reviews for: listing #107627 - South Padre Island, Texas Condo rental

Beach Front Condo-Breath Taking View of Beach
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Tiki Condos
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $95 - $200 /nt
    $695 - $1,200 /wk
    $1,650 - $2,400 /mth

sort by:

Best vacation

Review submitted: January 30, 2013   Date of arrival: January 22, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at a Villarreal's condo. I had the pleasure to stay in their upper condo a year ago. This new, clean condo was better than my imagination. I felt like I walked into a decor magazine with beautiful furniture and decorations. Everything was new and very comfortable. The kitchen was fully stocked for the cooking I did. This was my first time coming to South Padre during the winter, and it was amazing. I walked the warm beach every morning and witnessed God's glory with the rising sun, which was right off the balcony. It was in 80's almost every day. The balcony of the condo has a beautiful view of the beach and I ate all my meals on it. Who would have thought you could get a tan in January? The two pools were warm and refreshing. The other guest were very friendly and welcoming, who have been coming for several decades. They even said this condo was the nicest at the Tiki. I thought I was in paradise until reality hit and I was forced to go back home to work. To add to it, everyday I had a relaxing shower in the most beautiful shower I have seen. I did leave with new friends to see next year and a relax feeling that I have not felt in any past vacations. I didn't feel like I was at a hotel but a place of my own. And, I know that the Villarreal's want me to treat this as my home. I definitely recommend this condo and plan coming back this summer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so pleased that your stay was so relaxing. Our goal is to make sure that all our guest have the same wonderful experience that you did.

Thank you,

The Villarreals

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

1st time experience

Review submitted: February 10, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

My husband and I just stayed in this wonderful condo for the entire month of January. It was my first time to the Padre area and I thoroughly recommend it! We had a lovely time. The beach is really beautiful. The condo had everything we needed. It was very clean. We had a small maintenance issue while there. I contacted Toni and she had it taken care of right away. The best feature in my opinion was the bed. Sometimes in rentals the bed is uncomfortable and kind of scary, but this bed was very nice. Really the whole condo is decorated and furnished nicer than any rental I have ever stayed in. We loved the area and will be back next year for sure.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Luxuriously Decorated Ground Floor Condo Steps from the Beach!

Review submitted: December 24, 2013   Date of arrival: December 12, 2013

We couldn't be more pleased with our experience renting from Mario & Toni, or with the ground floor unit we rented. It looked like it was professionally decorated, and yet it was not overdone, so felt very comfortable & homey. We were there in mid-December and the whole resort was quiet, peaceful, and well-kept. We had our 5 lb Yorkie with us and the patio was perfect for her to go out and watch things, but still be enclosed. They also promptly returned the full security deposit less than a week after we got home! Note: They own 3 units, one on top of the other, so if you have a group traveling together, this would be a good way to deal with one owner for all 3 units. (See #3643752ha & # 3211180) And also another 3rd floor unit on the other side (facing Clayton's) #3559240ha.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: October 11, 2013   Date of arrival: September 24, 2013

Condo was immaculate and very comfortable. The owners were courteous and professional. I would recommend this property to anyone who is looking to go to South Padre Island.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

South Padre Island

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 23, 2013

We loved the condo. It was beautifully decorated. We could see the gulf from our patio and enjoyed sitting out there and drinking coffee in the morning. We were right on the beach and right next door to Claytons. We plan to stay there next year:)

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

This condo was great and has it all. Steps from the sand and surf. The unit has everything you need including a well appointed kitchen, and all other amenities. Murphy bed in the living room made the stay nicer for my teenager.
We did have a problem with water leaking, but Mario had some one there imhighiately to fix the issue.
Would recommend others to stay here.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: April 21, 2013

Very comfortable home away from home. Everything was as it was represented - and then some! Probably the most relaxing vacation we've ever taken. We will definitely return to this condo! Thank you Mario for a beautiful vacation.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

nice place, close to beach

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 26, 2013

We stayed at this place with our daughter and her best friend. They slept in the Murphy Bed, which worked out great for them. We were very pleased with the unit-- it is comfortable and well maintained. The kitchen is perfect for cooking, etc. The beach is basically right outside the door. This unit is on the side of the building, rather than the front of the building, so its "view" of the beach is a little tight-- you can see a slice of it from the patio. So it's not like you're looking out a picture window at the ocean or anything. But that's okay, because being this close to the beach meant that we were able to spend a lot of time there, to come and go as we pleased, etc. We enjoyed our stay quite a bit-- the owner seems very attentive and does a nice job making sure everything is going well. We would definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Condo Screams BEACH, BEACH, BEACH!!

