reviews for: listing #108941 - Gatlinburg, Tennessee Chalet rental

Firefly~ 3BR/3BA Chalet~ Ski Mountain ~Family Getaway
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Chalet
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Chalet Village
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $129 - $169 /nt
    $770 - $1,015 /wk

sort by:

Average

Review submitted: December 11, 2013   Date of arrival: December 5, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend, and while the home was clean, the lighting was horrible in almost all the rooms. We had to replace bulbs in the downstairs bathroom due to two being completely out. The upstairs bath is also very dark. Nice time though.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing vacation!

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2013

Firefly is more than we expected! We had an amazing time here and the cabin is very clean. We were greeted by bears everyday and some days, we were greeted more than once. A mama bear and her cubs enjoyed "people" watching as much as we enjoyed "bear" watching. We did not feel threatened and enjoyed watching the bears from about 20-25 feet away. One more, we were cooking breakfast and had a cub peeping in at us. The bedrooms on separate levels allow groups to spread out and have a bit of privacy. We all enjoyed the pool table downstairs. The only downside to the Firefly is the very limited view of the mountains. The owners should really consider cutting back a few branches for a perfect view. Thank you for sharing this Firefly with my family as we made lots of memories here!

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: We appreciate your review and are so glad that you had an opportunity to see some of the local wildlife while visiting! Firefly is a great chalet, in a great location. We will have to talk to the owners about the trees and see if they would consider cutting them back. We look forward to having you and your family back with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Summit 54 Properties, iTrip Team

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the area and Firefly was a great place

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

We traveled to the area on motorcycles and had a slight amount of trouble navigating up the hill to find the place while riding but one quick stop to look at the directions and we were in the driveway! On the first morning we were greeted by a bear at the front door, the second day she returned with two cubs! She was not at all threatening and the cubs were adorable, one of the many things that made our stay a lifelong memory!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

More than expected!

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

We, family of 6, stayed in this chalet and LOVED every minute of it! It is extremely clean with comfortable beds. It was nice having the master suite on it's own level. We had a lot of fun waving to the passing tram going up and down the mountain. I would recommend if you put your trash out, to do it in the am as we had a momma and her cubs welcome us one morning. We will most definitely consider this rental again! ENJOY

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

What a view!

Review submitted: January 1, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

This property was everything the listing said it would be. We found it to be clean and the beds comfortable. We were trilled with the cozy wood burning fireplace since our stay was during the winter. There was an ample supply of firewood too. The 3 bedrooms and 3 baths, each on a different level, worked out great so everyone could have their own space. We enjoyed watching the Ober Gatlinburg tram go right over the driveway. We also enjoyed playing pool and the hot tub. The view of the mountains from the deck and living area was wonderful. Some of the other Chalets only have a woods view. At night we could see the lights from the city below. The chalet is very convenient to Ober Gatlinburg so one day we drove up and then rode the tram down into town. I would recommend this property to anyone who wants to get away from the traffic in town and enjoy a quiet and relaxing stay in the mountains.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

What a view!

Review submitted: January 1, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

This property was everything the listing said it would be. We found it to be clean and the beds comfortable. We were trilled with the cozy wood burning fireplace since our stay was during the winter. There was an ample supply of firewood too. The 3 bedrooms and 3 baths, each on a different level, worked out great so everyone could have their own space. We enjoyed watching the Ober Gatlinburg tram go right over the driveway. We also enjoyed playing pool and the hot tub. The view of the mountains from the deck and living area was wonderful. Some of the other Chalets only have a woods view. At night we could see the lights from the city below. The chalet is very convenient to Ober Gatlinburg so one day we drove up and then rode the tram down into town. I would recommend this property to anyone who wants to get away from the traffic in town and enjoy a quiet and relaxing stay in the mountains.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pool Time?

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 20, 2011

I am very disappointed with my stay at Firefly. One of the major reasons we booked Firefly is because your ad stated

"With your stay, you’ll have access to three area COMMUNITY POOLS and LIGHTED TENNIS COURT, so don't forget your swimsuits or rackets during the warm season!" We thought that this would be a perfect getaway for our family in the mountains and we could pool hop, play tennis, and relax without having to go far from the cabin.

What the ad didn't say is that you needed an owner's pass to be able to swim and play tennis. I even e-mailed ahead of our arrival to make sure that the passes were available and I was assured that they were in the rental. When we couldn't locate them we e-mailed the rental agency and it took them two days to get the passes to us. I am still waiting for a response from the rental agency and an apology. We only were there one day after that.
We rented in good faith and I am not one to jump in to contracts lightly. I'm very sorry now that I chose this property and rented with this agency. I won't be renting with these owners again.

Helpful votes: 14 / 16

 

great place to stay!

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

Firefly is a great place for groups and families to stay! We came with a few friends and really enjoyed the place. It was very clean and looks like what you see in the photos. It was nice having the bedrooms on separate floors, each with it's own bathroom. The hot tub and pool table and view from the deck were also great. We used the grill for one of our meals and enjoyed the view from the deck :)
The owners were very helpful in the booking process and we had no problems during our stay. It's near the top of ski mountain, so be prepared for a windy, sometimes steep, mountain road (for those planning a winter visit). I would definitely recommend this place and will consider staying here again on my next trip!! Wish we could have stayed longer :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review