reviews for: listing #108381 - San Diego, California House rental

Convention Center-Gaslamp-Downtown-SD Zoo- 3 bedroom HOUSE
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  East of Gaslamp Quar
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $300 /nt

sort by:

Perfect Pacific

Review submitted: August 18, 2014   Date of arrival: August 14, 2014

I have not been renting places for vacations a lot so it doesn't take much to impress me, a clean bed, enough room for me a my friends and a fridge is about all I need but coming to Bo and Athena's rental in San Diego, wow, I'm speechless how blown away I was. Not only was this house in a central location from downtown harbor, to Coronado beach, to Gas and Lamp District but it was next to local transportation even though we had a rental car. Did I mention there was a garage for the rental car? Wha!!!
Getting food from a local Mexican deli to a fully stocked grocery store was easy as opening the gate and walking across the street. There was no reason for me to ever be afraid of my surroundings either. The day me and my friends decided to go the beach, the house supplied all the amenities we would ever need without us evening asking so we didn't need to pick up anything, from sunscreen to a wave board, a football to toss around or a beach towel to lay on the sand. My friends could not stop raving about how awesome the place was from the house decor to the outdoor ambiance.

I would recommend this rental to any of my friends to even coming back to this place if available in the near future. Thanks again Bo & Athena, Athena was an excellent host, kind and beautiful.

dp

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Hello David,
Thank you for your excellent review and for taking the time to write such a detailed one. It was such a pleasure meeting you and I am so glad we were able to chat for awhile during your stay. I am so happy to hear what a great time you had in San Diego and at Casa de Corazon. Thank you for mentioning our beach accessories, we are having perfect beach weather and make sure our Units have what Bo and I would want during a vacation. I can't thank you and your Guests enough for treating our home as if it were your own, it meant a lot!
We are looking forward to your next stay, you are always welcome at Casa de Corazon.

Bo and I give David a big 5 stars, we highly recommend them to all Owners, you will be as lucky as we were to have such a GREAT group.

Thank you again David, until next time.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful place, wonderful hosts

Review submitted: May 26, 2014   Date of arrival: May 16, 2014

We stayed here for nearly a week to attend a conference and we found it clean, comfortable, well-situated and extremely nice. Would love to come here again. And we totally loved our hosts, wonderful people!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Hello Barbro,
Bo and I really enjoyed meeting you and your wonderful group. Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. I want to thank you for staying with us, and being so kind, respectful, and conscience Guests. Also, thank you so much for the Lemon tea, I really enjoyed it, and now I am on the look out to get some !! You are always welcome, we would love to see you again the next time you are in San Diego... Thank you again !!
Bo and I give Barbaro and Guests a big 5 stars from Casa de Corazon, we highly recommend them to all Owners....

Until next time,
Athena & Bo

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Cozy, Well-Stocked, Easy Access to Trolley

Review submitted: April 6, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

We rented the three bedroom for nearly a week, first attending a conference at the convention center, then hanging out for a few days of sightseeing. Each room was comfy and well-appointed including its own cable TV, allowing each of us to retreat when we wanted some downtime and entertainment. The spacious living room has plenty of area to stretch out and the kitchen had more than enough room for everyone.

We used the grill, which was fantastic according to my husband, and the kitchen was stocked with every spice we needed as well as all the little things that could nickel and dime you like foil, dishwasher soap, oil and vinegar, etc. A nice unexpected touch were the tall glasses frosting up in the freezer, perfect for the Coronitos we bought across the street at the mercado.

Take the trolley to the Gaslamp District from the blue line stop down the street and make a quick transfer at the next stop to the red line for just one more stop. You will find yourself right at the entrance to the Gaslamp District and in restaurant and entertainment heaven and on the other side, across from the San Diego Convention Center.

We enjoyed the large grocery store across the street and made daily runs to this mercado, sampling the good Mexican fare from the restaurant inside the store and taking some of it home, and shopping for this and that as the mood suited us. Good variety at the meat counter, good selection of fresh fruits and veggies, and everything else you need are all at this stop. Enjoy a stop at the ice cream shop in the same plaza after dinner.

