reviews for: listing #109335 - Madeira Beach, Florida Studio rental

414 - Island Inn
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  yes
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $82 - $142 /nt
    $521 - $901 /wk
    $1,852 - $3,202 /mth

sort by:

spring break 2014

Review submitted: April 4, 2014   Date of arrival: March 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed in this unit in March 2014. We have stayed in many condos up and down the different islands of the Gulf and this was one of our favorites. Very well maintained, outstanding view, and very friendly beach community. Many shops within walking distance. We especially appreciated how well "combed" the beach was, as after a storm the beach was harrowed to bring the soft sand back up. Will be bring our family back another year to one of the larger units. Great Stay, Thank you

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place for spring break

Review submitted: March 22, 2014   Date of arrival: March 10, 2014

My wife and I spent the spring break with our boys (11&13). Great location, walking distance to Publix/Walgreens and some restaurants. Amazing view of the beach. Didn't see the dolphins though. Room had everything including beach chairs/mats. Parking is a bit issue. Had to park across the street a couple of times. Room didn't have any broom but got delivered. Spent time at the beach, visited other beaches, visited Universal Orlando (1hr 40 mins drive) and watched hockey game in Tampa. Overall enjoyed the stay very much.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place for spring break

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: March 10, 2014

Spent the spring break with my boys (11&13). Great location, walking distance to Publix/Walgreens and some restaurants. Amazing view of the beach. Didn't see the dolphins though. Room had everything including beach chairs/mats. Parking is a bit issue. Had to park across the street a couple of times. Room didn't have any broom but got delivered. Spent time at the beach, visited other beaches, visited Universal Orlando (1hr 40 mins drive) and watched hockey game in Tampa. Overall enjoyed the stay very much.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice View

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

Nice view of Gulf. Only complaint would be that we were not able to use the complimentary kayaks that the resort offers and found a couple of cockroaches in the room.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place on the beach

Review submitted: February 17, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

This was the second visit to the Island inn. This time it was just the remedy for a long Canadian winter. The beach sunrises and sunsets are amazing. You can have your coffee on the patio and watch the dolphins swim up and down the beach. The kitchenette feature lets you make you own meals but you can walk to restaurants and bars not too far away. The heated pool is a nice bonus. I would highly recommend this rental.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sad to leave!

Review submitted: February 3, 2014   Date of arrival: January 25, 2014

We LOVED this property! While the unit itself could use a bit of updating, the view, the beach and the location definitely make up for any minor shortcomings. Lots to do within a reasonable drive, yet away from noise and traffic of typical FL vacation spots. Everyone we met was very friendly. We'll definitely come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Place!

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 21, 2013

The room was very clean and updated. The view was spectacular! One of the best places we have ever stayed! The Hotel lobby was very clean and offered a computer for guest to use. The staff very friendly and helpful. Would go back again and again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful sunsets

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

We loved staying at the Island Inn. The room, although small, was very clean. The beds were comfortable and it included everything we needed for the beach (chairs, towels, even sand toys). The balcony was nice and we had a beautiful unobstructed view of the beach. The location was great as it was close to everything (shopping, restaurants) but was fairly quiet and peaceful. Rick's Tiki Bar was enjoyable as was the pool. The staff was friendly and helpful. Looking forward to returning next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fun

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

Loved the view from the balcony! Very clean resort. Loved the very friendly and helpful staff. We had a great vacation. Will definitely recommend the Island Inn to friends and family. It would be nice though if there was a phone in the room.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Dkirby9208

Review submitted: June 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 5, 2013

The view from the balcony was beautiful. The room was as the pictures looked like. I would come back and stay here. The pool and tiki bar were great. Liz was great in answering all my questions with the rental. Great job Liz.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Walk out onto the beach!

