reviews for: listing #109110 - Breckenridge, Colorado Condo rental

Chilly Pepper Too vrbo#28836
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $100 - $380 /nt

sort by:

Great Management Co. but VERY DISAPPOINTING CONDO!

Review submitted: March 15, 2014   Date of arrival: March 9, 2014

I rarely write reviews when we travel, but feel compelled to write one about Chilly Pepper Too. To say that I found the unit disappointing would be an understatement.

From the moment we arrived we were struck with a very strong odor of some sort of food, which seemed to be trapped in the upholstery making it necessary to open the door daily to air it out.

The hallway bathroom toilet takes many minutes to fill, which makes it very noisy as well as impossible for two people to use the restroom right after each other, and the hot and cold faucets in the sink are reversed. It seems this should be an easy fix.

The bed linens are old and worn out especially on the queen bed, which has a definite slope to the middle making it uncomfortable for two people to sleep on.

The dial on the heater in the living room would not turn and the heating in general in the entire unit was hard to regulate.

The cushions on the dining room chairs were so dirty that none of us ever sat on them.

The black futon randomly placed between the dining room table and the wall was very dirty and pushed the table out so far that it made the path from the path very tight with all the ski gear hung on the hooks on the opposite wall.

The window in the master bathroom would not close the whole way.

The mechanism on the left window in the master bedroom was broken so that it blew all the way open if unlatched and was then hard to close.

While the map shows that you can get to the Four O'Clock run (aerial view in the summer) from the end of the parking lot, the buildup of snow is such that you cannot climb it in your ski boots, so you have to walk out on the street.

Lots of Ice in the parking lot and on the 1st steps up to the unit was never cleared in our 3 days at this complex. It made walking in ski boots dangerous. (I fell), and there was no ice in the adjacent parking lot which belongs to another condo complex.

Finally, on our 3rd of 5 booked nights the hot water heater began making loud popping noises and sending pieces of rust all over the closet. There was a flash of fire, which prompted a call to the Fire Dept. All was safe, but we had to leave the unit because of no hot water.

Thanks to the quick work of Sandy from iBreck at midnight, we moved to a beautiful 3 bedroom unit for the remainder of our stay. She rescued what could have been a miserable ending to our ski vacation.

Conclusion: Use iBreck, but avoid Chilly Pepper Too!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Weekend Getaway!

Review submitted: February 9, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2014

Chilly Pepper Too was the perfect condo for a weekend on the mountains. The place was cozy and well maintained. We fit 5 adults comfortably. Walking to the shuttle was easy (although a bit of a trek in the snow) and getting to the Peak 8 base lodge took less than 10 minutes. The kitchen had everything we needed and the fireplace was very cozy. Would love to come back again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Skiing at Breckenridge

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

We all had a very nice time at chilly pepper too, and may wish to return at some time next season. While we all had a great trip, I wanted to share with you some suggestions that would make the property even nicer.

While the property is called a ski in/ ski out, it is a full block away from the ski trail, which is unmarked. I spoke to neighbors who were also owner's guests, and they had no idea how to ski to or from the property and were taking the bus to the gondola. It was only after serious exploring that our friends found the ski trail, allowing us to hike to the trail to the slopes. I would encourage you to document this in your guidebook, and perhaps change the description online to something like "short hike to ski trail."

The pots and pans were an eclectic set with few matching lids. They were dented so that even a matching lid would not fit properly. Making spaghetti was challenging as there was no colander. The corkscrews were nonfunctional, so we bought one. A small investment in new cookware would go a long way.

The clothes dryer made an awful noise that kept us all awake and also made it difficult to listen to tv or radio. We had to dry our clothes while we were skiing to avoid the noise. The message on the dryer to use gentle cycle only meant that a load of laundry could take several hours to dry. I suggest you invest in a new dryer.

The refrigerator had an ice maker, but it didn't work, so we had to refill the ice bin from trays. It would be nice to repair or replace the ice maker.

We never found a pool, although that was listed in the VRBO ad.

My calls and emails requesting directions to the ski trail were not answered till three days later. By then we had already found the trail. My calls and emails requesting a late checkout were never answered, so we had to checkout on time. I would encourage you to reply promptly to messages from guests.

I hope you will consider these suggestions, as we very much enjoyed our stay and would like to offer a positive review and become returning guests.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review. At the end of our first year managing this property, I am happy to report that we have better instructions on how to get to Four O'Clock Run at the edge of the parking lot. We have new pots and pans and have replaced the washer and dryer. Any data inconsistencies have abated since our software integration is complete. We have gratefully considered and addressed all suggestions, and would gladly welcome a return visit.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Value

Review submitted: March 20, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

Overall I felt that the condo was a good value. Like most ski in/out condos in Breck, you need to walk across a parking lot and/or street to get to the Four O'Clock Run and then walk across the street to the Snowflake Lift. So that was no big deal. The place was a little small, but clean and functional. We cooked several meals in the condo and appreciated that the kitchen had the cookware that we needed. I would recommend this condo to any of my friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Far stretch for ski-in-ski-out

Review submitted: February 25, 2013   Date of arrival: February 9, 2013

What I consider true ski-in-ski-out is where you can access the mountain either from the base of on a run from the accommodation. This set of condos called Grandview is walking distance to 4 o'clock run where you can ski to a lift (where you must take off your skis and walk across a road to get to the lift). It took us a while of wondering around and asking other people how to actually gain access to the slope so I will tell you. Walk out of the condo and go right and walk the whole width of the parking lot, cross the road, and voila! When everything is covered in snow and it's cold and snowing outside and you are unfamiliar with your surrounds, it's hard to go far and explore without freezing your tail off so signs would have been appreciated. All in all, the value is excellent and the condo was neat and clean although a bit on the small side. It seemed a bit cramped but we skied all day and went out for dinner at night so we really didn't spend much time at the condo. I will say that we plan on coming back and possibly rent both sides.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I did not have adequate instructions on how to access to ski hill at the edge of the parking lot, and I sincerely apologize. There are other properties in the complex that are listed the same as ours, and this appears to be a matter of significant debate in the area! I'll consider better description of the location, and we sincerely appreciate your review of our property!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Chilly Pepper Too

Review submitted: May 11, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

We stayed in Chilly Pepper Too - both condos are in an excellent location for ski in/out. Owner very responsive to any issues. Condo great for party of 4. Photos are accurate.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review