reviews for: listing #109342 - Madeira Beach, Florida House rental

Boca Ciega Cottage
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $104 - $221 /nt
    $792 - $1,395 /wk
    $2,470 - $5,008 /mth

sort by:

Nice cottage but be wary of the neighbors

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

The cottage was clean and exactly as pictured. The landscaping is gorgous. You are very tight to the neighbors but don't really notice because the landscaping is so well done. We had difficulty getting set up with the wi-fi and received help very fast. The cottage has two bedrooms so we assumed that two cars would not be an issue when we booked. We were not informed that there is parking for only one car until we received the check in instructions three days prior to check in. On our second day there we received a call from the owner with a complaint from a neighbor that we had parked in the driveway horizonatally instead of vertically and we were instructed to move the cars. . We parked that way so that we could get both cars in the driveway and not be in the street because there is no street parking. Both cars were contained in the driveway and we did not inconvience the neighbors in any way. The owner was nice about asking us to move the cars but I think this is an issue between the owner and the neighbor and should not have interupted my vacation. For the rest of the week we were worried about doing something wrong in the neighbors eyes. Our contract said we could use the pool and the hot tub but to be respectful of the neighbors. After that call we were afraid to use them. The contract also asked us to put garbage cans out on certain days. We waited until we saw neighbors cans out because I am sure a garbage can out on the wrong day would also elicit a complaint. I have rented cabins and cottages before and have never had an issue with an owner or a neighbor. There seems to be an issue between the owner and neighbors and I highly suggest it gets resolved before someones hard earned vacation gets ruined. The cottage was beautiful but there are so many rentals available that I will not be returning.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for the comments. This cottage has one parking space. In general we get feedback the neighbors are friendly and stay to themselves.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful property on bay

Review submitted: February 2, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

We loved the property and its location. The grounds were exquisite; January weather too cool for using the pool (which was magnificent). Back patio furniture very comfy for reading & loafing. The owners were very nice, and helpful. The only problem we had was the lack of parking (sufficient for l car), but knew that before renting the unit. Thought some basics such as coffee filters, salt & pepper, sponges, more than 2 hand towels would have been appropriate.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Winter Home

Review submitted: December 25, 2013   Date of arrival: December 14, 2013

This was our second stay at the Cottage. When our time came to go we decided to stay another 4 nites and have already booked for next year. Love this place!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome place!

Review submitted: December 3, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Boca Ciega Cottage. This is the best equipped and decorated place we have stayed. The location was great and management was great to work with. We would recommend it to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

excellent holiday home

Review submitted: November 28, 2013   Date of arrival: October 22, 2013

We have just returned from a five week stay in the cottage and can only highly recommend it to anyone. The cottage is in a perfect position for both the beach, shops and restaurants. It was spotlessly clean when we arrived and we had full use of the pool at the back of the property. Kitchen was well equipped. Very relaxing stay and would definately return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place!

Review submitted: November 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 14, 2013

We stayed a week at this charming cottage. I could've stayed another. We ate breakfast on the dock every day and fished out there a little too. We used the pool daily also. The house inside is gorgeous with high end appliances and furniture. The beds are really comfy and the ACworks great. We spent a lot of time outside on the patio reading. My son is 4.5 and was fine but I'd worry about younger kids being so close to the drop off into the water. We love this area and would definitely return. The house is really close to the beach and grocery stores and there's a pretty fun bar within walking distance too.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 19, 2013

We absolutely fell in love with this cottage. It was one of the best vacations we have had. The private pool and hottub were a definite PLUS!!!
We met the owner and she was very nice and told us to let her know if we needed anything.
P.S. the fishing poles didn't work and the back door needs some work.

We will be back!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Vacation Rental!

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

This cottage was great! I have nothing but positive comments about this property! The pictures posted are identical to the actual property. My husband enjoyed fishing from the dock and my children (ages 7 and 6) loved the pool! The pool is very pretty and perfectly maintained. The house is very clean and extremely comfortable! It was really nice to have a full size washer and dryer to use during our stay. We hope to rent this property again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Little tropical paradise.

