reviews for: listing #10877 - Newport, Rhode Island House rental

On the Beach- Oceanfront Vacation Rental Cliff Walk View
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,600 - $6,500 /wk

sort by:

Great getaway spot

Review submitted: February 8, 2010   Date of arrival: January 29, 2010

We rented this beautiful home for a weekend away to relax and have family time! The description of the house were completely accurate! The house was very beautfiul inside and immaculately clean! The owner was very friendly, welcoming, and kind. I would recommend this property to all my friends and family! We loved that the downtown Newport area was so close to the house! Definitely an excellent property! We loved the fireplace and the view of the ocean!! I would rent this house again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you very much for renting and for this wonderful review. I enjoyed meeting you and your family and would be happy to have you rent my beach house anytime. We strive to please our guests to make their experience in Newport an enjoyable one.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beautiful home overlooking the ocean!

Review submitted: April 13, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

The house is very well taken care of and is beautiful on the inside and has great views as well. It rained the whole time we were there but still enjoyed watching the waves and the house gets great light. The house easily slept 11 people which was wonderful. Julie was so helpful throughout the rental process and I will definitely be in touch next time we're looking to rent in the Newport area!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, pristine home!

Review submitted: August 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. Great location and the home was immaculate! There is so much to do in the area- we love the beaches- especially second beach. We would highly recommend!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Beach Weekend (even in March!)

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

I rented this house for a weekend in March and it was amazing! The house was so beautiful, completely clean, and the ocean views were incredible. I rented it with a group of my girlfriends from college and there was plenty of room and so much to do! We were able to walk to the beach and the cliff walk during the day and easily go out to Newport at night.
I would definitely recommend this house to anyone and I hope to rent it again someday!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Trip

Review submitted: January 30, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

Great house, great location!!! The house was clean and neat when we arrived. The pictures and description of the property are exactly what you get! We met the owner who was lovely and had great recommendations for things to do and places to go. Only minutes away from everything.
Overall great experience!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

18 esplanade, newport, ri

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

Very good rental home. The house was very clean and the location is excellent.

This house worked out great for our group. Highly recommended for a traveling family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Wonderful Weekend in Newport!

Review submitted: November 8, 2012   Date of arrival: November 2, 2012

My family and I had a wonderful weekend stay at Julie's house. First off, the house was impeccable -- clean, wonderfully furnished, an amazing view on the water. It was our first time in the area and Julie was kind enough to stop by and help recommend restaurants and other things to do in the city. The house was, in my opinion, the perfect location. Can't say enough about Julie or her house, I would recommend this rental to anyone! Hope to be back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

House Beautiful Rental in Newport RI area

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: September 26, 2012

I rented 18 Esplanade in Middletown, RI for a week for my son's wedding. The majority of the family was travelling from the west coast so I wanted to find a place where we could all stay together. This was the perfect choice. Located just minutes from the Newport RI mansion cliff walk and the storybook downtown with wonderful shopping, restaurants and people watching, this house has it all.

The layout of the house is open, with three full baths, a fully stocked kitchen, dishwasher, clothes washer and dryer, towels galore, along with ping pong table, beach paraphernalia, strollers, gas grill...the works. Everything on would want for a restful and relaxing vacation. There are four large bedrooms, a large dining room and living room area, complete with spacious decks overlooking the sandy Easton beach.One can walk to local restaurants serving local fare, including lobster, clams and chowder. Everything one would need is within a short drive.

The house was white glove squeaky clean. The owner was very good at responding to my initial inquiry and very good at staying in touch. She was also accomodating to our wedding schedule. We did have a minor plumbing issue that was taken care of within an hour, so the owner is very good at maintaining the home and responding to calls immediately.

I would definitely recommend this property to family and friends...and am hoping my travels bring me back to Newport so I can vacation at 18 Espanadae again.



