reviews for: listing #109344 - Madeira Beach, Florida Condo rental

218 - Island Inn
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $87 - $150 /nt
    $546 - $944 /wk
    $2,101 - $3,355 /mth

sort by:

Enjoyable getaway!!

Review submitted: June 7, 2014   Date of arrival: May 30, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night getaway. Located right on the beach with an unobstructed view of the water. The employees were friendly and helpful. Night life and restaurants either within walking distance or short drive, Accommodations were clean, neat and as adver-tised. Beach was large and well main- tained. I would recom- -mend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beach getaway

Review submitted: June 2, 2014   Date of arrival: May 20, 2014

Great view of beach, Gulf of Mexico!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous!

Review submitted: May 7, 2014   Date of arrival: May 2, 2014

Charming and clean beach condo was beyond expectations. Amenities were provided for and location is close to anything more you might need. Absolutely the best view right on the beach sunsets dolphins sandunes..the best vacation location we ever had. We didn't want to leave!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very clean, we'll be back

Review submitted: April 13, 2014   Date of arrival: March 19, 2014

We spent a week here for our wedding anniversary in late March. The place was very clean and we'll maintained, and right on the beach. Had a nice heated pool if the sea breeze cooled things off too much to sit on the beach. We slept every night with the balcony door opened and could hear the waves crashing on the beach. The are several restaurants maybe a 15 minute walk up the beach to the north, and a nice beach bar named Caddy's down the beach to the south. Caddy's had live music every night. We had a small issue with the balcony chairs cracking, but they were replaced immediately. We'll definitely be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Island Inn 218 awesome time

Review submitted: April 7, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

Fabulous beach vacation! We traveled with children ages 8 and 13. Room is quaint but had plenty of storage (closet, drawers, cabinets) balcony overlooks pool and beach. Laundry facilities are right across the hallway. Saw dolphins and sting rays daily right in front of hotel. Hotel is older but kept up well. Staff was cleaning windows daily. Staff is friendly. Tiki bar was nice-- drinks and snacks. Pool was clean and warm. There is a rental beach chair and umbrella service right in front on beach. Room provides cooler, towels, beach chairs and foam floats. I highly recommend. Great value for location. It was exactly as described and booking was a breeze!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

suite 218 Island Inn

Review submitted: March 23, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed in this unit during March 2014. We are in the younger end of retired couples and this location suited us very well. I Trip manages this unit for the owners and their description was accurate in all respects. There are about a dozen units rented by condo owners in the Inn, the rest run as hotel units rented through the Inn. You can use all the facilities of the Inn just as if you are a daily rental but of course you do not get daily unit cleaning. The unit was clean on our arrival. Our only complaint was minor in that the shower curtain and grout in the tub area needed to be deep cleaned or redone. We drew this to the attention of I trip and hope they took care of it for the next folks. Heating and AC worked well and TV large and with HBO. The location is great, lovely sunsets beach right out front and heated pool, well maintained and clean. Caddys restaurant down the beach within walking distance and others to the north. Great Publix supermarket up the street for food. Treasure Island area was new for us and we liked it. Beach Bars and restaurants were good, not much for kids and teenagers but could go to Disney I guess. Area seemed safe and a bus available to go up and down Gulf blvd main road outside and parallel to beach. Could survive without a car but it would not be my choice. The unit is over the pool bar area but the music stops at 11 and they will stop it earlier if no one is there and you ask. It was nice to have the pool bar for a bit of a gathering place to meet folks and it was not a huge bar. All nice people. Staff laundry area is in hall outside unit a bit noisy in morn, but overall facility was quiet at night and most times, good solid construction.
A couple of suggestions for improvements to the unit inside. A couple of chairs or a pull out couch would be good. The two beds take up most of the floor space so to watch TV or any place to sit is only on a bed or at high stools for dining table. Putting in a pull out couch would still leave sleeping for 4 and would be better for seating and TV watchin. Patio needs new plastic chairs and ceiling fan in bathroom needs replacing it fails to start sometimes. Overall we would stay here again, unit was as described, location is great, booking with I trip was easy and no hassle. One suggestion for I trip. I booked all over internet and never spoke to anyone except by e mail. Worked fine, but a voice phone call would have been reassuring. I would use I trip again for booking.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Problems with the rental property

Review submitted: February 12, 2014   Date of arrival: February 2, 2014

The entrance to our room was immediately across from the laundry room which was constantly flooding and creating a very large puddle right in front of our room. This was never fixed even though I complained numerous times about the water. Did not like to constantly walk in water which happened every day. Also, the noise from the bar made it rather loud in our room which was distracting.

Owners response: Thanks for the feedback. We're working with the building maintenance now to see if there is anything that can be done about puddles when it rains. For now, they are checking after any storms to make sure the hallways are cleared of water.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful sunsets from a private balcony.