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

The property was very nice. It is older but well maintained. We have issues with mold and mildew but there was none here. We would leave all shoes in the condo and walk directly onto the beach everyday. There was a nice breeze in the condo as well if you want that. We recommend this.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Good

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

We didn't receive the started kit.For example, a dishwasher, soap and shampoo. Only two beach towels.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great little condo fit my family of 4, Great beach and nice location

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

We stayed here as a family of 4 - we have two young boys. It worked out very well. The room was clean and well stocked with kitchen items and linens. The beds were comfortable. Although its a studio, the layout worked better than places we have stayed with a separate bedroom because of the layout. We were able to keep all 4 suitcases off the floor - our two large ones fit on the counter next to the TV and the two small ones were on the extra kitchen chairs. The empty cupboards below the TV were great for helping us to stay organized. The balcony was great - 4 chairs plus a table. We ate breakfast out there and watched the sun set. The pool was nice....we spent time there and out on the beautiful beach. You can rent a cabana out there ($20/day) if you are concerned with sun exposure.
Its a short walk to Walgreens or the Publix supermarket and the beach store.
There is so much to do in the area besides hanging on the beach. Some of our favorite things in the area: Kayaking in Fort Desoto park, going on a boat cruise out of John's Pass (a nice place for dinner and shopping) and Adventure Island water park (at Busch Gardens....Busch Gardens was nice too)
Booking with Liz through itrip was an easy process.
We definitely would stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

414 Island Inn

Review submitted: March 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 19, 2012

Room is a bit dated, but everything is functional. Great location. Great view of the beach from the room. The beach isn't too close to public access so it isn't overcrowded. Pool is nice too. Not too far from stuff to do if you have a car. My wife and I had a nice time there.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Disappointed

Review submitted: February 9, 2012   Date of arrival: January 26, 2012

The reservation process was very efficient and friendly. That was the upside. The questions I had at the front desk on arrival were not received in a very friendly manner - understanding that it is a seperate operation from the owners condo program, at the very least, they could have the phone number for reaching someone who could answer my questions with maybe even a bit of a smile. NOT.

I was amazed that there was no phone in the room. What if I had a medical emergency, a fire, someone breaking in, some reason to call 911 or even the front desk. Access to long distance numbers can be blocked out allowing local calls only. Unacceptable.

To have booked a 10 day stay and then have to specifically call and request a change of sheets and towels that was then made available clearly as a 'special exception' is unacceptable. 10 days? At least one change should be the standard policy.

The carpet needed vacuuming as soon as we entered the room. The container on the supplied vacuum was already full of dirt and debris.

To have to go out and purchase toilet paper because it isn't supplied is ludicrous. I am on holiday. Yes, I get that it is an owner-rented condo with no services but I am on holiday, getting absolutely no service and feeling like a second-class citizen through-out our 10 day stay (list in the room of the various things that we did not have access to - example, a manager's meet + greet which would have been an ideal opportunity to meet other guests to say 'hello' was 'out of bounds').

We were on holiday and we did not feel like anything other than users of someone else's lodging. We have stayed in various condos including some right here in this area and this was the least pleasant visit of them all.

Sorry, not coming back.

Owners response: As private owners, we don't have any control over the staff that service the front desk of the hotel. One of the main reasons that guests book directly with private owners is because of the type of service that this guest experienced by the hotel staff. We have contacted the manager of the hotel to let them know, and we sincerely hope that it will be addressed with the staff. We try to be very clear that this condo is rented privately, and so our guests will not receive the same linen services that the hotel guests receive. If it did, we would have to charge like the hotel, which is almost double our daily rate! Most private rooms at this building do not have phone service, and we do try to let the guests know that prior to arrival. It is unfortunate that this guest had a bad experience with the on-site hotel staff. We do ask that our guests contact us directly with any questions or special requests.

Helpful votes: 0 / 4

 

Treasure Island - nice place at a very reasonable rate!!!

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

My husband and I were delighted with your accomodations. We spent 7 nights/6 days and had an awesome time. It was clean, nicely decorated and well equipped. We loved the views of the Gulf from our private balcony as well as the waterways from our front door. We absolutely loved the beautiful sunsets, warm Gulf waters, uncrowded white sandy beach and convenient, but quiet location. We highly recommend this place. It is a great value for the money and I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful and relaxing

Review submitted: June 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 8, 2011

This was a wonderful place to stay and relax. The private balcony and beautiful beach/ocean view was a great way to unwind on vacation. I highly recommend staying in this fabulous vacation rental. The room was clean and had all that I needed. There are laundry facilities at Island Inn and a great set of elevators!

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review