Review submitted: July 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 25, 2013

This cute and comfy condo screams BEACH, BEACH, BEACH! You can see and hear the beautiful waters of the Gulf (approx. 500 feet away) from the terrace while sipping cool beverages or eating fish tacos from the restaurant next door...and the porch has a low gate, making it perfect to be outside with a small child or dog. Inside, the unit is decorated with ocean-themed momentos on the wall and cheerful colors. Kitchen is fully equipped, bathroom has spacious shower with custom tile work, bedroom very peaceful. I could easily move in and never leave, it's really quite perfect. Plus, there are two large swimming pools to enjoy. The Tiki compound itself is well-built, relaxed, and quiet. It is toward the north end of South Padre Island, right across from a fantastic bird sanctuary and convention center that both have walkways over the shores of Laguna Madre--perfect for bird-watching sunsets. Really can't wait to go back. Been there two years in a row, hoping to make it an annual retreat.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Awesome Vaca Condo!

Review submitted: July 5, 2013   Date of arrival: June 19, 2013

This condo rocks and has it all. Steps from the sand and surf. The unit hass everything you need including a well appointed kitchen, ( there is even a blender ) and all other amenities. Nice Murphy bed in the living room made the stay nicer for my teenager. The complex was very quiet and well protected.

Mario is great and very east to communicate with. I had my deposit back in 4 days after the end of the rental. A+ place and service.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank for your kind words and great review. We do our best to provide everyone the most enjoyable experience. The Villarreal's

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

May vacation 2113

Review submitted: June 1, 2013   Date of arrival: May 26, 2013

You never know what you will get when you rent on-line for the first time at a location, but this one is a home run. It was everything that we were told it was and more. It was clean, everything worked, and it was actually 25 yards to the beach. Would definately recomend this unit to anyone and will stay there again if we go back to Padre. Thanks Mario wishing you success

Owners response: Look forward to having you back!!!

The Villarreal's

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Excellent!

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 22, 2013

The condo was just as pictured! Nicely maintained, clean and spacious for our family of 3. Our daughter loved the murphy bed in the living room! :-) It was just a short walk down the sidewalk to the beach, easy for us to go back and forth lugging all our gear. We didn't have any problems with noise or disturbances at all. The pool was excellent - big and maintained nicely. The courtyard area was nice and landscaped beautifully - Hibiscus everywhere! :-) The owner Mario and his wife were super friendly and easy to work with prior to our stay, during, and after! Overall great experience, and when we come back to South Padre we will definitely book with these guys again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review, hope to have you back soon!!

The Villarreal's

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Excellent!

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 22, 2013

The condo was just as pictured! Nicely maintained, clean and spacious for our family of 3. Our daughter loved the murphy bed in the living room! :-) It was just a short walk down the sidewalk to the beach, easy for us to go back and forth lugging all our gear. We didn't have any problems with noise or disturbances at all. The pool was excellent - big and maintained nicely. The courtyard area was nice and landscaped beautifully - Hibiscus everywhere! :-) The owner Mario and his wife were super friendly and easy to work with prior to our stay, during, and after! Overall great experience, and when we come back to South Padre we will definitely book with these guys again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoy a Nice, Quiet, Private and Convenient Place

Review submitted: May 4, 2013   Date of arrival: April 25, 2013

My husband and I luckily found this 1-bedroom condo available at the Tiki at the last minute. We were pleased to find a very nice, clean and recently updated condo with almost all the amenities of home. The balcony afforded a great view of the ocean as well as plenty of sun throughout the day. The sounds of the ocean could be heard as we slept peacefully in the nice king-sized bed. We were able to enjoy a full day on the beach just yards away from the condo, which allowed us to go in and out for whatever needs we had. We recommend this get-away for anyone who would enjoy a nice, quiet, private and convenient place on the beautiful beach at South Padre Island.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Verry Pleased

