reviews for: listing #109114 - Breckenridge, Colorado House rental

Blue River
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $425 /nt

sort by:

Nice mountain house.

Review submitted: January 26, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

We stayed a week in this home for our ski vacation. It is a few miles south of Breck so going skiing involved driving and parking somewhere. There were 4 of us and had sufficient space and accommodations. The kitchen was large and well stocked. Having a washer and dryer on site was great! The hot tub was quite small...too small for 4 people. The owners request that you use the wood burning stove for heat and supplied plenty of firewood. If you are uncomfortable with fire starting or maintenance, this would not be a great place to stay but we enjoyed it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay! We appreciate your candid feedback and know it will help future travelers make an educated decision about renting this property. We are so happy to hear you had such a great trip and hope you'll keep us in mind for your future travels. Cheers!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

Our family of 4 and our mother-in -law stayed here while my wife and I were doing the Warrior Dash at Copper Mountain. It is a great place with enough room to spread out and relax. There are great fishing spots very close by. I highly recommend Montgomery Reservoir on Hoosier Pass. There are some very active fish in the lake. I also recommend heading straight up the road from this house and exploring the 4x4 trails which are within a couple miles of the house. Good times.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location and amenities, but hard beds

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

Sandy's cabin near the Blue River was great for our reunion of 6 adults, 1 infant, and 1 dog. We loved being just outside of Breckenridge but close enough to be in town in 5 minutes. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed to make breakfast and dinner for a large group, and we enjoyed sitting on the deck in the morning for coffee. Plenty of blankets and pillows to go around, and the temperature of the home was always 'just right' thanks to the time of year. The hot tub seemed great, even though we didn't use it. We fired up the fire pit out front one night for s'mores, and it was the perfect addition to our weekend. The cabin is located in a residential area, and the neighbors are super nice. We even had a neighbor dog come by every morning and afternoon to come say "hello" to our pup.

The only downside were the beds. Everyone in our group reported the beds being pretty hard and the pillows being pretty old and drab. I had trouble sleeping all weekend. I can generally sleep anywhere but really struggled to get a good night of sleep at the Blue River cabin. I would recommend bringing your own pillows with you if you are particular. I would also suggest to the owner that memory foam toppers be added to the existing mattresses, if not completely replacing the mattresses.

The owner, Sandy, was great to work with, easy to reach, and very accommodating. She even put a pack-n-play in the house prior to our arrival so that the little one's parents didn't have to lug one all the way from Boston to Breckenridge. We were pleased to have such a customer-oriented property manager.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 26, 2013

Five of us rented this home for a 3 night stay (2 couples and 1 single). Some of us had been to Breckenridge before and some of us hadn't. I really liked being 3 miles north of Breckenridge - close enough for easy access to town and ski areas, yet far enough away to feel private and peaceful.

The home is well equipped - has everything you need - and the hot tub was just great! The master suite upstairs is enormous and nicely furnished.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Quiet, Relaxing, and Comfortable

Review submitted: March 2, 2012   Date of arrival: January 12, 2012

We stayed at this house for President's Day weekend. Everything was on site that we wanted. Rooms were comfortable, kitchen had everything we needed, plenty of towels, hottub and wood stove worked great. The house is in a great location where it's quiet and away from the ski crowd. Hardly knew there were caretakers below. Everything expected of us was clearly layed out in the contract and additional instructions that were sent to us. Would certainly recommend this house and would rent it again in the future.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Summer refugees from Houston

Review submitted: January 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2011

We stayed at this property July 2011. It is very comfortable and well-equipped. The property manager is across the street and she and the owners are very accommodating. It is in a beautiful location with many nearby hiking trails. There are lots of beautiful birds to be seen from the deck, as well as several moose sighting reports and one bear report while we were there. We found it a good location for enjoying the many Summit County attractions.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Nice home!

Review submitted: January 26, 2012   Date of arrival: November 24, 2011

Nice home that will allow dogs and even has a hot tub. Now the downfall... the couch and beds are hard as a rock! Great if you have back problems, but not so great after a long day on the slopes. Trust me, I would rather sleep on an air mattress and I don't typically need a soft bed. The rest of our party complained about the same thing. The location was not in the heart of Breck just a few miles outside of Breck in Blue River which was acceptable. Also, the home owner provided us with 6 pages of instructions. We were offended by this as we are grown adults and don't need to be treated like children. I understand the importance of being respectful, following instructions and providing insight , but we don't feel we needed reminded of past incidents that happened there and the reasoning behind each task (TMI). There is plenty of room if you have another couple staying as there are 2 bathrooms and plenty of room for everyone to spread out and have their own space. The price was affordable and the caretakers below are very nice. If you can get past the hard furniture and being treated like a child then this is your vaca rental!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

CHEATED

Review submitted: March 31, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

The owners, Judy and her husband decided to withhold our deposits for no legitimate reasons. We only stayed there for one night, and she claims we abuse the hot tub (which is absurd since we hardly used it, and in no ways she would have known). Upon arrival, we also found out that there would be people living under our house in the basement, which was not mention anywhere in the description or the contract. It was already unpleasant to have to share the house with someone. But worst, she decided to accuse us of keeping her "other rentals" up late at night because we went to sleep late. If only have we known and if she did not misinform us, we would have stayed at other houses where we would be alone. Overall, she tries every possible way to charge us extra money and eventually take our deposits with no legitimate reasons or evidence. The house was in the original condition, nothing was broken or even damaged. We felt cheated, and when trying to contact her to negotiate, she stop replying emails and, of course, she never answers any of her phone calls. I would not recommend this house to anyone. unprofessional, abuse the contract and mis-information.

Owners response: This guest was comprised of a group of college students, 21/22 year olds as per their information on our rental agreement.

To address the concern of "sharing our home." On all listings including vrbo.com it is denoted in the description that their is a "caretaker unit onsite." We have had several caretakers over the years and currently have a young couple who care for our home and assist with cleaning, keeping the deck clear, making sure trash is taken to the curb, and the home is safe from poor weather, electrical issues & plumbing debacles. The unit is completely separate from the portion of the home that is being rented, and does not have any "shared" space in the home. There are different entrances for both units one via a deck the other underneath. The caretakers have their own fully equipped unit. Additionally, their lease is written not to disturb the quiet enjoyment of folks upstairs (including ourselves).

With regards to us withholding their damage deposit: This "Cheated" guest violated our rental agreement (which they read and signed) of which violations we notified them in writing. The reasons were as follows: exceeding our guest limit, noise violations for staying up until past 4am playing loud music/partying, excessive mess such as wine spills in the carpet, dirty dishes & glasses scattered throughout the house, all our linens were used (and we have a full extra set for each bed, none of which should have been required had they had the proper amount of guests). The house was in shambles, the members of the group were too drunk to get up in time for check out at 11am and had to be kicked out by our caretakers so that the home could be scrubbed for our next guests. The hottub was disgusting and required an extra service call, I'm not sure what they were doing in the tub, but for 1 nite, the water was mucky & unusable. Thankfully, our professional hot tub person was able to change out the water and clean the tub that day.
It is unfortunate, that such a guest would feel entitled to abuse our home and blame us. In over 6 years of renting the home, we have withheld maybe 2 damage deposits per year and it is always for valid reasons as per our rental agreement.

I hope this will not disway you from renting from us, we have had many wonderful guests over the years and we'd love for you to be one of them.
Judy

Helpful votes: 30 / 30

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review