Off-street parking for one car in the garage made it easy to get things in and out of the house. Check out the art studio across from the garage and the coffee shop on the corner. Athena was a great help to us when one of us had our iPhone stolen at the convention center and she was quickly available whenever we texted her. We got the feeling it was very important to her that we were all getting our needs met yet never made us feel as if we were imposing. We appreciated her graciousness and you will, too.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Hello Yvonne,

Thank you so much for your GREAT review, and so detailed; we really appreciate you took the time to let others know about our Home and location. It was a pleasure to meet all of you, and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, and had some time to sight-see as well. I am glad I could help with with the iPhone, and anything you needed. I do like to make sure our Guests are taken care of, thank you for mentioning that.. You were a great Group, and Bo and I thank you for treating our home as if it were your own. Thank you for being so conscience, it really does mean a lot when Guests such as yourself, take such care, and respect our Home and property. A Big thank you..

We would love to have you back anytime, you are always welcome.

Casa de Corazon gives Yvonne and her Group
a HUGE 5 stars ***** !!!
We highly recommend them to all Owners.. Great people !!

Thanks again,
Athena & Bo

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Pride in ownership

Review submitted: April 5, 2014   Date of arrival: March 23, 2014

We chose this rental based upon the other positive reviews and I can confirm that they were correct. Athena was very responsive by email prior to our trip and provided some great advice regarding places to visit in San Diego. She met us at the check in time and provided the most detailed orientation of a home I have ever received. It seems that they have thought of everything you would need including the spices for cooking. The house is older but it has been tastefully updated and very clean. There is tv in every room except the bathroom. Don't let the single bathroom cause you to skip this listing, we make it work with 2 teenager daughters, my mom and wife. We had a minor issue during our stay when some workers up the block accidentally cut into the water main. Athena responded right away, found out what was happening, updated us and phoned to confirm the water was back on when the city said it would be. While these sort of things are unlikely to happen, if something does go wrong, these are the type of owners you want to be dealing with. The location is great because it is so central. You have a grocery store across the street so you don't have to buy too much at the beginning of your stay because the shopping is right there. There is one issue that some may find a problem. You are staying in a downtown location so it is a bit noisy in the two street side bedrooms. On the other hand it also means that you are somewhere with a pretty good vibe that you won't get in a sub division. If we need a place this size again in San Diego we will definitely try to stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Anthony and Family,
Thank you for your amazing review, it was such a pleasure to meet you and your wonderful Family. I appreciate that you took the time to write such a great, detailed review, I am happy I was able to help with some sightseeing suggestions, I am glad they worked out. I appreciate you letting others know how central our location is; and very happy you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate how you took such care of our home and property, you treated it as if it were your own.

***This is actually the first time or review anyone has mentioned any noise. As you had mentioned the City was doing some work on our street as well as other streets, it then made our street a short cut to the Gaslamp / Downtown area. We are lucky we do not have any bar's or clubs next to us. Our street has 1 lane in each direction.
Being near the City, in an Urban environment verses being in the suburbs, has it’s pluses and minuses. We have been told from our Guests staying with us, whose friends decided to stay in the Heart of Gaslamp/downtown that the noise of downtown was incredibly loud, and did not die down until closing of bars at 2:00am.
We feel lucky to have ample free parking, and we are not in the "Bar District" yet so close to all the activity !!

We do have all the sounds that an urban environment has.

*Reading your review, we can tell you agree, the pluses of being so centrally located and close to Gaslamp/downtown, and all it has to offer; truly outweighs the negatives of being right in the Heart of Gaslamp/downtown!!
We hope to see you again, you are always welcome.

Casa de Corazon gives Anthony and his Family a big 5 stars *****
We highly recommend them to all Owners, they are great people.
Until next time,
Athena & Bo

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

I rented this condo with 4 colleagues and it was perfect. The condo is big enough that we each had enough intimacy. Big enough also that we were able to have friends over for a barbecue! The mattresses are super confortable, the condo is really clean and modern. The owners were always available to answer our questions, and stayed up late to greet us upon arrival! I would highly recommend this condo!

Owners response: Marie-Christine,

Bo and I would like to thank you and your Group for staying with us. We hope your convention was a success.
We also thank you for respecting our House rules and asking permission in advance to invite a few Conventioneers over for a BBQ; and hope you had a great time..

