reviews for: listing #1084 - New Smyrna Beach, Florida House rental

Beachside New Smyrna Beach House-Just Steps to the Beach
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $350 /nt
    $895 - $1,395 /wk
    $2,800 - $3,595 /mth

sort by:

A Great Place to Unwind!

Review submitted: November 17, 2013   Date of arrival: November 7, 2013

I was looking for a place where my sisters and I could spend a week together, relax and reconnect. This is the place! The description is accurate but words cannot describe the feel of the place. It feels like you are in a quiet, quaint beach area even though there is a major street behind the place. The house faces a one lane dirt road! It is very close to the beach and there are many restaurants nearby. We ate in part of the time and Publix is close by for shopping.
The place is clean and the room arrangement is great. The owners are installing upgrades each year which is making it even more appealing. I had several text conversations with the owners and they are great!
I would definitely recommend this house and plan to rent it again.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

I rented this home for a long weekend with my adult children, their significant others, a 13 year old, and a family friend. And we had a blast! If you want sterile, cookie cutter, charm free atmosphere-go to a hotel. If you want the real Florida beach experience, rent this! It felt like going to a friend's beach house. Easy access to the beach-love those sunrises! 2 fully equipped kitchens (we did what others did, used one refrigerator for liquid) with anything you could possibly need to cook. Close proximity to restaurants and shopping. Décor is kitschy beach themed-just what you want for a relaxing time! Large upstairs dining area, a balcony with seating, and a very roomy bright communal family area. Washer and dryer, electric grill-outside patio and table. All of us remarked on what a wonderful time we had and are determined to make this a yearly event. The owners are charming, and I received my security deposit back immediately. If you are looking for a laid back, relaxing vacation, this is your place!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return again for a future vacation. We have recently installed new floors and have plans to update the kitchen and bathrooms in the near future. I can't wait to see what our past guests think of the renovations!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hill Street Beach house

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 13, 2013

Location of home was excellent - only steps from a beautiful beach. House was in need of TLC - new windows in upstairs bedrooms would help as traffic noise was extremely loud. Window air conditioners in downstairs portion of home were noisy especially in the bedroom. The outside shower was good to rinse off prior to entering the home however on our second day while showering outside a large snake appeared from under the wooden planking and scared everyone.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

:)

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: May 22, 2013

All amenities advertised were present, location was exactly what was expected from description, owner was extremely friendly and helpful. House is in my home town, but my guests were not. They are very interested in making this an annual event. High recommendations from all of us. Easy beach access, easy grocery access, easy souvenir access, large sleeping capacity, outside shower after a beach run is amazing, amazing porch, amazing deck, decent parking (4 cars comfortably).

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

beach house- New Smyrna ,Fl

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

My family and I just completed an outstanding week at this house. The house was clean and spacious.
The fact that there was 2 full kitchens, one upstairs and one downstairs was a plus. We were able to keep all our drinks and food cold without the use of a cooler. The kitchens were well stocked with dishes, glasses, pots and pans, coffee maker and much more.The three bathrooms were very nice too. The living room spaces upstairs and down were plenty big to accommodate the family. We spent quite a bit of time on the back deck and at night the lighting on the perimeter of the space was very nice. There is also a privacy fence around the back deck . It was a very short walk to the beach and we were also able to walk to downtown New Smyrna with no problem. I would recommend this property, the owners were very nice and very helpful with any questions we had. The owners also supply numerous games and toys to use during your stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Family Rental

Review submitted: October 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2012

Rented this property for a family beach weekend to celebrate my huband's 40th birthday and it was just perfect. The layout of the house was great for accomodating our immediate family as well as my inlaws with plenty of room to spread out. The decor of the house was beachy with an interesting feel that we all appreciated. The house came equipped with everything we needed and then some including family games and toys for the little ones to play with. The yard was great and offered relaxing privacy and the house was only steps from the beach. We will absolutley rent this property again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

"As Always-Love New Smyrna Beach!"

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

We continuely go back to New Smyrna Beach-have for years.
First time for a VRBO home in New Smyrna Beach.
Nice older home, great for our 4 family group of 11 people.
Nice quiet location, off the main, busy streets. Great for the kids with easy access to the beach.
Clean,could use a little fixing up but no major complaints.
Would likely use same home again if we go through VRBO.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We have learned that beach homes are a work in progress, so updates are in the works! We would love for you to return next year; we do offer return-guest discounts! Thanks for taking such good care of our home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Good Location, Very Attractive Furnishings Near Beach