This house is white glove clean and modern. plenty of parking

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Julie and Kevin get it

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

I've rented a number of properties for family vacations and for 20+ years of "Boys Weekends". The property is exactly as advertised; clean, well equipped, and a great location. The difference between this property and many others I've rented is the owners understand customer service. Simply stated, Julie and Kevin get it. I'll be back to this property in September with my old high school friends with absolutely no reservations.

Owners response: Thanks for your great review and compliments on my home and customer service Barry! I look forward to your return in the fall as I am always trilled to have repeat guests. I strive to make my homes your beach home and comfortable, clean and well stocked so that your vacation is all that you plan and hope for. I am happy to know that I succeed for your week in Newport.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome House with Fabulous Views!

Review submitted: May 12, 2012   Date of arrival: May 7, 2012

Our stay in the Newport area was more enjoyable staying in this house. The house was impeccably clean and well equipped. Our home away from home. The back deck and living room have excellent views of the ocean and Easton Beach as well as the bedrooms. The view of the cliff walk and the mansions is just breathtaking. Close to everything in Newport and Flo's Clam shack is within walking distance as well as the Atlantic Beach Club.
I would definitely stay here again and would most definitely recommend this house to everyone. Julie was wonderful and explained everything to us after we got settled in. She recommended some really good restaurants in the area.
We also enjoyed the local Winery, the luncheon playhouse show and of course shopping in the unique stores that Newport has to offer. The 10 mile ride of the cliffs is just awesome, with gorgeous views for the photographer to go crazy over (like me) and breathtaking to just enjoy. The crashing ocean into the rocks make wonderful pictures. There are areas to pull over so don't fret about that. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning again one day soon to see more of the Newport area that we didn't have enough time to enjoy!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gals weekend turns fantastic

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

Julie was fantastic to rent from. Her properties are beautiful and everything the advertisements state them to be. Clean, elegant, fully loaded and very comfortable. We had a fantastic weekend and will be in touch with Julie for future girl’s weekend get-a-ways. Thanks, Julie for a superb weekend.
Pamela

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for Girls Weekend!

Review submitted: April 29, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

This was the perfect house for our girls weekend! Great space, enough beds and bathrooms, open floor plan and awesome porch to sit in the sun! Great location too near beach!

Owners response: We are happy to hear you enjoyed your weekend. My homes are perfect for girls' weekends or gatherings of friends since they are open and have most everything you will need for cooking and entertaining. Being right on the beach, the views are spectacular and it is only seconds to the beach and yet very close to many restaurants, bars and pubs to walk to for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The homes are also close to downtown and Bellevue avenue for a short drive to restaurants and shops. Overall a "perfect" house and location!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Exceeded my expectations

Review submitted: November 6, 2011   Date of arrival: October 26, 2011

The listing description provided was beyond accurate and yet it seemed we were still getting more than what we thought we'd be walking into. The location was extremely clean/safe and we always felt a cozy welcome when coming come for the day. The owner was great to work with and extremely helpful. We would highly recommend this property to anyone considering staying in the area, especially if you have kids.

Owners response: As always, we are grateful for guest's reviews and we strive to exceed their expectations by providing a well stocked, very clean, stylishly updated home on the beach at a good value.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Saved the Day!!!

Review submitted: October 16, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2011

Due to health reasons, our plans to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary in Hawaii needed to change at the last minute. Although a different holiday than originally planned, we couldn't have asked for a more restful way to celebrate. We became interested in the home simply by searching out on the internet. Family and friends were amazed we made out so well. We'd wake each morning and go to bed each evening to the sounds of the waves against the beach. As advertised, the home is stocked with everything you could need. From the fully stocked kitchen, all the linens right there and the beach gear in the basement, you truly only need to pack your suitcase. Julie was a charm - helpful, friendly and she even stopped by with a discount coupon for local Italian restaurant. We wouldn't hesitate to go back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Beach House

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

We have been vacationing in Newport for years and this is our best find so far. Excellent location just off 1st beach, long walk or short ride to downtown, short walk to the cliff walk. The house was immaculate with great views and plenty of room. We will definitely return