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in San Diego..
Athena & Bo

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

a dream

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

We couldn't have imagined a better place to stay. In town for a bachelorette weekend, 8 women stayed in this house. We used the kitchen to make/store some food, used some of the toys/towels at the beach and lounged around in the living room and kitchen. We were so comfortable we may as well have been in a friend's home. The place was very clean and the furniture was so comfortable, we'll definitely stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Excellent choice!

Review submitted: December 30, 2013   Date of arrival: December 24, 2013

Athena and Bo were very helpful and detailed when we met with them to check in. Roomy, comfortable, pleasing decor and very clean! Place is stocked with everything you need. Market across the street is like a regular grocery store. Coffee shop next door is as good as everyone raves! We felt very safe and secure during our stay. Easy on/off highway for any tourist destination. Our 3 night stay was too short...we chose to spend Christmas day at the zoo (awesome!) and the next day we drove out to Point Loma (tidepools and light house!) and then drove to the other side of the bay and walked Coronado beach. We highly recommend this place for any stop in San Diego!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Hello Rich and Family,
Thank you for your GREAT review !! We really enjoyed meeting all of you.
So glad you got to fit in SO much sightseeing on a 3 day stay... You are always welcome; thank you for treating our home as if it were your own, we really appreciate it !!

Bo and I give Rich and his Family a huge 5 stars ***** from Casa de Corazon, we highly recommend them to all owners out there; we hope to see them again in the future !!
Until next time,
Athena & Bo

Helpful votes: 20 / 21

 

Casa De Corazon

Review submitted: December 12, 2013   Date of arrival: December 6, 2013

We had some friends fly in from Philly to see our beautiful city and go to a game. At first we were going to get a hotel room then I found this amazing property. There were five of us and I wanted them to have a great four days and not be stuffed into a small room. Bo met us at the property and gave us a tour and we KNEW we picked the right place....three beautiful bedrooms with fabulous linens and tv's, fans, closets.....wow!!! and the Kitchen is just perfect. All appliances are first rate, every kitchen tool and a cupboard full of spices, the freezer had iced beer mugs and glasses, the 'coffee cabinet' had everything we needed and we loved sitting at the large table and talking. The bathroom is really big and the towels are great. There are books, games etc supplies if you forget them, even a washer and dryer. In the am, we walked to the city and had an amazing workout. The Coronado Bridge is 2 mins away. There is a great grocery store across the street which we visited quite often as we decided to BBQ, the meat department cut us some steaks we will never forget. We ran out of gas for the amazing outdoor heater and BO was there in a minute with two extra tanks. We will rent this again but just hope we can get in now as it will be very popular!! THANKS ATHENA AND BO!!! What memories we have.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Kim, Mark, and Friends,
Bo and I want to thank you for your great review, and taking the time to write such a detailed one. We sure enjoyed having you, and are really happy you had such a great time ... I would like to thank you for being such respectful Guests, and treating our home, and property with such care...
We are looking forward to your next stay !!!
***** Casa de Corazon, Bo and I; give Kim, Mark, a big 5 stars, we highly recommend them to all owners, they are very conscience Guests, and will really take care of your Home and property.
Until next time,
Athena & Bo

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 

great vacation

Review submitted: December 11, 2013   Date of arrival: November 28, 2013

Great costumer servce. Very clean and ample the house is equip with more than we needed great experience...

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Hello Veronica and Family,

Thank you so much for being our Guests at Casa de Corazon. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay; and were able to do so much sightseeing while you were here !!! Thank you for respecting our Home, and treating it as if it were your own. You are welcome back anytime.
***** Bo and I give Veronica, and her 7 Guests, a big 5 stars, we recommend them to all owners, with 8 in our Home, when they checked out, you would have never known 8 had stayed, and for that we thank them very much !!

Thank you again,
Athena & Bo

Helpful votes: 18 / 19

 

Great vacation rental!