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 22, 2012

This house has the perfect configuration for two families, with a separate kitchen on the lower as well as main floor. It is very attractively furnished in a beach house motif with very good inside and outside space. The owners provided many little decorating touches in line with a beach theme that made it very welcoming as a vacation home. It had three nice bedrooms and three full baths. Best of all for our purposes was the fenced in yard with decking outside the lower level. It allowed a safe play space for our three small grandchildren and the separate living spaces allowed our children to have some privacy with space to "spread out". The house on a quiet street with beach access about two houses away across the street. We felt very comfortable there and had a wonderful vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Letter from Guest

Review submitted: October 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Just wanted to again say thank you for opening your home for us to rent, and share some of the things that we enjoyed most about your home!.We had a blast and we really enjoyed the room we had so that we were not cramped with having two families there. We also enjoyed having the lists of food places and we did visit a couple of them and really enjoyed our food and drinks!! Another thing we really enjoyed about your place was the privacy fence so that we were able to bring our bikes and all of our boards and not have to worry about them getting stolen or have to put them inside the house! The location worked for us to, as we still had to drive our twins to football summer workouts everyday, so it was not a bad drive and our boys still were able to enjoy the evenings there! Thanks again!
Hope you have a wonderful summer!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2011

Rented this house for a weekend with my 2 year old son, parents, and in-laws and it was great. There were separate upstairs and downstairs areas and each level had a fridge and sink with the upstairs having a full kitchen which was great and they had two great porches. Literally steps from the beach. The back of the house sits right on the main drag, but the part where you park and the side of the house we spent most of our time in faces the beach which is across a dirt road. Make sure to look both ways for bicycles, but not much else! We even went into town, got some live crabs and cooked them in the upstairs kitchen. Great family place right near Publix, Flagler, the mainland, and tons of other stuff.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Family vacation

Review submitted: March 14, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

We had a great time for our family vacation. Very close to the beach. Lots of toys for the kids (we had 4 - ages 3 to 7). Things wern't quite as clean as I would have liked but owners compensated for that when notified. Apparently they used a different housecleaning service. Would deffinitely recommend this home to friends. IEP and family

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: I just wanted to not that our usual personal housekeeper was unavailable, so we used a local maid service. We were disappointed that the cleaning was not consistent with the high standard of cleanliness we maintain for our home. Obviously, we won't be using that company again and will do the job ourselves should our trusted housekeeper be unavailable in the future. We welcome any constructive feedback our guests can provide and strive to make our home inviting to all who enter.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A wonderful vacation home

Review submitted: October 4, 2010   Date of arrival: September 10, 2010

We had our 10 year High School Reunion here and absolutely loved it!!! My parents loved it so much that they are thinking about renting in for the entire family over Christmas week.

A great setup with two kitchens, two living areas, many beds/futons and a great porch/bbq area for sitting/ cooking out.

Beach access is a short and easy walk across the street and the home is located within minutes to Publix and many of the famous New Smyrna restaurants.

Jenn is a pleasure to deal with and we look forward to staying here again soon!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Pelz Family Beach House

Review submitted: October 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

We had an excellent experience with the beach house in NSB. We have rented beach houses in New Smyrna for the past two years. Each year I research our vacation locations online. Right away the Key West décor of this home caught my eye. We have several small children and loved the themed décor. We were pleasantly surprised that the home actually looked even BETTER than it does in the pictures (not always the case). I narrowed my search down to 12 homes. It was by far the best value for the price. The home easily accommodates large or two families. We LOVED having two kitchens, two living areas, and two decks. The home is very well kept, clean, and decorated quite nicely. We really felt like we were on a “tropical” vacation. The location is outstanding, just a few steps away from the beach. The home also comes with lots of beach toys and supplies…another added convenience. There has been lots of guest consideration put into this home by the owners. It made our vacation fun, easy, and memorable. We highly recommend the Key West beach house.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful House for Family Vacation

Review submitted: October 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 7, 2010

What a wonderful house was our first thought when we arrived. The fenced in deck was a plus to keep the children from wondering off on an adventure and the upstairs porch with its table and bar stools made the perfect setting for late afternoon cocktails for the adults. The interior of the house is styled for maximum comfort, the downstairs is decorated in a ocean theme with decorative fish and crabs on the wall, my two year old loved it. The upstairs has a" being at the beach feeling" that is so wonderful. We were about 100 yards from the ocean and I mean the ocean not the beach. The beach is spectacular, nice white hard sand. We took a picture on the beach with all the kids that my mother has hanging in her living room that gives her so much joy to see her six grandchildren together. The town of New Smyrna Beach has that old beach town feeling and everyone we came across was pleasant as could be. The only bad thing was that we were only there a week, next year we hope to be there for two and my mother insist on joining us after hearing our tails and seeing our pictures.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Location, location, location!