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

First of all we would like to thank Mario for all his help and kindness. The condo was decorated as we would want our beach condo. All the furniture was comfortable and clean. We slept well in the king size bed and found it to be very comfortable. We visited Joe's Oyster Bar across the bridge and bought shrimp and cooked 5 of 7 nights of our stay. This is very rare for us to eat in, but we enjoyed the kitchen and the sound of the Ocean on the patio. The shower rocked!!! We have all intentions to return and enjoy this condo once again. Thank you for helping us have a nice vacation. Kenny & Sherrie Cuff

Owners response: Thank you for the compliments we really appreciate it and so do our future guest. We have invested heavily in this condo to make it a 5 star stay for each and everyone of our guest. We look forward to having you back soon.

The Villarreals

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Uncomfortable and overpriced

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

I found this place to be very uncomfortable. The jackhammers outside breaking up the cement sidewalks went all day long. There were nasty sand burrs on everything not paved. The air conditioner was so loud you had to raise your voice to be heard over it. the dehumidifier was just as loud. The condo itself was not designed for comfort but rather durability. There was no ice maker, there was no dishwasher, the pillows were old and flat, there was sand everywhere, which was exacerbated by my pets tracking it in, there was one tiny rug by the front door to brush off sand, but no rugs by the sliding glass doors to wipe sand and not even a rug by the bed to wipe your feet before bed. The furniture was covered in vinyl - durable but not comfortable. I was told it was pet friendly but the condo rules stated pets had to be washed after being on the beach but were not allowed in the condo when wet. Well that's impossible. I was there 12 nites and paid a maid to come in twice while there to clean. I also allowed the condo to be shown by prospective buyers while there and also agreed to allow the owners to show the place to an insurance guy one day for over an hour. Yet when it came time to check out I was going to be half an hour late and you would have thought I was committing a felony. First the maid called an hour before check-in to warn me she would be there exactly at 11 am. I said I would be a little late and she argued with me. I had been sick that morning and had a lot to pack after 12 days. Two minutes later the owner called and was insistent I be out exactly at 11. She also argued with me. This after I had graciously allowed them access to the condo for their purposes. She said they had another guest arriving at 3 and had to deep clean due to my pets. Now remember this is a very small space with vinyl furniture and no rugs and I had had it cleaned at my own expense twice during that time. Pet friendly? Hardly! Traveler friendly? Not my experience.

I would definitely not return. The quality was that of a motel six... The value for the money doesnt make it. The location apart from the sand burrs and jackhammers was great. I enjoyed the birding center and Parrots Eye Restaurant has the best seafood nachos in the world. I really like La Hacienda Restaurant as well. Good drinks, guacamole and enchiladas. But the sand burrs and jackhammers had all the guests I talked to complaining. For this much money you should have decent pillows, a few rugs, & dishwashe

Owners response: We are sorry to hear that you feel that you had an uncomfortable time at our condo. In the two and half years that we have rented, we have never had a bad review and take all comments seriously and want to address them. After, you checked in, Mario called you and asked to see if you happy with the accommodations. You replied that the condo was beautiful and more than you expected.The description is clearly stated on the website of the size which is 712sqft. The rules are also clearly stated on the contract and Mario personally talked to you regarding our pet policy and rules; which you didn’t adhere to them. There is a fenced balcony for the dogs to dry up. Our maid informed us that you were letting the dogs in wet and lay on the pillows which we had to throw away, that the place was full of dog hair, and real messy and smelly. I do apologize for the jack hammering noise but it was on the other end of the complex. We arrived Thursday, and it was for two days and a couple of hours both days. We had no control of that situation. You asked to extend your stay for two more night, however, we could not accommodate because we had new renters checking in. We did have an adjuster come by but we only stayed for 25 minutes, and while we were there it smelled so bad that we wanted to leave ASAP. You brought many boxes and a lot of luggage that crammed the condo. When we came in, you said you were happy with the place. No one else should have been in the condo because our condo is not for sale. We just purchased it. Please provide me the names of the individuals who came in. Our sofas are 100% Natuzzi leather, but the sofas were consumed with sand and dog hair on your own doing. The condo needed an extreme deep cleaning; therefore, we needed you to check out at 11am as stated on your contract have the condo ready for our next renters. We did allow you 30 minutes past 11am verbally, but you didn't leave until 12:20pm. We have never had our place left in such bad condition and it took 4 people to clean the unit. We were never rude and tried our best to accommodate you; however, you took advantage of us and were upset because we didn’t allow you to stay longer and let you know we had additional cleaning. We are sorry that you feel our condo is comparable to Motel 6 but that is a false statement and all our items are of high quality. The A\C and dehumidifier are not loud. We are disappointed that you would make false statements but you are entitled to your opinion.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Very nice condo in quiet resort environment

