reviews for: listing #107851 - Fort Payne, Alabama Cottage rental

Angel's Rest Cottage - a Mountaintop Retreat with Personal S
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $150 /nt
    $750 - $900 /wk

sort by:

'Hidden Gem"

Review submitted: February 7, 2014   Date of arrival: January 19, 2014

My husband and I have been visiting Angel's Rest since 2009. It is an easy drive from home for a few days of R&R. The cottage is a hidden gem surrounded by nature. Each visit is a reminder that peace and reflection are necessary to restore balance in a busy life. If your R&R is seeking adventure, you are near many outdoor activities and Little River Canyon. When day is done, you return to a quiet place in nature. Enjoy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your positive review. Many people leave positive comments in the Guest Book, but few provide a review. What you describe is what we try to provide. Thanks for the affirmation!

L & L

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely Beautiful

Review submitted: November 12, 2013   Date of arrival: October 28, 2013

From the moment we stepped through the door there was a sense of peace and warmth surrounding us. The house was immaculate, the beds were so comfortable, and the surrounding scenery was gorgeous. The perfect escape from a stressful life. Thank you so much!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Wonderful Place

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: October 17, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 39th anniversary at Angel's Rest. The cottage and surroundings are beautiful. We timed our trip to see the colors change, and the sights were gorgeous.

Fort Payne, Mentone, and the Desoto Park are very convenient. Great food in the area, and things to see and do. The colorfest celebration was fantastic.

Larry and Lynda are fantastic hosts.

Don't miss the opportunity to stay at Angel's Rest. You will not be disappointed!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: October 8, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

We just got back from a wonderful 20th anniversary weekend at the Angel’s Rest cottage. The house was immaculate and the grounds were beautiful, having gotten enough rain early in the week to start the waterfall flowing. We enjoyed exploring the property and surrounding area. We grilled out one night and the other night drove into Collinsville to Nessa’s which was excellent. The Duffy’s are wonderful hosts and easy to talk to. We 100% recommend Angel’s Rest to anyone needing a relaxing getaway. We will definitely return, next time with our teenagers.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Blessed Quiet Place - Lives up to its name!

Review submitted: May 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

Myself and 3 girlfriends arrived on Palm Sunday 2012 and enjoyed the quietness of the cottage, the surroundings, and the city of Fort Payne. The peacefulness upon walking into the cottage was amazing. We used the time up to Good Friday as a time of spiritual reflection, relationship building and laughing. You may not think these things go together, but laughter is good for the soul and when my spirit is at peace with God and man, life is wonderful. The massages are incredible and well worth the money. I am looking for a time to return to rest my soul again. Bless You!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful getaway Cottage

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 18, 2012

Before picking this cottage my hubby and i did alot of searching around on different websites
and this one really caught my eyes, not only because of the pictures but because of the excellent reviews.
This place is simply BEAUTIFUL and private! the hilly driveway and many trees into this cottage will have you in love before you even get to the cottage itself.The sound of the stream down the hill is so relaxing. Inside the house
is clean spotless,the furniture especially the beds, VERY comfortable and the sun room look out just amazing.i assure you ,you will not want to leave.A plus for this cottage is it is not a long drive away from the adventures such as exploring the cave and the gorgeous mountain lookouts.
We have no regret in picking this place and Larry and Lynda are very pleasant people.i can go on about how great it is at the cottage but i dont wish to spoil all the fun :D .I will not hesitate to recommend this to anyone.We will definitely return.Josh and Julia

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Pictures don't do this cottage justice

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

I was attracted to this cottage because it was easy driving distance for me but still isolated enough to feel like a Retreat. The website photos looked awesome but being the skeptical type I thought there was no way the cottage would look that nice - I was right, it looks NICER. The bedroom could only be described as "spa-like," with luxurious bedding and even fluffy white robes in the closet if you need them! The close proximity to the water (there is a natural rock overlook just steps away from the house, looking directly down at the waterfall) was an added plus - if you want to have the sound of water lull you to sleep at night it requires only cracking a window a bit! The cottage was absolutely immaculate. Clean as a whistle, fully stocked for anything you might do or need. The outdoor fire pit was a nice bonus and the owners thoughtfully keep dry firewood available - a wonderful way to end a cool evening. I completely enjoyed my stay at Angel's Rest - enough that I made reservations for next time before I even left! This is a 5-star setting I have not hesitated to reccomend to anyone and everyone. I will DEFINITELY be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Comfort, comfort, comfort

