reviews for: listing #109353 - Madeira Beach, Florida House rental

Yoda Beach House
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $284 - $468 /nt
    $848 - $1,225 /wk
    $2,646 - $4,357 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful Family Vacation

Review submitted: April 15, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

We just got back from a fabulous week at Yoda's Beach house. The house was HUGE & allowed plenty of room for 3 families. The house could have been cleaner upon arrival (many dishes were dirty in the cupboards so we had to rewash them). The only other suggestion would be for a bathroom to be in the large studio type apartment on the 2nd floor. It had a kitchen but no access to a bathroom without entering the other suite. We found this very strange. Other than that- it was a perfect house. We loved the large patio & the ability to relax by the firepit at night. Would definitely rent it again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you for the comments and we are glad to you had a great trip. The layout of the 3rd unit on the upper level includes a 2nd bedroom with the bathroom (without entering another unit). See you next trip!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome location

Review submitted: March 31, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

wonderfull condo, close to a lot of things to do.Can fall asleep listening to waves.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

SPECTACULAR PROPERTY

Review submitted: February 6, 2014   Date of arrival: January 27, 2014

We had an absolutely faboulous time at the YODA beachhouse this past week! The place was huge, we had 14 people in our group and there was still plenty of room. There was a beautiful ocean view and plenty of privacy. We will definately be coming back again. The only complaint that I have is the air doesnt seem to work efficiently for the upstairs back room of the house and the steam on the steam shower did not work as well as the jets on the downstairs jacuzzi. These were all minor problems compared to how amazing this house was!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Can't beat the size and location

Review submitted: December 18, 2013   Date of arrival: December 12, 2013

This was our 20th annual friends holiday, and our second at The Yoda Beach House. The three separate (but all rented as one unit) living areas make this perfect for several families or a large group (we range from 6 to 14 people on any given year). We love the firepit and both beachfront porches (downstairs for games and gatherings; upstairs for sunsets and cocktails).

Being right on the beach is priceless. Don't let others talk you into "just a 5 minute walk" rentals. It is so worth it to have the beach right out your back door.

We cook a large holiday meal, so three full-size kitchens make it a breeze. We love being able to walk to Screwie Louie's (great breakfast and cheap drinks). All the great restaurants and shops at John's Pass are just a long walk (1.1 mile) or short drive away. You will need a car to get to a full grocery store, but small necessities can be bought at a convenience store just across the street.

As a frequent renter of vacation-by-owner properties, I can also tell you that getting this one from a management company has many advantages: a written contract; quick responses to questions or problems; easy check-in and out.

We hope to spend many future years at Yoda Beach House. Thank you.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Mini Vacation

Review submitted: November 7, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

The stay was wonderful and the house was beautiful. I greatly enjoyed my stay there and would recommend this to others. The only issue that we had was the microwave cover on the top floor falling on the floor in the middle of the night. It was taped with electrical tape that apparantly couldn't hold any longer. Other than the scare in the night the house was wonderful and a great mini vacation. I would definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beachfront House

Review submitted: August 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 25, 2013

This was a great location for our family. We had a beautiful view with easy access to the beach. We were close to a grocery store, shopping and restaurants. A service man responded quickly when we had a problem with the dish washer. We could have used a vacuum cleaner for the area rugs. The unit was accurately depicted in the photos.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

basballnum25

Review submitted: July 27, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

We stayed at the Yoda House from Saturday to Wednesday and loved our time there. It was something I would definitely do again. Pros of our stay: the house was huge and gave us plenty of room, it was exactly as advertised, there were plenty of towels and beach towels, we appreciated the beach toys available under the stairs, the cable and wireless were great when we wanted to use them, and having the washer and dryer right there was excellent! Cons to our stay: the fire pit was filled with cigarette butts, it would help to have some wood available or tell us where we could get it to use the fire pit, the upstairs area was very warm even with the AC on and set to an appropriate temperature. We appreciated "Joey", the cabana guy who gave us a great deal on the cabanas set up on the beach right behind the house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Yoda Beach House

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

The biggest problem with the Yoda House are the floors and poor lighting. There isn't a mop or vacuum cleaner on the property to help deal with all the sand. It would be nice to have this equipment to deal with the floors. The lighting in the dining room is very dim which makes game playing at night almost impossible. Other than this, the location is great, the house is great for large groups with 3 full kitchens and areas than can be closed off for privacy when lots of people are there. Love it, have stayed there 2 years plan go back if it's still available.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Yoda's Beach House

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

Everything about the rental was as advertised on the website. It was a VERY nice place and a good value for what we received. iTrip was efficient in getting information to us in a timely manner and they were available for any problems, but we didn't experience problems at all...except for a Tropical Storm one day!