Review submitted: December 2, 2013   Date of arrival: November 25, 2013

Casa de Corazon was a great home away from home during our quick 3 day vacation to San Diego. Minutes away from Gaslamp Quarter, Seaside Village, and the USS Midway, we were able to walk around which made our visit even better. We also had a vehicle so were able to visit Point Loma and La Jolla. A wonderful Mexican Market is located across the street with a great selection of fresh produce and meats. We could not have asked for a better place to stay and Athena and Bo thought of every detail to make our stay easy, relaxing and enjoyable. We definitely hope to visit San Diego again and would be very happy to stay at Casa de Corazon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Hello Caitlyn,
Thank you so much for your GREAT review, and letting others know how close we are to San Diego's "must see's". Bo and I enjoyed meeting all of you; you are such wonderful people. I want to personally thank you for treating our home as if it were your own, it means more than you know. We do hope you will come stay with us again, you are always welcome !!!
*** Casa de Corazon (A), gives Caitlyn and her Guests a BIG 5 stars , we highly recommend them to all owners out there...

Until next time,
Athena & Bo

Helpful votes: 21 / 22

 

San Diego Convention Stay

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 18, 2013

Very nice home. Only 5 -10 minute from Convention Center via Trolley

Owners response: Hi Vince,
Bo and I enjoyed meeting you, it was our pleasure. We are glad you enjoyed your time, and hope the Convention was a success.
Thank you for being such great Guests !! We would love to have you back anytime !!
Bo and I recommend Vince to all owners, 5 stars from Casa de Corazon.
Until next time,
Athena & Bo

Helpful votes: 26 / 27

 

Great Stay with Great owners!

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

My family of 4 stayed here for a long weekend from Texas. The experience was excellent! The house is very spacious, lot’s of common areas, huge kitchen with every utensil you would need, flat screen TV in every room including the kitchen. Ryan’s coffee shop next door has amazing coffee and food. It was great having a garage to park the car in and not have to search for parking. Athena and Bo are super great people enthusiastic to help with anything anyone needs. I highly recommend this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Hello Don,
Thank you so much for the great review, Bo and I appreciate you taking your time to write one !!! We really enjoyed meeting you and your loving Family, it was great seeing how close you all are. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay, you were all such conscience, respectful Guests; and remind Bo and I why we opened Casa de Corazon..
We would love to have you back again, you are always welcome.
*****Casa de Corazon highly recommends Don and his Family to all owners out there.. 5 stars from us, couldn't be better Guests !!
Thank you again, we enjoyed being your Host's... Hope to see you again in the future,
Athena & Bo

Helpful votes: 24 / 24

 

Casa de Corazon: What a Great Place!

Review submitted: July 26, 2013   Date of arrival: July 16, 2013

I cannot say enough about this fantastic rental property or the homeowners, who made our group's stay so terrific. The NiceGirlsTV staff was at the rental property for a week, attending Comic Con 2013 and this rental was our haven everyday after the insanity of the convention. The place was beyond any of our expectations and I, personally, cannot recommend this place enough. Super, super great place. The kitchen is AMAZING, the living room is so spacious and the bedrooms are nothing short of perfect. And, having the luxury of a washer and dryer was really great too. Can't wait to return next year and so look forward to this being our "home away from home".

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Lee Ann,
We started the Comic-Com process in January, when we finally met after all our communication, I truly felt as if I already knew you !!! You and your "Press" Group (The NiceGirlsTV), were an amazing group of Women, it was really great getting to know all of you... I knew by your emails that you were very detail oriented, so it should not have surprised me that you had all your schedules up within 5 minutes of being there !! ;) I am glad we did get to BBQ with you all, as it did give us a chance to get to know all of you a little more. I know how hard all of you had to work, and I am glad you were able to get some down time.
I do think that all owners out there should know how respectfully you treated our home and property. When I came to say goodbye the morning of your check-out, our Home looked just the way it did when you checked in. Bo and I can not express enough how much that meant to us, I can see your schedule now.. pack, "clean the house". On the serious side, Lee Ann, thank you so much, we really enjoyed meeting all of you, thank you for being our Guests, I did notice that others from "The NiceGirlsTV" left us reviews as well, although they are under your name, so I am not sure who I am responding to, however please thank them all.. Bo and I really appreciate you all taking your time to send a review.. We really hope to see you all again next year, you are always welcome here anytime.

Thank you all very much, The NiceGirlsTV receives 5 stars *****
from Casa de Corazon.