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

This is a very nice condo, newly remodeled and decorated (very nicely furnished kitchen and bathroom shower). The furnishings were very modern and the beds were comfortable. The location is perfect - resort has a nice pool, it is very close to the beach and a beach bar next door but you are staying in a very quiet resort environment. It was a perfect situation for us. We would return to stay here.
The owner was easily accessible and accomodating to our last minute request to rent from them.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

beach front condo with beautiful view.

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

I just recently rented a beach side condo that was everything I was expecting. It was very clean, newly renovated, very close to the beach (about 80 steps away) and close to the bus line. I would absolutely rent from there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to rent you our beach Condo!!

The

Villarreal's

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful, quiet location

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: January 13, 2013

The condo has nice upgrades and was very comfortable with easy access to the beach. The staff and residents at the Tiki were very outgoing, friendly, and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan on a return visit in the near future. We recommend a guided fishing trip with Captain Mark Guillot whose boat is docked behind the Parrot’s Eye Restaurant.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We look forward to having you back soon.

The Villarreal's

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Comfortable and Clean

Review submitted: February 16, 2013   Date of arrival: February 11, 2013

We echo the comments of others about the comfortable bed and clean, pretty furnishings. The shower is especially gorgeous. The balcony faces south and is nicely protected from the sun and wind. There are three special qualities of this condo. The owner is quite responsive to questions and provides good information; the Tiki is just three stories, with beautiful tropical plants (as contrasted with the high-rise condos); and this unit is recently renovated. The Tiki is at the north end of the Island, right across from the Sea Turtle Rescue, the Laguna Madre Trail, and the Birding Center. Although there are not many restaurants nearby, we found it easy to take the free bus (The Wave) when we went south to eat out. The restaurants we most enjoyed were Zest Café on SPI and Chef House, Manuel's, and Joe's Oyster Bar at Port Isabel.

Owners response: Thank you so much for the commits and suggestions you gave us we really appreciate any feed back you may have. We are constantly looking for ways to improve everyone's stay and find out what people enjoyed during their stay. We especially like the wonderful commits you have wrote and look forward to having you back soon.


Thank you,

The Villarreal's

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Gorgeous Condo

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

This beautifully decorated condo certainly far exceeded our expectations. It is like stepping into a place on HGTV! The owner checked on us the day we arrived to be sure we had no trouble getting the key. The beach access is only 100 yards away so we spent a lot of time there. The grounds at the Tiki are very well maintained. People are extremely friendly and the place is pet friendly. We certainly hope to return to this gorgeous condo in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your wonderful commits. We have had several people the last few weeks come by and look at our condo and were very impressed with our completely remodeled condo. We are so glad that everyone has enjoyed our place while relaxing at the same time.

Thank you,

The Villarreals

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fabulous Condo!

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: January 28, 2013

This is a beautiful condo with gorgeous upscale furniture. The bedroom side tables have granite countertops, the king size bed is as comfortable as my own bed at home. Slept like a baby with the sound of the ocean waves just steps away from the bedroom. The living room has extra large and comfy leather couches that you can just curl up into and enjoy watching TV from the large flatscreen mounted on the wall. The bathroom is straight from Home and Garden magazine--so tastefully decorated. The shower is ample and very modern. The kitchen has everything you need to cook at home and the stainless steel appliances look to be brand new. I highly recommend this condo to anyone who wants to live in the lap of luxury for a few days or a few months. By the way, the owners couldn't be nicer. They checked in on us upon arrival to make sure everything was as we expected. It was WAY BEYOND OUR EXPECTATIONS. Will definitely stay here again!

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. This is our second condo we have purchased at this complex because of its outstanding view to the beach. We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,

The Villarreals

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review