Review submitted: July 26, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2009

"This home is in a great location! Being right across a small residential road from the beach it is a very easy walk to the beach. It is close enough that you can sit on the upstairs balcony and hear the ocean. All this without the high price of staying directly on the beach. Clean, well decorated, and roomy. Plenty of space to spread out and an excellent setup for two families or traveling with older children. It is located pretty close to all fun things in New Smyrna also and close to local shopping. I would definitely recommend this for a fun family vacation!"

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great Place if you have Teens!

Review submitted: July 22, 2010   Date of arrival: July 4, 2009

This is the perfect house if you are a family or group with a few teens! my girlfriends and our kids have been renting a beach house in New Smyrna every year for the past 13 years. Now that our girls are all teens we wanted a place so they could be some what "away" from us "grown up" girls and this worked out perfect. We all had plenty of room and our own space.
The house is close to stores without being on the driving part of the beach. We also had plenty of parking for all of our cars. That is a big plus because so many beach houses only have enough parking for 2 cars (if you are lucky). It is also great to have 2 kitchen area's. The extra fridg space is super handy. We could keep all the "real" food upstairs and the teen food and drinks down stairs.
You will need to bring along a Wonder Wheel or rolling beach cart when you come to this house. It is a little hike to and from the beach with all the beach gear (chairs, towels, small cooler) but not bad at all if you have a rolling cart. I have a Wonder Wheel and it is perfect for everything you need.
We did not see one bug the entire week. As a true Florida girl, that is a big deal. Most of the beach houses in FL (and I have stayed in many, of all diff price ranges) have a bug or two but this one did not.
It is also a plus to have the owners close by. We had a problem with the washer and they had someone out to fix it the same day. We have stayed in houses before that are run by a rental agent and they are not so fast to repair things because they have so many houses to take care of. Renting from the owner is the way to go.
If you choose this house I am sure you will be happy with it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love to hear about our guests' experiences at our house! It's so nice to know that others enjoy it as much as we do. For future guests, I wanted to mention that we ARE on the driving part of the beach. It is a large beach when the tide is low (which is when driving is allowed), so we usually set up camp on the ocean side of the drive lane. That way we aren't looking at cars but at the beautiful sea, and we can make sure children play between our chairs and the water. When the tide is up, the beach closes to drivers. From our home, it is a very short walk onto the beach (about 30-40 yards), but as this guest pointed out, if you have lots of gear to carry, a cart would work well. We usually prefer to pack up our car and drive our beach chairs, coolers, toys, etc. out to the beach and park in front of our house. That way, we are able to have easy access to the house for bathroom breaks and food/drink runs, but when it's time to pack up and go in, we just have to put everything in the car and drive back. The beach access where you drive onto the beach is 1/4 mile from our house, so it's an extremely short drive. We've been visiting NSB for years, so we have this down to a science! We believe you'll find that it's a super convenience.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Coolest beach house EVER!!

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 16, 2009

I would like to start by saying.. WOW!! I am 100% glad I rented this house! I even got married on the beach! Anyone who is looking for a spacious rental right on the beach.. this is it! The beach is literally a hop, skip and jump away!! Everything that this listing states is correct!! They do not lie about anything! I traveled with 9 people total and we all slept comfortably! I had two kids who were 1 and 3 and they just adored the fish room. I feel that the Pelz did an awesome job in making the home delighting for both adults and children! To be quite honest.. I didn't want to leave!! The location is perfect! Your right on the beach and just a few blocks away are stores and restaurants! They even provide plenty of games and toys for all ages! The house was spotless when we got there and they have a cleaning lady who would come and clean while we were out! The owners of this property are great! They make themselves available throughout your stay! I even met a few of the neighbors and/or vacationers and they all were extremely friendly!! Me and my family will definitely be making a return trip to this house!! Thank you very much Stan and Jen for providing such a beautiful place for us to have our wedding and spend a wonderful time with family!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We really appreciate the great feedback on the home, and we are so pleased to hear that this family had such a good time. We did want to note, however, that we do not have housekeeping service that cleans while guests are staying at the house or while they are out. Our home is cleaned prior to guest arrival and following check-out.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Vacation in May

Review submitted: July 16, 2010   Date of arrival: May 21, 2010

Our family stayed here for 9 days in May 2010. It was more than we expected for the price and the owners were kind and accomodating. The house is clean and has many conveniences. The access to the beach is gret (only a minutes walk)and you don't have to cross any major streets to get there. We definitely want to stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We always say that we are as close to the beach as you can get without being directly beach front! It is truly a fabulous location!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Review submitted: January 13, 2009   Date of arrival: January 13, 2009

Stayed here last year in '08 and house was terrific. Very clean, everything you need was provided. A/C worked great. Enjoyed outside deck and the balcony with friends and family. Lots of room for families to spread out. Beach was not crowded. Would definately rent again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review