Until next time,
Athena & Bo

Helpful votes: 22 / 22

 

Great place!

Review submitted: July 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2013

My family of 5 stayed here while I attended a conference. Great experience! The house was amazingly spacious. Lots of common room, huge kitchen, very nice flat screen TVs. We watched several Netflix movies in the living room. And mercado grocery store accross the street became our favorite place to get food for a family of 5. Authentic Mexican deli. We brought some of the salsa home- cant get it like that in Colorado. And the coffee shop next door was also super - the Coronado coffee is bold and very smooth. Loved the patio, loved having a garage to park in. The trolly stop was super convenient. I rode to the transfer station, then walked over the pedestrian bridge to the center. Made it in 20 minutes and no fooling with parking. Yeah, there's a bad neighborhood just two blocks east, but this always felt clean and safe. I highly recommend it. Oh, and Athena and Bo are eager to help if you need anything. I'll stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Hello Scott (Thomas),
Bo and I really enjoyed meeting you and your wonderful Family, we were so happy to be your Host while in San Diego.
Since we are very close to the Gaslamp/Downtown, as in the City, and the closer you get to the Gaslamp area/ Downtown, it is quite different then where we are, as Father Joe's soup Kitchen is there... We are lucky that is does not affect where our Home is located, as you stated, "this always felt clean and safe" as we are lucky to be where they just opened the new Mercado across the street; and we were part of this areas Huge revitalization, most of it being on our Street.. Thank you for your kind review, and we are very happy you were able to watch some Netflix movies, and thank you for mentioning how large our Kitchen is ! Thank you so much for treating our Home as if it were your own, and I am glad your Convention went well.
Bo and I recommend Scott (Thomas), and his Family to all owners out there, they were very respectful Guests....We are looking forward to your next San Diego stay, you and your Family are welcome back anytime...
Thank you again,
Athena & Bo

Helpful votes: 21 / 21

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

Some friends and I came out to San Diego for my cousin's bachelorette party. We had such a great and memorable time. This vacation home was home away from home. This place is very spacious, cozy, and fit all 8 of us comfortably. There is a supermarket right across the street, which made it very convenient. Athena was such a sweetheart! She made sure that we had everything we needed and told us to call her at any time if needed. Overall, I really enjoyed my stay and the next time I come out, I would definitely come back to stay here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: LeeAnn,
Thank you so much for your kind review, Bo and I really enjoyed meeting all of you, what a great group !!! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, and I would like to thank you all for taking such great care of our home, you really did treat it as if it were your own... We would love to have you back any time... Please send our congratulations to your Cousin again !!!
Bo and I recommend LeeAnne and her group to all owners out there!
Until next time,
Athena & Bo

Helpful votes: 24 / 24

 

Love love love!!

Review submitted: June 13, 2013   Date of arrival: May 20, 2013

First I want to start of by saying the pictures do not do the place any justice it is so much more beautiful then the pictures posted we were so surprised when we came into the house. It felt like home the decorations everything was so nice. This was our first time in San Diego we were 3 girls from Norway and we found everything we needed very quickly, Northgate market was across the street, gaslamp quarter was 5 min cab ride which only coasts 7-8$. We had a wonderful time and were so sad to leave. Athena and Bo were wonderful hosts and was very helpful. I already wanna go back to San Diego:(
Thanks Bo and Athena ur house is beautiful we loved it..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hello Foos,

Thank you so much for your nice review, and writing in our House Guest book...
Bo and I were honored you chose to let us be your Host for your 21 night U.S. Holiday. You were all wonderful, and it really gave us a chance to get to know you all. It was truly a pleasure to have you as our Guests, you will forever be my "Norway Girls". Bo and I are looking forward to your next stay, make it soon !!
Thank you for respecting our home as if it were your own, we really appreciate it.
Until next time,
Athena & Bo

Helpful votes: 21 / 21

 

