reviews for: listing #107667 - Merida, Yucatan House rental

Cantón Mansion - Rent a piece of history
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Historic Center
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $695 - $795 /wk
    $1,650 - $1,995 /mth

sort by:

Oasis in the city

Review submitted: February 10, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

We rented the property for 10 days. It's a very unique experience to spend time in a house like this, both historic and elegantly beautiful. The photos while accurate can't capture the ambience of the interior spaces. Courtyards bring in fresh air. I loved hearing the birds sing in the morning and early evening. The salon is lined with with a wonderful collection of books, music and DVDs. It's a beautiful room to sit in at night, listening to music, reading or watching a movie. We also enjoyed the dining room which has a stunning stained glass window, very large and colourful. The kitchen has everything you need to cook and its very convenient to have a blender for making smoothies/licaudos. The pool is also nice for a dip and very private.

The location is very good and provides easy access to the main plazas, wonderful restaurants, museums and the Paseo Montejo, which closes on Sunday for half a day to pedestrians and cyclists. Merida is a very safe city and being close to Calle 60 which is very lively in the evening, its really pleasant to walk home at night.

We were lucky to hear Christopher rehearsing with other musicians. That was truly a very enjoyable experience and encouraged us to get tickets to the symphony. The theatre where the symphony plays is very close by and is in a refurbished theatre, very baroque in style with a huge chandelier. Christopher is a very warm and thoroughly charming person and also knows about food. He recommended a nearby restaurant that was easily the best food that we've had since we got to the Yucatan. While Christopher is the owner, the property is managed by Neil, the property manager. He provides you with a cell phone with minutes in case you need to make some calls. He responds promptly to any request, is very polite and explains the details of the house well.

At times we were just happy to hang around the house, enjoy the pool and read. WIFI works very well. It can get quite hot in the afternoon and the house is a great retreat from the urban heat and noise of the streets.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Helen and Virendra,

thank you for a lovely review, and for telling me how much fun you both had staying here - with all the grandeur of this house I sometimes forget that actually it's a great place to kick off one shoes, and relax in a house that is fun to be in, right in the heart of Merida.

You said you'd be returning for another visit, I look forward to welcoming you back to Canton Mansion.

Best
Neil

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quiet Elegance in Centro Historico

Review submitted: October 8, 2013   Date of arrival: September 10, 2013

My husband and I rented this home for 10 days in September. What a wonderful find right in the heart of Merida! The historic home is beautifully restored to its original charm, yet is still perfectly suited for a comfortable and relaxing stay, with all the modern conveniences needed(including wi-fi and cable television).

The property is exactly as pictured and described. Very quiet even though it is in the middle of the city. We were very happy to have pleasure of hearing Chris (the owner, who is concertmeister of the Yucatan Symphony Orchestra) rehearsing upstairs. He was a very gracious host who treated us like we were old friends.

The location is wonderful, just a few blocks from the Plaza Grande (one of the main attractions in Merida). The property manager, Neil, provided some wonderful recommendations for multiple restaurants within a few minutes walk. We tried many of them and were very pleased with his selections.

In short, we would highly recommend this property to anyone fortunate enough to visit the city of Merida. We will always have very fond memories of our time there.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Hi Joel and Belinda,

thank you for your kind review, I'm so glad you had such a great time in Merida despite the unusually wet September this year. Canton Mansion is indeed perfectly located for exploring Merida on foot with many attractions being no more than 10-15 minutes walk away.

The owner Chris is determined to continually improve the house for his guests and since you left the kitchen courtyard has been screened in to provide protection from direct sunlight for the more fragile plants and to keep mosquitoes out, and he has added additional furniture to the master bedroom and more art on the walls.

It was a pleasure having you stay at Canton Mansion and we hope to see you return some day.

Kind Regards
Neil - Property Manager

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

elegance, serenity in the heart of Merida

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

To have found Canton Mansion for my stay in Merida was truly a stroke of luck; one might only dream of such a find right in the center of the historic quarter of beautiful Merida.