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

my experience was outstanding

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

There were 6 of us who rented this property for one week. There was more than enough room and privacy with all of us, was not an issue. It was across the street from First Beach and there were other beaches just down the road. The homeowner provided beach chairs, umbrellas, boogey boards, noodels and beach towels! Julie's home is well maintained, and we did not want for anything except another week there! We enjoyed the Atlantic Grill Restaurant along with a few other restaurants in Newport. The home is centrally located so you can get into Newport within a few minutes or drive through Middletown for groceries, and other "chain restaurants" and pizzerias. We rented the house "site-unseen" and the listing was exactly as it was placed. The house also provided menu's on local restaurants along with site seeing activities. We were able to use the washer and dryer and it really was a perfect vacation week! Due to the location of the house, we chose to cook in most of the time (that is how comfortable and well stocked this house is)........Thank you Julie.........I hope to see you again next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review of my home. We strive to please all of our guests by providing a very clean well tended and updated home to ensure a good time is had by all. We love having guests return and look forward to renting our home to new guests as well.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Beautiful house in great location

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 30, 2011

I enojyed the stay like nothing else. Parents (60+) were visiting from abroad and took them there for 3 days to relax and enjoy the mansions. This is actualy the 2nd time I rented this place. The first time it was with 6 other friends visting Newport for a wedding and we had a blast...

This time, the idea was to relax and eat seafood at Newport's restaurants... and we ended up staying in all evenings as we had an incredible view from the living room and dining room, took advantage of the enormous kitchen with all the amenites and the bbq. In the morning, we enjoyed the breakfast on the deck facing the ocean,which was superb. We walked on the beach and collected shells... Place is very close to everythign in Newport.

The house is very beautiful insde, extremely well-maintaned and immaculately clean. What you see on the picture is what you get (probably even more when it comes to the inside relative to the pics; can not get better than this on the outside).

The owner was very friendly, helpful, welcoming, and kind. I would recommend this property to anyone. This is now my getaway in Newport.

Highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Returning guests are warmly welcomed back and we strive to exceed their expectations. It was great to have you back and we look forward to your next visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place to Have a Good Time.

Review submitted: May 23, 2011   Date of arrival: April 7, 2011

We rented this house for family reunion in April. We had a wonderful time. This is one of the best views in Newport with gorgeous sunsets. The house was very comfortable, beautifully furnished with a well stocked kitchen, plush towels, and linens. The grounds were lovely, full of flowers and plenty of room for kids to play. The owners were professional, friendly, accomodating and helpful. We had a very lovely time. I would highly recommend this house.

Rebecca

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you very much for your thoughtful review of my home. I am happy that you enjoyed your reunion and found my found my home so comfortable. You were just in time for the arrival of all the daffodils, tulips, and hyacinths. You must come back in the summer to see my beautiful lilies, perennials and hydrangea bushes! Thanks for renting.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best House on the Water

Review submitted: May 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 14, 2011

I rented this house with my family over the spring vacation and we absolutely enjoyed every minute. The house was extremely clean, and that was a big factor for us. The furnishings were beautiful and the grounds were well manicured. When we arrived, the kitchen was well stocked and organized. The owner had left a book with local restaurants and attractions which was very helpful. The house is located right at the beach with beautiful views of the Cliff Walk and Newport Mansions, and it is very close to everything. The owner was very professional and responsive both during the booking process and throughout our stay. I would defitately recommend this house and would rent again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for such a great review. We strive to make your stay enjoyable and easy and I am happy that you were pleased with our home. We continually try to enhance our service for each guest and take great pride in our home so that they return. We would be happy to have you rent the next time you vacation in the area.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Easter Week Getaway

Review submitted: May 20, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

Our family rented for the week of Easter. The home was very well appointed and extremely clean.

We loved being there for the holiday and took long walks on the beach.
My favorites were the open living room / dining room and a brand new, well appointed kitchen. I was able to make all of the family favorite dishes for the holiday.