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 24, 2013

When arrived at cottage found it just as described, the cottage was spotless and clean, after a week at disney just wanted to chill out, and got that here, kids enjoyed the fishing, the natural stone looking pool and hot tub with its waterfalls was a bonus, found the property to be exactly as described it was quite and private, to us a little tropical paradise, we also saw dolphins every day from the dock and one day a manatee came right up to the wall, which was lovely to see. Walked to the beach one morning which took about 10 minutes or a couple of minutes by car either way was so easy to get to. After a couple of hours at the beach was nice to come back to a dip in the pool and get the barbecue going and a cold drink. All other amenities were also close by which was great either to walk or a short drive.p
All in all, loved our stay in this cottage, found the owner to be very friendly and helpful, our only regret was we wished we could of stayed longer, though if we come back next year would definitely look at booking this cottage again for a longer stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Little tropical paradise.

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 24, 2013

When arrived at cottage found it just as described, the cottage was spotless and clean, after a week at disney just wanted to chill out, and got that here, kids enjoyed the fishing, the natural stone looking pool and hot tub with its waterfalls was a bonus, found the property to be exactly as described it was quite and private, to us a little tropical paradise, we also saw dolphins every day from the dock and one day a manatee came right up to the wall, which was lovely to see. Walked to the beach one morning which took about 10 minutes or a couple of minutes by car either way was so easy to get to. After a couple of hours at the beach was nice to come back to a dip in the pool and get the barbecue going and a cold drink. All other amenities were also close by which was great either to walk or a short drive.
All in all, loved our stay in this cottage, found the owner to be very friendly and helpful, our only regret was we wished we could of stayed longer, though if we come back next year would definitely look at booking this cottage again for a longer stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family vacation

Review submitted: August 1, 2013   Date of arrival: July 9, 2013

We absolutely loved this stunning property. Even though it was a cottage attached to a main house, we had complete privacy. We were able to use the pool and hot tub and never shared it with the homeowners. The house was well stocked with everything anyone would need to make all meals. The beds were very comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed this vacation. We will most likely return the next several years

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Florida Paradise

Review submitted: July 27, 2013   Date of arrival: July 17, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Boca Ciega Cottage. The pictures and description very accurately describe the house. The landscaping is beautiful all around the property, VERY clean inside and out, lots of attention to detail. My children loved fishing off the dock and swimming in the pool. It may not be the best place for very small children because of the layout of the backyard and walkways along the seawall - or just watch them carefully:). Location is perfect - it's down at the end of the street so not a lot of traffic, short walk to the beach and several restaurants, two grocery stores within 5 minutes. We would not hesitate to return! Thank you so much for your hospitality!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Billy Meredith

Review submitted: July 11, 2013   Date of arrival: July 5, 2013

The cottage was in immaculate condition with an amazing landscape and wonderful views. Very comfortable and private. We got married on the dock and had our reception and honeymoon there. Can't say enough about the accommodations and the owners. We would highly recommend and plan to revisit very soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Summer Vacation 2013

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

My sister and I stayed for 5 nights in July. It is a beautiful cottage. Everything was tastefully decorated and very clean. The pool and hot tube were beautiful but on the owners property next door which made it alittle odd. I would recommend it to couples or families with older children.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful, cozy cottage

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

We had a wonderful time in this cozy cottage. The décor was classic and comfortable. It's a small house but very open. The bed was incredibly comfortable so that I wished I could bring it back home with me. The shower had great water pressure. We did encounter a problem with a stopped up drain in the shower and we reached out to the realtor but didn't hear back. We ended up using a plunger and fixed the problem ourselves. The private pool and hot tub was absolute heaven. We enjoyed a lovely view of the bay and spotted a couple of dolphins frolicking in the water. We used the grill to barbeque a few nights and ate outside with a lovely view of the water. It would have been nice if the cupboards had been stocked with a few essentials so we didn't have to buy them. Just the basics like salt, pepper, sugar and coffee filters would have been good. It was great having use of two bikes. My husband rode every morning. It was a great location, close to Johns Pass and the beach. We had a great time and would definitely go back.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place to Stay!