Review submitted: November 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 6, 2011

Because of all of the care that went into Angels Rest this vacation will be fondly be remembered as the best we ever had. From the Down Comforter on the king-sized Master Bed, the big comfy furniture in the living room with down throws to keep you cozy, to the beautiful gas fireplace. It is all aimed at helping you relax.

Outside there are two hammocks, a fire pit if you want to sit next to a crackling fire, and even sets of chairs placed in different picturesque spots on the property to unwind. They even supply a little wood for the fire pit. The Duffy’s seem to have thought of it all.

The kitchen is well equipped, including an electric knife, blender, hand mixer, baking pans, and more, there are even a full set of BBQ tools near the grill.

We have stayed at a few other places and have found them cramped and “decorated” so fully you had nowhere to put your own things. Angel’s Rest was extremely tasteful in every way and there was plenty of room for our belongings. We had a large dresser and walk-in closet with plenty of hangers in the Master Bedroom, a coat closet in the hallway, a garage with electric door, a large linen closet, etc.

Being able to wash and dry our clothes was especially nice for us because I always go to a Laundromat before I go home.

The Duffy’s are wonderful and considerate people to have put this much attention to detail into this beautiful cabin in the woods. We can assure you that you will not ever be sorry you chose Angel’s Rest to relax on your vacation.

Thank you Larry and Linda for all of your hard work and consideration that make Angel’s Rest so very special.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Our Anniversary Get Away

Review submitted: October 27, 2011   Date of arrival: October 20, 2011

For our 40th Anniversary we chose this location. We could not have been more pleased. The residence was absolutely spotless and everything that could be thought of had been. This property is off the beaten path but a true gold mine if you are looking for a secluded get away for a few days or more. We intend to return! Jim & Jackie Cramer - Coatesville, Indiana

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Relaxing

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

We chose this cottage for our gettaway because of the great reviews. It's true Angel's Rest is a great place to get away from the everyday stress of life. We enjoyed the hiking trails and the relaxing sounds of the waterfall. Cottage was very clean and comfortable. We'd highly recommend Angel's Rest.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Home away from Home

Review submitted: July 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

I love this Cottage! The name "Angels Rest" truly stands on its own.
I have made Angels Rest Cottage my home away from home.
I travel to North East Alabama a few times a year.
And have had to rearrange my road trips because
they were booked.
For me, there has been no other place that provides the comfort
and Personal Spa Services like the Angels Rest Cottage.
The Angels Rest has provided a place for me to enjoy the
sunrise and sunset of each day, by accommodating an immaculately
clean, extremely comfortable, safe and private vacation.

Thank you for your generosity and hospitality Lynda and Larry,
you are truly Godsent.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

So Relaxing

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Thank you Lynda & Larry for allowing our family to enjoy our vacation with the utmost relaxation possible. Your cottage is truly lovely and comfortable with all the necessaties and feelings of home. Larry, thank you so much for coming to the rescue when car problems arose and you were there to help out in getting our car to your mechanic...without you, our vacation would not have continued on as planned. The massages by Kyle were amazing and wonderful, we all enjoyed them. Thanks for all the recommendations to the outstanding restaurants..Wildflower Cafe in Mentone, Nessa's in Collinsville. It was a great vacation and would suggest to anyone to stay at your place, I give it 5 stars. Richard, Ione and David Harlan

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful retreat!