EXCELLENT! GREAT PLACE FOR GROUPS

Review submitted: May 10, 2013   Date of arrival: April 24, 2013

We were here for a convention- very convenient location for convention center....We absolutely loved this place! It is exactly what is written in the description. Athena and Bo are wonderful and answer ALL of your questions. There was a group of 16 of us and 10 stayed at this property (the other 6 at another)... We were able to all hang out at this property and bbq, sit outside with the outside heater, watch tv (on their HUGE couch).... It is a GREAT property- close to the Gaslamp, trolley, and convention center. I Would ABSOLUTELY recommend this property (I already have :))!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Rebekah,
Thank you for your great review and for writing in our Home Guest book.
It was truly a pleasure having you, and your Group stay in our home, and the Bungalow. By the time you arrived I had felt as if I was meeting a long lost friend; as we had been communicating since January working out all the details. I am so happy all of your groups were able to "hang out" at our place. I want to thank you and each member of your Group for leaving our home so clean, it was very respectful, and appreciated. You even did some of the bedding laundry, WOW.. That was a first for us!
I highly recommend Rebekah, and her entire group, to any owner out there!!
We would love to have you stay again, anytime!!! Please thank Tayler, and the rest of your Group for being such great Guests, we enjoyed meeting all of you.
Until next time,
Athena and Bo

Helpful votes: 25 / 25

 

Great stay, Great owners, Great location !!

Review submitted: April 25, 2013   Date of arrival: April 10, 2013

A group of us (8) were in San Diego to attend a conference at the Convention Center. We were a little last minute and contacted Athena, she explained the neighborhood and how close the home was to the Convention Center. We did try to google the area, and I am glad she did explain that , she was right, google is very out of date. The area was reborn, Athena met us when we checked in, and gave us a tour, and the home looked even better in person. We walked every day to the Convention Center, and even to the Gaslamp. The grocery store across the street was great, just like they said it would be we ate there the first night, great food.
In the ad it said they had a “large kitchen” half of our group were into cooking, well, a lot of people say large, but this kitchen was large, had 2 dining tables, and a flat screen tv a bunch of spices to BBQ, or cook with, coffee from the next door coffee house, and way more then we could ask for, or needed. It is obvious they care about the home and their guests. They even gave us phone numbers to Taxi drivers that can handle a large group, the driver knew right where we were when we said we were staying at casa de corazon which is what Bo told us to tell them.
The house is beautifully decorated, comfortable beds, and has some great statement pieces, they had this box that was called “I forgot my……” box, I didn’t really forget anything, but could not help looking inside. What a great Idea, I did use one of the shoe shine packs. I think they had every game ever made, which came in handy. If we come to San Diego again, I know just where to stay.
Thank you Bo & Athena for your personal attention it was refreshing

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Tom, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, and such a nice one too. Bo and I enjoyed meeting you, and your group, and thank you for the great note you left. I am glad you enjoyed the Kitchen, and found everything you needed.
We are so happy you had a great time in San Diego, and had some time for sightseeing as well.
You, and any of your group are welcome back any time.
Thank you for treating our Home as if it were your own, it is greatly appreciated.
Until next time..... Athena & Bo

Helpful votes: 24 / 24

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Family Vacation was a big hit !

Review submitted: March 22, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

*** From our house Guest Book......(word for word)
Dan & Linda----Our Son found your lovely vacation home for our mini family reunion... and it was perfect! The accommodations are clean, comfortable, and generous, including the delightful dessert.
The weather was so lovely that we were able to eat breakfast on the patio... in January ! We hope to visit again!
_________________________________________________________
Doug & Gina--- My big Brother found this place on the internet, and we had one of our best family vacations EVER! The rooms were great, the grocery store across the street was awesome, & we walked down to the Gaslamp Quarter in 15 minutes. Our big Family of 7 will surly come back again! Until then...
____________________________________________________________
Lee & Morgan---We were so lucky we found you, Athena & Bo!
Our Family Vacation was a big hit, this is such a wonderful, comfortable place to stay, and we loved the neighborhood, and took advantage of the close proximity to Downtown, Gaslamp, and the Beach, (we even tried Surfing!). Again, this was a great find.- We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
From Bo & Athena----
Lee & Family, we were so grateful to have you as our Guests. It was amazing to meet all of you. We are so happy your Family vacation was all that you expected... Thank you for being such respectful Guests... We highly recommend you to anyone who is lucky enough to have you.
We would love to see all of you again, for the next Family reunion??
Thank you again, until next time...
Athena & Bo

Helpful votes: 28 / 28

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks so much

Review submitted: March 20, 2013   Date of arrival: February 13, 2013

Athena & Bo,

Thanks so much for providing an excellent base for our San Diego adventure. We will certainly keep you in mind next time we head over there without our RV rig.