Review submitted: May 2, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

First class accommodations, very comfortable, clean, professionally decorated and landscaped with a modern kitchen and top of the line furnishings . Just my wife and I stayed at teh cottage and it was perfect for our needs. It would also fit four comfortably, but you are limited to one bathroom. It was great having a barbecue grill, bicycles, hot tub, and pool for our exclusive use.

It is a very private setting located in a quiet residential area. Nice view of the Intercoastal waterway from the private dock, also great for viewing a variety of local wild life. You can walk to the beach, but it would take about 10 minutes. Bicycles were handy for riding to the beach or exploring the local area. We had a wonderful time, if we get back to the area again, this will be our first choice for a place to stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

What a beautiful place to stay! The natural looking pool and hot tub were awesome, the pool was a bit chilly, but the hot tub was used alot! The house slept 6 comfortably. Location is close to the beach, about a 10 minute walk. It was a smaller house but the grounds that it is tucked away in are amazing. You feel like you were in a world all to your own! Layout as explained in ad. Amenities were provided but very limited beach towels. It was very clean and maintained well.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: March 2, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

We absolutely loved the cottage and the surroundings. The owners were so gracious and very kind. The only minus was that the floors were not very clean, my husband had to throw away his socks since they became very black. We don't think the floors were washed before we came. Also the eating table has an edge around it that has crumbs wedged inside. A vacuum can easily remove any debris that may be left from past visitors. Other than that it was great.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A GEM

Review submitted: December 16, 2012   Date of arrival: December 6, 2012

A week here was not enough. Just as described. Beautiful decor, landscaping, and view of the Bay. Everything top of the line. Use of the pool and spa were very private, even though they are behind the owners house. We used the bikes to take evening rides through the neighborhood. Shopping at Winn Dixie within walking distance and Publix just across the causeway. The beach is an easy walk away and we made the trip at least twice a day. Golf at the Belview Biltmore and take in Happy Hour at Guppy's on the way home. Best meal at Wahoos in Redington Shores next to best fish market, The Reef. Would definitely return.
Kathy and Victor, Denver

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home away from home and more

Review submitted: November 21, 2012   Date of arrival: October 28, 2012

Everything was as described, and even better. It was clean, well maintained and serene. We have been to the area for 7 years and this place and location has been a well kept secret. You would think it was upper class Naples. We were taken extremely well care of. Any concerns were dealt with immediately, and they were few.Highly recommend the house.
Win Dixie is just down the street and the library is there too. Great service all around. The sunsets on the beach just 5 minutes away. Pack your suitcase and come. I'll be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your great review. We enjoyed accommodating you and are pleased to hear you made the most of the resources in the area!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A wonderful four days

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 30, 2012

We stayed here with our two children, ages 10 and 6. The cottage is perfect for couples and families with children older than toddler age. It's right on the bay and a wandering toddler can get into some trouble. With that being said, the location is its strength - beautiful bay views. We had one small issue not related to the actual cottage and Liz took care of it in an instant. We drove to the beach, but walking is definitely an option. We went out for dinner in Clearwater, John's Pass, Treasure Island and of course, Madiera Beach. Close to everything. Cottage is well appointed inside and out. Definitely would go back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ssssh. Quiet. Secret...

