioner was a blessing in hot days..hot tub was relaxing after riding the roads..The road to the cabin was a little test of nerves the first time but after riding the tail of the dragon Carterstown road was a snap...Close to Gatlinburg but not within walking distance ...5-10 min drive..20 min walk to the hardware store...(forgot cell phone charger)..Whitney was very helpful with all our questions and concerns.Lots of activities in Gatlinburg to do..Pigeon forge a short drive..We rode our motorcycles all around the Smokies and I have to say the scenery is beyond belief..in a car you have no idea..this area is on most motorcycle enthusiats bucket list..people in area are very friendly.. The cabin was a place that you could spend way more than the week we spent without feeling crowded..We have told our friends about the cabin since we booked but now pictures tell it better ...Would go back again and again

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so very much for your comment. I bet experiencing the mountains on a motorcycle would be pretty amazing. Thank you for recommending us, and we look forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 6 / 9

 

Wow this was great.

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

Everything was as listed in the description. The owner was extremely helpful in solving a minor concern while we were there. She had local service people there very quickly and the issue was solved PDQ!! Driving directions were excellent. It was close to all activities we were interested in accessing. Grandchildren loved the cabin and hot tub. We will definitely return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're happy to hear you had a wonderful visit. We truly appreciate your kindness and hospitality when speaking with our caretaker who helped you during your stay. Thank you for taking care of our cabin and we look forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 3 / 6

 

Wonderful place to stay!

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

Black Bear's Den is a wonderful place to stay! The cabin is located in a community 5 minutes outside of Gatlinburg...far enough away to be quiet and peaceful, yet close enough to town and the SMN Park. The listing description and pictures reflected the cabin exactly! The cabin was very clean and included everything we needed. The owner answered all of our questions and was very friendly. My husband & I stayed there with our daughter and son-in-law and our 4 grandchildren, two of which are 9-mo old twins. The cabin has a pack-n-play, high chair and baby gate which were very useful for the 2 little ones. We enjoyed being within walking distance of the pool although the nights were a little cool to swim. Instead we enjoyed the hot tub on the covered deck which we were able to enjoy even while it rains. This was my husband's and my 9th trip to Gatlinburg in the last 10 years...do we love it...absolutely. This is truly God's country. One of our favorite things to do is hike to Laurel Falls which was absolutely fabulous this year! The aquarium was a tremendous hit, especially with the kids and even the babies. We would definitely recommend Black Bear's Den and hope to have the opportunity to stay there again sometime!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We definitely agree that Gatlinburg is God's country. There is such an indescribable peace spending time in the mountains. We look forward to your return!

Helpful votes: 3 / 7

 

Outstanding Visit!

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 5, 2013

My family rented for 8 nights. The owner was very easy to work with and communicated clearly and quickly. The cabin is beautiful and had plenty of room for us. Our 10 year old daughter had a friend join us for the trip at the last moment and they took over the downstairs bedroom and bathroom and that left the wife an I with the upstairs to ourselves.
Beds were REALLY comfy with soft sheets and nice comforters.
Kitchen had plenty of pots, pans, cooking utensils, plates, bowls, etc. If you want to save money on your trip by eating in, you will have all you need to feed the family! Bring your supply of K-Cups for the Kuerig!
Cabin was very close to the pool, an easy walk even if you are not much of a walker.
Flat parking and an easy driveway and isn't way up the road. However, because the cabin isn't way up the mountain you don't have great views, but the porches offer a comfortable place to relax and enjoy the breezes through the trees!
Well decorated and comfortable, you will feel like you are home as soon as you walk in!
Plenty of TV's, one in each living area and each bedroom. The two in the living room and game room have LOTS of channels while the bedrooms have plenty of channels like a basic cable package.
Close to town, the grocery store, trolleys, etc.
Bottom line, the cabin looks like the pictures and you will be very happy with your stay here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Yes, the comfortable beds are definitely a popular feature/amenity! We're pleased your family had a great time, and we thank you for your wonderful compliments.

Helpful votes: 4 / 8

 

Judy from Ohio

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

The cabin was immaculate, beautifully decorated, and had wonderful beds and amenities. the shower in the master bedroom was kind of weak....maybe needs a new showerhead? But overall, we would highly recommend this entire subdivision, and in particular this cabin to everyone. Staying there was totally delightful !!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your compliments, and we look forward to your return!! We did check on the shower head, and we were told that everything checked out in great condition. We are looking into possibly replacing it with an adjustable feature, so our guest can choose between high or low flow. Thanks for bringing this to our attention.