We have booked another week in the summer. The owners were really great to work with and very helpful. You could tell they take pride in their rental homes.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much Karen for your wonderful review of my home. I enjoyed meeting you and your family and am so pleased that you enjoyed your week in Newport. I would be happy to have you rent 18 Esplanade again and look forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful, Relaxing Thanksgiving Weekend

Review submitted: January 24, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

We rented this house with my family for Thanksgiving weekend 2010. It was 8 of us and the house was pretty spacious for everyone. It's so beautiful and relaxing with a beach view. The first thing we noticed was how clean the house was (let me say it was Spotless), compared to all other houses we have rented this was by far the cleanest which makes you feel even more comfortable staying there. It's conveniently located, with a few restaurants close by. We also cooked a lot and the kitchen included everything we needed. We also enjoyed the ping pong table in the basement :)
Overall the house is awesome and we will definitely rent it again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing House

Review submitted: January 10, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

This house is the ultimate Newport vacation home. The view and beach access is amazing. The house is extremely clean and updated. The layout is great for all. There is nothing you have to bring to feel like home. The owners are extremely helpful and responsive. I would highly recommend to anyone looking to rent a home in Newport to look no further this is one of the best homes and rental experience I have ever had in many years of renting.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house for the family...

Review submitted: January 8, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

We rented this house for a weekend with our family of 7, and had an amazing stay. There was plenty of room for us all and the location was great for easy access to walking on the beach and along the cliff walk. Amenities in the home were perfect and everyone kept talking about what a beautiful home it was. When we had a question, the owner was very responsive and even sent her husband to come fix a glitch with the fireplace for us during Christmas weekend! The owners are great and we would highly recommend this rental to anyone looking for a relaxing time away in a beautiful home. We can't wait to make this an annual family vacation destination!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A good time was had by all

Review submitted: December 9, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

A beautiful home in a great location. We enjoyed our stay tremendously. We were able to walk to everything: Cliff Walk, the beach, restaurants, town. We will definitely be back. Special thanks to Julie for making us feel so at home, and for being so accommodating.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the wonderful review Marcy! It was our pleasure to rent our home to you, your family, and friends. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and would be happy to have you return to the Esplanade! Thanks again for renting and congratulations on your successful marathon run.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nothing better!

Review submitted: August 25, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2010

This house is in an excellent location with an excellent view. The owners are wonderfull to deal with and the house is updated, modern and spotless. It has central air. You will need this in the summer! The beds are very comfortable. I have rented this property twice and I'm sure I will rent again. All you need for the beach is there: chairs, umbrellas, bogie boards, sand toys.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the great review. I greatly appreciate when guests return year after year and always welcome them warmly. I try to provide a home away from home for them and give them first preference in weeks for next summer so that the house feels their beach house!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Home in Perfect Location

Review submitted: August 14, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2010

My husband and I have rented this home for two years in a row (hopefully again next year too!). Julie is absolutely wonderful to deal with - warm, honest and very professional. The house is positively spotless (and I am picky!), very comfortable and the views of first beach and cliff walk are fantastic from each floor. First beach is literally steps away so you feel like it is your own private beach. House is very well stocked with kitchen and beach amenities, feels like a home away from home. The neighborhood is great to walk in and early morning the beach is quiet - nice to start the day with a walk along the water. We can't imagine staying anywhere else in Newport - once you stay here you won't want to!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the wonderful review! We are always happy to have past guests return to our homes! It is often like seeing old friends. Thanks again and I hope the tradition continues. We welcome you back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Perfect Home, Gracious Hosts

Review submitted: July 24, 2010   Date of arrival: July 4, 2009

What a great location! How nice it is to find yourself on a beautiful beach no more than a hundred or yards or so from the back deck of this very comfortable home. A half mile walk puts you on the world-famous Cliff Walk. We vacationed on Cape Cod for many years, and after our experiences with this home, and Newport, the Cape is no longer even in our rear view mirror.

A word about Ms. O'Halloran--she is a person of high integrity, who will try to "do the right thing."