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

My brother and I stayed here for 5 days over the 4th. We planned to use the cottage as base for fishing trips, water sports, and hanging in and around the beaches. Instead, we had too much fun on the property to leave ! The pool, hot tub, dock, and cottage were excellent. The location, for our purposes was great- not on the beach, secluded, private, quiet and access to the bay. Appliances, decor, beds, perfect. Lanscaping A++. Gas Grill- A+. Pool A+++! We are looking now to reserve the cottage next summer when I can bring my wife.
This is not the place for a family- the location in a residential area would make noise and children activity intrusive. Perfect for a couple or 2.
Negatives- make sure to call to access the wifi. I bounced off the marina wifi and could not access the cottage wifi-- minor problem I believe would have been solved with a phone call. Parking- says there is room for one vehicle and that is true. We jammed a Yukon and mid size into the space. If you come, plan ahead to park additional vehicles elsewhere (you cannot park on the street).
I have stayed in many B&B, hotels, VRBO, and campgrounds. My 23 year career has revolved around tourism and destination planning. I can honestly say that this cottage, on this trip, was the perfect spot!
Oh, the fishing was great too-- check out Gilligan Charter and Bob. His rates are the best and dont let the Chicago Accent fool you into not believing he knows his way around the Big Pond. He was great.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nothing but the best!

Review submitted: June 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

My husband and I and our two children had the most wonderful stay at this luxury cottage! The owner used only top of the line appliances and furnishings for this quaint accommodation. Everything was not only immaculately clean, most of the linens and cooking utensils appeared to be brand new. The word "luxury" gets so overused/misused that I thought I would clarify my description....when someone uses only Tommy Bahama sheets and bedding and only Frontgate beach towels, that's LUXURY. I have seen some VBRO's who claim they are luxury but are far from it!!!!!
I don't want to give too many secrets away (because I want it to be available for the next time we come to town) but you have access to one of the most beautiful pools and hot tubs imaginable right outside your door. My 4 year old son fished from the private dock twice a day and thought he was in Heaven. (I do want to mention to whomever might read this, if you have young children you have to keep a close eye on them because there is a narrow walkway behind the pool that goes straight down to the water/rocks. It was not a problem for us at all but it is something to think about if you have really small children.) We had the pleasure of meeting the owner and she was extremely delightful and more than accommodating......not to mention her 5 star taste! I hope to come back again and again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Serenity and Sun

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

The Boca Ciega Cottage is a wonderful place to spend a Maderia Beach vacation. The house is beautiful and comfortable with all the amenity of home. We enjoyed the beautiful gardens, the covered patio and the pools. Our favorite spot was sitting on the dock in the afternoon watching for dolphins.

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Wonderful, Relaxing Experience.

Review submitted: March 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

My wife and I rented the property for 2 weeks in March 2012. We had an enjoyable and relaxing experience. The home is beautifully landscaped with palms and a variety of tropical plants. . The interior is of high quality, with professional kitchen appliances and furniture, and beautiful marble flooring throughout. The master bedroom was perfect but we were a little disappointed with the second bedroom. The bed was difficult to set up and we had problems making it into a queen bed. There was also no dresser in this bedroom. The cable television has great variety of stations and the Wi-Fi works perfectly. The house backs onto Boca Ciega Bay, and provides stunning views of the water along with the local birds and dolphins. We spent a lot of time on the dock relaxing, reading and soaking up the sun. The professionally landscaped hot tub and pool were at our disposal, but you must understand how to use the controls. The large BBQ grill at the back was easy to use. The beach (Gulf) is just at the end of the street, and is a short 5 minute walk away. There are two bicycles at the side of the house for your use. A pump (if the tires are low) is located in the house. About 10 minute south is John's Pass, an old fishing village that has many small shops...mostly souvenir items. The property manager and neighbour (owner) were enjoyable to work with and very helpful. We highly recommend this property for your Florida vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Boca Ciega Cottage was delightful.