Helpful votes: 4 / 8

 

West Virginia Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

Our entire family rated our recent week long stay at A Black Bear's Den as an excellent experience as the cabin was everything stated in the advertisement. This was our first experience in staying in a cabin and we found the lodging very clean, organized, well situated and very comfortable. Everything we needed for the week was at the cabin including entertainment suggestions and area markets. The kitchen was well stocked with the needed items to prepare meals. There were four adults and two children in our group and we all really enjoyed our week there. We were close to all the attractions and to the Great Smoky Mountain National Park. We visited various locations in the mountains and children really loved the outdoors. We are from the mountains of West Virginia and still appreciate the outdoors a lot. I would highly recommend this cabin to anyone because it is everything the owner claims. I really appreciate the cleanliness of the cabin and the cabin provides entertainment if you just want to stay there all day with the swing, rocking chairs, hot tub and the pool within easy walking distance. We will definitely stay at this cabin if and when we desire to travel to Gatlinburg in the future. Thanks for providing such a pleasant experience.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We definitely hope you choose to return to Gatlinburg and A Black Bear's Den. We appreciate your kind and thoughtful words, and thank you for taking care of our cabin!

Helpful votes: 2 / 6

 

Vacationing from Ohio

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: May 9, 2013

We love Black Bear Falls!! Our cabin was conveniently located, clean, and had everything you could possibly need!!! It was so relaxing. You feel like you are miles away from town, although it only takes minutes to get to a grocery store, restaurants, and the center of Gatlinburg.

We attended the Tennesse Smokies minor league baseball game, and visited the Titanic Museum which was amazing !

Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer !!! We will be back!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Come back anytime and make sure you stay longer during next visit. We appreciate your kind words, and we've marked the Titanic museum on our list of activities we still need to try out.

Helpful votes: 3 / 8

 

Tammy

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 27, 2013

Beautiful cabin. Great location. Can't wait to go back.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We can't wait for you to return either. Owners truly appreciate the many families and groups that stay at our cabin and treat it like their own home. Thank you very much!

Helpful votes: 3 / 9

 

We'll Be Back!

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 17, 2013

Our stay at Black Bear's Den during our Gatlinburg visit was just fabulous. A clean, comfortable, cozy mountain house with a terrific view from the upper deck. Plenty of room for our family of three but could accomodate more--all in a nice quiet setting. About 5 minutes from the main drag in Gatlinburg and 10 minutes from the entrance to GSMNP, and close to grocery store, restaurants, etc.. We loved staying here and hope to make a spring trip to the Smokies a regular trip--and will look to stay here before anywhere else. Highly recommend!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We hope you do include A Black Bear's Den in your plans for your next Spring Gatlinburg trip:) We want our guests to think of our cabin as their home away from home. Thank you for your compliments and kind words.

Helpful votes: 4 / 10

 

Perfect Cabin for a Perfect Vacation!

Review submitted: February 24, 2013   Date of arrival: February 14, 2013

This cabin was an excellent pick for us to spend our Valentine's Day weekend. It is Beautiful and fully equipped with anything you might need. The new beds sleep wonderfully. We Truly enjoyed our stay and will for sure keep this place in mind next time we want to vacation in the Smokies!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for sharing your positive experience of your stay at A Black Bear's Den. The beds are the best! We definitely agree!

Helpful votes: 4 / 10

 

Great spot for our weekend getaway

Review submitted: January 31, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

There were 7 of us (3 adults, 4 tweens), and the cabin was perfect for our stay. The cabin was cozy and the beds were very comfy. Easy drive to downtown and Ober Gatlinburg. We all had a great time and the owner was very helpful.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We do our very best to help our guests in any way possible. Thank you for the kind words, and we're glad you enjoyed your family time.

Helpful votes: 3 / 10

 

A Great Start to the New Year

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

We spent New Year's Eve at Black Bear's Den. The location is very convenient to downtown Gatlenburg as well as easy access to Pigeon Forge. The cabin was very clean with plenty of amenities including king size beds, spacious family room and gameroom, hot tub, plenty of TVs and internet service. The owners were very accomodating and corresponded often with us to assure that our stay was a pleasant one.
We travelled with our two girls and were able to take in some of the most popular sites including:
Ripley's Aquarium and other museums in Gatlenburg, a dinner show in Pigeon Forge, Wonder Works museum, hiked Laurel Falls, and drove through Cades Cove.
We would highly recommend this cabin to our friends and family! Thanks for the great stay and great memories in TN.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love to hear wonderful stories about great family vacations. Thank you for recommending us!

Helpful votes: 4 / 12

 

Great trip!

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: December 13, 2012

We had a great time at the cabin. Everything was clean and nice! I especially appreciated the owner's help and hospitality. We'll be back!!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you very much and we're looking forward to your return. Thank you for taking such great care of our cabin.

Helpful votes: 2 / 9

 

Great Week

Review submitted: December 1, 2012   Date of arrival: November 25, 2012

We stayed at Black Bear's Den the week after Thanksgiving and had a wonderful time. The cabin is very easy to get to and close to town but still has a beautiful mountain setting. We enjoyed the Hot Tub and the chairs and log porch swing on the large decks. The bed was very comfortable and everything was in working order. The gas fireplaces were nice. It isn't listed in the amenities but the cabin has Wireless internet and it works very well. There were only 2 of us but this would be a great cabin for 2 couples as there are 2 equally nice master bedrooms with attached bathrooms. We are thinking of bringing some friends in the spring who have never been to the smokies.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We appreciate the kind words and we look forward to having you back!

Helpful votes: 5 / 14

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review