We will be returning in 2011...if you are looking for a comfortable home, great location, pleasant owner, go no further.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Dear Bill,
Thank you for your compliments! I strive for good value, a pleasant booking experience, upscale decor, a very clean home, meticulous gardens and grounds, and satisfied guests. If I can help in any way to make your vacation a more positive and memorable time, I will certainly do my best to accommodate you. I was happy to rent to you and your family and look forward to having you return next summer.
Warm Regards,
Julie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

An amazing vacation spot!

Review submitted: June 3, 2010   Date of arrival: May 21, 2010

Everything about this rental process and vacation was absolutely perfect. The house was exactly as decribed, and better. This home comes equipped with everything you could ever imagine needing or wanting while staying there. The location is perfect, the house was unbelieveably clean and comfortable, and the owner couldn't have been nicer or more helpful.
I rented this house for my sisters bachelorette party, and everyone involved had a wonderful time. We can't wait to come back and stay again!! This is the PERFECT spot for any type of getaway. We didn't want to leave.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Five Stars in every category!

Review submitted: May 27, 2010   Date of arrival: April 4, 2010

My family and I spent Spring Break at this home and had an amazing time! Everything about it was perfect. We came from Michigan with 3 children ages 15, 13 and 7. The beauty of the rental was that all we had to do was pack our clothes, get in the van and drive. The layout of the house was perfect to give each family member space and comfort. In addition the house was loaded with a game room and other toys to keep the kids amused 24/7.

What was great for my husband and I was the fact that it was beautifully decorated and came with all of the kitchen items you could ever dream of!

Finally, I'd be remiss if I didn't talk about the owner and her family. Right from the beginning they were warm, friendly and super helpful. I was great to meet them and we look forward to returing next year. (Thanks Julie).

Without a doubt I recommend this location to anyone!!! Enjoy. :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Stunning View-Perfectly Appointed!

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

Suziek Pt. Pleasant, NJ
Review Submitted: October 31, 2008 Date of Stay: October 2008
Everything noted in the description of the property was accurate and well depicted. The home was spotless and very well maintained. All the furnishings, specifically the beds, were comfortable and clean. There were fresh towels, new soap, hairdryers, extra blankets and tons of pillows. The kitchen had all the necessities you could possibly need. All that's needed in this property in order to have a wonderful getaway are your favorite people to be with, a bag or two of groceries, some comfy clothes - and that's it! You can stroll the beach or Cliff Walk - and if your energetic enough, take a walk to downtown Newport. You hardly need a car at all. We positively loved it ~ and hope to come back next year!
Recommended for: Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent location and gorgeous house

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2009

ErinMarie Massachusetts
Review Submitted: March 31, 2009 Date of Stay: March 2009
I recently stayed at this house for a long weekend with a bunch of girlfriends. The house was perfect for us. There was plenty of room, bathrooms and places to sleep. Also, the kitchen was fully equipped for all of our needs. The ocean views were beautiful and the gas fireplace was a great touch. The house was clean and had everything you could think of. I would recommend this property to anyone looking for a home away from home. I look forward to renting again soon. Thanks!
Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Rating
5 out of 5

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Place

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: September 17, 2009

JeffScap Hoboken New Jersey
Review Submitted: September 27, 2009 Date of Stay: September 2009
Our weekend in Newport was amazing and the best part about it was the house. The houses we rented were clean, comfortable and had everything we could ask for-linens,blankets,towels, beach chairs etc... Hopefully we can find another short weekend to travel to Newport and rent these houses again... Thanks again for renting your houses to us, they were absolutely perfect.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway

Rating
5 out of 5

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful clean relaxing home!

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 23, 2009

Bert Lynne Cathie MA and CT
Review Submitted: November 9, 2009 Date of Stay: October 2009
We had an excellent weekend in Newport. Julie's house was very clean and provided much needed relaxation for the 6 of us. She is a great hostess who is a prompt and reliiable communicator!
The location was beautiful and we had awesome views of the ocean and the cliffwalk from the house. We could hear the ocean from the deck which only added to the comfort of the home. The home was a quick walk to a couple of restaurants and only a quick drive to the downtown area.
Thank you again and we look forward to staying there again!
Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Rating
4 out of 5

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful place to stay!