Review submitted: February 29, 2012   Date of arrival: February 7, 2012

Boca Ciega Cottage is an extraordinary vacation home. On line photos did not do the property justice. The building has been beautifully renovated in high style with quality materials and appliances in a luxurious, but relaxing tropical motif. We found the well-equipped gourmet kitchen a special treat. I especially enjoyed the landscaping which has been professionally designed and expertly executed, with a pool and spa set in natural stone. Both water decks provided comfortable opportunities to make contact with the abundant nature on the Gulf Coast. While sipping drinks on our decks we enjoyed visits from dolphins, pelicans, egrets, and storks. A rather friendly, great blue heron came over every time I was fishing from the decks where I caught local fish. The neighbours were informative and helpful but not intrusive. The waterway and docks behind the house would accommodate a power boat with a shallow draft but not a fixed keel sailboat. Beaches typical of the Gulf Coast were within easy walking distance. We found a good and colourful mixture of dining also within walking or driving distance. A lovely, memorable stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Bayfront Cottage Madeira Beach

Review submitted: February 29, 2012   Date of arrival: February 20, 2012

The cottage was beautiful. All the furnishings were top of the line. However, no privacy since cottage so close to other houses on both sides. The pool was literally right outside the owners back door, made it pretty weird. Bicycles had no air in the tires. Would have been nice to have some adorindike chairs for the dock as it was the only place to catch some sun and it would have been nice to have a fishing pole or two available for use since the Bay was jumping with fish. A cooler would have been nice too since the beach was only a block away. There should be a more detailed list for operating the controls for the hot tub and pool, that system was more complicated than the instructions that just said to 'hit the buttons next to the fence'. The owners were nice and very helpful and the location was great for driving the coastline. The Pub served great Bloody Marys and the Holiday Inn in Clearwater Beach served the best Firecracker Calamari! Had a great time and made do with what we had.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: Thanks for the feedback and great suggestions. We'll get the tires fixed on the bicycle right away! The pool is something that is part of the larger property, and we don't advertise it as a part of the cottage for the reason that this guest pointed out. We don't want to mislead anyone. It is, however, completely open for the guest's use, and there is never an issue with bothering other residents. We will put together more detailed instructions for using the Spa controls and leave them in the cottage. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wow, what a place! I highly recommend this property.

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

My wife and two young daughters rented this property for 3 weeks starting in mid-December 2011. We had a fantastic experience. The place was beautiful, even more so than depicted in the photos. The interior was well-appointed and definitely of high quality, with professional kitchen appliances and furniture, and beautiful marble throughout. Although not huge, we found that the place offers ample room for our family of four. It can even sleep more than that if you make use of the pull out sofa in the living room.

The house backs onto Boca Ciega Bay, and provides stunning views of the water. We spent many hours in the back, eating, relaxing, reading, soaking in the sun. The large BBQ grill at the back was very useful. The house is surrounded by gorgeous landscaping, front and back, with many palm trees and a variety of other plants that create a paradise-like atmosphere.

The beach (Gulf) is just at the end of the street, and is a short 5 minute walk away. You can also ride the bike there if you want...there are two bicycles at the side of the house (although the tires need some air).

Nearby plazas offer convenient access to groceries, pharmacy and 7-Eleven. About 10 minute south is John's Pass, an old fishing village that has many small shops...mostly souvenir items. For real shopping, we drove to Tampa to International Plaza (30 minute drive) and Westshore Plaza (5 minute from Int'l Plaza). We loved Ybor City (40 minute drive), which has many restaurants, bars and shops, with a lot of history dating back to the early days of settlement in the region. The Salvador Dali Museum in St. Pete is worth going to (although quite busy when we were there on a weekday), as well as the Children's Museum in Tampa if you have kids.

The rental manager was very nice to deal with, professional and helpful. We also found the neighbours to be very friendly and approachable. In fact, we rung in the new year with one of them.
I don't have much of anything negative to say about this property. I highly recommend it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

amazing experience!

Review submitted: November 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised to find a custom pool and hot tub for our use on the property. We had a delicious BBQ dinner on the dock and relaxed under the clear skies and bright moon. The beach was only a block away, just enough distance from all the hussle bussle. The cottage was comfortable, spotless and tastefully decorated. I look forward to returning for another getaway. I highly recommend this to anyone looking for something upscale, affordable, and a little bit of a different experience on the bay. The booking process was easy and the management was pleasant to do business with. Thanks!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review