Review submitted: June 25, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

This rental exceeded our expectations. The cottage was immaculate! When we arrived all the lights were on and soft music was playing which set the stage for a wonderful, relaxing time away from our stressful and busy life. We loved the location in the woods and enjoyed every minute--we just didn't get to stay long enough. We recommend this property to those who desire a peaceful & restful place and have recommended it to several people. We hope to return soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to relax

Review submitted: April 25, 2011   Date of arrival: April 21, 2011

Silence is golden. Now I know what that really means. Angel's Rest is the ultimate hide-away. Quiet. Relaxing. Comfortable. It's everything the description says it is and then some. My husband and I greatly enjoyed the 3 days we were there, enjoying the sound of the waterfall from the deck and just veg'ing out. We didn't take advantage of the hiking trails this time, but we plan to return and hopefully we'll be able to stay longer. We only left the cottage once and that was to attend Trade Day, a huge flea market event, in nearby Collinsville. We'd highly recommend this as an excellent place to stay for anyone looking for peace and quiet. Be careful, though, or you'll be too spoiled to ever want to stay anywhere else.

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Peaceful Weekend

Review submitted: April 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

We want thank Lynda and Larry for sharing their cottage with us. From the time we stepped out of the car we were mesmerized. This place is truly what they describe, peaceful, quiet, beautiful and a lot of fun. We were able to hike to the waterfall and most of the rest of the property. We also enjoyed laying in the hammock and listening to the wonderful sound of the waterfall. The pictures of this cottage do not do it justice you really have to experience it for yourself We have the most wonderful memories from this trip and we are coming back soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A WONDERFUL Place to visit

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: February 10, 2011

My husband and I recently visited Angels Rest Cottage. We enjoyed our stay so very much that we are planning to return. Angels Rest provided everything we were in need of and absolutely none of what we were escaping from! The quiet, the peacefulness, the calming sounds of the waterfalls were all so soothing.The cottage and it's surroundings were/are beautiful. Relaxing in the hammock, hiking, and exploring were great, but sitting on the bench, watching and listening to the waterfalls was breathtaking and was my favorite. My God is such an awesome God and has created such beautiful places on earth for us to enjoy and Angels Rest is certainly one of them.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 21, 2009   Date of arrival: May 21, 2009

The cottage was so beautiful and serene. The cottage itself was equipped with anything you could possibly need. We had the "dinner in a basket" which was very good, it was nice not to have to go out for a meal. We also took advantage of the massages after dinner in the sunroom, what a treat. What made the weekend even more memorable was that I proposed to my boyfriend there and he accepted. Thanks to Lynda and Larry it was a magical weekend and we will definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: April 20, 2009   Date of arrival: April 20, 2009

My wife Lillian and I stayed at Angel's Rest in mid-April, a perfect time to visit Lookout Mountain. Larry and Lynda Duffy, proprietors of Angel's Rest, take a great deal of pride in their property, and made an earnest, genuine effort to have us feeling comfortable and at peace in our vacation cottage. Lillian especially appreciated the well-coordinated decorative schemes in the bedroom and kitchen, as well as the works of art throughout the cottage, on the porch and in the yard. The cost to stay at Angel's Rest is a little higher than at other cabin rentals on Lookout Mountain, but so much more is delivered - as seen in the photos of the property. We hope to visit again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: April 14, 2009   Date of arrival: April 14, 2009

One of the most beautiful, luxurious cottages I have ever stayed in. The setting was beyond words, it melted the stress of my world away. I left with my energy rejuvinated and my spirit renewed. Can't wait to come back. Thanks for all the exquisite details, and pampering. Karen

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: April 6, 2009   Date of arrival: April 6, 2009

Angel's Rest is an outstanding rental. The owners have tastefully decorated the cottage. Everything is new and very clean. The owners are also great hosts - they provide maps of the area, restaurant menus and recommendations and a list of things to do during your stay. I would highly recommend the cottage to anyone who wants to get away and relax for a few days.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 26, 2009   Date of arrival: January 26, 2009

To all who have stayed at Angel's Rest and have sent us friends and family we want to say Thank you for sharing your love for this space with others. Blessings to you all, lynda

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review