Best wishes!

Art & Martie
____________________________________________________________
Bo and I wanted to thank you for being our Guest, and we hope you all had a great time. I am hoping you received the Birding book in time to be able to use it..

I would like to thank you for being so respectful to our home, and leaving it so clean !!....

Bo and I hope you will stay with us again, if you have any future San Diego trip....

Thank you again, it was a pleasure meeting all of you.
Athena,

Helpful votes: 24 / 24

 

Great for conference

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

Four of us were in town for a conference and this house was perfect for what we needed. A refreshing walking distance to the convention centre. Or a less than $10 cab to the Gaslamp Quarter. The house has everything you need and is extremely comfortable. Also that we were able to park our rental car inside was comforting. Great place, great hosts, great time!!!

Owners response: Eric,
Thank you so much for staying with us.. Bo and I enjoyed meeting, and speaking with all of you.. I enjoyed having you as our Guest, and our conversations. We appreciate how respectfully you treated our Home...
Hope to have you as our Guest again...
Athena

To all owners out there, I highly recommend Eric as a Guest. !!

Athena & Bo

Helpful votes: 26 / 26

 

Very Comfortable and Accomodating

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 27, 2013

We stayed here for a tradeshow and it was perfect. It was a 5 minute drive to the convention center; the house was very comfortable; there is a nice grocery store across the street; and Athena was very nice. I would definitely suggest it.

Owners response: Thank you William,
Bo and I are very happy we could accommodate you, and your Guest's for your stay, we enjoyed having you. We would love to Host you again, anytime... Thank you for being so respectful of our Home, we always appreciate Guests when they leave our Home so clean !! We hope you will think of us for your next San Diego stay.
Thanks again, and I hope your Convention was a huge success.

Helpful votes: 25 / 25

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Its all here. Ill be back !!!

Review submitted: January 28, 2013   Date of arrival: January 21, 2013

From the get go Bo and Athena were responsive even before arrival. Making sure I had all the info I needed and checking in with me before arrival and even day of to let me know I could check in early!..Upon arrival they were waiting to take us through to make sure we knew all the ins and outs. As far as the space it has the feel of a brand new house! Beautiful patio with BarBQ. Very clean and beds COMFORTABLE! Free WiFi, TVs it was all there, even a garage and ample street parking. ONLY 2 blocks from trolley BUT also only $6 max cab ride from downtown... Grocery store (new) across the street with awesome deli..... Its all here. Ill be back
January 2013
____________________________________________________________
Response from Bo & Athena Rae:

Jerry, Thank you so much, we were so grateful to have you, and your group staying with us for your Convention. Bo & I are so happy you all enjoyed your stay. Thank you for leaving the house so clean, and writing in our Guest Book, it was greatly appreciated. You are welcome back anytime !!!! Until next time. Athena Rae

Helpful votes: 25 / 25

 

Last Minute Booking!! Excellent Accomodations!

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

We were searching for an accomodation at the last minute for a business/vacation trip to San diego. My Wife, her sister, and two business partners w/children needed a nice place to stay in the heart of San Diego. We came across this property on our search. When we contacted the owners, we found that the weekend we were looking for was available. My wife and I had been to San Diego in the past and had a good idea where the house was located. If you want to have easy access to all that San Diego has to offer, this is a great starting point. The house is located a very short distance from the Bay, Downtown, Beaches, and the always awesome gas Lamp District. Needless to say, we made the booking. When we arrived in San Diego , we picked up our automobile, received directions from the rental agent and drove a very moderate distance to the house. Bo, and Athena met us at the property and gave us a tour of the house and lots of tips and suggestions for some of the things that we could do while we were there. The first thing we needed, was to put our partners kids down for a nap!!! The house itself was beautiful!! It is located near the city center, and within walking distance, or a very short car ride to everything we needed!! With 5 adults and 2 kids, we needed some comfort and space. There was a bedroom for all of us. for the kids, which are younger, there were
plenty of items available at the house to keep them occupied. There was ever a Pack and Play for the kids and a stroller!! The house had absolutely everything that we needed for out stay!! The house is beautifully decorated and SPOTLESS! (something you don't always find on the road!) Everything, The Bedrooms, Living Room, Bathroom, Kitchen, Etc..... had all that we needed and, was very tastefully decorated! The house is gated and fenced from the street and has a wonderful courtyard with barbecue, sitting areas, and a pleasant view. There is a huge brand new Mercardo just across the street!! We ate there and did some minor grocery shopping in the market. The owners, Bo and Athena were more than accomodating!! The price, a bargain!! I will stay here again!! You will not find a better, more centrally located, HOUSE for this price anywhere!! 5 stars from us! Thanks again to the owners and the obvious pride of ownership and care that they take to make this property one of the best stays we have had in a long time!! We will be back! Thank You Athena and Bo