You have our highest recommendation and we'll use your services again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

family vacation

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

We had a GREAT stay at the Yoda beach house. We stayed with 3 families and we never once felt like we didn't have enough room! The house was clean enough and had all the neccesities. The check in was a breeze and itrip checked in with us half way through our stay to make sure everything was going well. The upstairs bathtub still doesn't have a great seal on it to take a bath, so we just kept the faucet running for the kids' baths. The patio and beach were absolutely the best part of the week! Literally steps away from the beach is priceless! We had fun going down to John's Pass for shopping and restraunts, but were far enough away to not notice the hustle and bustle of that area! We would absolutely come back to Yoda House...but there was a for sale sign in the front, and we had a few people knocking at the door with inquiries about it, so we aren't sure it will be available to rent again next year???

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family vacation with 3 families

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

The house is very spacious and has room for privacy for each family. The size of the house also allows for large groups to spend together time. We had 14 people staying there and we were not crowded.
The house has nice finishes such as granite countertops and marble fooring. It does however need some TLC. We stayed in the larger of the 2 spaces upstairs and the ice dispenser on our freezer didn't work. The shower had a lot of mold along the caulking and made an odor in the bathroom. The shower drain was also clogged along with the master bath sink. I bought drain cleaner to unclog it, but it didn't really help much. I think a plumber is needed to unclog it. The plug in the master bath tub did not seal so you had to keep the water running in order to take a bath or the water would drain out.
The kitchens are not evenly stocked. Most of the kitchen items were in the downstairs kitchen. Our kitchen only had 4 forks and 2 knives and 4 spoons. The 2nd kitchen upstairs had no dishes or eating utensils. This wan't really a problem for our group staying there because we all knew each other and could take what we needed from the kitchen that had all the items. This would be a problem though if you didn't know the other parties staying at the house. My husband thought there should be a checklist for each kitchen of what dishes, silverware, etc. should be there to avoid the problem of 1 kitchen having most items and the other kitchens sparse.
Besides the TLC this house needs, it was a comfortable place to stay. The location on the beach is awesome; great sunsets! Close & convenient to grocery stores, shopping & restaurants.

Owners response: Thank you for the great comments. We only rent out the house as one big unit, so generally our guests only use the big kitchen downstairs. Even so, we do try hard to keep the upstairs kitchens stocked, but it always a challenge! Thanks for letting us know about the drains - the plumber has been contacted and will take care of the drains as soon as possible. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We agree, the Sunsets are amazing!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful house perfect for several families or group of friends

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 29, 2012

We have rented many VRBO homes over the years and this is by far our favorite for a large group.

We only had 4 couples (all in our late 30s or early 40s), but can see how it could easily accommodate 3 or 4 families. The two apartments upstairs (included in the one unit rental) would be perfect for two families of four. Downstairs is also large - with two queen bedrooms sharing a large full bathroom, plus the communal dining and living areas.

We had our yearly friends holiday here. Three kitchens in one rental are unheard of - they made cooking our holiday meal for our group a snap. There's a lot of privacy in this home. The upstairs is so large I kept getting lost. The downstairs beachfront porch is a great communal gathering place. We only had a group of 8, but I could see how it could sleep 14 comfortably. We especially enjoyed the back porch fire pit (Florida in December can be warm enough for the beach during the day but chilly at night). The house was very clean and well maintained. The beds and the furniture were comfortable.

Parking was ample with one spot in the garage and room for two or three in the driveway. The location is great - walking distance from several great restaurants and bars and a short drive from the grocery store. The gas station/convenience store across the street (don't worry, you'll never hang out in the front yard, so you'll have no idea it's there until you need it) is perfect when you realize you've forgotten a toothbrush or whatever. We enjoyed Dockside Dave's for dinner and Screwie Louie's (Best Breakfast on the Beach!") for breakfast and cheap mimosas and such several times. We never miss a chance to go to Waltz Fish Shak at John's Pass (a long walk or a short drive) when in Madeira Beach. It's a bit pricier than the other places, but worth it.

Once at the house you could probably get along without a car, but it is a good 40 minutes from the Tampa airport, so you'd need a shuttle, and probably a way to make a run to the grocery store.

I liked how the company kept in touch via email and let me know who to call if there were any problems (there weren't). Check in and check out were a breeze. Definitely leave yourself time to gather your belongings before checkout. This is a big house and it would be easy to forget something there. You won't find a better per-person deal on any Pinellas County beaches.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for sharing your experience! We are fortunate to accommodate happy vacationers like you!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family vacation

Review submitted: November 19, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

This was a excellent place too stay,the beach was excellent right out your back door.the house was large enough so everyone had their own place and the patio was great for cook-outs.this is a great place to stay if you want sun and beach.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Great to hear you had an excellent time and took advantage of the spacious accommodations & private patio for cook outs!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Tennessee travelers