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: November 6, 2009

Erica23 Ossining, NY
Review Submitted: November 11, 2009 Date of Stay: November 2009
My husband and I along with 2 other couples stayed here for a long weekend in November and the property was everything described and more. The house was very clean and organized, lots of towels, blankets, and sheets. The kitchen was fully stocked, couldn't ask for more. The men loved the ping-pong table and we all loved the iPod adapter for the radio, worked great. Comfortable beds, easy to control heat, good water pressure, lots for drawer and closet space. The view is amazing, you can see parts of the Cliff Walk and some mansions from the deck. The outside of the property is well maintained, yard would be lots of fun for kids. The location of this property is great as well, just a few minutes to Newport as well as a winery in Middletown. Julie, the owner, was very helpful, thorough, quick to respond to questions, friendly, and easy to reach for any needs. I would definitely recommend this property to family and friends, we are already planning another trip!
While in Newport we enjoyed visiting the Newport Winery, the Cliff Walk, walking on Thames, and the spa at the Viking Hotel. We ate at Salvation Cafe, Clarke Cooke house, and Brick Alley Pub, all wonderful. Pop Kitchen and Cocktails had a great DJ on Saturday night, good mix of current music and old school hip hop. I bought another piece from Anchor Bend Glassworks, worth the trip to see their work!
Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Rating
5 out of 5

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Would go back in a heartbeat!

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 12, 2009

Familyclan4 Dacula, GA, USA
Review Submitted: December 23, 2009 Date of Stay: October 2009
We rented all three of Julie's houses for my daughters wedding in October, 2009. The entire family was a short walk across the lawn from each other. This house was everything that was described and more. Impeccably clean, great location, well stocked with information for the Newport area. The owner, Julie was more than gracious in providing us with every need. Julie made us feel very welcome in her home. All the furniture, beds, linens were comfortable. The kitchen is fully stocked with every item you may need or want. Toys, highchairs, cribs, and more were all there waiting for us. Parking several cars was no problem which is rare in the Newport/Middletown area. If we had a question, Julie was easily accessible. I would definitely rent this home again and my entire family hope to come back every fall. Great stay. Fabulous home for a vacation or any occasion.
Recommended for: Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

5 out of 5

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Would go back in a heartbeat !

Review submitted: December 23, 2009   Date of arrival: October 12, 2009

We rented all three of Julie's houses for my daughters wedding in October, 2009. The entire family was a short walk across the lawn from each other. This house was everything that was described and more. Impeccably clean, great location, well stocked with information for the Newport area. The owner, Julie was more than gracious in providing us with every need. Julie made us feel very welcome in her home. All the furniture, beds, linens were comfortable. The kitchen is fully stocked with every item you may need or want. Toys, highchairs, cribs, and more were all there waiting for us. Parking several cars was no problem which is rare in the Newport/Middletown area. If we had a question, Julie was easily accessible. I would definitely rent this home again and my entire family hope to come back every fall. Great stay. Fabulous home for a vacation or any occasion.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful place to stay!

Review submitted: November 11, 2009   Date of arrival: November 6, 2009

My husband and I along with 2 other couples stayed here for a long weekend in November and the property was everything described and more. The house was very clean and organized, lots of towels, blankets, and sheets. The kitchen was fully stocked, couldn't ask for more. The men loved the ping-pong table and we all loved the iPod adapter for the radio, worked great. Comfortable beds, easy to control heat, good water pressure, lots for drawer and closet space. The view is amazing, you can see parts of the Cliff Walk and some mansions from the deck. The outside of the property is well maintained, yard would be lots of fun for kids. The location of this property is great as well, just a few minutes to Newport as well as a winery in Middletown. Julie, the owner, was very helpful, thorough, quick to respond to questions, friendly, and easy to reach for any needs. I would definitely recommend this property to family and friends, we are already planning another trip!
While in Newport we enjoyed visiting the Newport Winery, the Cliff Walk, walking on Thames, and the spa at the Viking Hotel. We ate at Salvation Cafe, Clarke Cooke house, and Brick Alley Pub, all wonderful. Pop Kitchen and Cocktails had a great DJ on Saturday night, good mix of current music and old school hip hop. I bought another piece from Anchor Bend Glassworks, worth the trip to see their work!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful clean relaxing home!