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your Review, we were very happy we were able to accommodate you and your Guests, for your Vacation / Business trip, as we do know that Hotels, fill up quickly (and Costly), when a Convention is in town. Bo and I were glad you were able to keep the young ones entertained, we also appreciated the invitation to your BBQ, it was very nice of you, and a GREAT dinner... Thank you.
We enjoyed meeting all of you, and were glad we could help with some sightseeing tips. We look forward to your next stay at Casa de Corazon... Thanks for being such conscience Renters... We were lucky to have you... Athena & Bo

Helpful votes: 34 / 34

 

FIRST GUESTS!!!

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

My family and I flew to SD to visit my son home on leave from serving abroad. As a former SD resident during my time in the USMC, I wasn't sure what to expect when trying to gauge the units location as it was in an older area. Athena (owner) assured me that all was good and the area is part a a renaissance near the downtown area. It did NOT disappoint at all. Everyone raved at how nice the house was and the location made it even better. Only 2-3 minutes to downtown Gas Lamp, the same across the bridge to my favorite, Coronado Island and so easily accessible to freeway, Zoo, Balboa Park, etc! If you were to look at Google maps it does NOT show an updated picture after all that has changed around there. Brand new market across the street was great with a real cool Mercado park too. Brand new town homes were popping up all around and the area was certainly becoming re-born. Great Ryan's Coffee right next door and the house has a one car garage for easy parking. Plenty of parking on street if more than one car in your party too. All in all, a great time and great experience. You can't beat the value for this place and the owners are "AAA" top-notch folks, really willing to do that little bit extra to make you stay more enjoyable. We can't wait to go back!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We were very grateful to have your wonderful Family as our very 1st Guest… It was truly a pleasure to meet all of you, and I enjoyed our conversations leading up to, during, and after your stay. Bo and I would like to thank you for making it so easy!! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again next year… Thank you again, Athena & Bo

Helpful votes: 29 / 29

 

FIRST GUESTS!!!

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

My family and I flew to SD to visit my son home on leave from serving abroad. As a former SD resident during my time in the USMC, I wasn't sure what to expect when trying to gauge the units location as it was in an older area. Athena (owner) assured me that all was good and the area is part a a renaissance near the downtown area. It did NOT disappoint at all. Everyone raved at how nice the house was and the location made it even better. Only 2-3 minutes to downtown Gas Lamp, the same across the bridge to my favorite, Coronado Island and so easily accessible to freeway, Zoo, Balboa Park, etc! If you were to look at Google maps it does NOT show an updated picture after all that has changed around there. Brand new market across the street was great with a real cool Mercado park too. Brand new town homes were popping up all around and the area was certainly becoming re-born. Great Ryan's Coffee right next door and the house has a one car garage for easy parking. Plenty of parking on street if more than one car in your party too. All in all, a great time and great experience. You can't beat the value for this place and the owners are "AAA" top-notch folks, really willing to do that little bit extra to make you stay more enjoyable. We can't wait to go back!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We were very grateful to have your wonderful Family as our very 1st Guest…
It was truly a pleasure to meet all of you, and I enjoyed our conversations leading up to, during, and after your stay. Bo and I would like to thank you for making it so easy!! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again next year… Thank you again, Athena & Bo

Helpful votes: 29 / 29

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review