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Yoda's beach house was a beautifully laid out property that accomodated our party of 8 extremely comfortably. We are aware of the fact that most beaches are filled up with high rise condos, we chose Madeira because of the old Florida feel. We were lucky to find such as house right on the beach. The only improvements that I saw were maybe better stock the kitchens. We realized that most of the kitchen silverware, pots and pans etc were in the lower kitchen. The overall experience was very good, and Liz at i Trips was wonderful to deal with. Thankyou again for a wonderful time and I would recomend the house to anyone wanting the privacy of a house located right on the beach.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family time at Yoda House

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

We arrived during the Tropical Storm Debbie but after the rain stopped the 8 foot waves were amazing!! The strong winds lasted several days. We enjoyed our time there for the most part. There was a problem with little ants in 2 of the kitchens and 1 of the bathrooms ( on first floor). We just had to make sure there was no food left on the counters (we had to throw away several boxes of cereal and some other things). My son-in-law also wanted me to mention that the wall air conditioner in living area on first floor kept freezing up. But for the most part we all had a good week being together and right on the beach. That was the best part !!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dottie

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

LOCATION!! LOCATION !! LOCATION!! 8 of us stayed at the yoda beach house for a week of r&r and to spend time with family. The house is extremely convenient to supermarkets, and several bars/restaurants. Yoda house was very clean and slept 8 comfortably. I'm not sure the pull outs would be very comfy for adults but good for kids. The house could use a little handywork (i.e. broken doors, lack of curtins for privacy) but no major complaints. The location on the beach was fabulous and the sunsets memorable. Thanks for a great week!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome girls' night in!

Review submitted: March 4, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Yoda Beach house! It was beautiful, right on the beach, and perfect size for 8 girls to have a wonderful girl's night in. It was clean, perfect location, and convenient to everything we needed. Thanks so much to Liz for working this out for us, we'll definitely be back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place to Stay, But....

Review submitted: January 31, 2012   Date of arrival: January 24, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying at the Yoda House with a great view of the Gulf. The patio is a nice place to hang out, and the house is quite comfortable. We found the house to be minimally stocked when it comes to silverware and dishes. The house is also obviously used and not well maintained. The lower level bathtub did not hold water, the coffee maker was broken, trim pieces around the house inside were missing, and there was a small bug problem with ants (which they are working on) and we found a couple large cockroaches. Overall, it was a great set up for our three families, but the house istelf is not in great shape. We enjoyed the beach walks and the sunshine!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for the feedback. With the three kitchens, items tend to get moved around a bit, and usually ends up with one kitchen getting the bulk of the equipment. We always make an effort to redistribute the stuff around each time. We'll check out the bathtub as soon as possible. A professional insect control service has been started and will be available anytime there are any further issues.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

iTrip and Yoda Beach House

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 28, 2011

The beautiful beach was even better then portrayed, it helped that we had picture perfect weather over Winter break at the Yoda House. We found the management to be very sensitive to our needs before and during our stay. The house was really three very nicely furnished, separate but attatched apartments were great for our three families to share time together ~ but also there were plenty of places for little ones to have a quiet afternoon nap or (or older ones) a noisy midnight snack! The extensive marble tile was a pretty feature with inlays as well as the elaborate wood trim.The home was very clean.The firepit on the downstairs patio was a nice touch and was framed by sea grass dunes, but in close proximity to the Gulf and the melodic sounds of sea gull and surf. Publix was nearby for supplies to dine in at one of the three kitchens, and Johns Pass was an easy walk up the beach for an ice cream or to shop for a sea shell souvenir! One con is the traffic from the road out front can get busy and there is not an elevator for those with physical limitations to access the second floor. If you go, I hope you have as good a visit as we did!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Small Wedding

Review submitted: November 17, 2011   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

We stayed at this location for 3 Nights and it was worth it....Very beautiful and clean you have everything that you need (exept food) but they will get it for you if you need it....I had a small wedding which i did all my decoration and we had a great time. Is great get away which hopefully i will get to do this for my anniversary. I will definitely try to rent it for the summer for me and my family. My friends loved it so much that they asked me for this place information. Thank you for this beautiful place!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Yoda's Beach House is wonderful!

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 3, 2011

Rented all 3 units of this house for a week for my son's wedding. Lots of family coming in from out of town and the house was perfect to accomodate everyone in every way. With all the beds, couches, kitchens and amenities, it was like home for all of us. Also hosted my son's rehearsal dinner and the setting downstairs with the huge patio overlooking the beach was beautiful. All of my guests were impressed and very comfortable.
If you are considering this house for a large group - book it now!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Yoda's Beach House is wonderful!

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 3, 2011

Rented all 3 units of this house for a week for my son's wedding. Lots of family coming in from out of town and the house was perfect to accomodate everyone in every way. With all the beds, couches, kitchens and amenities, it was like home for all of us. Also hosted my son's rehearsal dinner and the setting downstairs with the huge patio overlooking the beach was beautiful. All of my guests were impressed and very comfortable.
If you are considering this house for a large group - book it now!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review