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: January 22, 2014

The view was awesome. The beds could use new matresses but my chiropractor was happy to see me. A great place if you like to have a few drinks on the private balcony, or just below is the Tiki bar. The bar noise and music can be heard until 10PM or so, even with the rickety sliding door shut. The front door looks like it's been replaced but the slider needs it too. AC works good and so does the hot water. Laundry and housekeeping just outside the door so expect an early wakeup because it appears that housekeeping needs new wheels on their carts. Very squeeky and turbulant as they race down the corridors at sunrise. Washing machines were out of order during our stay, so we went down the street to do our laundry. Needed to wash and sweep the floors before staying too. Place is priced right for what it is (a nice view and private balcony).

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location!

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

Had a wonderful time at Island Inn. The location was perfect. Plenty of parking. The unit had everything we needed. Within walking distance of many restaurants and beach bars. Nice pool. Liz was wonderful. Emailed updates on things to do, weather, etc. Really enjoyed our trip!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise vacation

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Nice affordable place to visit. Staff was extremely nice. Would visit again without a doubt.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great get away

Review submitted: June 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

Perfect location - perfect weather - room worked well for myself and my daughter - the price was right - quiet area of the beach - saw dolphins every day! - Everything was positive - we are local to Tampa area and we had friends drive over for the day and they were welcomed by staff. My only and I mean my only negative I would say is I felt for me personally the room could have been cleaner - and this is just me - but the ceiling fan had quite a bit of dust buildup - the floors needed a good mopping, and the fridge was missing some shelving . Other than that small detail - the air was cold, the beds comfortable - had everything we needed and the view was awesome! I would go back and If I could afford it I would buy a unit there!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Mommy Getaway!!!!

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

Great Location! So close to EVERYTHING!! The Unit was SPOTLESS!!! The building is smaller so NOT a log of people. Great Family environment! I will absolutely stay here again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great clean location!

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: April 11, 2012

My friend and I were looking for a place to relax on the beach and catch up on some girl time! This place was perfect. The outside of the resort does not do 218 justice! Its clean and cozay and the view was breath taking. We were able to walk to restaurants and shopping and even enjoyed the Friday market! We were asked by several guests where our beach chairs and towels came from and we told them that the owner provided them for us which was awesome! We were very fortunate! The beach is absolutely gorgeous and we spent many hours out there! Tiki bar was fun and we were able to enjoy a jazz band the last night of our trip. We even witnessed a wedding during the gorgeous sunset. All in all, we have enjoyed this place!

The ONLY complaint we have is that it was rather noisy due to the front door seeming like it did not fit on the frame.

We have already recommended this condo to several other people! We would definitely come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tom and Sue, Michigan

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

On a scale of 10, we'd rate the property a 7. Overall, a good value for the money. The location was great with a number of casual (Caddy's and Sloppy Joe's) and upscale (Middle Ground and the Pearl) restaurants within walking distance. The beds were comfortable, the air conditioning worked well, the unit was clean and the towels were good sized and abundant. Laundry facilities are available in the complex. Water preasure was also great with plenty of hot water for showering. Free parking was readily available even if if one had to use the one across the street. If you are a golfer, be prepared for a long drive on some very congested roads to get to a decent course.

As far as concerns or complaints... There was little in the way of supplies. There was no bar soap so a shower after a long day of traveling was not possible unless one used the liquid hand soap left by a previous guest. Same goes for paper towels, dishwashing soap. There are plenty of stores in the area. It just would have been nice to have a bar of soap provided upon arrival. The toilet gets stopped up easily (twice in our weeklong stay) and there was no plunger until we called the owner. (They responded very quickly.) The unit is located on the 2nd floor, almost directly above the Tiki Bar and pool. The music from the bar plays 12 - 14 hours a day.

If you are interested in the beach, swimming and just hanging out, it's a great place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We stayed for one monthe Feb. 1 to 29,2102

Review submitted: March 3, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

This is our first visit to Florida. We came from Italy. Everything was as we found on the website, only really was better. Location is excelent from the bed you can look to the sea and during the night you can listen the sound of the waves.Property was clean and everything was in order. The long walks on the sand with the feet in the sea... Beautifull. We were lucky because we had nice wether, excluding two cold days, but there is also heating in the appartment and we injoid looking the sea which fascinaated us from the warm room. Pool is clean and the water in it is warm. We would like to Mircome back again next year in the same appartment.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

we stayed at the Island Inn at treasure Island, florida in rm 218

Review submitted: February 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 25, 2012

We had a nice stay at Island Inn. The people where friendly and kind. The photo's that we saw of the room was accurate with the amenities and appearance. The room was clean and everything was there that we needed. We would stay there again if the opportunity arises.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

couple from Rochester, NY

Review submitted: April 5, 2011   Date of arrival: March 31, 2011

The listing description and photos were very accurate. The property was spotless when we arrived. The household items for eating were fine and convenient.The view of the Gulf from the windows and porch was gorgeous. We kept the window open at night to hear the waves. Nearby: the beach!, John's Pass, Friendly Fisherman, Publix Grocery store. Property managers very responsive.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review