Review submitted: November 9, 2009   Date of arrival: October 23, 2009

We had an excellent weekend in Newport. Julie's house was very clean and provided much needed relaxation for the 6 of us. She is a great hostess who is a prompt and reliiable communicator!
The location was beautiful and we had awesome views of the ocean and the cliffwalk from the house. We could hear the ocean from the deck which only added to the comfort of the home. The home was a quick walk to a couple of restaurants and only a quick drive to the downtown area.
Thank you again and we look forward to staying there again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Early Spring Stay - 2009

Review submitted: October 14, 2009   Date of arrival: February 12, 2009

Terrific House. Excellent location. Very good views. Away from the hustle and bustle, but close enough to everything. 5 Minute drives to everywhere for the most part. Clean and well appointed. Fireplace and living room windows are terrific. Kitchen is well stocked and dining room is big. Downstairs bathroom is very nice.

Upstairs hall bathroom is a bit dated. Functional, but just ok. The bedrooms are all a good size and comfy. Small stairway from street to main floor is a bit of a pain, but not that big a deal. Plenty of parking.

Again, the location is wonderful. Some outside phone and power wires mar the view a bit, but once you are there you barely notice them. Very pretty grounds and the surrounding properties are very well kept as well. Great walking beach nearby.

We VEYR much enjoyed our stay, and Julie was a wonderful host. Right there when we needed her and invisible when we were doing well. We will def. return and stay at her house. EASILY accommodates 8 people.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Place

Review submitted: September 27, 2009   Date of arrival: September 17, 2009

Our weekend in Newport was amazing and the best part about it was the house. The houses we rented were clean, comfortable and had everything we could ask for-linens,blankets,towels, beach chairs etc... Hopefully we can find another short weekend to travel to Newport and rent these houses again... Thanks again for renting your houses to us, they were absolutely perfect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent location and gorgeous house

Review submitted: March 31, 2009   Date of arrival: March 20, 2009

I recently stayed at this house for a long weekend with a bunch of girlfriends. The house was perfect for us. There was plenty of room, bathrooms and places to sleep. Also, the kitchen was fully equipped for all of our needs. The ocean views were beautiful and the gas fireplace was a great touch. The house was clean and had everything you could think of. I would recommend this property to anyone looking for a home away from home. I look forward to renting again soon. Thanks!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Quiet & Spacious Bayview

Review submitted: March 17, 2009   Date of arrival: March 7, 2009

Besides the cold weather, we have a warm reception from Julie.
The house is spacious, well equipped and with a great view to the bay and Cliff Walk.
We've made barbecues, ride the Julie's bikes at Ocean Drive, walk at the Cliff and visit the mansions in Bellevue Av.in Newport, a mile walk from the house.
It's was a wonderful time.
Thanks, Julie!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stunning View - Perfectly Appointed!

Review submitted: October 31, 2008   Date of arrival: October 24, 2008

Everything noted in the description of the property was accurate and well depicted. The home was spotless and very well maintained. All the furnishings, specifically the beds, were comfortable and clean. There were fresh towels, new soap, hairdryers, extra blankets and tons of pillows. The kitchen had all the necessities you could possibly need. All that's needed in this property in order to have a wonderful getaway are your favorite people to be with, a bag or two of groceries, some comfy clothes - and that's it! You can stroll the beach or Cliff Walk - and if your energentic enough, take a walk to downtown Newport. You hardly need a car at all. We positively loved it ~ and hope to come back next year!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Sept 2-16, 2008 Martin

Review submitted: September 23, 2008   Date of arrival: September 2, 2008

Excellent property in superb location. Very clean and well equipped. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review