A regal entrance invites one into this elegant home, tastefully furnished to complement the various rooms. The Library was one of my favourite rooms where I spent hours reading, listening to music, and generally relaxing.... that is, when I wasn't sitting in the inner courtyard next to the kitchen, or stretched out in a lounge chair under a canopy of flowering vines in the outer courtyard after a swim in the very private pool, where swimming in the buff in so freeing.

The bedrooms are separated by an inner courtyard, and are furnished with very comfortable beds, and space to store belongings. Both have the option of opening a door onto the inner courtyard, which is where I generally enjoyed my morning coffee.

If you're lucky, the owner, Chris, who is concertmeister of the Yucatan Symphony Orchestra as well as a member of a string quartet, will be in residence. Chris lives in the upper level of the mansion, and I was fortunate to be 'home' on a couple of occasions when he, either solo, or with his quartet, was rehearsing. A special and wonderful treat!

Chris is also the consummate host....charming, hospitable, warm, and concerned that his guest(s) have all they need to be, not only comfortable, but happy in their surroundings.

One could not be more central; the main square (zocalo) is a five-minute walk, the Santa Lucia Park where there is dancing to live music every Sunday, and hosts concerts on other evenings, is two blocks away, and a plethora of restaurants, outdoor terraces, live music, shops, and markets are all in walking distance. And, the Teatro Peon Contreras where the Yucatan Symphony Orchestra performs is a mere 2-3 blocks away; there are several other theatres in walking distance as well.

On two occasions I hosted a dinner party in the elegant dining room. The kitchen is well provided with all one needs to 'cook up a storm' or put together a simple meal. We started the evening enjoying a drink with appetizers on the outside terrace; the ambiance throughout the evening was magical in this historic house I called 'home' for my too-short stay.

My plan is to return next winter and hope I may have the good fortune to stay at Canton Mansion.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Ileana,

thank you for a wonderful review, I know you enjoyed your stay at Canton Mansion but it's great for others to read about your experience of staying in this wonderful house. Chris sends his regards and hopes to see you next year.

Kind Regards
Neil - property manager

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house!!

Review submitted: February 24, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

Wonderful House

We stayed at Cantón Mansion for two weeks in December and January and I have to say this is the most wonderful house! It was built for a son of General Francisco Canton, who was governor of the Yucatan and lived in the huge Canton Palace on Paseo de Montejo, a building that for many years was the archeological museum. This house, Canton Mansion, was built in a similar style and has been lovingly preserved and restored by the present owner, Christopher, a world famous concert violinist.

Chris is the nicest chap you could ever meet, extremely helpful and keen to make sure guests staying at Canton Mansion have everything they need for a comfortable and enjoyable stay. I only met him a couple of times during my stay and can honestly say that I was hardly aware that he was in residence on the upper floor. I did have the real pleasure of seeing him perform with the Merida Symphony at the wonderful Jose Peon Contreras Theatre, just two blocks from the house.

The house is charming and comfortable and has everything needed for a short or long stay. The library is beautiful, with its glass paneled doors overlooking the lush palms in the first courtyard. There is something inspiring about this room, it makes you want to read fine literature, or maybe have a go at writing your own!

The master bed was very comfortable and in the morning we opened the doors to the kitchen courtyard, letting the warm Yucatan sunlight flood in. For this Londoner living in NYC you can imagine how that felt! The kitchen opens onto the second courtyard. If you like to cook you'll find everything you need here.

The second bedroom has its own unique style with a wonderful antique French bed,and beautiful drapery and window overlooking the pool. The garden is perfect! A Lovely shaded terrace, covered in passion-fruit vines, runs next to huge pool, with wrought-iron furniture and hooks for the hammock. The garden is completely private and a perfect place for a siesta, and cocktails as the sun sets.

The location is also great. Merida is a fantastic city to explore on foot and Canton Mansion is just 2 blocks from Santa Lucia Park with frequent live music, and a 5 minute walk from the Zocalo. The English property manager, Neil, was very helpful and full of useful information about Merida and things to see and do during our stay.

Dorothy and I would love to return to Canton Mansion next year, and we can't recommend it highly enough!

Owners response: Thank you so much for your wonderful and helpful review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and of course I would love to see you and Dorothy back at Canton Mansion next year!

Kind Regards
Chris

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review